Contact
Information
|
|
Lila Acheson Wallace Library |
|
The Juilliard School |
|
60 Lincoln Center Plaza |
|
New York, NY 10023-6588 |
|
USA |
|
Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265 |
|
Fax: (212) 769-6421 |
|
Email: library@juilliard.edu |
|
Papers processed by: |
Regan deVictoria and Lee Anne Tuason, supervised and revised by Jeni Dahmus |
|
Music scores processed by: |
David Snow |
|
Date completed: |
February 20, 2014; revised May 24, 2017; revised March 11, 2019 |
|
Encoded by: |
David Snow |
©2019
The Arthur Gold and Robert Fizdale Collection is arranged in the following series:
The collection documents the lives and careers of Arthur Gold and Robert Fizdale. Series I contains personal and professional correspondence. Gold and Fizdale’s uniquely elevated position in the New York and European artistic community is reflected here in their notable correspondents, including Alba Buitoni, Paul Bowles, Darius Milhaud, Nicolas Nabokov, Leontyne Price, Ned Rorem, and James Schuyler. Arthur Gold and James Schuyler were known to be romantically involved for a period of approximately five years (1952-1957), and the Schuyler file includes several items of particular interest, including manuscripts of “The Fireproof Floors of Witley Court” and “A Picnic Cantata,” with text by Schuyler to accompany music by Paul Bowles. Also contained in this series are notification of a 1964 Grammy nomination, acknowledgements from the Library of Congress in response to donations of several holographs created by Francis Poulenc and other composers, a letter by Fizdale to his family dated 1943 describing Thanksgiving with Arthur Gold at the home of former Juilliard faculty members Josef and Rosina Lhévinne, and Robert Fizdale’s educational documents. Materials in the series are arranged alphabetically and chronologically. (For correspondence and subject files related to specific research projects, see Series III.)
Series II includes article and newspaper clippings documenting Gold and Fizdale’s public performances, professional engagements, and social appearances; this series also includes articles and newspaper clippings on general interest topics, as retained by Gold and Fizdale. Within individual folders, materials have been arranged chronologically by date where applicable, with undated items at the back. (For additional articles and newspaper clippings related to research topics, see Series III.)
Series III includes material related to various research projects, writings, and publications. Iconographic materials related to these projects have been moved to Series VII. This series is organized into six sub-series:
Sub-series I: Misia: The Life of Misia Sert
Gold and Fizdale’s first biographical work, Misia: The Life of Misia Sert was published in 1981. Their research and writing process is well documented in this sub-series, which includes correspondence, subject files, intact research binders, articles, manuscripts and galleys, and interview notes. Several items of interest exist in this sub-series, including original correspondence from George Auric (both to Misia Sert and to Gold and Fizdale) and Jean Cocteau; however, most correspondence to and from Misia Sert are research photocopies obtained from a variety of sources. Permissions for use of copyrighted images or text are present throughout. Gold and Fizdale maintained several binders of research materials, drafts, and other documents as they wrote, and these binders have been retained in their original order. Research binders are titled by original label and arranged alphabetically. Sub-series I is arranged alphabetically and chronologically within.
Sub-series II: The Gold and Fizdale Cookbook and other cooking projects
This sub-series includes items related to The Gold and Fizdale Cookbook, published in 1984, and other cooking projects, including a series of articles for Vogue and other magazines. This section is fairly robust, containing a combined correspondence/subject file sub-series, articles and clippings, and cookbook manuscripts, all arranged alphabetically by record type. Food-related articles written by Gold and Fizdale are arranged here by publication and title, and folders contain all related notes, drafts, and, when available, the final published article as retained by Gold and Fizdale. George Balanchine, Virgil Thomson and other notables make appearances in this sub-series as subjects of Gold and Fizdale-authored food articles. Particularly of interest in this sub-series is original correspondence from Leonard Bernstein featuring a poem entitled “To Gold and Fizdale” praising their culinary talents; this poem, written by Mr. Bernstein and present here in several drafts, was featured on the inside cover flap of the hardcover edition of The Gold and Fizdale Cookbook. Sub-series II is arranged alphabetically and chronologically within.
Sub-series III: The Divine Sarah: A Life of Sarah Bernhardt
The Divine Sarah: A Life of Sarah Bernhardt, published in 1991, was the last biographical work completed by Gold and Fizdale. This sub-series includes correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and articles. Several items of interest exist in this sub-series, including an original envelope addressed to Miss May Agate in Bernhardt’s hand. Permissions for use of copyrighted images or text are present throughout. Both correspondence and subject files may include permissions. Packets of research have been left intact; manuscripts are titled by original label and arranged alphabetically. Box 34 also contains 3M computer diskettes labeled Sarah Bernhardt. Sub-series III is arranged alphabetically and chronologically within.
Sub-series IV: Other Research Projects and Writings
This sub-series includes materials related to other short or unpublished writings: articles on George Balanchine (New York Review of Books, June 2, 1983), Mona Williams Bismarck (Vanity Fair, August 1987), and Bronislava Nijinska (New York Magazine, September 7, 1981), unpublished drafts of Nuova Letteraturea (by Ernesto Rubin de Cervin, translation from Italian to English by Robert Fizdale), and a short handwritten draft of a dramatic piece entitled “Travel Play.” Notable here is a copy of the Last Will and Testament of George Balanchine, dated May 25, 1978.
Sub-series V: Erik Satie (unpublished)
The records pertaining to Erik Satie are particularly interesting. Before authoring Misia: The Life of Misia Sert, Gold and Fizdale had intended to write a biography on the composer - however, during their initial research, they ran into permissions issues:
“…[T]he pianists wanted to spend a sabbatical year in France. So, they conjured up an idea of a book on Satie. Unfortunately, a misunderstanding with an heir to the estate led to their dropping the project. Intending to write a biography, they had access to important information that the heir to Satie’s estate objected to being made public. Their publisher encouraged them to consider another project and they hit upon Misia who was mentioned in the memoirs they had been reading for information about Satie.”
Accordingly, the Erik Satie project was abandoned. Items of note in this sub-series include original correspondence to Gold and Fizdale from Pierre Boulez, René Clair, Henri Sauguet, and Madeline Milhaud (wife of Darius Milhaud); also included are several versions of Satie’s Sports et Divertissements text, translated by Virgil Thomson. Sub-series V is arranged alphabetically and chronologically within.
Sub-series VI: Lecture Materials
Lecture materials include notes, presentation index cards, programs and research related to what appears to be seven separate lectures: “Aspects of the Classic Tradition,” “Community lecture,” “The Diaghilev Heritage,” “George Balanchine: images and recollections,” “A Painter and His Muse: Vuillard and Misia,” “In Search of Sarah Bernhardt,” “The Romantic Era,” “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart,” Materials in this sub-series are arranged alphabetically by lecture title and chronologically within; lecture slides have been moved to Series VII.
Series IV includes season itineraries, posters, press materials, and programs related to Gold and Fizdale’s public performances and professional engagements, as well as programs from other artists and unrelated events, as retained by Gold and Fizdale. All materials are arranged chronologically.
Series V includes performance and professional engagement materials such as appointment books, concert programming drafts and documents, performance and recording contracts, program note drafts, royalty earning statements, and scheduling/travel itineraries. All folders are arranged chronologically; contracts arranged chronologically by date of contract signing, where applicable, rather than appearance date.
Series VI includes correspondence, income tax returns, income/expense receipts, bank statements, checks, bank ledgers, and miscellaneous financial documents. Materials have been loosely arranged chronologically by date; however, within individual folders, original order has been retained.
Series VII includes photographs, negatives/transparencies, slides, and other iconographic materials from the entire collection, especially Series III. Of note in the photograph sub-series is a particularly robust selection of Jean Cocteau prints featuring drawings of Misia Sert, Serge Diaghilev, Vaslay Nijinsky and others, and a selection of candid photographs taken at Henri and Eugenia Doll’s Long Island home picturing George Balanchine, among others, and Gold and Fizdale themselves. Printed stills from a movie shot in Paris ca. 1930 by Bobsy Goodspeed Chapman feature Misia Sert, Sidonne-Gabrielle Colette, Roussy Mdivani, Igor Stravinsky, and Francis Poulenc. Photographs related to the Sarah Bernhardt and Erik Satie sub-series are numerous as well. Series VII is arranged by subject and chronologically within folders where applicable.
Series VIII includes music manuscripts and manuscript facsimiles comprising works for two pianos, piano 4-hands, solo piano, and voice with piano accompaniment. Included are holographs by John Cage, Robert Fizdale, Raymond Fol, Vittorio Rieti, Germaine Tailleferre and Charles Turner, and facsimiles of holographs by Luciano Berio, Pierre Boulez, Roberto Caamaño, Theodore Chanler, Aaron Copland, Gaetano Donizetti, Alexei Haieff, Darius Milhaud, Jerome Moross, Vittorio Rieti, Ned Rorem and Henri Sauguet. Scores are arranged alphabetically by composer, then alphabetically by title for each composer.
Gift of the estate of Robert Fizdale, 1996.
Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.
Pianists Arthur Gold (February 6, 1917–January 3, 1990) and Robert Fizdale (April 12, 1920–December 6, 1995) met in the late 1930s at the Juilliard Graduate School where Gold studied with Josef and Rosina Lhévinne, and Fizdale was a student of Ernest Hutcheson. They made their professional debut as duo pianists in 1944 at the New School for Social Research in New York with a program devoted to the music of John Cage. In a career that spanned almost four decades, Gold and Fizdale were admired both for their artistry and for the scope of their repertory, which included most of the two-piano literature, music for piano duet, and works involving other performers, notably the Liebeslieder waltzes by Johannes Brahms and Bela Bartók's Sonata for two pianos and percussion. They also revived a pair of early two-piano concertos by Mendelssohn, among other neglected compositions. Composers who created works for them include Georges Auric, Samuel Barber, Luciano Berio, Norman Dello Joio, Darius Milhaud, Francis Poulenc, Ned Rorem, and Virgil Thomson. Fizdale and Gold were life partners for more than 40 years, sharing homes in Manhattan and Water Mill, Long Island. By the time arthritis forced Fizdale to retire from the concert stage in 1982, he and Gold had already embarked on second careers as authors. In 1980, they produced a biography of Misia Sert, a pianist and patron of the arts in early 20th-century Paris. In 1984 they collaborated on the Gold and Fizdale cookbook, and in 1990 they completed The Divine Sarah, a biography of Sarah Bernhardt.
Gold, Arthur.
Fizdale, Robert.
