Josef Alexander Music Collection

47 Aℓ27ac AlexanderBxC05f09

Alexander, Josef.
      Three a cappella interludes : for mixed chorus / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (23 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus. English words. Contents: Cool tombs ; Jazz fantasia / poems by Carl Sandburg -- Anyone lived in a pretty town / poem by e. e. cummings.

47 Aℓ27ad AlexanderBxB01f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Adventures of Alice : for women's voices (SSA) and piano / Josef Alexander ; text by Lewis Carroll.
      [1976?]
      1 score (57 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Ozalid vellum masters reproduced from manuscript. Composed in 1976 (cf. Grove Music online). Contents: Jabberwocky -- The walrus and the carpenter -- Father William.

38 Aℓ27an AlexanderBxC01f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Anacreon and anacreontics : song cycle for voice and clarinet / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (28 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and B♭ clarinet. English words translated from ancient Greek. Contents: The ungentle guest / text, 6th century B.C. translated by Robert Herrick -- Love / text translated by Abraham Cowley -- Beauty / translated by Thomas Stanley -- The epicure / translated by Abraham Cowley.

47 Aℓ27ap AlexanderBxC01f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Apostrophe to life : cantata for mixed chorus and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections from The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam.
      [19--]
      1 score (63 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus and piano. English words.

2 Aℓ27ba AlexanderBxC05f08

Alexander, Josef.
      13 bagatelles for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1967?]
      24 leaves of music ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1967 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of music.

23.2 Aℓ27br AlexanderBxC01f03

Alexander, Josef.
      A brace of duets : for clarinet and bassoon / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

39 Aℓ27br AlexanderBxC01f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Brooklyn College song : How lovely in the light of evening / words by Hannah Alexander ; music by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (2 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For medium voice and piano. "Dedicated to Dr. Harry D. Gideonse."

21.2 Aℓ27bu AlexanderBxC01f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Burlesque and fugue for trumpet and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

31 Aℓ27ch AlexanderBxB01f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Challenge : rhapsody for orchestra / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (80 leaves) ; 38 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

31 Aℓ27ch parts AlexanderBxB01f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Challenge : rhapsody for orchestra / Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      25 parts ; 34 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink. Title from piccolo part. Piccolo, flute, percussion, and string parts inscribed on ozalid vellum; bassoon and brass parts inscribed on paper. Lacks oboe, English horn, and clarinet parts.

47 Aℓ27ch AlexanderBxC05f13

Alexander, Josef.
      Three Christmas madrigals : for mixed voices S.A.T.B. a cappella / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (45 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English and Latin words. Includes piano reduction for rehearsal purposes. Contents: In dulci jubilo / text, B. Henry Suss (1300-1366) -- Out of your sleep / text, Bodleian (Selden) ms., XVth century -- Heigh ho, the holly / text by William Shakespeare.

31 Aℓ27cp AlexanderBxC06f08

Alexander, Josef.
      Concert for piano and orchestra / by Josef Alexander.
      [1938?]
      1 score (108 p.) ; 34 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink. Composed in 1938. Cf. Grove Music online. Copious markings in red and black pencil. Stamp impression in purple ink on recto pages: Federal Music Project, State Music Library.

31 Aℓ27cp parts AlexanderBxC06f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Concert for piano and orchestra in C minor / J. Alexander.
      [1938?]
      27 parts ; 32 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink; orchestra parts only. Caption title from flute 1 part. Composed in 1938 (cf. Grove Music online).

47 Aℓ27cons AlexanderBxC01f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Consecration : for mixed chorus SATB and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections fro Isaiah.
      [19--]
      1 score (28 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English words.

47 Aℓ27cont AlexanderBxC01f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Contrasts : for chorus a cappella SATB / by Josef Alexander ; texts by Carl Sandburg.
      [1984?]
      1 score (28 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1984 (cf. Grove Music online). "Commissioned by the Euterpean Choral Ensemble, Philip Olsen, conductor." Includes piano reduction for rehearsal purposes. Contents: Cool tombs -- Jazz fantasia.

20.5 Aℓ27co AlexanderBxC05f11

Alexander, Josef.
      Three conversation pieces : for clarinet and bass clarinet / by Josef Alexander.
      [1982?]
      1 score (25 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1982 (cf. Grove Music online). Cage box folder includes additional score reproduced from manuscript on ozalid vellum with some passages crossed out.

