Rudolf Firkušný collection

Provenance

Gift of Véronique Firkušný-Callegari and Igor Firkušný, 2011-2012.

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Personal names

Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.

Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904.

Glass, Philip.

Janáček, Leoš, 1854-1928.

Kubelík, Rafael, 1914-1996.

Poulenc, Francis, 1899-1963.

Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884.

Subjects

Instrumental music.

Songs.

Operas – Excerpts – Vocal scores with piano.

Musical sketches.

Music – Manuscripts – Facsimiles.

Box 1

Series I: Biographical Materials

1) Awards and Honors, 1995 (see also Box 17 & 18, Map Drawer 6)

2) Biographies, 1993-1995

3) Calendars, 1943-1956

4) Collected autographs, 1945-1991 (includes Václav Havel, Arturo Toscanini, and Wanda, Volodja)

5) Firkušný family tree, 2014 (by distant cousin, Richard Firkušný; includes note of explanation)

6) Nameplate, undated

7) Notebook, 1926-1928 (note: notebook from early childhood; he used this as part of his game of “playing school,” with invented attendance records and grades, etc.)

8) Passports, 1942-1952

School Records:

9) Diplomas, 1929-1931 (see also Box 17 & Map Drawer 6)

10) Report Cards – Rudolf Firkušný, 1923-1930

11) Report Cards – Tatiana Nevolová (wife), 1951-1963

 

Box 2

Series II: Correspondence/Subject Files

General:

1) Beneš, Edvard, December 24, 1928 (to Bedřich Hlaváč, in Czech)

2) Brodersen, Viggo, February 1936 (in German)

3) Damrosch, Walter, March 26, 1943 (recommendation for Firkušný to Arthur Judson)

4) Dvořák, Antonín, 1889 (to Bedřich Hlaváč, in Czech)

5) Fabritiis, Oliviero De, 1947 (includes his photograph, in French)

6) Fisher, Avery, February 12, 1987

7) Forman, Miloš, 1989 (in Czech)

8) Fournier, Marguerite, 1940 (in French, includes a postcard signed by multiple people, including Rudolf Kundera in Czech)

9) Hahn, Reynaldo, undated (in French)

10) Hammarskjöld, Dag, 1956 (Secretary-General, U.N.)

11) Harrell, Lynn, February 1985

12) Havlová, Olga, October 14, 1991 (wife of Václav Havel, in Czech)

13) Horowitz, Vladimir, undated

14) Janáček, Leoš, 1922-1923 (recommendation letters on behalf of Rudolf Firkušný, in Czech)

15) Kalabis, Viktor, 1979 (in Czech)

16) Kubelík, Elsie and Rafael, 1984 (“Glorioso” manuscript music on back, in Czech)

17) Kundera, Rudolf, 1937 (artist, drawing on letter and photo next to his painting; in Czech)

18) Kurz, Vilem, January 14, 1933 (in Czech)

19) Ma, Yo-Yo, November 30, 1992

20) Masaryk, Alice, 1928-1965 (in Czech and English; includes note of explanation from V. Firkušný-Callegari; signed menus from Alice & Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, and Jarmila Novotná; and enclosed letter from Helen Hayes, 1955)

21) Masaryk, Jan, September 14, 1936 (with print of Jan and Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, in Czech)

22) Masaryk, Tomáš Garrigue, 1912-1935, undated (in Czech)

23) Menuhin, Yehudi, undated

24) Mucha, Jiří, July 22, 1940 (in Czech)

25) Nat, Yves, March 22, 1932 (enclosed with letters from Sybil (see unidentified), in French)

26) Ormandy, Eugene, December 2, 1959 (to Schuyler Chapin Re. Firkušný)

27) Runciman, Lord Walter, August 9, 1938 (includes note of explanation from V. Firkušný-Callegari)

28) Rychetsky, Professor, 1990 (includes note of explanation from V. Firkušný-Callegari & gymnasium attendance and report card records for Firkušný’s father, Rudolf Firkušný. RF senior was  a classmate of Gustav Mahler)

29) Otáhal, Karel, January 1, 1933 (sculptor, in Czech)

30) Sendak, Maurice, 1983-1986

31) Serkin, Rudolf, 1971-1981 (in German and English)

32) Škampa, Milan, February 25, 2000 (to Tatiana Firkušný, includes note from unidentified, in Czech and English)

33) Stokowski, Leopold, undated (recommendation for Firkušný to?)