Series I: General correspondence and subject files
Box 1
1) Accademia Filarmonica Romana, January & June 1973 (in Italian; Adrianna Panni, with reply from Fizdale)
2) Adler, Hans, June 1964, August 1965, December 1968 (in German)
3) Allen Stone Gallery, November 1, 1967 (re: sale of Willem de Kooning painting signed “to Arthur and Bob de Kooning”)
4) Architectural Digest, December 1984 (Jean-Paul Beaujard, James Huntington, & Hans Namuth; see also: Series VII: Slides: Misc. and unidentified)
5) Asociacion Wagneriana De Buenos Aires, May 1968 – June 1969 (Berta Zaefferer Toro de Guevara Civit & Nelly Walter)
6) Association des Amis de Francis Poulenc, February, March, May 1979 (includes a copy of “Francis Poulenc: Journal de Vacances", 1911 – 1912)
7) Baldwin Piano & Organ Company, October 1964, March 1965, October 1970 (Jack Romann & Wlliam C. Wachs)
8) Bowles, Paul, February 1969
9) Brantes family, October 1980, 1991, 1992 (see also: Series VII: Photographs: General: Brantes family)
10) Buitoni, Alba, June 15, 1971 (Associazione Amici Della Musica Perugia)
11) Cantoni, Giulio, October & December, 1978, March 1980 (Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences)
12) CBS Records, May 1966, April 1968, undated (Earl Price)
13) Charpentier, Gabriel, September 1958 (Société Radio-Canada, in French)
14) Chotzinoff, Samuel, July 19, 1955 (NBC)
15) Columbia Artists Management, February 1963 – September 1979 (includes: Myron Hull to Edgar Kneedler, David S. Cooper, Nelly Walter, Dorothy Holmes, Lillian Cunningham, Marianne C. Kern, Virginia Anzalone, Omus Hirshbein, Elly Miller, and Marilyn Lee Blanc; with reply from Gold & Fizdale)
16) Columbia Records, June 1960 – May 1965 (Schuyler Chapin, Vincent Ryan, Corinne Semon, John McClure, & Jane Friedmann; with reply from Fizdale)
17) Cone, Dorothy, December 1972, undated (with reply from Fizdale)
18) Deutscher Verlag für Musik, May & August 1963, May 1964 (Dr. Zeraschi)
19) Dixon, Dean, June 1969
20) Eminente, Gianni, January 1972, May 1973
21) Fish, John and Rose, August 1943 – May 1974, undated (Parents of Fizdale; includes an early letter (1943) in which Robert Fizdale describes dinner at Mr. and Mrs. Josef Lhévinne’s residence, practicing with Arthur Gold at Juilliard, and an upcoming shoulder surgery. Also includes original Western Union telegram dated February 15, 1946 from John Fish to Gold and Fizdale)
22) Fizdale, Robert, September 30, 1956 (to Dr. Frederic Dorian, Pittsburg Symphony Orchestra; includes Fizdale’s program notes for concert for Mendelssohn’s Concerto for two pianos in E major (first American performance) & Poulenc’s Concerto in D minor, program, and envelope)
23) Fizdale, Robert (educational documents), 1934 – 1937, 1948 – 1949, undated (includes 2nd grade report card, series of semester report cards from Carl Shurz High School, and annual catalog from the American Conservatory of Music)
24) Fizdale, Mr. and Mrs. Walter (envelope only), September 19, 1939
25) Ghyssaert, Axel, November 1980 – March 1981 (in French)
26) Gold, Arthur and Robert Fizdale, August 1965 – March 1982, undated:
Dr. Arndt, February 21, 1969 (American Embassy, Teheran, Iran)
Hacobian, Dr. Zazen, February 21, 1969 (Ministry of Culture and Arts, Teheran, Iran)
Miss. Kern, August 16, 1963
Maestro Luparelli, June 9, 1975
Mr. Sprince, July 19, 1977
Wood, Thor, September 7, 1979
Unidentified (in English, French, & Italian)
27) Gordon, Alastair, March 12, 1986 (see also: Series II: Articles: Gordon, Alastair – East Hampton architecture)
28) Grant, Margaret, June 27, 1970 & March 30, 1981 (includes Estate of Margaret Grant and related correspondence)
29) Guild Hall, January – March 1977 (Lee K. Bendheim & Mildred Granitz; with reply from Fizdale)
30) Ingram Merrill Foundation, January 15, 1960 (John Myers)
31) Invitations and event cards, 1959 – 1994, undated
32) Laires, Fernando, January – March 1979 (University of Maryland)
33) Library of Congress, Jan. – August 1967, April & Nov. 1969 (Harold Spivacke, Jennings Wood, Paul Edlund, William Lichtenwanger, & Carroll Wade; re: donation of Poulenc manuscript and others; list enclosed)
34) Little Players, The, 1958 – 1961 (includes several programs and photocopied guestbook entries)
35) Maazel, Lorin October 1967 & July 1971 (July 1971 to Maurice Werner)
36) Mathews, Harry, October 26, 1983 (includes editor’s copy of “The Monkey at the Wheel” with inscription)
37) Metropolitan Opera National Council, April & July 1974 (Elizabeth Kehoe)
38) Meulemeester, Andre de, June 16, 1966(?)
39) Milhaud, Darius, May 17, 1948 (original letter in Milhaud’s hand; see also: Series VII: Erik Satie: Milhaud)
40) Mitgang, Laura, November 12, 1981
41) Nabokov, Nicolas, August 1965 & June 1967 (Berliner Festwochen; see also: Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Publication, Vogue: “Nicholas Nabokov and his cooking repertory”)
42) National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, April 14, 1964 (John Scott Trotter; re: 1963 Awards of the Record Academy (Grammy) nomination; for nomination plaque, see Box 65)
43) National Guild of Piano Teachers, February 17, 1976 (Robert H. Alexander)
44) New York Review Presentations, November 8, 1968 (Roberta Gaal)
45) Poirier, Richard, October - November 1973 (with letter from Fizdale; see also Rubin de Cervin, Ernesto)
46) Price, Leontyne(?), January 4, 1972, undated (includes short, handwritten piece of music: “Leon’s Round, Aug 30, 1981”)
47) Propaganda Musicale, April 1964 – February 1982 (In French & Italian; see also: Société Philharmonique de Bruxelles)
48) Rorem, Ned, November 27, 1977
49) Rubin de Cervin, Ernesto, September 1971 – October 1973 (In Italian; see also Poirier, Richard)
50) Sanzogno, Nino, May 26, 1965 (Teatro alla Scala)
51) Schuman, William, March 2, 1962 (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Inc.; re: opening week of Lincoln Center)
Box 2
1) Schuyler, James, August 16, 1969 (includes program with text for “A Picnic Cantata” – text by Schuyler, music by Paul Bowles includes manuscript of “The Fireproof Floors of Witley Court,” program notes for Monday Evening Concerts, March 26, 1962 and two translations of excerpts from Pierre Louÿs “Chansons de Bilitis” by James Schuyler and Robert Fizdale)
2) Seijo, Ralph (Local 802), March 18, 1982 (from Fizdale; re: cancellation of health insurance policy, includes related Mutual of New York health insurance policy certificates)
3) Société Philharmonique de Bruxelles, April 1964 – October 1968, January 1973 (in French; see also Propaganda Musicale)
4) Südwestfunk, 1965 – 1971 (in German, Dr. G.W. Baruch, Walter Lessing, & Dr. Ingeborg Schatz)
5) Steinberg, William, December 26, 1972 & March 23, 1973 (Pittsburgh Symphony Society)
6) Tinan, Hélène de (Debussy’s stepdaughter), May 1961 (includes related correspondence from Yvonne de Casa Fuerta)
7) Tuesday Musical Club Artists Series, December 1972 & February 16, 1974 (Leila Greenlee, with reply from Fizdale)
8) Van Cliburn International Quadrennial Piano Competition, March 1975 – April 1978 (Betty Claire Dupree, & Robert Alexander; with reply from Gold & Fizdale)
9) Viaud, Jacques, October 16, 1981
10) Werner, Maurice, May 1964 – October 1981 (in French; see also Maazel, Lorin)
11) Miscellaneous A-Z, October 1940 – June 1993, undated:
Associazione Italiana Diffusione Educazione Musicale, September 29, 1959
B. Schott’s Söhne – Mainz, October 21, 1963
Bernier, Rosamond, October 27, 1984
Blossom Music Center, June 7, 1970 (Benson E. Snyder)
Boosey & Hawkes, October 11, 1963 (David S. Adams)
Circolo Della Musica Di Imola, March 7, 1981
Cleveland Orchestra, May 7, 1979
Concerto C.W. Winderstein, May 20, 1969 (Dr. Göhre)
Dillon, Millicent, undated
Dover Publications, 1978
Edizioni Suvini Zerboni, March 24, 1965
Emerson Hospital, April 24, 1963
Festival Internazionale Di Musica Contemporanea, August 14, 1971
Great Chefs of France, December 13, 1984 (Isabelle R. Leeds)
Hollander, Jamison, January 18, 1960
Ibbs & Tillett, October 18, 1968 (Emmie M. Tillett)
Incontri Internazionale Della Danza, June 2, 1975
Jensen, Eric, June 22, 1993
Jeunesses Musicales, November 12, 1968 (Hadelin Donnet)
Joseph, Ann, April 27, 1979
Kiser, Kiki, undated
Leskov, Nikolai, 1973 (The Enchanted Wanderer written on empty envelope)
Organizzazione Internazionale Concerti, August 5, 1968
Phipps, Mary (Mrs. Howard Phipps Jr.), June 21, 1979
RAI – Radiotelevisione Italiana, 1967-1975 (Enzo Luparelli)
Raymond, Robert, May 7, 1976
Saratoga Performing Arts Center, November 26, 1979
Societá Amici Della Musica – Modena, March 29, 1972
Société Avignonaise Des Concerts, 1979
STANDA, August 8, 1972 (Michele Scardi)
The Twentieth Century Fund, undated
Underwood, Christopher, ca. 1980
Universal Edition, March 27, 1965
VOX Productions, Inc., May 18, 1959 (George H. Mendelssohn)
Westdeutscher Rundfunk, March 8, 1965
Unidentified, 1940-1982, undated
Series II: Newspaper Clippings and Articles
Box 3
1) Articles: General interest, misc., September 1959 – July 1986, undated (see also Box 64)
2) Articles: Gold and Fizdale, April 1943 – November 1962
3) Articles: Gold and Fizdale, February 1963 – July 1986, undated
4) Articles: Gordon, Alastair – East Hampton architecture, August 1984 – March 1986, undated (see also: Series I: Gordon, Alastair)
Box 4
1) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1936-1938
2) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1943-1949
3) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1950-1956
4) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1957-1959
5) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1960-1969
Box 5
1) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1970-1979
2) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, 1980-1987
3) Newspaper clippings: Gold and Fizdale, undated
Box 6
1) Newspaper clippings: General interest, ballet, 1951 – 1990
2) Newspaper clippings: General interest, cooking, 1967 – 1979
3) Newspaper clippings: General interest, cooking, 1980 – 1984, undated
4) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Erik Satie, 1973, undated
5) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Francis Poulenc, 1963