20.5 Aℓ27co cello AlexanderBxC05f12

Alexander, Josef.
      Three conversation pieces : for clarinet and bass clarinet or cello / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (39 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

46 Aℓ27di AlexanderBxC01f08

Alexander, Josef.
      Dialogue spirituel / by Josef Alexander.
      [1945?]
      6 parts ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For soprano, chorus, and orchestra; percussion and string parts only. Caption title from violin 1 part. Composed in 1945 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes manuscript notes in black ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of parts.

2 Aℓ27di AlexanderBxC01f09

Alexander, Josef.
      Dirge and dance : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      13 leaves of music ; 36 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Dirge -- Dance. Includes manuscript note in black ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of music.

31 Aℓ27di parts AlexanderBxC06f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Dithyrambe / by Josef Alexander.
      [1947?]
      33 parts ; 33 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For orchestra. Caption title. Composed in 1947 (cf. Grove Music online).

25.2 Aℓ27di AlexanderBxC05f14

Alexander, Josef.
      Three diversions for timpani and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1975?]
      1 part (25 leaves) ; 31 cm. + 1 note
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Piano part only. Caption title. Composed in 1975 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes note in pencil and manuscript black and red ink.

23.3 Aℓ27di AlexanderBxC01f10

Alexander, Josef.
      Divertimento for three winds (oboe, clarinet, bassoon) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score (40 leaves) + 3 ms. parts ; 32 cm. + 4 notes
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript notes in black and red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score and parts.

20.5 Aℓ27do AlexanderBxC01f11

Alexander, Josef.
      Double helix : for bassett horn and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (9 leaves) ; 33 cm. + musical sketches (7, 9 p. ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Score and part: manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum; musical sketches of Double helix: holograph in pencil on paper. Occasional markings in blue pencil on part. Includes manuscript note in black ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of part.

21.4 Aℓ27dy 1979 AlexanderBxC01f12

Alexander, Josef.
      Dyad : for four tubas / by Josef Alexander.
      [1979?]
      1 score (29 cm.) ; 36 cm. + 4 parts ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1979 (cf. Grove Music online).

21.4 Aℓ27dy AlexanderBxC01f13

Alexander, Josef.
      Dyad : for four tubas / by Josef Alexander.
      [1979?]
      4 parts ; 33 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1979 (cf. Grove Music online).

47 Aℓ27ea AlexanderBxC01f14

Alexander, Josef.
      Earth song : for mixed voices (SATB) and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections from Song of myself and other poems by Walt Whitman.
      [19--]
      1 score (30 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

9 Aℓ27ec AlexanderBxC01f15

Alexander, Josef.
      Ecologue and evocation : for organ / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      24 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

47 Aℓ27eℓ AlexanderBxC01f16

Alexander, Josef.
      Eldorado : for mixed chorus (SATB) and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Edgar Allan Poe.
      [19--]
      1 score (8 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

19 Aℓ27eℓ AlexanderBxC01f17

Alexander, Josef.
      Elegy and epilogue : for double bass and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (22 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (11 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Cage box folder includes ozalid copy of score with composer's name on title page pasted over, and occasional markings in red pencil.

13 Aℓ27es AlexanderBxC01f18

Alexander, Josef.
      Escapades : for solo marimba / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      12 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. "The work is written for a 4-octave instrument. But if the latter is unavailable, upper notes (in parentheses) may be played"--P. 1.

39 Aℓ27ev h AlexanderBxC01f19

Alexander, Josef.
      Everybody loved Chick Lorimer : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Carl Sandburg.
      [19--]
      1 score (6 leaves) ; 34 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and piano. Includes manuscript note in red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

18 Aℓ27fa AlexanderBxC05f15

Alexander, Josef.
      Three facets : for solo cello / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      18 leaves of music ; 32 cm.
      Title page in manuscript black ink on ozalid vellum; music reproduced from manuscript on ozalid vellum. Contents: Chorale -- Alleluia -- Amen.

27 Aℓ27fe AlexanderBxC02f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Festive fanfare : for brass : 3 trumpets (B♭), 2 hns. (F), trombone (or euphonium), tuba / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (11 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

27 Aℓ27fe ms. AlexanderBxB01f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Festivities : for organ (or piano) and brass (2 trumpets (B♭), horn (F), trombone, tuba) / by Josef Alexander.
      [1968?]
      1 score (25 leaves) ; 39 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1968 (cf. Grove Music online). Top of leaf 12 missing. Each leaf of the score was originally assembled from pieces of ozalid vellum taped together; the tape has dried out and the pieces separated, so the score has been reassembled with plastic fasteners.