34) Stretti, Mario, 1930 (artist, in Czech)

35) Švehla, Antonín, undated (in Czech)

36) Szell, George, 1933-1967 (in German and English)

37) Yardumian, Richard, 1961-1962

38) Miscellaneous “A-Z,” 1926-2005:

Asociación Artística Rudolf Firkušný, 1954-1955 (includes newspaper clippings)

Czechoslovak Cultural Circle of New York, 1943 (Karel Leitner, in Czech)

Czechoslovak Legation, 1942 (Karel Cervenka, in Czech)

Elies, Tooje (?), 1963 (in Czech)

Friends of Czechoslovak Music, 1942

Frierson, Helen, June 1, 1994 (assistant to Vilem Kriz)

G. Rösler (piano company), February 14, 1933

Gruber, Zdenka and Eva-Maria Speckbacher, August 17, 1984 (in German)

Hasegawa, Sachiko, May 21, 1985

Hull, Helen, January 1965

Kabát, Jindřich, November 30, 1992 (Czech Republic Minister of Culture)

Kotouč, Antonín, September 5, 1933 (in Czech)

Lerche-Lerchenborg, Louise, 1991 (Lerchenborg Musikdage, with reply)

Maguin, L. de, November 25, 1931 (in French)

Masarykovy Univerzity. November 25, 1991 (Prof. Milan Jelínek, in Czech)

Office of the President (Václav Havel), July 20, 1994 (Re. death of Rudolf Firkušný)

Orchestrální Sdružení v Brně, January 28, 1926

Packard, Jarmila D., May 6, 1995 (to Tatiana Firkušný)

Pastré, Contessa, 1955 (in French)

Pražské Jaro (Prague Spring Music Festival), 1979 (Jiří Pávek and Jan Seidel, in Czech)

Rada hlavního města Prahy (Prague City Council), 1936 (in Czech)

Ravinia Festival, October 28, 1988 (to Larry Tucker, includes newspaper clippings)

Rezková, Věra, August 25, 1984

Šetlík, Jiří, February 11, 1992 (Czech & Slovak Embassy, in Czech)

Shuman Associates, Inc., 1995-2005 (to Tatiana and Véronique Firkušný-Callegari)

Simon, Richard, 1941 (Simon & Schuster, Re. Rudolf Firkušný)

Sony Classical, November 25, 1992 (Michiko Oka)

Stileo, Jirí, July 8, 1991

Yamada, Eji, 1986

Zhu, Daming, September 1998 (to Tatiana Firkušný, includes a program)

Zlamal, Msgr. Oldrich, 1954-1955 (Our Lady of Lourdes Church, in Czech)

39) Unidentified, 1927-1996 (to Rudolf  Firkušný  and Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, from Sybil includes letter from Yves Nat (see folder) ;  in Czech, English, and French)

Personal:

40) Firkušný, Igor, June 21, 1993 (son, to Rudolf Firkušný)

41) Firkušná, Karla Šindelářová, 1940-1966 (mother, to Rudolf Firkušný, in Czech) (March 3 & 5, 1965 from R. Firkušný, August 20, 1965 includes pressed four leaf clover)

42) Firkušný, Leoš, 1929-1950 (brother, to Rudolf Firkušný, October 14, 1929 from Czech Consulate in Milan, June 3, 1948 to Miss Maren, in Czech and English)

Firkušný, Rudolf, 1965-1980, undated (to wife Tatiana Nevolová Firkušný, in Czech and English):

43) April 1965 (29th includes program)

44) May 1965

 

Box 3

1) June 1965 (16^th includes newspaper clipping, 18^th includes telegram from unidentified, 30^th  includes newspaper clippings)

2) July 1965 (12^th includes Aviation Accident Insurance form, 28^th includes newspaper clipping)

3) August 1965

4) September 1965 (9^th is an Aviation Accident Insurance form, 10^th includes newspaper clipping, 12^th is an Accident Insurance form, 15^th is an Accident Insurance form)

5) October 1965 (3^rd is an Accident Insurance form, 9^th is an Accident Insurance form)

6) December 1965

7) September 1966 (9^th includes furniture bill, 21^st includes letter from Hanna Zubryzycka)

8) October 1966 (14^th includes letter from unidentified)

9) November 1966 (21^st includes newspaper clipping)