6) Newspaper clippings: General interest, George Balanchine, 1970 – 1985
7) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Igor Stravinsky, 1971 – 1983
8) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Misa Sert, 1953 – 1980, undated
9) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Miscellaneous,1954 – 1992, undated
Box 7
1) Newspaper clippings: General interest, Sarah Bernhardt, 1923 – 1988
2) Newspaper clippings: Lectures, reviews, 1977 – 1992, undated
3) Newspaper clippings: Misia: The Life of Misia Sert, reviews, 1980 – 1986, undated
4) Newspaper clippings: The Gold and Fizdale Cookbook, reviews, 1984-1985, undated
Series III: Research projects, writings and publications
Box 8
Sub-series I: Misia: The Life of Misia Sert (William Morrow, 1981):
Correspondence and Subject files, 1875-1981, undated:
1) Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., 1979
2) Astruc, Gabriel –Le Pavillon des Fantomes, 1929 (in French)
3) Auric, Georges (Misia Sert), 1915, undated (includes an original letter to Misia (gift to Gold and Fizdale from Brantes family), accompanying correspondence, and permissions, in French)
4) Bakst, Léon, December 20, 1914 (to Misia Sert)
5) Beaumont, Comte Etienne de, undated (in French, see also Series VII: Photographs: Sert, Misia - with others)
6) Bennett, Arnold – The Journal of Arnold Bennett, 1908
7) Benois, Alexandre, 1909 (to José-Marie Sert, in French)
8) Bodin, Thierry, 1976, 1979 - 1981, 1987 (includes catalog of Bodin’s private collection “Les Autographes” (Spring 1980); see also Subject files: Cocteau, Jean; in French)
9) Bonnard, Pierre, undated (includes letters to Misia Sert & permissions)
10) Brunhoff, Anne de, November 3, 1980
11) Calvocoressi, M.D. – Music and Ballet: Recollections of M.D. Calvocoressi, 1933
12) Casa Fuerte, Yvonne de, October 1979 (in French)
13) Casteja, Alexandre de, July 24, 1979
14) Chabassol, Claude (aka Paul Uldace) January 1978, January – February 1979 (includes permissions, see also: Rucki, Mara, in French)
15) Claudel, Paul, 1936-1979 (includes letters to Misia Sert & permissions, see also: Subject Files: Ristelhueber, Boulos, in French)
16) Cocteau, Jean, 1914-1976 ( includes an original letter in Cocteau’s hand, includes “Cocteau – outstanding,” “Cocteau – letters from Thierry Bodin Coll.,” “Letters to Misia,” “Letters to Misia – not in book,” “Letters to Misia – used in our book” see also: Correspondence: Bodin, Thierry; in English & French) Folder 1 of 2
17) Cocteau, Jean, 1915-1978 (includes “Misia to Cocteau” “Misia to Cocteau – not used,” “Possibilities (still under construction),” “Take a copy of Misia to Paris with us” and misc. materials; see also: Correspondence: Bodin, Thierry, in English & French) Folder 2 of 2
18) Colette, 1907-1979, undated (includes letters to José-Maria and Misia Sert, permissions and excerpts, Journal Intermittent, see also: Jouvenel, Colette, in French & English)
19) Conrad, Doda, May – Nov. 1977, Feb. 1978, Feb. 1980
20) Coolus, Romain, 1905 - 1911 (includes letters to Misia Sert & permissions, in French)
21) Craft, Robert Lawson, September 1977, June – August 1978 (with reply)
22) Denis, Maurice, 1898 (to Edouard Vuillard, in French)
23) Desbordes, Jean, undated (to Misia Sert, in French)
24) Diaghilev, Sergei, 1908-1954, undated (in English & French)
25) Edwards, Alfred, undated
26) Fort, Paul, undated
27) Garbus, Martin, April 29, 1980
28) Gheusi, Pierre B., 1907, 1909 (to Misia Sert, in French)
29) Gide, André, 1914-1974 (includes permissions, in French & English)
30) Givenchy, Hubert de, February 21, 1975 (in French)
31) Godebski family, 1975, undated (in French & English)
32) Gold, Arthur and Robert Fizdale, undated (legal documents)
33) Goncourt Journals, undated
34) Gottlieb, Robert, Nov. 1978, July 1979, Nov. 1980 (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia – with others)
35) Gruber, Mrs. Georges, undated (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia – with others)
36) Guitry, Sacha and Lucien, 1935, 1953, 1979, undated (includes permissions, in French)
Box 9
1) Hérisson, Janine, August - October 1980 (includes correspondence from Gold & Fizdale, translation notes, copies and other materials)
2) Hérisson, Janine, October - November 1980 (includes correspondence from Gold & Fizdale, translation notes, copies and other materials)
3) Hérisson, Janine, November 1980 – January 1981 (includes correspondence from Gold & Fizdale, translation notes, copies and other materials)
4) Horst, Horst P., undated (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Horst, Horst P. & Series VII: Other visual materials: Misia: Horst, Horst P.)
5) Hugo, Jean, November 9, 1974, undated (includes description of Misia by [Etienne?] Drian)
6) Hugo, Valentine, undated
7) James, Clive, September 1980 (“The Supreme Farewell of Handkerchiefs,” published poem dedicated to Gold and Fizdale)
8) Jouvenel, Colette, 1980 (see also: Colette)
9) Jullian, Philippe, August 16, 1973 (“Reine de Paris Pendant 40 Ans: Misia”)
10) Kessler, Count Harry, 1926-1975 (includes “The Diaries of a Cosmopolitan…”)
11) Kochno, Boris, 1977-1979 (see also Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia – with others, in French)
12) Kossak, Ewa, 1975 - 1979
13) Lafosse-Sert, Joseph, 1979
14) Lantelme, Geneviève, undated
15) Lautrec, Toulouse, undated
16) Lechon, Jan, 1967, 1977 (includes correspondence from Doda Conrad; “Dziennick”)
17) Léger, Alexis, undated (includes correspondence & permissions, in French)
18) Léger, Dorothy, 1979-1980 (1979 letter to Liliane Ziegel)
19) Lugné-Poë, Aurélien, undated
20) Malcontenta (villa in Venice), undated (includes unidentified correspondence)
21) Mallarmé, Stepháne, undated (in French and English)
22) Margueritte, Marie-Louise, February 22, 1980 (in French)
23) Mayer, Denise, February 28, 1975 - January 21, 1981 (includes letters to Mayer from Paul Celier & unidentified and notes, in French and English)
24) Meyer, Adolphe de, 1978 (catalog for Nijinsky exhibition)
25) Montesquiou, Robert de, ca.1910 (to Misia Sert, in French)
26) Morand, Paul, 1963 (Journal d’un Attaché d’Ambassade)
Box 10
1) Moritz, C.T., 1976, 1979, undated (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia, in French)
2) Natanson, Thadée, 1892 – 1899, undated (to Stéphane Mallarmé, in French)
3) National Gallery, London, April 30, 1980 (Ann Blyth)
4) Pallu, Liouba, May 17, 1979 – February 14, 1980, undated (see also Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Gibert, Olga)
5) Permissions A – L, 1979-1980 (includes correspondence to and from Gold & Fizdale)
Alfred A. Knopf, Inc, 1980
Cahen-Salvador, Jean & Gilbert, 1974-1979 (in English and French)
Charmet, Jean-Loup, ca. 1979 (in French)
Chrysler Museum at Norfolk, Virginia, 1979
Daulte, François, 1979-1980 (in English and French)
E.V. Thaw & Co. Inc., ca. 1979
Hahnlose, Bernard, 1979 (in German)
Halpern, Nathan, 1980
Hooker, Mrs. James Stewart, 1979
Iskian, Anahid, 1979-1980
Kimbell Art Museum, 1979
Kunstmuseum Bern, 1979
Larionov, Mikhail, ca. 1979
Lenoir M. Josey, Inc., 1979
Louvre, 1979 (in English and French)
6) Permissions M – Z, 1974-1981 (includes correspondence to and from Gold & Fizdale)
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, 1979
Museum of Modern Art, 1979
Musée Des Beaux-Arts, Palais St. Pierre, 1979 (in English and French)
Musée Rodin, 1971 (in French)
Musées Royaux des Beaux-Arts, 1979 (in English and French)
National Gallery, London, 1979-1981
Ostier, André, 1979 (in French)
Ristelheuber, Marie-Louise, 1979 (in French)
Salomon, Antoine, 1974-1979 (in English and French)
Schimmel, Herbert, ca. 1979
Service de documentation photographique de la Réunion des musées nationaux, 1979 (in French)
Spingold Foundation, 1979
Sternberg Galleries, 1979
Tel Aviv museum, 1979
Terrasse, Charles, 1979 (in French)
Visual Artists & Galleries Association, Inc., 1979
Wallis, Hal, 1979
Wildenstein & Co., 1976-1979
Winston, Norman K, 1979 (Estate of)
Zumsteg, Gustav, 1979
7) Picasso, Pablo, July 28, 1923 & May 7, 1979 (to Misia Sert; includes permissions; in French)
8) Porel, Jacque – Fils de Réjane: Souvenirs, undated
9) Pougy, Liane de, 1977 (Mes Cahiers Bleu)
10) Poulenc, Francis, 1922, 1924, 1967, undated (to Poulenc from: Jean Cocteau, Henri Sauguet, Erik Satie, Igor Stravinsky; includes “Mes Amis et Moi”; in French)
11) Proust, Marcel, 1907-1979, undated (to Reynaldo Hahn & Misia Sert; in French & English; see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Proust, Marcel)
12) Radiguet, Raymond, 1922, undated (to Misia Sert, in French)
13) Ravel, Maurice, 1875 – 1937, 1957, undated (in French)
14) Renard, Jules, 1975 (in French)
15) Reverdy, Pierre, undated (in French)
16) Revue Blanche, La, undated (in French, see also: Veber, Pierre & Series VII: Other visual materials: Misia: Revue Blanche, La)
17) Ristelhueber, Boulos, 1940, 1941 (see also: Claudel, Paul)
18) Rodgers, Mrs. (Dorothy) Richard, 1979 – 1980, undated (to and from Fizdale and Met Museum of Art, includes permissions see also: Series VII: Other visual materials: Misia: Rodgers, Mrs. [Dorothy] Richard)
19) Rosen, Nancy, February 27 – May 21, 1979
20) Rucki, Mara, September 20, 1976 – April 9, 1980 (in French; see also Chabassol, Claude - aka Paul Uldace)
21) Sauguet, Henri, 1979 (in French)
22) Satie, Erik, 1914, 1916, 1919: (to Misia Sert; includes permissions, in French & English)
23) Schëckëvitch, Marie, 1957, undated (Souvenirs d’un Temps Disparu)
24) Schopfer, Jean (aka: Claude Anet), 1966, undated
25) Sert, Franciso de, January 26 – March 10, 1980 (with reply from Fizdale)
26) Sert, José-Maria, various (see also: Series VII: Other iconographc materials: Misia: Sert, José-Maria for Rockefeller Center: A Photographic Narrative, Correspondence: Sert, Francisco de, Interview notes and transcripts: Sert, José-Luis and Series VII: Other visual materials: Misia: Sert, José-Maria)
27) Sert, Misia, undated (biographical/genealogical; see also: Godebski family, in French)
28) Sert, Misia, undated (correspondence to Mrs. Henry Bernstein & unidentified, in French)
29) Sert, Misia, undated (“suppressed” chapter on Coco Chanel [unpublished] in French)
Box 11
1) Sternberg, Maurice, February 6, 1980