ML686 Aℓ27gi AlexanderBxC08f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Gatanjali recording session notes.
      [1982?]
      [8] leaves ; 28 cm.
      Manuscript and photocopied manuscript producer's notes from a recording session for the song cycle Gitanjali, composed by Josef Alexander on texts by Rabindranath Tagore, for soprano, harpsichord, and percussion ensemble; manuscript probably in the composer's hand. Title supplied by cataloger. Includes evaluations and comparisons of recorded takes for the songs: What divine drink; Light, my light; Yes, I know; Is it beyond thee; Deliverance; On the day; Day after day; O thou; Time is endless; I know the day will come. Photocopied pages have copious markings in black and red pencil.

5 Aℓ27ge AlexanderBxC06f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Two geographical studies : for duo piano (4 hands) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (36 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For 2 pianos. Contents Siesta -- Fiesta.

39 Aℓ27gi h AlexanderBxC02f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Give me an old-fashioned Christmas / [words and music] by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For medium voice and piano. Includes chord symbols inscribed above vocal staff. Includes an alternate leaf 2 lacking chord symbols with modified vocal part and accompaniment.

47 Aℓ27gℓ AlexanderBxC02f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Glorification : for chorus (SATB) and organ / by Josef Alexander ; text, Psalm 8.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English words.

2 Aℓ27gr AlexanderBxC02f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Grotesque / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      4 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For piano.

23.62 Aℓ27he

AlexanderBxB01f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Hexagon : for wind quintet and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1980?]
      1 ms. score (60 leaves) + 5 ms. parts ; 35 cm. + documents ([6] leaves ; 38 cm.)
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For flute, oboe, B♭ clarinet, F horn, bassoon, and piano. Composed in 1980 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes copyist's notes in manuscript black ink and blue pencil.

41 Aℓ27ho AlexanderBxC02f08

Alexander, Josef.
      The horse thief : (a musical dialogue) for narrator and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, The horse thief by William Rose Benét.
      [19--]
      29 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Narrator's text inscribed above piano staff.

47 Aℓ27ho AlexanderBxC02f09

Alexander, Josef.
      Hosannah : for mixed chorus SATB a cappella / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (13 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Latin words. Includes piano or organ reduction for rehearsal purposes.

31 Aℓ27hy AlexanderBxB01f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Hymn of freedom / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      8 parts ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink. For 2 trumpets or cornets, timpani, percussion (2 players), and strings. Title from violin 1 part. Parts for percussion and strings inscribed on ozalid vellum; parts for trumpets (cornets) inscribed on paper. Composer's name on timpani and trumpet (cornet) parts is given as John Allen, a pseudonym of Josef Alexander. Percussion part housed in folder within main folder.

47 Aℓ27hy AlexanderBxC02f10

Alexander, Josef.
      Hymn of peace : for mixed voices and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections from Isaiah.
      [19--]
      1 score (22 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus and piano. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

39 Aℓ27id m AlexanderBxC02f11

Alexander, Josef.
      I dare ya Santa / [words and music by] Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (2 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For medium voice and piano. Includes chord symbols inscribed above vocal staff. Cage box folder includes manuscript (photocopy) score with chord symbols inscribed in pencil above vocal staff.

41 Aℓ27iℓ parts AlexanderBxC02f13

Alexander, Josef.
      Illuminations : song cycle for soprano and chamber ensemble / by Josef Alexander ; text, poems by Emily Dickinson.
      [19--]
      8 parts; 32-36 cm. + documents
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For soprano, flute, B♭ clarinet, bassoon, F horn, violin, viola, cello, and piano; instrumental parts only. Title from piano part. Includes photocopy of piano part with markings in manuscript red and black ink, and letters and notes from copyist to Josef Alexander. Contents: Indian summer -- I died for beauty -- The sky is low -- The heart asks pleasure first -- There's a certain slant of light -- Bring me the sunset in a cup..

