Peter Herman Adler Music Collection

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

Processed by:	David Snow
Date completed:	March 6, 2009
Encoded by:	David Snow

©2009

---

---

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Access

Biographical Note

Index terms

Personal names

Corporate names

Subjects

Box List

---

Descriptive summary Origination:	Adler, Peter Herman, 1899-1990.
Title:	Peter Herman Adler Music Collection, 1940-1981.
Extent:	2.2 cubic feet (7 boxes).
Repository:	Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School
Language Note:	The collection contains material in English, Czech, French, Italian, and Latin.

Organization

Organized in a single series of music scores and documents.

Scope and content

Contains scores or librettos to operas by Beeson, Chabrier, Janáček, Landré, Mozart, Offenbach, Provenzano, A. Scarlatti, Smetana, and Tchaikovsky, the score of a liturgical mass by Fiebig, and an essay by P.H. Adler.

Administrative Information

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

European-born American conductor (1899-1990). Adler was appointed music director of the Bremen State Opera and the State Philharmonia of Kiev in the 1930's, and made his debut with the New York Philharmonic in 1940 after emigrating to the United States. He was appointed music and artistic director of the NBC Opera in 1949, and music and artistic director of National Educational Television in 1969. Adler commissioned several important scores for television, including Gian Carlo Menotti's "Amahl and the Night Visitors," Norman Dello Joio's "St. Joan" and Bohuslav Martinů's "Marriage" for NBC, and Jack Beeson's "My Heart's in the Highlands," Thomas Pasatieri's "Trial of Mary Lincoln" and Hans Werner Henze's "Cubana" for National Educational Television. His activities outside television included music directorship of the Baltimore Symphony from 1959 to 1968, appearances at the Metropolitan Opera starting in 1972 and the directorship of the American Opera Center at the Juilliard School from 1973 until his retirement in 1981.

Index terms

Personal names

Adler, Peter Herman, 1899-1990..

Beeson, Jack, 1921-

Chabrier, Emmanuel, 1841-1894.

Fiebig, Kurt

Janáček, Leoš, 1854-1928

Landré, Guillaume, 1905-1968.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.

Offenbach, Jacques, 1819-1880.

Provenzano, Aldo.

Scarlatti, Alessandro, 1660-1725.

Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884.

Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893.

Corporate names

Juilliard School.

NBC Television Netowork.

National Educational Television and Radio Center.

Subjects

Conductors (Music) -- United States.

Opera -- Producers and directors -- United States.

Television broadcasting of music -- United States.

Opera -- United States.

Opera -- New York (N.Y.) -- Production and direction.

Operas -- Scores.

Operas -- Librettos.

Masses.

Music -- Commissioning.