2) Stravinsky, Igor, 1913, 1916, 1919, undated (to & from Misia Sert; “Not used in our book” [chapter material intended for “Misia”]see also: Garbus, Martin, Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Misia: Stravinsky, Igor, in French & English)
3) Théâtre Réjane, 1906, undated
4) Vaillant, Annette Natanson, February 1975 – July 1980 (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Paris, France, in French)
5) Veber, Pierre, undated (“Une Generation” articles, La Revue de France, in French)
6) Verdura, Fulco di, January 26, 1971 (“Chanel”)
7) Volpi, Contessa Marina Lulling, undated
8) Volta, Ornella, February 23 – March 10, 1979 (in French)
9) Vuillard, Jean Edouard, January 17, 1929, undated (to & from Misia Sert, in French)
10) Zeigel, Liliane, February 14, 1980 (in French)
11) Miscellaneous A-Z, 1976-1981, undated
Barbier, Carl P., December 29, 1976
Dräyer, Walter, March 23, 1979 (from Fizdale)
Flammger, Harold, February 17, 1981
Rice, Daphne Allen, Deptember 14, 1976
Unidentified, 1976-1979, undated
12) Notes and miscellaneous materials, undated
13) Notes and miscellaneous materials – Iconography, undated
14) “Private collectors we are looking for,” undated
Box 12
Research Binders, undated:
1) “Misia XB: Misia and Sert live together; Diaghilev & Ballet Russes, 1st years. Misia’s role, Nijinsky’s marriage”
2) “Misia XI: War declared, her war work, Cocteau and Gide, Thomas l’Imposteur; Gide’s visit to Misia”
3) “Misia XII: War years, Misia travels, Lausanne, Les Noces Stravinsky, Letters of Stravinsky to Misia, Diaghilev to Misia”
4) “Misia XIII: A and B, Parade”
5) “Misia XIV: Misia meets Chanel; Misia’s Chapter on Chanel”
6) “Misia XIV: Misia’s Social Life During War; Morand’s Journal; Chanel trip to Italy”
7) “Misia XVA: The Twenties, 1920, Misia and Sert get married; Their life in the Twenties”
8) “Misia XVB: The Twenties - Misia and Sert marry, Misia’ new role; Sert’s Decoration, Diaghilev and French Ballets; Massine leaves; Chanel and Diaghilev; Boris K, Beaumonts and Balls”
9) “Misia XVI: Ravel La Valse; Proust’s letter; Radiguet; Les Biches-Laurencin letters”
10) “Misa XVII: Misia”
11) “Misa XVIII: Second half of the Twenties”
12) “Misia XIX: Plays about Misia; Les Monstres Sacrés; Maria La Donneuse; Misia’s concert at the Continental; Roussy”
Box 13
1) “1) Misia’s chapter on Chanel 2) Mondor Mallarme 3) Blanche’s “Chez Sonia” 4) Cocteau Thomas L’Imposteur 5) Morard Journal d’un Attache ) d’Ambrassade 6) Boulos Journal”
2) “French books and mss. translated and quoted in Misia – Folder I”
3) “French books and journals translated and quoted in Misia – Folder II”
4) “Misia: 1900-1950 Chronology - Misia’s Life”
5) "Misia: Chronology - Father’s 1835-1899; Misia 1872-1899”
6) “Misia: La Revue Blanche period”
7) “Misia: Parmenia Eckstrom’s material”
8) “Misia: Quoted material 1978; for Ziegel”
9) “Photocopies in alphabetical order of letters from Boulos collection”
Box 14
General research and reviews, 1953-1979, undated: (see also Box 7)
(text in English, French, German and Italian)
1) Articles: Misia Sert, general research, Dec. 1953 - Feb. 1987, undated
2) Articles: reviews and published excerpts, Dec. 1979 – Sept. 1980: includes St. Louis Post-Dispatch book review by Marian Seldes (March 16, 1980)
3) Articles: reviews and published excerpts, Jan. – Sept. 1981
4) Articles: reviews and published excerpts, Oct. – Nov. 1981
5) Articles: reviews and published excerpts, undated/incomplete
6) Transcript: “From the Bookshelf” radio review, July 22, 1980
Box 15
Book Manuscripts and Galleys, undated:
1) Misia manuscript, title page – 237
2) Misia manuscript, pages 238 – 475
3) Misia manuscript, title page – 255
4) Misia manuscript, pages 256 – 523
5) Manuscript notes (see also: Correspondence and Subject Files: Notes and misc. materials & Notes and misc. materials - Iconography)
Box 16
1) Galleys with some final corrections, 1979
Box 17
Interview notes & transcripts, 1972-1977, undated:
1) A – K:
Abdy, Ida, undated
Bergery, Bettina, October 31, 1974
Blacque-Belair, Aiméry, November 1, 1974
Bradley, Jenny , October 1974
Buckle, Richard, undated
Castéja, Alexandre de, undated
Chapman, Bobsy Goodspeed, undated
Codriano [first name?], January 1975
Conrad, Doda, February 1977
Coq, Suzanne le, January 29, 1975
Czapski, Joseph, undated
Dolin, Anton, undated
Givenchy, Hubert de, February 16, 1975
Goudeket, Maurice, November 12, 1972
Gruber, Mrs. George, undated
Guinsburg, Nicolas de , undated
Harwood, Anthony, undated
Ilinska, Fina, undated
Kochno, Boris, June 15, 1976
2) M – S, miscellaneous:
Meyer, Mrs. (Denise) René, November 5, 1974
Michaelis, Lil, January 29, 1975
Mille, Hervé, May 7, 1976
Nabokov, Natasha, April 3, 1977
Railey, Howard, undated
Sauget, Henri, undated
Sert, Jose Luis, March 1977
Stravinsky, Vera, April 7, 1977
Vaillant, Annette, May 24, 1976
Miscellaneous interview materials, unknown, various dates
Box 18
Sub-series II: Gold and Fizdale Cookbook (Random House, 1984) and other cooking projects (see also Box 63)
Correspondence and Subject Files, 1940-1984:
1) Bernstein, Leonard, Sept. 1965 & March 1984 (includes “To Gold and Fizdale” acrostic)
2) Condé Nast/Vogue, December 1972 – March 1982 (to and from Gold & Fizdale)
3) “Dinner Party Cookbook,” April 15, 1969 & March 3, 1972 (Book World, The McCall Publishing Co., & Saturday Review Industries)
4) Iconography: “Photograph information, Vogue,” 1973 - 1981
5) Illustrations: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, undated
6) Manuscript: The Loaves and Fishes Cookbook (Anna Plump), October 1979
7) Menu series: “Cercle des Grands Gourmands,” November 1970 – February 1973
8) Miscellaneous food-related, August 1966 – October 1984, undated
Brennan, Francis, August 23, 1966 (McCalls, from Gold & Fizdale)
Cornu, Denise, 1976
Egert, Millan L., October 28, 1968
Ford, Harry, July 10, 1979 (Atheneum)
Jackson, Judith, October 10, 1984 (Readers Express)
Lacombe, Jean Paul, June 11, 1977 (Léon de Lyon)
Plesette, Norman, undated
Prestcott, Peter, undated (from Fizdale)
Radziwill, Lee, October 16, 1984
Random House, ca. 1984 (publicity tour itinerary)
Reed, Joyce, September 13, 1977
Spear, Ruth, January 8, 1979
Stravinsky, Francoise, March 15, 1977 (to Vogue editors)
Unidentified, 1984, undated (to and from Gold & Fizdale)
9) Notebooks, bound, undated
10) Notes and recipes: “An Anthology of French and Italian Cooking,” undated
11) Notes and recipes: “Articles to be prepared in Europe,” March 1, 1980 (includes correspondence from unidentified, see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Articles to…”)
12) Notes and recipes: “Chinoiserie,” undated
13) Notes and recipes: general, undated (Folder 1 of 3)
14) Notes and recipes: general, undated (Folder 2 of 3)
Box 19
1) Notes and recipes: general, undated (Folder 2 of 3)
2) Notes and recipes: Ballet Cookbook [Balanchine] (unpublished), undated
3) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Cooking with Balanchine,” undated
4) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Discards 1982,” 1982 (Folder 1 of 2)
5) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Discards 1982,” 1982 (Folder 2 of 2)
6) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Discards Aug 18 1983,” August 1983
7) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Discards June 1984,” June 1984
8) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Discards – misc.,” undated
9) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Dessert discards 1984,” 1984
Box 20
1) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Desserts,” undated (Folder 1 of 2)
2) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Desserts,” undated (Folder 2 of 2)
3) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “First courses,” undated
4) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Fish and shellfish,” undated
5) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, general, undated
6) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Introduction,” undated
Box 21
1) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Meat,” undated
2) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Obsolete index,” undated
3) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Omelet and egg dishes,” undated
4) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Pasta,” undated
5) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Planning Menus,” undated
6) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Poultry,” undated
7) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Recipes – out of date versions,” undated
8) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Rice,” undated
9) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Salads,” undated
10) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Sauces and dressings,” undated
11) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Soup,” undated
12) Notes and recipes: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, “Vegetables,” undated
Box 22
1) Notes and recipes: “Guérard – 1981 Last visit,” 1981
2) Notes and recipes: “Place des Vosges” (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Rejects – Place des Vosges…” & Series VII: Slides: Cookbook & cooking)
3) Notes and recipes: “Tales of the Table” course, Spring 1973
4) Permissions and correspondence: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, Sept 1983, Feb – May 1984, undated
5-12) Recipe cards, undated
Box 23
1) Recipe cards, undated
2) Restaurant menus and notes, undated
3) Restaurant menus and notes, 1940, undated: includes Antoine’s Centennial Wine List, 1940 (see also Box 64)
Articles and clippings, 1959-1985: (see also Box 7)
4) Articles: French cuisine, March 1966 – April 1982, undated
5) Articles: General cooking, March 1959 – April 1980, undated
6) Articles: General cooking, House & Garden, May 1964 – January 1971, undated
7) Articles: Gold & Fizdale Cookbook, reviews/published excerpts, October 1984 – February 1985, undated
Box 24
1) Publication, Food & Wine: “Thanksgiving, Italian style,” November 1985 (with correspondence from Fizdale to Katherine Bigwood, Food & Wine)
2) Publication, House & Garden: “At the table: trying recipes,” August 1984 (?)
