Salome Ramras Arkatov Collection of Josef and Rosina Lhévinne Audio Materials

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

 

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

 

Processed by:

David Snow

Date completed:

June 9, 2011

Encoded by:

David Snow

©2011

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Provenance

Access

Biographical Note

Personal names

Corporate name

Subjects

Collection contents

 

Descriptive summary

Origination:

Arkatov, Salome Ramras.

Title:

Salome Ramras Arkatov Collection of Josef and Rosina Lhévinne Audio Materials, 1940-1980.

Extent:

0.23 cubic feet (1 box).

Repository:

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School.

Language Note:

The collection contains material in English, French and Russian.

Scope and content

Audio recordings comprising interviews and music performances used as source material for the video documentaries The legacy of Rosina Lhévinne, and Memories of John Browning, produced and directed by Salome Ramras Arkatov. Interviews with Rosina Lhévinne and Van Cliburn; interviews conducted in conjunction with Rosina Lhévinne's centennial with David Bar-Illan, Martin Canin, Misha Dichter, Boris Goldovsky, James Levine, Adele Marcus, Ursula Oppens, Daniel Pollack, William Schuman, Eudice Shapiro, Nicolas Slonimsky, and Brooks Smith; birthday tributes to Rosina Lhévinne; orchestral and chamber music performances by Rosina Lhévinne; piano duet recordings by Josef and Rosina Lhévinne; recordings of piano rolls performed by Josef Lhévinne; and the earliest recording of pianist John Browning. Concert performances by Rosina Lhévinne of the 3rd movement from the Piano concerto no. 1 op. 11 in E minor by Frédéric Chopin with John Barnett conducting the National Orchestral Association Orchestra, a complete performance of the same work with Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic, the Violin sonata D. 574 in A major by Franz Schubert with Eudice Shapiro, the Piano trio no. 1 op. 49 in D minor by  Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, the Piano Quintet op. 81 in A major by Antonín Dvořák, and the Quintet D. 667 in A major by Schubert.

Administrative Information

Provenance

Gift of Salome Ramras Arkatov, 2010.

Access

Housed in the Media Library.

Biographical Note

Russian pianist Josef Lhévinne (1874-1944) studied with Vasily Safonov at the Moscow Conservatory, graduating with the gold medal in 1892. He made his concert debut in 1889, and in 1898 married pianist Rosina Bessie, who had also graduated from the Moscow Conservatory with the gold medal. After teaching at the Moscow Conservatory from 1902 to 1906, Lhévinne resumed his concert career, living principally in Berlin. He made his New York debut in 1906 with Safonov and the Russian Symphony Orchestra, and made six concert tours of the USA before the outbreak of World War I. The Lhévinnes moved to New York after the war, and in 1924 they joined the faculty of the newly established Juilliard Graduate School where Josef Lhévinne’s pupils included Adele Marcus, Sascha Gorodnitzki, Brooks Smith and Homer Samuels. He is the author of the book Basic Principles in Pianoforte Playing, published in 1924 and reprinted in 1972.

Rosina Lhévinne (1880-1976) managed her husband's solo career and performed with him as a duo pianist. After the death of Josef in 1944, Rosina concentrated on teaching until her death at the age of 96. Her students included John Browning, Van Cliburn, Misha Dichter, James Levine, Hiroko Nakamura, Kun Woo Paik, Daniel Pollack, Jeffrey Siegel, and John Williams. Her solo performing career, which she had postponed in order to assist her husband, resumed at age 75, and she made her debut with the New York Philharmonic at age 82 under the direction of Leonard Bernstein, playing Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor.

Personal names

Lhévinne, Josef, 1874-1944.

Lhévinne, Rosina, 1880-1976.

Bar-Illan, David.

Canin, Martin.

Cliburn, Van, 1934-

Dichter, Misha, 1945-

Goldovsky, Boris.

Levine, James, 1943-

Marcus, Adele.

Oppens, Ursula.

Pollack, Daniel, 1935-

Schuman, William, 1910-1992.

Shapiro, Eudice.

Slonimsky, Nicolas, 1894-1995.

Smith, Brooks.

