Mark Bucci Collection

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

Processed by:	David Snow
Date completed:	March 31, 2009
Encoded by:	David Snow

©2009

---

---

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Provenance

Access

Biographical Note

Box List

---

Descriptive summary Origination:	Bucci, Mark, 1924-
Title:	Mark Bucci Collection, approximately 1967-1990.
Extent:	.46 cubic feet (2 boxes).
Repository:	Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School
Language Note:	The collection contains material in English.

Organization

Arranged in a single series of music scores and playscripts.

Scope and content

Collection consists of scores and playscripts by Mark Bucci.

Administrative Information

Provenance

Gift of Mark Bucci.

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

American composer (1924-2002). Bucci was awarded Juilliard's first Irving Berlin scholarship in 1948, and gained national attention with his musical adaptation of James Thurber's Thirteen Clocks for television in 1953. He composed concert works, musicals, and operas, and wrote four published plays.

Personal names

Bucci, Mark, 1924-

Corporate names

Juilliard School.

Subjects

Concertos (Kazoo) -- Solo with piano.

Concertos (Unspecified instrument with string orchestra) -- Solo with piano.

Orchestral music -- Scores.

Choruses, Secular (Mixed voices, 3 parts) with piano.

Choruses, Secular (Equal voices, 3 parts) with piano.

Choruses, Secular (Mixed voices, 4 parts) with piano.

Choruses, Secular (Equal voices, 4 parts) with piano.

Choruses, Secular (Mixed voices, 4 parts) with organ.

Choruses, Secular (Equal voices, 4 parts) with organ.

Choruses, Secular (Mixed voices, 4 parts), Unaccompanied.

Songs (Medium voice) with guitar.

Musicals -- Vocal scores with piano.

Operas -- Vocal scores with piano.

One-act plays, American.

Composers -- United States.

Dramatists, American.