3) Publication, House & Garden: “At the table with George Balanchine,” October 14, 1983
4) Publication, Travel & Camera: “Creole Cuisine,” ca. September 1970 (with correspondence to & from Fizdale and Cranston E. Jones, Travel & Camera)
5) Publication, Vogue: “The After-diet diet,” undated
6) Publication, Vogue: “The August tomato,” August 1978 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
7) Publication, Vogue: “Barbara Kafka’s kitchen tips,” June 1979
8) Publication, Vogue: “Best of France,” ca. 1982 (with correspondence from Fizdale & Marcel Trompier (in French) see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Best of…” & Series VII: Slides: Cookbook & cooking)
9) Publication, Vogue: “The best restaurants in Italy: where and why,” August 1977
10) Publication, Vogue: “Canned luxury!,” November 1978
11) Publication, Vogue: “Cooking in no time flat,” December 1974 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
12) Publication, Vogue: “Cuisine surprise” (Girardet), February 1977 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Cuisine…” & Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “French cooking: from farm to fame”)
13) Publication, Vogue: “Deauville,” ca. October 1982 (see also: Series VII: Slides: Cookbook & cooking)
14) Publication, Vogue: “Diet à la française” (Quiberon), January 1975
Box 25
1) Publication, Vogue: “Drinks: chill chasers,” December 1977
2) Publication, Vogue: “Easy cook, fast serve: Italian buffet meals” [Susanna Agnelli], January 1976
3) Publication, Vogue: “Eat-treat for a Bicentennial Fourth...” (Thomas Jefferson), July 1976 (with correspondence from Mary Dyer and Alfreda Rushmore to Leo Lerman, Vogue)
4) Publication, Vogue: “Entertaining with Diana Phipps,” July 1984
5) Publication, Vogue: “Famous food from Venice” [Harry’s Bar], February 1975
6) Publication, Vogue: “Flash foods – iced soups,” July 1977
7) Publication, Vogue: “Food ‘79,” January 1979 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
8) Publication, Vogue: “Food breakthrough: a money-saving switch” (turkey), November 1975
9) Publication, Vogue: “Food in hand: canapés, sandwiches…,” May 1976
10) Publication, Vogue: “France’s best” (Bocuse), November 1977
11) Publication, Vogue: “France’s Deep South: top eating” (Vergé), March 1978 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “France’s Deep South…”)
12) Publication, Vogue: “The freedom machines: food processor,” September 1978
13) Publication, Vogue: “French cooking: from farm to fame,” May 1977 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “French cooking: from farm…”)
14) Publication, Vogue: “Fruit desserts,” April 1978
15) Publication, Vogue: “The glorious endive,” October 1977
Box 26
1) Publication, Vogue: “The glorious Genouille: a perfect restaurant,” December 1978 (with correspondence from Charles Gisele, Charles, and Phillippe Masson (in French), and Fizdale)
2) Publication, Vogue: “Great American cook-in,” February 1976
3) Publication, Vogue: “Great recipes, de-caloried,” March 1975
4) Publication, Vogue: “How famous people cook: Alice B. Toklas,” February 1974
5) Publication, Vogue: “How famous people cook: George Balanchine,” October 1973
6) Publication, Vogue: “How famous people cook: Lady Penrose,” April 1974
7) Publication, Vogue: “How famous people cook: Virgil Thomson,” August 1973 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
8) Publication, Vogue: “How to cook…without needing first to rob a bank…” September 1974
9) Publication, Vogue: “Ice-ins: chiller drinks,” June 1976
10) Publication, Vogue: “In praise of purées,” July 1979
11) Publication, Vogue: “Insider’s drink,” April 1977 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
12) Publication, Vogue: “Lemon,” July 1974
13) Publication, Vogue: “Lillian Hellman…” & “Summer-afternoon drinks…” June 1974 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
14) Publication, Vogue: “Lunch at the flea market,” ca. April 1981 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Lunch…” & Series VII: Slides: Cookbook & cooking)
15) Publication, Vogue: “Lutéce,” November 1981 (?)
Box 27
1) Publication, Vogue: “Madame Sophie Nabokov, a great Russian cook,” undated (with correspondence from Fizdale; see also: Series VII: Slides: Cookbook & cooking)
2) Publication, Vogue: “Menus in Minutes” & “Low-calorie food…” (Guérard), 1975 – 1976 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Low-calorie food…”)
3) Publication, Vogue: “Movable Meals,” June 1977
4) Publication, Vogue: “New Christmas feasting” (Guérard), December 1975 (see also: Series VII: negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “New Christmas feasting” (Guérard))
5) Publication, Vogue: “New show-off food: vegetables!” February 1978
6) Publication, Vogue: “Nicholas Nabokov and his cooking repertory,” undated (includes transcription of interview taped in September 1973; see also: Series I: Nabokov, Nicolas)
7) Publication, Vogue: “Our dinner party secrets” (Gold and Fizdale), March 1977
8) Publication, Vogue: “Parioli Romanissimo,” January 1978
9) Publication, Vogue: “Paris food: bistro best,” October 1975 (see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Paris food: bistro best”)
10) Publication, Vogue: “Parisian salads of Chef Guy Girard,” July 1975 (with correspondence from Fizdale; see also: Series VII: negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Parisian…”)
11) Publication, Vogue: “Paul Bocuse’s all-time omelets,” January 1977 (with correspondence from Fizdale; see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Cookbook & cooking: “Paul Bocuse’s…”)
Box 28
1) Publication, Vogue: “The perfect hamburger,” ca. January 1981? (with correspondence from Fizdale)
2) Publication, Vogue: “Persian buffet: grandly simple,” September 1975 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
3) Publication, Vogue: “Scallops,” January 1981
4) Publication, Vogue: “Self-starter food” (sprouts), September 1977
5) Publication, Vogue: “Sorrel: a fresh taste,” October 1979
6) Publication, Vogue: “Summer appeal” (Dorothy Lichtenstein), June 1978
7) Publication, Vogue: “Summer partners: chilled fish,” July 1978 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
8) Publication, Vogue: “Summer preview – the light touch,” April 1979
9) Publication, Vogue: “Surprise vegetables,” March 1976
10) Publication, Vogue: “Take-out secrets,” February 1980
11) Publication, Vogue: “Talking about food: Meatballs,” February 1981
12) Publication, Vogue: “Two great French chefs: Mod vs. Trad,” May 1975 (with correspondence from Fizdale)
Box 29
Gold & Fizdale Cookbook Manuscripts, undated:
1-4) Manuscript Copy #1, table of contents, xiv – xxxi, 60 – 67, 107 – 661, undated
5) Manuscript Copy #2, pages 2 – 258, undated
Box 30
1-2) Manuscript Copy #2, pages 259 – 661, undated
Box 31
1-5) Manuscript Copy #3 (complete master), table of contents, pages 1 – 787, undated
Box 32
Sub-series III: The Divine Sarah: A life of Sarah Bernhardt (Knopf, 1991)
Correspondence and Subject files, 1844-1992, undated: (see also Box 63)
1) Abdy, Jane, undated (manuscript of book on Sarah Bernhardt)
2) Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., August – October 1991, undated
3) “American Libraries – Chicago” (Newberry Library), 1982-1989 (with correspondence from Fizdale to Diana Haskell)
4) Arthur, Sir George – “Sarah Bernhardt,” 1923
5) Auction catalogues, 1981-1985 (with correspondence from Fizdale to Herbert Cahoon, Morgan Library)
6) Authors’ Research Services, April – May 1983, undated
7) Baillier, Henri – “Henri Regnault,” 1843 – 1871
8) Barberot, Marie-Louise, September 12, 1988 (in French)
9) “Bernhardt – chronology,” 1844 – 1923
10) Bernhardt, Sarah – genealogy, undated
11) Bernhardt, Sarah – programs, 1880, 1894
12) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1915, undated (to May Agate; includes envelope addressed in Bernhardt’s hand)
13) Bernhardt, Sarah, undated (to Maurice Bernhardt, with Maurice Bernhardt wedding invitation)
14) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1883, 1895, 1896 (to Ludovic Halèvy, Alphone Rothschild)
15) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1883 (to Jean Richepin)
16) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1880, 1894, undated (to Alfred Stevens)
17) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1877, 1881, 1898? (to Emile Zola)
18) Bernhardt, Sarah, 1873, 1896, 1916, 1918, undated (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Bernhardt, Sarah – correspondence):
Dayot, M., undated (in French)
Gerard, Rosemonde, 1918 (in French)
Guerre , Ministere de la, 1916 (in French)
Unidentified, 1873, undated
19) Blowitz, Henri, 1890, 1896 (to Sarah Bernhardt)
20) Bry, Michel de , 1983, 1985, undated (includes correspondence from Gold & Fizdale to Thierry Bodin, Bry, and from Yannick Guillou to Fizdale )
21) Cambon, Paul, June 24, 1899 (to Sarah Bernhardt)
22) Cecchi, Dario, Nov. 1981, Nov. – Dec. 1991, undated (see also: Series VII: Slides: Misc. and unidentified & Box 65)
23) Cendrars, Blaise – “Le Lotissement du Ciel,” undated (in French)
24) Christie’s, Inc., undated (to R. Starr Collins; see also: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Sarah Bernhardt: “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in book”)
25) Colette – “Dernier Portrait,” undated
26) Croizette, Sophie, 1870, 1901, undated
27) Desmarais, Mrs. Paul – materials sent by, 1982, undated (includes correspondence to Fizdale, see also Box 64)
28) Edison, S. Jay, 1988, undated
29) Ekstrom, Parmenia, June 30, 1986
30) “Family correspondence, Chile and Argentina,” 1982 – 1985 (to and from Fizdale, Arturo Alessandri, Mario Silva, and Miguel De Rigolos, in English & Spanish)
Box 33
1) “France – Bib Nat. Libraries,” 1982-1984
2) “France Library – Bibliothèque Versailles,” undated (with correspondence from Liliane Zeigel, in French)
3) “From Thierry delivered by Marie-Claude,” 1984, March 1985, January 1986, undated (includes correspondence from Thierry Bodin; catalogue “Bibliothèque d’un Curieux,” in French)
4) Fuller, Loie – Fifteen Years of a Dancer’s Life, undated
5) Gautier, Judith, 1904 (to Pierre Loti, in French)
6) Grimaces, Les, 1883 (in French)
7) Hammacher (?), Elly, 1904, undated (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
8) Harding, Bertita – “La Grande Rivale de Sarah Bernhardt,” 1950? (in French)
9) Harper Collins Publisher, January 22, 1992 (Robert Lacey, Senior Editor)
10) Hérisson, Janine, May 29, 1983 (in French)
11) Hoffmann, Ann, May – April 1983 (with reply from Fizdale)
12) Hugo, Victor – “Ruy Blas,” 1879 (in French)
13) Hugues, Clovis, undated (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