41 Aℓ27iℓ AlexanderBxC02f12

Alexander, Josef.
      Illuminations : song cycle for soprano and chamber ensemble / by Josef Alexander ; text, poems by Emily Dickinson.
      [19--]
      1 score (41 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For soprano, flute, B♭ clarinet, bassoon, F horn, violin, viola, cello, piano. "Commissioned by North/South Consonace[,] Max Lifchitz, director." Contents: Indian summer -- I died for beauty -- The sky is low -- The heart asks pleasure first -- There's a certain slant of light -- Bring me the sunset in a cup.

2 Aℓ27in AlexanderBxC02f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Four incantations : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1964?]
      25 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1964 (cf. Grove Music online). Leaves 19-25 renumbered in pencil as 14-20.

21.1 Aℓ27in

AlexanderBxB01f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Interplay : for four French horns / by Josef Alexander.
      [1975?]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 2 parts
      Composed in 1975 (cf. Grove Music online). Each leaf of score was originally assembled from pieces of ozalid vellum taped together, but the tape dried out and the pieces separated; score reassembled with plastic clips. Includes parts for horns 3-4.

25.2 Aℓ27in AlexanderBxC05f16

Alexander, Josef.
      Three (inventions) for two (instruments) : oboe and viola / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in black ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

47 Aℓ27ja AlexanderBxC02f14

Alexander, Josef.
      Jazz fantasia : for mixed chorus a cappella / by Josef Alexander ; text by Carl Sandburg.
      [19--]
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus. Includes piano reduction for rehearsal purposes. Occasional markings in pencil.

39 Aℓ27ℓis h ms AlexanderBxC02f16

Alexander, Josef.
      Les litanies de Satan : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text from Baudelaire, Les fleurs de mal.
      [19--]
      1 score (11 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For soprano or tenor and piano. French words.

39 Aℓ27ℓis AlexanderBxC02f17

Alexander, Josef.
      Les litanies de Satan : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text from Baudelaire.
      [19--]
      1 score (14 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. French words from Fleurs du mal. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

47 Aℓ27ℓit org AlexanderBxC02f19

Alexander, Josef.
      A litany of thanksgiving : for mixed chorus and organ / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections from Psalms 105, 92, 95, 107.
      [19--]
      1 score (22 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus and organ. English words.

47 Aℓ27ℓit AlexanderBxC02f18

Alexander, Josef.
      A litany of thanksgiving : for mixed chorus and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections from Psalms 105, 92, 95, 107.
      [19--]
      1 score (20 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SSTB chorus and piano. English words. Includes page-layout instructions in manuscript red ink for reproduction of score.

2 Aℓ27ℓi AlexanderBxC02f15

Alexander, Josef.
      Little suite : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      11 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Lament -- Barnyard blues -- Robot 59 -- Washington Square waltz -- March.

39 Aℓ27ℓo h AlexanderBxC02f21

Alexander, Josef.
      Love is a deep and a dark and a lonely : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Carl Sandburg.
      [19--]
      1 score (7 leaves) ; 34 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and piano.

41 Aℓ27ℓo AlexanderBxC02f22

Alexander, Josef.
      Love is a deep and a dark and a lonely : for voice, violin and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Carl Sandburg.
      [19--]
      1 score (9 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (3 leaves) ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice, violin and piano. Includes manuscript note in red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

20.5 Aℓ27me AlexanderBxC02f23

Alexander, Josef.
      Meditation : for solo clarinet (B♭) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      4 leaves of music ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. "Dedicated to the memory of Martin Luther King."

25.2 Aℓ27mi AlexanderBxC05f18

Alexander, Josef.
      Three miniatures for two extremes / Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      For piccolo and F tuba. Caption title. Printed on ozalid vellum. Contents: Downstream -- Midstream -- Upstream.

25.2 Aℓ27mi ms AlexanderBxC05f17

Alexander, Josef.
      Three miniatures for two extremes : piccolo and tuba (F) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Downstream -- Midstream -- Upstream.

41 Aℓ27mo AlexanderBxC02f24

Alexander, Josef.
      Mode moods : song cycle for mezzo soprano, flute and harp / by Josef Alexander ; text, Last poems by A.E. Housman.
      [19--]
      1 score (36 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Prologue -- In valleys green -- The half moon -- The sigh -- Summer's end -- The sloe was lost -- Epithalamium.

39 Aℓ27mo h AlexanderBxC02f25

Alexander, Josef.
      Moonbolt : for soprano and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Gregory Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English words.