Box List

BucciBxD01f01	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Chain of jade : a one-act musical based on The stolen prince by Dan Totheroh / lyrics and adaptation by David Rogers ; music by Mark Bucci ; vocal score edited by Lockrem Johnson. New York : Samuel French, Inc., c1988.       1 vocal score (43 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words. Series: French's musical library. Contents: Honorable audience -- Chain of jade -- Poor but honest fisherman -- A scarlet fish -- Autumn time -- Chain of jade (reprise) -- Honorable audience (reprise) -- Curtain-call finale -- Fanfare -- Processional.
BucciBxD01f02	Bucci, Mark, 1924- The kazoo koncerto / [by Mark Bucci] Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1990.       1 score (32 p.) ; 28 cm.       Originally 3rd movement from Concerto for a singing instrument for unspecified solo instrument, strings, harp and piano/celesta; acc. arr. for piano. "Perusal score." Publisher from label on t.p. Pref. in English.
BucciBxD01f03	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Concerto for a singing instrument : (concerto for …) / Mark Bucci ; edited by Abba Bogin. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1990.       1 score (32 p.) + 4 parts ; 31 cm.       For unspecified solo instrument or voice and orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Publisher from label pasted on t.p.; copyright date from label pasted on p. 2. Pl. no.: F395-31 (score), F395-8 (parts). Cage box copy includes undated ANS by Mark Bucci with instructions for binding.
BucciBxD01f04	Bucci, Mark, 1924- O. Henry's The cop and the anthem : a play in one act / adapted for the stage by Mark Bucci. Chicago : Dramatic Publishing Co., c1972.       36 p. ; 19 cm.
BucciBxD01f05	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Mark Twain's The Diary of Adam and Eve : a play in one act / adapted for the stage by Mark Bucci.       [United States] : Dramatic Publishing Co., c1972.       40 p. ; 19 cm.
BucciBxD01f06	Bucci, Mark, 1924- The dress : an opera comedy in one act / by Mark Bucci ; vocal score. New York : Frank Music Corp., c1981.       1 vocal score (49 p) ; 28 cm.       English words. Pages 48-49 reprod. from ms. Pl. no.: 9216-45. Pref. in English. Pamphlet describing Triad, a triple bill of one act operas by M. Bucci, bound into back of score. AN attached to cover.
BucciBxD01f07	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Games : (sketches for orchestra) / by Mark Bucci. New York : Music Theatre International, [196-?]       1 score (81 p.) ; 28 cm.       For large or small orchestra. "Super-mini orchestral score reduced from conductor's 11 x 14 score." Reprod. from holograph. Publisher from label on t.p. verso. Contents: Opening -- Follow the leader -- Tug of war -- Shadow tag -- Hopscotch -- Topple the castle wall -- King of the hill -- Red light, green light (statues) -- Cops and robbers -- Time to go home.
BucciBxD01f08	Bucci, Mark, 1924- The hero : an opera in one act based on the play Far Rockaway by Frank D. Gilroy / libretto by David Rogers ; music by Mark Bucci. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1967.       1 vocal score (64 p.) ; 29 cm.       English words. Reprod. from ms. Publisher from label on t.p. "This 8 1/2 x 11 score (reduced from the 11 x 14 performance score) is intended for perusal purposes only." Includes prefatory notes about quality of recording of live Lincoln Center performance.
BucciBxD01f09	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Joining, departure, arrival : three celebrations : for three part chorus / by Mark Bucci. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1989.       1 score (28 p.) ; 28 cm.       For any combination of voices in three parts with piano acc. Includes solo song version with guitar chords. English words. Reprod. from holograph. At end: Spring, 1974. Includes pref. in English on t.p. and vocal range chart on p. 28.
BucciBxD01f10	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Know yourself : fast, pleasant & effective relief from chorus fatigue / another fine product from the research laboratories of Bucci & Rogers. New York : Frank Music Corp., c1989.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For any 4-part chorus with piano or organ. English words. Lyric by David Rogers, music by Mark Bucci. Pl. no.: F537-6.
BucciBxD02f01	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Nocturne / by Mark Bucci. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1990.       1 score (6 p.) ; 29 cm.       For unspecified solo instrument and orchestra, or for orchestra alone; acc. arr. for piano. Reprod. from ms. Publisher and coypright date from label on t.p. Duration: 5:20.
BucciBxD02f02	Bucci, Mark, 1924- The old lady shows her medals : a musical in one act (three scenes) based on a play by J.M. Barrie / adaptation and lyrics by David Rogers ; music by Mark Bucci. New York : Samuel French, Inc., c1988.       1 vocal score (67 p.) ; 27 cm.       English words. Series: French's musical library. Contents: Introduction to scene one -- A drop more o' tea -- Pretendin' -- The Black Watch Regiment -- Pretendin' (reprise) -- Mistress Dowey's verra ill -- End of scene one -- Exquisytos -- Ma wee bonnie laddie -- End of scene two -- Introduction to scene three -- Finale.
BucciBxD02f03	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Paul's case : a one-act play / by Mark Bucci ; adapted from the story by Willa Cather. Chicago : Dramatic Publishing Co., c1981.       43 p. ; 19 cm.
BucciBxD02f04	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Tale for a deaf ear / music and book by Mark Bucci ; based on the story by Elizabeth Enright ; vocal score. New York : Frank Music Corp., c1985.       1 vocal score (96, iv p) ; 28 cm.       English words. Pref. in English. Pl. no.: F297. Pamphlet describing Triad, a triple bill of one act operas by M. Bucci, bound into back of score. Copyright renewal date inscribed on p. [2] in ms. blue ink.
BucciBxD02f05	Bucci, Mark, 1924- Selections from Where's my drink? / by Mark Bucci. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1983.       1 vocal score (16, 4, 7 p., 3, [3], 4 leaves) ; 28 cm.       Words in English, also printed as text at end of score. Contents: What a wonderful time -- The disaster waltz -- There's one in every family.
BucciBxD02f06	Bucci, Mark, 1924- The wondrous kingdom : (flora and fauna) : a cycle for unaccompanied chorus based on texts from Blake, Emerson, Herbert and the Bible / by Mark Bucci. Camp Verde, Ariz. : Keylight Press, c1990.       1 score (52 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SATB chorus; piano part for rehearsal only. English words. Biographical note on p. [53].