14) Jullian, Philippe – “Sarah Bernhardt,” undated (in French)
15) Lafosse, De G. – “La publication du portrait de Mlle. Croizette,” undated (in French)
16) Librarie Garnier-Arnoul, June 3, 1981
17) Loti, Pierre, 1986, 1991 (includes journal entries, in French)
18) Manifold, Gay, February 13, 1985 (envelope and business card only)
19) Meyer, Gayne de – “Exceptional People and the Photographer,” undated
20) “Misc. letters & typed translations to and about S.,” undated (in French)
21) Nabuco, José Thomaz, April 22, 1983 (includes correspondence from Joaquim Nabuco to Sarah Bernhardt, dated 1891)
22) Normand, Roger, December 28, 1982 (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
23) Norri, V., 1898 (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
24) Paris in the Belle Epoch: Photographs from the Archives of Roger-Violette,” November 1991 (includes clippings and materials related to New York School of Interior Design’s exhibit; see also: Lectures: “In Search of Sarah Bernhardt”)
25) “Photocopies of material lent us by Bernard Minoret,” undated
26) “Praise in the 1890s,” December 1896, January 1897, undated (letters to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
27) Rodin, Auguste,, April 1898 (to Roger Marx, in French)
28) Saint Germain, undated (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
29) Sarcey, Francisque – Quatre Ans de Theatre, 1901 (in French)
30) Saussier, Général, 1896, 1897, 1899 (to Sarah Bernhardt, in French)
Box 34
1) “Sene’s copies,” ca. 1973-1979 (copies of Bernhardt letters sent to Mounet, Duquesnel, and Després)
2) Slygh, Penelope, 1982 (includes materials sent by Slygh to Gold & Fizdale)
3) Sylvestre, Dorian, January 15, 1895 (to Maurice Bernhardt, in French)
4) Ter-Arutunian, Rouben, September 28, 1991
5) “Théâtre Francais - Bibliothèque Association Régisseurs Théâtres,” undated (in French)
6) Vaillant, Annette, April 15 & November 18, 1982 (in French)
7) “Visites à Montréal,” 1880 – 1916 (in French)
8) Weiss Dawid Fross Zelnick & Lehrman, P.C., November 11, 1991 (see also: Series VII: Other visual materials: Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork, depictions of)
9) Wilde, Oscar – “Letters to Sarah Bernhardt,” undated
10) Yale University, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, undated
11) Zeigel, Liliane, 1984-1987 (includes correspondence to Gold & Fizdale, from Sylvie Barot, & Oscar Ghez)
12) Miscellaneous correspondence (to Sarah Bernhardt), 1877 - 1915, undated (in French):
Cléry, Léon, undated
D’Annunzio, Gabriele, 1915
Kleinmichel, Cesse, undated
Lemaitre, Jules, undated
Pailleron, Edouard, undated
Pierson, Blanche, undated
Reinach (?), undated
Révillon, Tony, 1897
Rothschild, B. de, 1898
Unidentified, 1877-1904, undated
13) Miscellaneous correspondence (Gold and Fizdale), 1982 - 1992, undated:
To Gold & Fizdale:
Clemenceau, Georges, undated (empty envelope)
Charmet, Jean-loup, 1990 (in French)
Unidentified, 1982-1985, undated
From Gold & Fizdale:
Mets, Kathy, May 18, 1989
Unidentified, 1992, undated
Articles, 1862-1992, undated:
14) Articles: Sarah Bernhardt, general research, 1862 – January 1986 (see also Box 7 and 64)
15) Articles: reviews and published excerpts, July – Oct. 1991, June 1992, undated (see also Box 7 and 64)
16) Gold & Fizdale 3M computer diskettes labeled Sara Bernhardt, undated
Box 35
Manuscripts, 1986-1991, undated: (see also Box 63)
1) Divine Sarah, The – unbound galley proof, undated
2) “Errors to be corrected in future – Dec. 8 1991,” December 8, 1991
3) “Galante 2C, Ligne 2D, Odean 3A, Passant 3B – semi-final version,” undated
4) Manuscript: Untitled 1, August 5 & November 26, 1986
5) Manuscript: Untitled 2, October 8, 1987
6-9) Manuscripts: Untitled 3, 4, 5, & 6, undated
Box 36
1-2) Manuscript: Untitled 7 & 8, undated
3) “Mounet & Odeon – not final copy,” undated
4) “Odeon 3A backups,” undated
5) “Preliminary Vol. 100 – starting with Loti,” undated
6) “Sarah as sculptor & painter – Sarah & Mounet,” undated
7) “Sarah at Odeon,” undated
8) “Sarah Bernhardt – book bibliography & acknowledgements, dedication,” undated
Sub-series IV: Other Research Projects and Writings
Box 37
Correspondence and Subject Files, 1926-1993, undated:
1) Articles: general interest, George Balanchine, July 1965, Jan. 1982, May-June 1983 (includes “George Balanchine (1904 – 1983)” by Gold & Fizdale, New York Review of Books, June 2, 1983, published work, and research materials; see also Box 7 and 64)
2) Draft: Choreography by George Balanchine: A catalogue of works, October 24, 1979 (includes related correspondence, Eakins Press Foundation)
3) Draft: Minutes, Committee for the Dance Collection (NYPL), May 18, 1993
4) Last Will and Testament, George Balanchine (photocopy), May 25, 1978
5) Programs: Balanchine, 1955, 1973, 1977-79, 1982-85 (includes “On Your Toes” Playbill, memorial programs for Balanchine’s funeral; see also: Series IV: Programs, other artists)
6) Transcript: “Kaleidoscope: Talks & Documentaries Radio,” August 29, 1983
7) Articles and research, accompanying notes re: “Swan Song in Capri” - Vanity Fair [Mona Williams Bismarck], August 1987, July 1926 – November 1984, undated
8) Contract and related correspondence: Mona Williams Bismarck, February 14, 1986 (from Sarah Gold, from Fizdale to Pamela McCarthy)
9) Correspondence: Woodward de Croisset, Ethel, 1986
10) Drafts: Mona Williams Bismarck article, February 26, 1987, undated (includes related notes and correspondence from Fizdale)
11) Notes: Mona Williams Bismarck article, undated
12) Nuova Letteraturea by Ernesto Rubin de Cervin, translation by Robert Fizdale (unpublished) (includes undated draft in Italian, translated draft in English)
13) “Bronislava Nijinska: Early Memoirs” - New York Magazine, September 7, 1981 (includes drafts, copy of printed publication and related correspondence from Rhoda Koenig, New York Magazine)
14) “Travel Play,” (unpublished) (includes undated handwritten draft of short play)
Box 38
Sub-series V: Erik Satie, (unpublished)
Correspondence and Subject files, 1918-1974, undated:
1) Auric, Georges, May 24, 1973 (in French)
2) Beaumont, Henri, undated
3) Berry, Walter, January 28, 1926 (to Etienne de Beaumont, in French)
4) Boulez, Pierre, February 12, 1974
5) Brody, Elaine, December 3, 1973
6) Brunhoff, Anne de, undated (see also: Series VII: Photographs: Erik Satie & Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Erik Satie)
7) Clair, René, November 1972 – February 1973 (with reply from Fizdale)
8) Cox, David, May 15 – June 4, 1973
9) Daudet, Lucien, 1924, undated (to Edith de Beaumont & Misia Sert, in French)
10) Diaghilev, Sergei, 1926
11) Hugo, Valentine, 1926, 1954 (to Etienne de Beaumont, in French)
12) Lafosse-Satie, Joseph, May – October 1973 (with reply from Fizdale, in French)
13) Lederman, Mina (AKA Mrs. Mell Daniel), September 4, 1974
14) Manuscript: Sports et Divertissements, 1914, undated (includes related program (photocopy), translation by Virgil Thomson and unknown)
15) Massine, Leonide, January 1926, undated (to Etienne de Beaumont, in French)
16) Milhaud, Darius, undated (to Etienne de Beaumont, in French)
17) Milhaud, Madeleine, June 1973
18) Notebooks, undated
19) “Notes, May 1973 (Binder 5),” May 1973
20) Notes, unbound, undated
21) Proust, Marcel, undated (to Jean Cocteau, in French)
22) Satie, Conrad, July 1925 – June 1928, undated (to Etienne de Beaumont, in French)
23) Satie, Erik, October 16, 1922 – February 13, 1924 (to Colette Peignot, in French)
24) Satie, Erik, 1918 – 1925 (to Etienne and Edith de Beaumont, in French)
25) Sauguet, Henri, March 15, 1973 (in French)
26) Miscellaneous and unidentified correspondence (to Gold and Fizdale), 1971, 1973, undated
American Ballet Center, 1973
Cordier & Ekstrom, inc, 1973
Lehr, Inge, 1971 (Theodore Presser Company)
McShine, Kynaston, 1973 (MOMA)
Unidentified, 1973, undated
27) Miscellaneous A-Z, August 1965 – March 1982, undated (unidentified)
Articles, 1916-1973, undated: (see also Box 7)
28) Articles and research materials, April 18, 1916 – Nov. 11, 1973, undated
Box 39
Sub-series VI: Lectures, 1959-1989, undated: (see also Box 7 for Articles/newspaper clippings)
1) Lecture materials: “Aspects of the Classic Tradition,” undated (includes presentation index cards and notes
2) Lecture materials: “Community lecture,” undated: includes presentation index cards and notes)
3) Lecture materials: “The Diaghilev Heritage,” Jan. 1980, Sept. 1981, February 1989 (includes notes; see also: Series VII: Slides: “The Diaghilev Heritage”)
4) Lecture materials: “The Diaghilev Heritage,” Jan. 1980, Sept. 1981, February 1989 (includes notes; see also: Series VII: Slides: “The Diaghilev Heritage”)
5) Lecture materials: “The Diaghilev Heritage,” Jan. 1980, Sept. 1981, February 1989 (includes presentation index cards, programs, research articles, and reviews; see also: Series VII: Slides: “The Diaghilev Heritage”)
6) Lecture materials: “George Balanchine: images and recollections,” May 28, 1985 (includes presentation index cards, programs, and notes)
Box 40
1) Lecture materials: “A Painter and His Muse: Vuillard and Misia,” November 17, 1989 (includes lecture text, notes)
2) Lecture materials: “In Search of Sarah Bernhardt,” Nov. 1991, Feb. 1992 (includes presentation index cards, program, related correspondence; see also: Series VII: Slides: Bernhardt, Sarah)
3) Lecture materials: “The Romantic Era,” March 1971, Sept. 1987 (includes notes, programs and reviews; see also: Series VII: Slides: Lecture: “The Romantic Era…”)
4) Lecture materials: “The Romantic Era” [2], March 1971, Sept. 1987 (includes presentation index cards; see also: Series VII: Slides: “The Romantic Era…”)
5) Lecture materials: “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart,” June 1959 (includes notes; see also: Series VII: Slides: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus)
6) Lecture materials: “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart,” June 1959 (includes program, presentation index cards; see also: Series VII: Slides: “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart”)
7) Lecture materials: miscellaneous, undated
Series IV: Programs and Publicity (Concert posters located in Box 64 and Map Case)
Box 41
1) Season itineraries, 1958 – 1973: includes cities appeared in, programs played, and related correspondence, arranged by season
2) Programs, 1937, 1939, 1943 - 1949
3-6) Programs, 1950 – 1959 (see also Box 63)
Box 42
1-5) Programs, 1960 - 1967
Box 43
1-5) Programs, 1968 – 1972 (see also Box 63)
Box 44
1) Programs, 1973 – 1974
2) Programs, 1976 – 1977
3) Programs, 1978 – 1979 (see also Box 63)
4) Programs, 1980 – 1982, 1988, 1989, 1992