10) November 1968

11) January – October 1969

12) January – December 1970

13) March – December 1971

14) June 1972

15) January 8, 1973

16) January – June 1974 (May 5^th includes newspaper clippings)

17) January 1975 – June 1976

18) 1980 & 1990

19) undated

 

Box 4

Firkušný, Tatiana Nevolová, 1965-1974 (to Rudolf Firkušný, in Czech, English and French):

1) April 1965 (14^th includes lock of her hair, 28^th  includes pressed flower)

2) May 1965 (15^th includes pressed flower and lipstick kiss on letter, 31^st includes pressed four leaf clover)

3) June 1965 (15^th includes pressed flowers from their wedding bouquet)

4) July 1965 (20^th includes pressed flower)

5) August 1965

 

Box 5

1) September 1965

2) October 1965

3) November – December 1965

4) January – May 1966

5) September 1966 (19^th includes three enclosed letters from unidentified and 20^th includes two enclosed letters from unidentified)

6) October 1966 (31^st includes enclosed letter from unidentified)

7) November 1966

8) January 30, 1967

9) January 1969

10) January – June, 1970

11) September 1970

12) October 1970

13) July 27, 1971

14) April-May 1974

15) Firkušný-Callegari, Véronique, 1989 (daughter, from Rudolf Firkušný)

16) Kasíková, Marie Firkušná, 1940-1969 (sister, to Rudolf Firkušný,  in Czech) (September 10, 1966 includes newspaper clippings)

17) Pucová, Helenka, 1938-1941 (to Rudolf Firkušný, in Czech and French) (May 27, 1938 letter from Rudolf Firkušný with musical notes, March 11, 1941 letter to Marguerite Fournier with reply on bottom)

18) Šindelář, Jindřich, 1929-1933 (maternal uncle, to/from unidentified, in Czech)

19) Šindelářová, Ada, 1933 (aunt, from unidentified, in Czech)

20) Telegrams, 1964-1975, undated (to and from Rudolf, Tatiana, and Véronique Firkušný)

 

Box 6

      Subject Files:

1) Arad, Avner, 1994-1997 (articles, programs, writing – tribute to Firkušný)

 

Bohuslav Martinů Institute, 1935-2011:

2) Correspondence, 1935-2007 (to and from Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Ales Brezina, and Zoja Seyčová  re: donation of Martinů-related materials, includes a signed agreement form, copies of correspondence to and from Firkušný and Martinů, articles, and information about the Institute; see also Photographs)

3) Newsletters, 2005-2011

 

4) Buechner, David (Sara Davis), 1995-1998 (correspondence to and from Tatiana Firkušný, article, program and writing – Firkušný memoir)

 

Dvořák Society, 1995-2000:

5) Correspondence, 1998-2000 (to and from Tatiana Firkušný, Graham Melville-Mason, and Richard Beith re: Memorial booklet, includes draft with corrections and 3 booklets)

6) The Journal of the Dvořák  Society and Annual yearbook, 1995-1998

7) Newsletters, 1998

 

8) Entwistle, Erik (correspondence to and from Tatiana Firkušný, program, writing – “Reminiscences: Firkušný, Martinů and the Kapráls,” with correction by T. Firkušný )

9) Firkušný, Rudolf – Archival Materials, 2006-2011 (to & from Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Jane Gottlieb, & Jana Hrebikova, includes 1 CD of complete list of materials donated to Archive)

10) Firkušný, Rudolf & Tatiana – burial in Brno, 2006-2007 (correspondence to and from Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Magdalena Spílková, Martin Reissner, Helena Veselá, Václav Cejpek, contracts, copies of death certificates, articles, and invitation to burial ceremony)

11) Firkušný, Rudolf & Tatiana – memorial & concert, 2007-2008 (correspondence to and from Ludmila Turek, Alena Vesala, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Václav Cejpek, Emil Hladký, tribute/eulogy, programs, and articles; see also Photographs)

12) “Firkušný Trio” name request, 2004-2006 (correspondence to and from Tatiana Firkušný, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, and“Trio” and recommendation from Vladimir Ashkenazy to Osaka Chamber Music Competition, and program)

13) Janáčkova Akademie Múzických Uměni, 1993-2013 (JAMU, Alena Štěpánkova-Veselá, includes newspaper clippings, & publication; in Czech)

14) Napajedla Festival, 2008-2012 (annual tribute to Firkušný; newsletters, articles & programs)