20.3 Aℓ27mo AlexanderBxC02f26

Alexander, Josef.
      Movement for oboe and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (15 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

24.5 Aℓ27fo

AlexanderBxC02f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Four (movements) for five (brass) : 2 horns, 2 trumpets, trombone / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (33 leaves) + 6 parts ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes additional trombone part to optionally substitute for horn 2. Contents: March -- Paeon -- Dance -- Theme and variations. Includes page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

31 Aℓ27ne parts AlexanderBxC07-C08

Alexander, Josef.
      A New England overture / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      69 parts ; 32-35 cm.
      For orchestra. Title from flute 1 part. Percussion and string parts reproduced from copyist's manuscript; wind parts are copyist's manuscript in black ink. "Property of G. Schirmer, Inc. New York"--Stamp impression on cover of parts. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers, New York City"--Label on cover of percussion and string parts. String parts housed in AlexanderBxC07; wind and percussion parts housed in AlexanderBxC08f01.

31 Aℓ27ne ms. AlexanderBxC03f01

Alexander, Josef.
      A New England overture / Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      5 parts ; 35 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For string orchestra; string parts only.

2 Aℓ27ne AlexanderBxC03f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Nine new etudes : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      37 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

47 Aℓ27ne AlexanderBxC03f02

Alexander, Josef.
      A new Psalm : Apostrophe to Zion : for mixed chorus S.A.T.B. and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, Psalm found in the Qumran psalter, Dead Sea scrolls, Qumran caves.
      [19--]
      1 score (20 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English words.

15 Aℓ27no AlexanderBxC03f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Nocturne and scherzo for violin and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (24 leaves) + 1 part (9 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of music.

47 Aℓ27os AlexanderBxC03f05

Alexander, Josef.
      O sing unto the Lord : for mixed chorus SATB and piano or organ / by Josef Alexander ; text, Psalm 98.
      [19--]
      1 score (18 leaves) ; 28 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

47 Aℓ27os proof

AlexanderBxB02f01

Alexander, Josef.
      O sing unto the Lord : for mixed chorus SATB and piano or organ / by Josef Alexander ; text: Psalm 98.
      [1969?]
      1 score (18 p.) ; 33 cm. + 1 score (22 leaves) ; 41 cm.
      Pre-publication scores. Comprises 1 score reproduced from manuscript, copiously marked in blue and green pencil and manuscript red ink, and 1 printer's proof, copyright 1969 Abdingdon Press, corrected with blue pencil, manuscript black ink, and white-out. Each leaf of printer's proof protected by a sheet of ozalid vellum

47 Aℓ27os Abing AlexanderBxC08f02

Alexander, Josef.
      O sing unto the Lord : general or festival anthem for SATB voices / [music by] Josef Alexander ; [text from Psalm 98].
      Nashville : Abingdon Press, c1970.
      1 score (22 p.) ; 27 cm.
      For SATB chorus and piano. Publisher's no.: APM-562.

27 Aℓ27of

AlexanderBxB02f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Of masks and mirrors : for sop. saxophone, (or Cl. B♭), cello, piano and percussion / by Josef Alexander.
      [1983?]
      1 score (53 p.) ; 37 cm. + 1 letter ([1] leaf ; 28 cm.)
      Reproduced from manuscript. Composed in 1983 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes a form letter from Anthony Korf, artistic director of the ensemble Parnassus.

25.4 Aℓ27of AlexanderBxC03f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Of masks and mirrors : for soprano saxophone or clarinet in B♭, cello, piano, and percussion / Josef Alexander.
      [1983?]
      3 parts ; 34 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Lacks piano part. Percussion may be played by 2 performers or 1. Composed in 1983 (cf. Grove Music online).

20.7 Aℓ27pa AlexanderBxC03f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Patterns : for bassoon and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (13 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

2 Aℓ27pe AlexanderBxC03f08

Alexander, Josef.
      Perspectives : for piano / Josef Alexander.
      [1980?]
      17 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Now -- Then -- Later.

2 Aℓ27pi AlexanderBxC03f10

Alexander, Josef.
      Pieces in the attic : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1972?]
      20 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1972 (cf. Grove Music online). Contents: Grandma's bustle -- Music box -- Hobby-horse -- Antique mirror -- Civil War uniform -- Alligator shoes -- Chicago choo-choo (Little toccata) -- Jack-o-lantern -- Spyglass -- Sleigh bells.