5) Programs, undated
6) Programs, other artists, 1957 – 1978 (see also Box 63)
Box 45
1) Programs, other artists, 1979 – 1993, undated
2) Press materials, drafts, 1957, 1965 – 1967, 1969, 1972, undated
3-5) Press materials, 1946 – 1969, 1970 – 1973, 1976 – 1977, 1980
6) Press materials, undated
Series V: Performance and Professional Engagement Materials
Box 46
1) Appointment books, 1962 – 1970, 1980 – 1982
2) Biographical statements, 1982, undated
3) Concert programming, 1954 – 1982, undated
4) Contact information/address lists, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1981, undated
5) Contracts, 1946 - 1969
6) Contracts, 1970 - 1981
7) Discography, undated
8) Program notes, 1972 – 1973, undated
9) Royalty earning statements, 1966 – 1967, 1981 – 1982, 1984
10) Schedules and itineraries, 1954 – 1992, undated
11) Travel, miscellaneous, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1990, undated (see also: Series VI for receipts, ticket stubs, and other travel-related documents)
Series VI: Financial Records (see also Box 65)
Box 47
1) Correspondence: Bernstein, Bogash & Sirkin, CPA 1988 – 1989
2-4) Income tax return, 1962 – 1964 [Restricted]
5-6) Income tax return, 1977 – 1978 [Restricted]
7-11) Income tax return, 1980 – 1984 [Restricted]
12-14) Income/expense receipts, 1963 – 1967, 1980
Box 48
1-4) Income/expense receipts, 1981 – 1983
5) Income, Keogh and I.R.A., 1984 – 1985
Box 49
1) Financial documents, misc., 1964 – 1981 (includes receipts and travel stubs)
2) Financial documents, misc., 1948 – 1988 (includes receipts and travel stubs)
3) Receipts – Travel, 1959
4) Statements: Chase Manhattan, 1953 – 1955
5) Statements: Chemical Bank, 1979 – 1984
6) Statements: Chemical Bank, 1988 – 1993
7) Statements: Chemical Bank – IRA/CD, 1983 – 1991
8) Statements: Citibank, 1991 – 1993
9) Statements: East River Savings Bank, 1991 – 1993
Box 50
1-2) Statements: Manufacturers Hanover Trust, 1962-1964
3-5) Statements: Manufacturers Hanover Trust, 1967-1969
6-7) Statements: Manufacturers Hanover Trust, 1976-1979
Box 51
1-7) Statements: Manufacturers Hanover Trust, 1980-1987
8) Statements: Smith Barney, 1993
Box 52
Photographs:
General, 1911-1992, undated:
1) Brantes family, 1990 – 1992 (see also: Series I: Brantes family)
2) Cocteau, Jean, 1911-1933, undated (includes photographs of drawings of: Misia Sert, Serge Diaghilev, Vaslav Nijinsky, Leon Bakst, Francis Poulenc, Sigmund Freud, Leonide Massine, among others. Also includes photograph of Jean Cocteau with a dog)
3) Doll, Henri-Georges and Eugenia, 1976 – 1982 (several social events represented here, featuring George Balanchine, Robert Fizdale, Arthur Gold, and other unidentified but potentially significant persons)
4) Doll, Henri-Georges and Eugenia, undated (several social events represented here, featuring Robert Fizdale, Arthur Gold, Mimi Romanoff, and other unidentified but potentially significant persons)
5) Fizdale, Robert, 1973 – ca. 1991
6) Fizdale, Robert – with others, 1987 (with unidentified woman)
7) Gold, Arthur, 1973
8) Gold, Arthur and Robert Fizdale, undated
9) Gold, Arthur and Robert Fizdale – with others, undated (with unidentified group)
10) Marshal, Louise, undated
11) Sarafaty, Regina, undated
12) Sellerio, Enzo, 1958,1961,1966 (see also Box 64)
13) Simoneau, Leopold, undated
14) Warfield, William, undated
15) Unidentified, undated
Box 53
Misia: the life of Misia Sert, 1894-1980, undated: (see also Map Case)
1) Chapman, Bobsy Goodspeed, 1934, undated (original folder title: “stills from movies taken in the early ‘30s in Paris by Bobsy Goodspeed Chapman,” pictured: Misia Sert, Sidonne-Gabrielle Colette, Roussy Mdivani, Igor Stravinsky, Francis Poulenc, Maurice Goudeket, unidentified man; also includes “Roussy and Lifar doing the écosaisse” and others)
2) Diaghilev, Serge, 1912 - 1980, undated (prints of Misia Sert and Jean Cocteau, accompanied by note in Horst letterhead (copy enclosed), postcard featuring Horst Chanel photograph, 1936 and Sotheby’s catalog featuring Horst photographs of Chanel,1980)
3) Gibert, Olga (née Feguine or Feygin), undated (see also: Series III: Misia: Correspondence: Pallu, Liouba)
4) Godebski, Cyprien, undated
5) Horst, Horst P., 1947, undated
6) Mallarme, Stephane, undated
7) Massine, Leonide, undated
8) “Paris, France, 1900” , 1979 (photo postcards with correspondence from Annette Vaillant, April 3, 1979)
9) Proust, Marcel, undated
10) Sert, José-Maria, undated (includes pictures of Sert’s apartment (Boulos Ristelhueber) (see also Series IV: Misia: Correspondence: Givenchy, Hubert & Box 64)
11) Sert, Misia, 1894 – 1933, undated (includes photographs of paintings by Edouard Vuillards, Pierre Bonnard and Leon Bakst; see also Box 64)
12) Sert, Misia with others, 1897, 1899, undated (with Pierre Bonnard, Cipa Godebski, Ida Godebski, Thadée Nathanson, Auguste Renoir, Prince Alexis Mdivani, Etienne De Beaumont, Madeline Le Chevrel, CoCo Chanel, Elisabetta Moretti, Gabriella Robilant, and unidentified; includes photograph of drawing by Mikhail Larionov of Misia Sert, Pablo Picasso, Serge Diagilev, Igor Stravinsky, Léonide Massine, Guillaume Apollinaire, and unidentified; see also Box 64)
13) Unidentified, 1912, undated
14) Duplicates
Box 54
The Divine Sarah: a life of Sarah Bernhardt, 1860-1923, undated:
1) Abbéma, Louise, 1878, undated (Marble bust by Bernhardt)
2) Bernhardt, Maurice, ca. 1872
3) Bernhardt, Régine, undated
4) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork created by, 1878 – 1892 (includes Emile Girardin and Georges Clairin)
5) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork depicting, 1875 – 1889, undated (by Louise Abbéma, Georges Clairin, Alfred Stevens, Walter Spindler, and unidentified (see also Box 64 & Map Case)
6) Bernhardt, Sarah – correspondence, October 1896 (from Constant Coquelin)
7) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, candid/family, 1870 – 1923, undated (with Suzanne Seylo, Edouard Angelo, and unidentified; includes paintings by Melandri)
8) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, identified productions, 1868 – 1884 (see also Box 64)
9) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, identified productions, 1885 – 1911(?), undated
10) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, unidentified productions, 1878 – 1901(?), undated
Box 55
1) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, Belle-Ile, 1901, 1919, undated (with Mme. Guérard, Suzanne Seylor, Maurice Bernhardt, Lysiane Bernhardt, Mme. Ganne, E. Geoffroy, Reynaldo Hahm, Nanette Grau, Georges Clairin, and unidentified)
2) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, Belle-Ile, 1912 (postcards, with unidentified)
3) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, candid/family, 1869 – 1914, undated (with Maurice Bernhardt, Lysiane Bernhardt, Simone Bernhardt, Eddie Gross, Mme. Guérard, Louise Abbéma, Georges Clairin, and unidentified)
4) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, Nice, 1916, undated
5) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, production-related, 1883 – 1906, undated (with Réjane, Le Bargy, Coquelin Ainé, Suzanne Seylor, Edouard De Max, and unidentified)
6) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, production-related, 1901 (postcard, with unidentified)
7) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, Rome, 1889 (unidentified)
8) Contact sheets, 1877 – 1899, undated (from: Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, identified productions, Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, unidentified productions, Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, Belle-Ile & “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book”)
9) Damala, Jacques, undated
10) Duse, Eleanora, undated (see also Box 65)
11) Mounet-Sully, Jean, undated
Box 56
1) “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book,” ca. 1860-1891, undated (includes cover illustration, plates #1 – 27 and Plate #17; with Youle Bernard, Rosine Bernard, Jeanne Bernard, Prince De Ligne, Maurice Bernhardt, Saryta Bernhardt, Jacques Damala, Terka Bernhardt, and unidentified )
2) “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book,” 1872-1917, undated (includes Parts III, IV, plates #28 – 41; with Jean Mounet-Sully, Gustav Doré, Edourd De Max, Georges Clairin, Jean Richepin, Louise Abbéma, Aristidis Damala, and unidentified)
3) “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book,” 1869-1899, undated (includes Parts V, plates #42 – 66)
4) “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book,” 1879-1923, undated (includes plates #67 – 94 (missing #88), plates #72, 74 –75, 77 – 78, 80, 85 – 87: see: Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Divine Sarah; with French troops and great-grandchildren, Terka and Bernard Gross)
5) “Sarah Bernhardt – Photos in Book,” undated (with her mother, and a comic strip)
6) Reichenbach, Terka Gross, 1931, undated (with Pierre Clemenceau)
7) Identified others, 1874, 1923, undated (Mme. Guerard (?), Myrroy Herrick, Pierre Spivakoff, Maria Jablonowska, Rosine Bernard, Saryta Bernhardt (?), and unidentified)
8) Unidentified, undated
9) Duplicates
Box 57
Satie, Erik, 1866 – ca. 1970, undated:
1-2) Brunhoff, Anne de, ca.1970 (includes letter to Fizdale from Brunhoff (photographer); photographs of Gold and Fizdale in Honfleur, l’Ecole Municipale de Musique, various architectural details, with several unidentified friends, etc. Original folder title: “Photos et al – Satie (Anne de Brunhoff)”)
Box 58
1) Auric, Georges, undated
2) Beaumont, Comte Etienne and Comptess Edith de, 1921, 1924
3) Picabia, Francis, 1924
4) Satie, Erik, 1866 – 1924, undated
5) Satie, Erik – compositions and production-related, 1888 – 1924, undated
6) Satie, Erik – drawings, undated
7) Satie, Erik – with others, 1900 – 1929 (with Claude Debussy, Tosti Russell, Patrice Contamine, Francis Picabia, and unidentified)
8) Satie family, undated (Conrad Satie, Olga Satie, Jules-Alfred Satie (father), & Jane-Leslie Satie (Née Anton)
9) Sauguet, Henri, undated
10) Unidentified, 1960, undated
11) Duplicates
Box 59
Negatives/transparencies:
General:
1) Cocteau, Jean, undated
Misia: the life of Misia Sert, 1894-1934, undated:
2) Chapman, Bobsy Goodspeed, 1934
3) Colette, Sidonie-Gabrielle, undated
4) Diaghilev, Serge, undated
5) Massine, Leonide, undated
6) Renoir, Auguste, undated
7) Sert, José-Maria, undated
8) Sert, Misia, 1894 – 1914, undated (see also Box 64)
9) Sert, Misia – with others, 1897 – 1929, undated (see also Box 64)
10) Stravinsky, Igor, July 19, 1916 (correspondence from Misia Sert to Stravinsky)
The Divine Sarah: A Life of Sarah Bernhardt, 1870-1923, undated:
11) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork created by, 1892
12) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork depicting, 1890 - 1909
13) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, candid/family, 1870, 1923
14) Bernhardt, Sarah – with others, candid/family, 1911, undated
15) Bibliotheque de L’Arsenal, various microfilm newspaper clippings re: Sarah Bernhardt, with notes
16) “Sarah Bernhardt – photos in book,” various: includes Plates #72, 74 –75, 77 – 78, 80, 85 – 87
Satie, Erik, 1866-1932, undated:
17) Auric, Georges, undated
18) Beaumont, Comte Etienne and Comptess Edith de, 1921, 1924
19) Brunhoff, Anne de, undated
20) Correspondence, 1899 – 1925 (Satie to Conrad Satie, Comptessie De Beaumont, & unidentified)
21) Locations, undated
22) Picabia, Francis, 1924
23) Satie, Erik, 1866 – 1924, undated
24) Satie, Erik – compositions and production-related, 1888 – 1932, undated
25) Satie, Erik – drawings, 1892(?), undated
26) Satie, Erik – with others, 1910, undated
27) Satie family, undated
28) Sauguet, Henri, undated
29) Unidentified, 1925(?), undated
Box 60
Cookbook & cooking, 1975 – ca. 1983, undated:
1) “Articles to prepare in Europe,” ca. 1980
2) “Best of France,” ca. 1982 (includes transparencies taped to paper galleys)
3) “Cuisine Surprises” [Giradet], ca. 1976
4) “France’s Deep South: top eating” [Vérge], undated
5) “French cooking: from farm to fame,” ca. 1976
6) “Low-calorie food that looks luxe” [Guérard], September 19, 1976
7) “Lunch at the Flea Market,” undated
8) “New Christmas feasting” [Guérard], 1975
9) “Paris food: bistro best,” 1976
10) “Parisian salads of Chef Guy Girard,” undated
11) “Paul Bocuse’s all-time omelets,” 1976
12) “Rejects - Place des Vosges for Gold and Fizdale,” ca. 1983
13) Miscellaneous, undated (photographs of food)
Box 61
Slides, undated:
1) Cookbook & cooking, undated (see also: Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Notes and recipes: “Place des Vosges,” Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Notes and recipes: Publication, Vogue: “Best of France,” Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Notes and recipes: Publication, Vogue: “Deauville,” Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Notes and recipes: Publication, Vogue: “Lunch at the flea market,” & Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Notes and recipes: Publication, Vogue: “Madame Sophie…”)
2) “The Diaghilev Heritage,” undated (see also: Series III: Other research projects: Lectures: “The Diaghilev Heritage”)
3) “In Search of Sarah Bernhardt,” undated (see also: Series III: Other research projects: Lectures: : “In Search of Sarah Bernhardt”)
4-5) “The Romantic Era…,” undated (see also: Series III: Other research projects: Lectures: “The Romantic Era…”)
6) “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart,” undated (see also: Series III: Other research projects: Lectures: “The World of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart”)
7) Miscellaneous and unidentified, undated
Box 62
Other Iconographic Materials:
General, 1958-1983, undated: (see also Box 63)
1) Balanchine, George, 1983 (includes photocopied galleys of images by Time-Life, Inc. featuring George Balanchine, Tanaquil Le Clercq, Robert Fizdale)
2) Brui, William, ca. 1976
3) “The Diaghilev Era,” 1973, undated (see also: Series III: Other research projects: Lectures: “The Diaghilev Era")
4) Gold, Arthur and Robert Fizdale, 1958: includes illustrations of Gold and Fizdale and related publication
5) Miscellaneous, undated (postcards from travels)
Misia: The Life of Misia Sert, 1908-1980, undated: (see also: Oversize Box 64 and Map Case)
6) Horst, Horst P., 1978, 1980
7) Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, 1974
8) Natanson, Thadée, 1908, 1957
9) Rodgers, Mrs. (Dorothy) Richard, 1967
10) Sert, José-Maria, 1972 (includes Rockefeller Center: A Photographic Narrative w/ color inserts of murals in RCA building and postage stamp)
11) Sert, Misia, undated (includes book covers: Misia & the Muses: the memoirs of Misia Sert & Misia: the life of Misia Sert; see also: Map Case drawer 5)
The Divine Sarah: A Life of Sarah Bernhardt, ca. 1906 – 1995, undated: (see also: Map Case)
12) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork created by, undated
13) Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork depicting, 1982-1995, undated (includes postage stamp, “Lucky Luke” comic book, postcards to Gold & Fizdale; see also Map Case)
14) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, candid/family, 1982-1984 (invitation and postcard to Gold & Fizdale)
15) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, identified productions, undated
16) Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, unidentified productions, 1906 (?)
17) “Sarah Bernhardt – photos in book,” undated
Legal Size:
Box 63
1) Series III: Cookbook & cooking: Subject files: “Complete series of Vogue articles,” undated (list)
2) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Subject files: “Le Figaro – Articles sur Sarah…” undated
3) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Subject files: Notes & misc. materials, undated
4) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Subject files: Notes & misc. materials – Iconography, undated
5) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Subject files: Pozzi, Dr. Samuel, 1915 (includes correspondence from Sarah Bernhardt, Maurice Bernhardt and Dr. Denucé to Dr. Pozzi and others concerning amputation surgery)
6) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Manuscripts: Manuscripts, misc
7) Series IV: Programs and publicity, 1949-1979
8) Series VII: Other iconographic materials: General: Religious iconography, undated
Oversize:
Box 64
1) Series II: Articles, 1969-1992
2) Series III: The Divine Sarah: Subject files: Desmarais, Mrs. Paul, 1909-1988, undated
3) Series III: Cookbook & Cooking: Restaurant menus and notes, 1940, undated
4) Series IV: Programs and publicity: Posters, 1952-1976 (Columbia Masterworks LP: Gold & Fizdale For 2 Pianos, 1952, Concert in Luxembourg, 1957, Concert in Avignon, 1972, Concert in Avignon, 1976)
5) Series VII: Other iconographic materials: Misia: Revue Blanche, La, 1966
6) Series VII: Photographs: General (photos by Enzo Sellerio of a cat, 1958 and in Magazine, 1961, and painting “Le Jugement Dernier” by Rogier van der Weyden)
7) Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, José-Maria, undated
8) Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia
9) Series VII: Photographs: Misia: Sert, Misia – with others (Serge Diaghilev, undated and Painting by Edouard Vuillard with Thadée Natanson, 1899)
10) Series VII: Photographs: The Divine Sarah: Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork depicting, 1880
11) Series VII: Photographs: The Divine Sarah: Bernhardt, Sarah – portraits, identified productions, undated
12) Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Misia: Sert, Misia, 1908
13) Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Misia: Sert, Misia – with others, 1899 (Painting by Edouard Vuillard with Thadée Natanson)
Box 65
1) Series I: National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, 1963 (Grammy award nomination)
2) Series VI: Bank Ledgers – Manufactures Hanover Trust, 1962-1964
3) Series VII: Negatives/transparencies: Divine Sarah: Duse, Eleanora by Dario Cecchi, 1981 (Glass negative)
Map case
Drawer 4, folder R-1) Series VII: Other iconographic materials: The Divine Sarah: Bernhardt, Sarah – artwork depicting, 1882 (comic from Le Grelot)
Drawer 5, folder 7) Series IV: Concert Posters, 1959-1976:
Teatro Bondi, Italy, 1968
Palazo Biscari, Italy, 1976
Galleria Nazionale Umbria, Italy, 1972
Teatro Olimpico, Italy, 1976
Teatro Communale, Italy, 1968 & 1972
Paleis voor Schone Kunsten, Belgium, 1968
Accademia Nazionale de Santa Cecilia, Italy, 1968
Florence, 1959
Drawer 5, folder 8) Series VII: Other iconographic materials: Misia: Sert, Misia, undated (Poster with various paintings of Sert)
Drawer 5, folder 9) Series IV: Concert Posters, 1968-1976
Teatro Olimpico, Italy, 1976
Opera Municipal, Italy, 1976
Teatro Ponchielli, 1976
Teatro Communale Bologna, Italy, 1972
Teatro La Fenice, Italy, 1968
Waterloo Village Music Festival, 1968
Accademia Nazionale de Santa Cecilia, Italy, 1968
Concert Lamoureux, undated
|
Auric,
Georges, 1899-1983. |
|
|
Bach,
Carl Philipp Emanuel, 1714-1788 |
|
|
Balanchine,
George. |
|
|
Ballou,
Esther Williamson, 1915-1973. |
|
|
Barber,
Samuel, 1910-1981. |
|
|
Benjamin,
Arthur, 1893-1960. |
|
|
Berio,
Luciano, 1925-2003. |
|
|
Boulez,
Pierre, 1925- |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Bowles,
Paul, 1910-1999. |
|
|
Brubeck,
Dave. |
|
|
Caamaño,
Roberto, 1923-1993. |
|
|
Cage,
John. |
|
|
Chanler,
Theodore, 1902-1961. |
|
|
Copland,
Aaron, 1900-1990. |
|
|
Copland,
Aaron, 1900-1990. |
|
|
Copland,
Aaron, 1900-1990. |
|
|
Copland,
Aaron, 1900-1990. |
|
|
Corigliano,
John, 1938- |
|
|
Donizetti,
Gaetano, 1797-1848. |
|
|
Donizetti,
Gaetano, 1797-1848. |
|
|
Donizetti,
Gaetano, 1797-1848. |
|
|
Donizetti,
Gaetano, 1797-1848. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fizdale,
Robert. |
|
|
Fol,
Raymond, 1928-1979. |
|
|
Getty,
Gordon. |
|
|
Getty,
Gordon. |
|
|
Gottschalk,
Louis Moreau, 1829-1869. |
|
|
Haieff,
Alexei, 1914-1994. |
|
|
Haieff,
Alexei, 1914-1994. |
|
|
Haieff,
Alexei, 1914-1994. |
|
|
Haieff,
Alexei, 1914-1994. |
|
|
Hollingsworth,
Stanley. |
|
|
Milhaud,
Darius, 1892-1974. |
|
|
Milhaud,
Darius, 1892-1974. |
|
|
Milhaud,
Darius, 1892-1974. |
|
|
Milhaud,
Darius, 1892-1974. |
|
|
Moross,
Jerome, 1913-1983. |
|
|
Mozart,
Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. |
|
|
Mozart,
Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. |
|
|
Poulenc,
Francis, 1899-1963. |
|
|
Poulenc,
Francis, 1899-1963. |
|
|
Poulenc,
Francis, 1899-1963. |
|
|
Ravel,
Maurice, 1875-1937. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994 |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994. |
|
|
Rieti,
Vittorio, 1898-1994.. |
|
|
Rorem,
Ned, 1923- |
|
|
Rorem,
Ned, 1923- |
|
|
Satie,
Erik, 1866-1925. |
|
|
Sauguet,
Henri, 1901-1989. |
|
|
Schumann,
Robert, 1810-1856. |
|
|
Schumann,
Robert, 1810-1856. |
|
|
Schumann,
Robert, 1810-1856. |
|
|
Stravinsky,
Igor, 1882-1971. |
|
|
Stravinsky,
Igor, 1882-1971. |
|
|
Stravinsky,
Igor, 1882-1971. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tailleferre,
Germaine, 1892-1983. |
|
|
Tchaikovsky,
Peter Ilich, 1840-1893. |
|
|
Telemann,
Georg Philipp, 1681-1767. |
|
|
Thomson,
Virgil, 1896-1989. |
|
|
Thomson,
Virgil, 1896-1989. |
|
|
Turner,
Charles, 1921- |