Barnett, John.

Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990.

Browning, John, 1933-2003.

Corporate names

Juilliard School.

New York Philharmonic.

National Orchestral Association (U.S.)

Titles

Legacy of Rosina Lhevinne (Motion picture)

Memories of John Browning (Motion picture)

Subjects

Pianists -- Interviews.

Pianists -- Biography.

Piano -- Instruction and study.

Piano music.

Collection contents

Series I. Rosina Lhévinne interviews

 

1. Rosina Lhévinne (informal remarks autobiography), Juilliard School (dub from tape masters), Tape 2, 3, 4

 

2. Rosina Lhévinne. Earliest audio interview

 

3. Rosina Lhévinne. Denver, Colorado interview, 1955, Tape 7

 

4. Rosina Lhévinne. Interview by CBC (in French), 1970, Tape 8

 

5. Rosina Lhévinne. Interview, Vancouver, CBC, April 1971

 

6. Rosina Lhévinne. Interviewed by Lucy Oblensky (in Russian), Tape 9

 

7. Rosina Lhévinne. KCBS interview, Tape 11

 

8. Rosina Lhévinne. Van Cliburn NYPO interview, 1980

 

Series II. Interviews in conjunction with Rosina Lhévinne’s centennial

 

1. Salome Ramras Arkatov discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980, Tape 10

 

2. David Bar-Illan interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980, Tape 34

 

3. Martin Canin interview. Part 1-2, 1980.

 

4. Misha Dichter discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980.

 

5. Boris Goldovsky discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980

 

6. James Levine discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980

 

7. Adele Marcus discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980

 

8. Ursula Oppens interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980, Tape 12

 

9a. Daniel Pollack interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980, Tape 25

 

9b. Daniel Pollack interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980, Tape 26

 

9c. Daniel Pollack interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980, Tape 26

 

10. William Schuman discusses Rosina Lhévinne, 1980

 

11. Eudice Shapiro interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980

 

12. Nicolas Slonimsky. Audio interview by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980

 

13. Brooks Smith interviewed by Salome Ramras Arkatov, 1980

 

Series III. Rosina Lhévinne’s later years

 

1. Rosina Lhévinne. 80th birthday tribute

 

2. Rosina Lhévinne. 90th birthday tribute, Tape 1

 

3. Rosina Lhévinne at 95

 

4. Rosina Lhévinne birthday tribute

 

Series IV. Rosina Lhévinne performances

 

1. Rosina Lhévinne. Chopin Concerto no. 1. John Barnett, Nat. Orch. Assoc. Third mvt. Hunter College, 1961

 

2. Rosina Lhévinne. Chopin Concerto no. 1. Leonard Bernstein, cond. NYPO. WCBS-FM,1963 (taken off the radio)

 

Series V. Rosina Lhévinne chamber music performances

 

1. Schubert Duo sonata in A, op. 162 posth. Eudice Shapiro, violin, Rosina Lhévinne, piano (Aspen), Tape 19

 

2. Rosina Lhévinne. Mendelssohn Piano trio, D minor (Aspen?), 1959, Tape 20

 

3. Rosina Lhévinne plays with Juilliard Quintet. Dvorak Quintet, op. 81, 1955, Tape 21

 

4. Rosina Lhévinne plahy with Juilliard Quintet. Schubert Trout quintet, op. 114, 1957, Tape 22

 

Series VI. Rosina and Josef Lhévinne non-commercial recordings

 

1. Josef and Rosina Lhévinne disc recordings, non-commercial disc 1,16 tracks

 

2. Rosina Lhévinne disc recordings, non-commercial disc 2,11 tracks

 

Series VII. Josef Lhévinne recordings

 

1. Josef Lhévinne keyboard immortals radio. Piano rolls

 

2. Josef Lhévinne. Ampico piano rolls history. CBC, 1960s

 

3. Josef Lhévinne. BBC piano rolls. Deryck Cooke, narrator

 

4. Josef Lhévinne. Strauss Waltz, non-commercial recording

 

Series VIII. John Browning recording

 

1. John Browning earliest recording, 1940