46 Aℓ27pℓ

AlexanderBxB02f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Playthings of the wind : (four preludes) : for voice, chorus, seven brass, piano / by Josef Alexander ; text by Carl Sandburg.
      [1969?]
      1 score (100 p.) ; 36 cm.
      For high voice, SATB chorus, 2 B♭ trumpets, 2 F horns, 2 trombones, and tuba. Composed in 1969 (cf. Grove Music online).

2 Aℓ27po ms. AlexanderBxC03f11

Alexander, Josef.
      Poem / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      5 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For piano. "To Hannah"—Caption.

22.42 Aℓ27pp AlexanderBxC03f09

Alexander, Josef.
      Piano quartet / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (63 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 3 parts ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Occasional markings in pencil.

22.4 Aℓ27ps AlexanderBxC03f12

Alexander, Josef.
      Quartet for strings / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (60 leaves) ; 28 cm. + 4 parts ; 33 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

23.5 Aℓ27rw AlexanderBxC06f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Winds quintet / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (74 leaves) ; 28 cm. + 5 parts ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

22.52 Aℓ27rp AlexanderBxC03f13

Alexander, Josef.
      Quintet for piano and strings / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      4 parts ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. String parts only. "To William Kroll and the Coolidge String Quartet."

2 Aℓ27ra ms. AlexanderBxC02f04

Alexander, Josef.
      4 rainy Sunday afternoons : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      28 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

21.3 Aℓ27re AlexanderBxC03f14

Alexander, Josef.
      Requiem and coda : for baritone horn and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1974?]
      1 score (12 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1974 (cf. Grove Music online). Includes manuscript note in blue ink with page-layout instructions for printing of score.

41 Aℓ27ro AlexanderBxC03f15

Alexander, Josef.
      Rossettiana : (A celebration) : song cycle for soprano and string quartet / by Josef Alexander ; text by Christina Rossetti.
      [1982?]
      1 score (50 p.) ; 36 cm.
      English words. "Commissioned by The Bohemians (New York Musicians Club) for its 75th anniversary 1982." Reproduced from manuscript. Contents: Venus's looking glass -- Dream love -- A pause -- Moonshine -- A birthday.

41 Aℓ27ro parts AlexanderBxC03f16

Alexander, Josef.
      Rossettiana : (a celebration) : song cycle for soprano and string quartet / by Josef Alexander ; text by Christina Rossetti.
      [1982?]
      4 parts ; 34 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. String parts only. "Commissioned by The Bohemians (New York Musicians Club) for its 75th anniversary 1982." Contents: Venus's looking glass -- Dream love -- A pause -- Moonshine -- A birthday.

11 Aℓ27se AlexanderBxC04f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Serenade for classic guitar / by Josef Alexander ; [edited and fingered by Guy B. Simone].
      [19--]
      26 leaves of music ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. "Commissioned by Alberto Valdes-Blaine."

39 Aℓ27se m AlexanderBxC04f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Sesquicentennial jubilee / music by Josef Alexander ; text by Dorothea S. Wender.
      [19--]
      1 score (2 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For medium voice and piano. Cage box folder includes photocopy of manuscript.

2 Aℓ27si AlexanderBxC04f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Signs of the zodiac : for piano : twelve astral preludes / by Josef Alexander.
      [1974?]
      46 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1974 (cf. Grove Music online). Contents: Aries (the ram) -- Taurus (the bull) -- Gemini (the twins) -- Cancer (the crab) -- Leo (the lion) -- Virgo (the virgin) -- Libra (the balance) -- Scorpio (the scorpion) -- Sagittarius (the archer) -- Capricorn (the goat) -- Aquarius (the water bearer) -- Pisces (the fish).

2 Aℓ27sim AlexanderBxC06f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Two simple plaints : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      4 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: Dawn -- Dusk.

18 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for cello and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (34 leaves) + 1 part (13 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript notes in red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score and part.

20.5 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for clarinet and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (34 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (16 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

20.1 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for flute and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (27 leaves) + 1 part (10 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in black ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

21.1 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f08

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for horn (in F) and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (20 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (8 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

2 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f09

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      36 leaves of music ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

21.3 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f10

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for trombone and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (23 leaves) + 1 part (9 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

17 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f11

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for viola and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (39 leaves) + 1 part (18 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

15 Aℓ27so ms AlexanderBxC04f12

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for violin and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (35 leaves) + 1 part (12 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. “To Walter Piston”—Caption. Includes manuscript note in red ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

15 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC04f13

Alexander, Josef.
      Sonata for violin and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (35 p.) + 1 part (12 p.) ; 35 cm.
      Reproduced from manuscript.