Box List

Folders

AdlerBxD01f01	Adler, Peter Herman, 1899-1990. Opera country of the future / by Peter Herman Adler        [197-?]       [15], 34, [39] leaves ; 28 cm.       Typescript (photocopy). "Title is a working title." Title amended by hand in photocopy to: America, the opera country of the future. Contents: [Author's résumé] -- Informal note to my publisher -- Description of some sample chapters. TV-opera's beginnings, talk with a young TV director ; Mario Lanza odyssey ; Opera in English? No, thanks ; Shostakovich "warning to a foreign specialist conductor ; Maria Callas story ; NET-Opera's Watergate -- Sample writing of two chapters. Letter to a young American soprano ; Discussion with a young television director, draft. Cage box contains 4 copies.
AdlerBxB01f03	Beeson, Jack, 1921- My heart's in the highlands : chamber opera in two acts / libretto based on the play by William Saroyan ; music by Jack Beeson ; vocal score by the composer.        [1969?]       1 vocal score (216 p.) ; 37 cm.       Words in English. Reprod. from holograph. At end: vocal score completed New York City, March 2, 1969. Markings in ms. black and red pencil and red and green ink. Two leaves of photocopied ms. music taped to prelim p. and p. 1. with caption title: Credits prelude for the NET production of My heart's in the highlands.
AdlerBxD04f01	Chabrier, Emmanuel, 1841-1894 Le roi malgré lui : opéra-comique en trois actes / de E. de Najac et P. Burani ; d'après une pièce d'Ancelot ; version nouvelle de Albert Carré ; musique de Emmanuel Chabrier. Paris : Librairie théatrale, c1928.       [95] leaves ; 22 x 28 cm.       Libretto in French. Photocopy; 2 original p. per photocopy leaf.
AdlerBxD04f02	Fiebig, Kurt. Messe in A : für Sopran-, Alt-, Bariton-solo, Gem. Chor, Orchester und Orgel / von Kurt Fiebig.        [195-?]       1 score (55 p.) ; 31 cm.       Latin words. At head of title: Missa secunda. Reprod. from ms. Duration: ca. 25:00. Inscription on t.p. in ms. pencil: Verlag Merseburger Berlin, Kl. A. und Chorstimmen gedruckt, Orchestermaterial leihweise.
AdlerBxC01f01	Janáček, Leoš, 1854-1928. Jenůfa : Její pastorkyňa : Opera o třech jednánich dle dramatu z venkovského života moravského od Gabriely Preissové = Ihre ziehtochter : Oper aus dem mährischen Bauernleben in drei Akten von Gabriele Preiss / Leoš Janáček ; vydal J. M. Dürr (1969) ; klavírní v'ytah upravil Jos. V. v. Wöss ; Deutsche bersetzung von Max Brod; klavierauszug von Jos. V. von Wöss.        [Vienna?] : Universal Edition, [1967?]       1 vocal score (259 p.).       Words in Czech and English. Plate number: U. E. 5821. Photocopy of published vocal score housed in 3-ring binder (259 leaves ; 29 cm.). Light marking in ms. pencil.
AdlerBxD03f03	Landré, Guillaume, 1905-1968. La symphonie pastorale : opéra en un prologue, trois actes et un épilogue d'aprè / André Gide ; musique de Guillaume Landré ; livret de Claude Rostand. Amsterdam : Donemus, [196-?]       TD, 24 leaves ; 30 cm.       Libretto in French. Caption title. "NET OPERA PROJECT"--Cover.
AdlerBxD02-D03f01	Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. The marriage of Figaro.        [1954?]       2 v. ; 28 cm.       Libretto in English. Typescript (photocopy). "NBC Opera Theatre." Cage box includes 1 bound copy (AdlerBxD02) and 1 unbound copy (AdlerBxD03f01). "National Educational Television Opera"--Labels on covers of bound copy.
AdlerBxD01f02	Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. The abduction from the Seraglio : June 1970.        1970.       130 leaves.       Libretto in English. Typescript (phtocopy). "NET opera project." "Memorandum from Alan E. Skog[,] June 4, 1970[.] Here is the (long-awaited) revised NET Abduction script. It is at least 60% different from the original. Therefore, kindly dispose of the original so that there will be no confusion between the two"--Prelim. p.
AdlerBxD03f02	Offenbach, Jacques, 1819-1880. La vie parisienne / music, Jacques Offenbach ; libretto, Meilhac and Halevy ; English translation, Donald Pippin. San Francisco : Pocket Opera Company, c1981.       92 leaves ; 29 cm.       Libretto in English. Typescript (photocopy).
AdlerBxB01f04	Provenzano, Aldo. The cask of Amontillado : opera in one act (2 scenes) / libretto by Seymour Reiter from a a story by Edgar Allan Poe ; music by Aldo Provenzano.        [196-?]       1 vocal score (84 p.) ; 37 cm.       English words. Reprod. from ms.
AdlerBxC01f02	Scarlatti, Alessandro, 1660-1725. La statira / Scarlatti.        [196-?]       1 vocal score (220 p.) ; 34 cm.       Italian words. Caption title. Reprod. from ms. Title and composer inscribed on caption in ms. blue pencil.
AdlerBxB02f01-03	Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884. Bartered bride / Smetana.        [196-?]       1 score (3 v.) ; 36 cm.       Czech words. Cover title in ms. blue ink. Interlinear translation in English inscribed in ms. black and blue pencil. Markings in ms. pencil, and red, blue, and green ink. Includes page tabs. Some pages taped together.
AdlerBxD03f04	Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893 Pique dame / by Tchaikowsky.        [1952?] pc TD, 35, 24 leaves ; 28 cm.       Libretto in English. "Thursday January 3, 1953." At head of title: NBC Opera Theatre.