Celius Dougherty Collection

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

Processed by:	David Snow
Date completed:	February 16, 2009
Encoded by:	David Snow

©2009

---

---

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Provenance

Access

Biographical Note

Box List

---

Descriptive summary Origination:	Juilliard School
Title:	Celius Dougherty Music Collection
Extent:	.23 cubic feet (1 box).
Repository:	Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School
Language Note:	The collection contains material in English.

Organization

Arranged in a single series of music scores.

Scope and content

The collection consists of songs for solo voice or chorus with piano accompaniment, the suite Music from seas and ships for two pianos four hands, and the vocal score to the children's opera Many moons, all by Celius Dougherty. It also includes folk songs arranged by Dougherty for solo voice or chorus with piano accompaniment, the aria Vieni che poi sereno from Semiramide riconosciuta by C.W.R. von Gluck arr. for 2 pianos 4 hands by Dougherty, and Vindobona: introduction and waltzes by Joseph Lanner, arranged for 2 pianos 4 hands by Celius Dougherty and Vincenz Ruzicka. All scores are authorized photocopies of commercial publications (copyright restrictions apply).

Administrative Information

Provenance

Gift of Park R. Dougherty, 2006.

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

American composer, accompanist and duo-pianist best known for composing art songs. Studied at Juilliard with Josef Lhévinne on piano and Rubin Goldmark in composition.

Personal names

Dougherty, Celius, 1902-1986

Ruzicka, Vincenz.

Subjects

Songs with piano.

Choruses, Secular, with piano.

Folk songs, American.

Piano music (Pianos (2)) -- Scores.

Piano music (Pianos (2)), Arranged -- Scores.

Operas -- Vocal scores with piano.