47 Aℓ27soc AlexanderBxC04f14

Alexander, Josef.
      Song of captivity : for women's voices and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, Psalm 137.
      [19--]
      1 score (20 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SAA chorus and piano. English words.

47 Aℓ27sop AlexanderBxC04f15

Alexander, Josef.
      Song of praise : Blessed be God : for mixed voices and piano or organ / by Josef Alexander ; text, Psalm 66.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus and piano or organ. English words.

47 Aℓ27soe AlexanderBxC04f16

Alexander, Josef.
      Song of the earth : for mixed chorus and piano / by Josef Alexander ; text, selections and arrangement from Walt Whitman.
      [19--]
      1 score (18 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For SATB chorus and piano. Includes manuscript note in pencil with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

38 Aℓ27soo h AlexanderBxC04f17

Alexander, Josef.
      Songs from the Old English : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (38 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and piano. Contents: The nymph's reply / text, Walter Raleigh -- Elegy "On the eve of his execution" / text, Chidiock Tichborne -- Shall I compare thee / text, Shakespeare from Sonnets -- To the virgins / text, Robert Herrick -- By-low, my babe / text, anonymous -- On a girdle / text by Edmund Walter -- Death be not proud / text, John Donne -- The passionate shepherd / text, Christopher Marlowe.

38 Aℓ27sof AlexanderBxC04f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Seven songs of faith : for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (37 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and piano. English words; Late have I loved thee translated from Latin; Give to the winds thy fears translated from German; All creatures of our God translated from Italian. Contents: Late have I loved thee / text by St. Augustine -- My spirit longeth for thee / text by John Byron -- O Lord, thou hast searched me / text from Psalm 139 -- Praise the Lord / text by Charles Wesley -- Out of the depths / text, Psalm 130 -- Give to the winds thy fears / text, Paul Gerhardt ; translation, John Wesley -- All creatures of our God / text, St. Francis of Assisi ; translation by William H. Draper.

38 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC02f20

Alexander, Josef.
      Songs of light and darkness : eight songs for voice and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (29 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Contents: The sick rose ; Never seek to tell thy love / poems by William Blake -- Eve's apple / poem by John Keats -- Debt ; Let it be forgotten / poems by Sara Teasdale -- Spring morning / poem by Marion Strobel - The lost love (Negro spiritual) / poem by Fenton Thomas -- The last guest / poem by Frances Shaw. Cage box folder includes paper with title and contents of work inscribed in manuscript green ink.

41 Aℓ27so AlexanderBxC05f19

Alexander, Josef.
      Three songs for soprano and flute / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (7 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. English words. Contents: If we must part / poem, A valediction by Ernest Dowson -- And my heart puts forth its pain / poem by Rubert Brooks [i.e. Rupert Brooke] -- Little red song / poem by Hannah Alexander.

2 Aℓ27st mAlexanderBxC05f01

Alexander, Josef.
      Stations of the cross : for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      18 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. "Dedicated to my dear friend Dr. David Bickimer." Contents: Jesus is condemned to death -- Jesus is made to carry his cross -- Jesus falls the first time -- Jesus meets his blessed mother -- Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross -- Veronica wipes the face of Jesus -- Jesus falls the second time -- Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem -- Jesus falls a third time -- Jesus is stripped of his garments -- Jesus is nailed to the cross -- Jesus dies on the cross -- Jesus is taken down from the cross -- Jesus is laid in the tomb.

20.1 Aℓ27syn ms AlexanderBxC05f02

Alexander, Josef.
      Sychronization : for flutes / by Josef Alexander.
      [1983?]
      1 score (19 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For 2 flutes or flutes in pairs. Composed in 1983 (cf. Grove Music online).

20.1 Aℓ27syn AlexanderBxC05f03

Alexander, Josef.
      Sychronizations : for flutes / Josef Alexander.
      [1983?]
      1 score (22 leaves) ; 32 cm.
      For 2 flutes. Composed in 1983 (cf. Grove Music online). Printed on ozalid vellum.