Box List

DoughertyBx01f01	Dougherty, Celius Beauty is not caused / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Emily Dickinson. New York : Associated Music Publishers, c1948.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words; from The further poems of Emily Dickinson, reprinted by permission of Little Brown and Co. Pl. no. A.M.P. 194635. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f02	Dougherty, Celius The bird and the beast : [an essay] : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, c1953.       1 score (10 p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words from Plain words by Sir Ernest Gowers, used by permission of The Atlantic Monthly. Pl. no. 43118. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f03	Dougherty, Celius Buffalo boy : for four-part chorus of mixed voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1971.       1 score (16 p.) ; 28 cm.       Series: G. Schirmer's secular choral music ; no. 11825. English words. Caption title. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f04	Dougherty, Celius The children's letter to the United Nations : for four-part chorus of mixed voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (13 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SATB chorus with piano acc. English words by students of Public school no. 90, Queens, N.Y. Caption title. Octavo no. 9937. Pl. no. 42445. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f04	Dougherty, Celius The children's letter to the United Nations : for three-part chorus of mixed voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (11 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SAB chorus with piano acc. English words by students of Public school no. 90, Queens, N.Y. Caption title. Octavo no. 9938. Pl. no. 42446. Authorized photocopy; lacks final p.
DoughertyBx01f04	Dougherty, Celius The childen's letter to the United Nations : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (8 p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words by students of Public school no. 90, Queens, N.Y. Pref. in English by Alma M. Haring. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f04	Dougherty, Celius The children's letter to the United Nations : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (13 p.) ; 28 cm.       For 4-part chorus of men's voices (TTBB) with piano acc. English words by students of Public school no. 90, Queens, N.Y. Pref. in English by Alma M. Haring. Octavo no. 9940. Pl. no. 42448. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f05	Dougherty, Celius Declaration of independence : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Wolcott Gibbs]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1971.       1 score (8 p.) ; 28 cm.       Series: G. Schirmer's secular choral music ; no. 11871. For three-chorus of women's voices (SSA) with piano acc. English words, copyrighted 1939 The New Yorker Magazine, Inc. Arr. by the composer. Pref. in English by Wolcott Gibbs. Pl. no. 47030. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f05	Dougherty, Celius Declaration of independence : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Wolcott Gibbs]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words. Lyrics copyrighted 1939 The New Yorker Magazine, Inc. Pref. in English by Wolcott Gibbs. Pl. no. 42037. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f06	Dougherty, Celius The first Christmas : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Elizabeth Fleming]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words. Pl. no. 42219. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f06	Dougherty, Celius The first Christmas : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Elizabeth Fleming]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1958.       1 score (10 p.) ; 28 cm.       For four-part chorus of mixed voices (SATB) with piano acc. English words. Octavo no. 10616. Pl. no. 44363. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f07	Five American folk songs Five American folk songs / arranged for voice and piano by Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1953.       1 score (9, 5, 7, 5, 5 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words. Contents: Stewball ; Bring my Lulu home / from American ballads and folksongs, collected by John and Alan Lomax -- What you gonna do when the meat gives out? / from The American songbag of Carl Sandburg -- The lady who loved a pig / from Our singing country, collected by John and Alan Lomax-- Colorado trail / from The American songbag of Carl Sandburg. Pl. no. 42865, 42866, 42867, 42946, 42888. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f08	Five sea chanties Five sea chanties / arranged for voice and piano by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, c1956.       1 score (7, 12, 12, 7, 10 p.) ; 28 cm.       For 4-part chorus of men's voices (TTBB) with piano acc. English words. Contents: Shenandoah -- Mobile Bay -- Blow ye winds -- Across the western ocean -- Rio Grande. Octavo no. 10410-10414. Pl. no. 43803-43807. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f08	Five sea chanties Five sea chanties / arranged for voice and piano by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score ([7], [7], 6, 10, 6 p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words. Contents: Rio Grande -- Blow ye winds -- Across the western ocean -- Mobile Bay -- Shenandoah. Pl. no. 41848, 41850, 41851, 41883. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f09	Dougherty, Celius Green meadows : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, c1925.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words. Poem anonymous. Pl. no. 32219. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f10	Dougherty, Celius Hush'd be the camps today / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Walt Whitman.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words. Caption title. Pl. no. 42022. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f11	Dougherty, Celius The K'e / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1954.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words; from the Chinese. Caption title. Pl. no. 43158. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f12	Dougherty, Celius little fourpaws / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] e. e. cummings.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (3 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words. Text copyright 1925, 1953 by e. e. cummings. Pl. no. 45885. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f13	Dougherty, Celius Love in the dictionary / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1971.       1 score ([7] p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. Words in English from Funk and Wagnalls Students' standard dictionary. Pl. no. 42069. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f13	Dougherty, Celius Love in the dictionary / Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1971.       1 score ([6] p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. Words in English from Funk and Wagnalls Students' standard dictionary. Pl. no. 44538. Authorized photocopy; pages photocopied out of correct sequence.
DoughertyBx01f13	Dougherty, Celius Love in the dictionary : for three-part chorus of women's voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty ; arranged by Mikanna Taurman in collaboration with the composer.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1971.       1 score (12 p.) ; 28 cm.       Words in English from Funk and Wagnalls Students' standard dictionary. Octavo no. 11786. Pl. no. 46867. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f14	Dougherty, Celius Many moons : opera in one act / music by Celius Dougherty ; text adapted from James Thurber by Celius Dougherty. New York : G. Schirmer, [1969?]       1 vocal score ([91] p.) ; 28 cm.       English words. Duration: 40:00. Publisher's no. ED. 2535. Pl. no. 45501. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f15	Mary Ann Mary Ann : for three-part chorus of women's voices with piano accompaniment / arranged by Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1967.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SSA chorus with piano acc. English words; from "Come-a-singing", National museum of Canada. Octavo no. 11496. Pl. no. 46289. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f16	Dougherty, Celius A minor bird : for three-part chorus of women's voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Robert Frost.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (6 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SSA chorus with piano acc. English words. Caption title. Octavo no. 11389. Pl. no. 46063. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f16	Dougherty, Celius A minor bird : for four-part chorus of mixed voices with piano accompaniment / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Robert Frost.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (6 p.) ; 28 cm.       For SATB chorus with piano acc. English words. Caption title. Octavo no. 11390. Pl. no. 46064. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f16	Dougherty, Celius A minor bird : for voice and piano / music by Celius Dougherty ; words by Robert Frost. New York : G. Schirmer, c1958.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words from Complete poems of Robert Frost, copyright 1949 by Henry Holt and Co., used by permission of Henry Holt and Co. and Jonathan Cape, Ltd. Pl. no. 44410. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f16	Dougherty, Celius A minor bird : for voice and piano / music by Celius Dougherty ; words by Robert Frost. New York : G. Schirmer, c1968.       1 score (4 p.) ; 28 cm.       Series: G. Schirmer's choral secular music ; no. 11507. For 3-part chorus of mixed voices (SAB) with piano acc. English words. Pl. no. 46318. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f17	Dougherty, Celius Music from seas and ships : for two pianos four hands / by Celius Dougherty.        [New York] : G. Schirmer, c1950.       1 score (44 p.) ; 28 cm.       Contents: Banks of Sacramento -- Sea-calm -- Mobile Bay. Pl. no. 42263. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f18	Dougherty, Celius o by the by / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] e. e. cummings.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (6 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words, copyright 1944 by e. e. cummings. Pl. no. 46087. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f19	Dougherty, Celius Pianissimo : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Eli Ives Collins]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (9 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words. Pl. no. 41795. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f20	Dougherty, Celius Portrait / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Robert Browning.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words. Pl. no. 41801. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f20	Dougherty, Celius Portrait / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Robert Browning.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words. Pl. no. 41800. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f21	Dougherty, Celius Primavera : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by Amy Lowell].        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (11 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words. Poem from "What's o'clock," published by Houghton Mifflin Co, used by permission. Pl. no. 41983. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f21	Dougherty, Celius Primavera / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Amy Lowell.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score ([9] p.) ; 28 cm.       For medium voice and piano. English words. Caption title. Poem from "What's o'clock," published by Houghton Mifflin Co, used by permission. Pl. no. 44538. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f22	Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von Minuetto : Vieni che poi sereno : Semiramide / Christoph Willibald von Gluck ; arranged for two pianos by Celius Dougherty.        [New York?] : Associated Music Publishers, c1944.       1 score (6 p.) ; 28 cm.       For 2 pianos, 4 hands. Pl. no. AMP 194325. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f23	Dougherty, Celius Serenader : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty ; [words by George Dillon]. New York : G. Schirmer, c1954.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For high voice and piano. English words; from Boy in the wind by George Dillon, Copyright 1927 by The Viking Press, Inc. Pl. no. 42986. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f24	Dougherty, Celius Sonatina / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Rose Fyleman.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1948.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. Caption title. English words. Words from Fairies and chimneys by Rose Fyleman, copyright 1920, by Doubleday & Co. Pl no. 41895.
DoughertyBx01f25	Dougherty, Celius Song for autumn / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Mary Webb.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1962.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words. Caption title. Pl. no. 45135. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f26	Dougherty, Celius Sound the flute! : for three-part chorus of women's voices / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] William Blake.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1962.       1 score (4 p.) ; 28 cm.       Series: G. Schirmer's secular choral music ; no. 10726. For SSA chorus with piano acc. English words. Caption title. Pl. no. 44639. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f26	Dougherty, Celius Sound the flute! / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] William Blake.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1957.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words. Caption title. Pl. no. 44155. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f27	Dougherty, Celius The stranger : sacred song : for voice and piano / by Celius Dougherty.        [New York] : G. Schirmer, c1955.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For low voice and piano. English words from the Gaelic. Pl. no. 43514. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f28	Dougherty, Celius sweet spring is your time : duet for soprano and tenor, or two sopranos / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] e. e. cummings.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1961.       1 score (14 p.) ; 28 cm.       English words. Caption title. Pl. no. 44931. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f29	Dougherty, Celius Tapestry / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] William Douglas. New York : Associated Music Publishers, c1948.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. Caption title. English words. Poem reprinted by permission from The Atlantic Monthly. Pl. no. A.M.P. 194636. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f30	Dougherty, Celius thy fingers make early flowers / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] e. e. cummings.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words, copyright 1923, 1951 by e. e. cummings. Pl. no. 45886. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f31	Dougherty, Celius until and i heard / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] e. e. cummings.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1966.       1 score (7 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words, copyright 1944 by e. e. cummings. Pl. no. 45884. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f32	Dougherty, Celius Upstream / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Carl Sandburg.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1960.       1 score (5 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words, used by permission. Caption title. Pl. no. 44738. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f33	Lanner, Joseph Vindobona : introduction and waltzes / Joseph Lanner ; arranged for 2 pianos by Celius Dougherty and Vincenz Ruzicka.        [New York?] : Associated Music Publishers, c1944.       1 score (24 p.) ; 28 cm.       Pl. no. A.M.P. 194326-24. Authorized photocopy.
DoughertyBx01f34	Dougherty, Celius Weathers / Celius Dougherty ; [words by] Thomas Hardy.        [New York?] : G. Schirmer, c1954.       1 score (11 p.) ; 28 cm.       For voice and piano. English words, copyright 1925 by The Macmillan Co., printed by permission of The Macmillan Co. and of the Society of Authors as literary representative of the Thomas Hardy Estate. Caption title. Pl. no. 43162. Authorized photocopy.