31 Aℓ27syo

AlexanderBxB02f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Three symphonic odes : for mens chorus and orchestra / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (113 p.) ; 39 cm.
      For TTBB chorus and orchestra. Words in English from Olympic odes by Pindar (translator unspecified), My sweetest Lesbia by Caius Valerius Catullus translated by Thomas Campion, and To Thaliarchus by Quintus Horatius Flaccus translated by John Dryden. Contents: Ode to victory -- Ode to love -- Ode to joy.

20.1 Aℓ27syr AlexanderBxC05f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Syrinx : for flute (unaccompanied) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      8 leaves of music ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

15 Aℓ27sy AlexanderBxC05f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Syzygy set : for solo violin / Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      18 leaves of music ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

39 Aℓ27te h AlexanderBxC05f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Tears / by Josef Alexander ; [words from Tennyson's In memoriam].
      [19--]
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For high voice and piano.

22.3 Aℓ27ts AlexanderBxC05f07

Alexander, Josef.
      Theme, variations, and finale for string trio / Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      3 parts ; 31 cm.
      Copyist's manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Caption title from violin part.

22.2 Aℓ27th AlexanderBxC05f10

Alexander, Josef.
      Three by two : for violin and cello / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (14 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

20.5 Aℓ27th

AlexanderBxB02f05

Alexander, Josef.
      Threesome : for two clarinets (B♭) and piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [1986?]
      1 score (34 leaves) ; 36 cm. + 1 part (19 leaves) ; 40 cm.
      Score: manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum; part: photocopy of score with piano staves removed and clarinet staves pasted together. "Commissioned by The American Chamber Ensemble." Composed in 1986 (cf. Grove Music online).

2 Aℓ27to AlexanderBxC05f20

Alexander, Josef.
      Toccata for piano / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      12 leaves of music ; 33 cm.
      Reproduced on ozalid vellum from manuscript.

24.2 Aℓ27tr AlexanderBxC05f22

Alexander, Josef.
      A trio of duets : (trumpet and trombone) / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (21 leaves) ; 32 cm. + 1 note
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Includes manuscript note in blue ink with page-layout instructions for reproduction of score.

24.3 Aℓ27tr

AlexanderBxB02f06

Alexander, Josef.
      Trio for brass : trumpet, horn, trombone / by Josef Alexander.
      [1972?]
      1 score (34 leaves) ; 40 cm. + 3 parts ; 36 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Imprint information pasted at foot of p. [1] of score: Copyright 1972 by General Music Co., Inc., Hastings-on-Hudson, N.Y. Score enclosed in paper folder marked: Old trio score, new score at Paul Kapp, General Music. Folder includes parts copied from vellum masters via blackline process.

22.32 Aℓ27tr AlexanderBxC05f21

Alexander, Josef.
      Trio for piano, violin, cello / by Josef Alexander.
      [19--]
      1 score (63 leaves) ; 35 cm. + 3 parts ; 32 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum.

25.3 Aℓ27tr AlexanderBxC05f23

Alexander, Josef.
      Triptych : for cornet, marimba, guitar / by Josef Alexander.
      [1969?]
      1 score (42 leaves) ; 32 cm. + 3 parts ; 34 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. Composed in 1969 (cf. Grove Music online).

39 Aℓ27we m AlexanderBxC06f03

Alexander, Josef.
      We fight / words and music by John Allen.
      [19--]
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. John Allen is a pseudonym of Josef Alexander. Words also inscribed as text on preliminary page.

31 Aℓ27wi parts AlexanderBxC06f04

Alexander, Josef.
      Williamsburg suite / J. Alexander.
      [19--]
      7 parts ; 35 cm. + 1 note
      Copyist’s manuscript in black ink on ozalid vellum. For strings, timpani, and percussion. Caption title from violin 1 part. Contents: Ludwell-Paradise House -- Old Court House -- Public Gaol -- Bruton Parish Church -- Raleigh Tavern -- The Capitol -- Governor's Palace.

AlexanderBxC08f04

Moross, Jerome, 1913-1983.

      Symphony / Jerome Moross.

       [194-?]

      1 part (8 unnumbered pages) ; 36 cm.

      Manuscript in black ink. 1^st flute part. Copious markings in black and red pencil. Paste-overs in manuscript black ink on pages 3-4. Stamp impression in black ink on title page: REFERENCE. Typescript note on title page: American Music Center, 250 West 57^th St., Suite 626-7, New York,, NY 10019.