15) Palák. Milan, 1995-1997 (correspondence to Tatiana Firkušný, photographs, transcript of letters from Rudolf Firkušný to Otakar Pavlousek, and dissertation – “Koncertování Rudolf Firkušného v Ostravě a jeho přátelství se Zdeňkou a Otakarem Pavlouskovými,” in Czech)

16) Rudolf Firkušný Poetry Prize,  September 21, 1996 (Tatiana Firkušný to Czech Advisory Council & Columbia University)

 

Box 7

1) Prague Spring International Piano Competition (inaugural-in memory of Firkušný), May 2011 (includes articles and programs; in Czech)

2) Rudolf Firkušný Piano Festival, November 2013 (inaugural, held under the auspices of the Prague Spring Festival; in Czech)

3) Rybka, Frank, 1946-2005 (correspondence from F. James Rybka to Véronique Firkušný-Callegari re: letters from R. Firkušný to Frank Rybka, includes original letters and translations, May 5, 1965 includes photograph w/ manuscript music on back)

4) Základní Umělecka Škola Rudolfa Firkšněho (Z.U.Š.), 2000-2003 (school named after Firkušný, correspondence from Lenka Hanáčková and Viřa Žáková, copy of official certification received by the Z.U.Š., writing about school history, newsletter, and program)

Box 8

Series III: Articles and Newspaper clippings

1) Articles about Firkušný, 1964-2007

2) Articles collected by Firkušný, 1986-1998

   3-4) Newspaper clippings, 1920-2009 (acid-free photocopies, see Map Drawer 6 for originals)

 

Series IV: Writings

5) Writings by Rudolf Firkušný, 1938-1992, undated (see also Box 18):

Contribution to John Tibbet’s book: Dvořák Piano Concerto, January 1992

Interview transcript, Czech Virtuoso Abroad, undated (draft)

Lecture on Czech Music, undated

My Friend Bohuslav Martinů, July 1990

My Great Teacher, August 12, 1938

Notes, undated (note: 8 double-sided handwritten pages, not sure in whose hand – possibly RF when very young?); and notes regarding Leoš Janáček’s opera Jenůfa, in Czech)

Recollections, 1946-1947 (about Leoš Janáček, Vilem Kurz, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, in Czech)

Speech – Honorary Doctorate Ceremony, Charles University, June 1, 1990

Writing about his life during the years 1939-1945, undated

6) Writings by others, 1948-2004, undated:

Callegari, Silvia, school essay about Rudolf Firkušný, February 1997 (granddaughter)

Firkušný, Leoš, lecture given in Přerov, September 18, 1972 (in Czech)

Firkušný, Tatiana, Janáček – Newmarch Correspondence, May 1987

Fischmann, Zdenka E., The Vixen Bystrouška and Her Champions, September 1986 (with note to Tatiana Firkušný in Czech)

Havlík, Prokop V., Music of Czechoslovakia, August 15, 1974 (in Czech)

Hlaváč, Bedřich, writing in German, undated

Kolomazníková, Lenka, Rudolf Firkušný, 1983 (note: as per Firkušný, graduate thesis contains factual errors)

Lančíkova, Ema, Největší Český Pianista 20 Stol, 1972 (in Czech)

Pallares, Licenciado Eduardo, Rudolf Firkušný, July 13, 1948

Tibbetts, John C., Helping Hands: A Tribute to Rudolf Firkušný, ca.1994

Vick, Ana Maria, Rudolf Firkušný, June 16, 1948

Unidentified, Odesláno Růži do Buenos Aires, October 27, 1955 (in Czech)

Unidentified, Pianista Rudolf Firkušný se těší domů, undated (in Czech)

Unidentified, Ruda Firkušný, undated

Unidentified, Speech at Firkušný tribute concert, January 28, 2004 (includes flyer)

Unidentified, writing about Rudolf Firkušný, February 1957

Unidentified, writing about Rudolf Firkušný, undated (draft)

Unidentified, writing about music artist managers, undated

7) Unidentified writings about composers, 1957, undated (in Czech, by Rudolf Firkušný?)

 

Box 9

Series V: Programs and Publicity

1) Programs, 1920-1935 (January 8, 1933 signed by Nikolai Malko, April 25, 1934 signed by Alexander Zemlinsky)

2) Programs, 1936-1998 (January 13, 1938 American debut, June 20, 1998 – Rudolf Firkušný tribute)

3) Publicity, ca. 1932-ca. 1990s

 

Series VI: Performance and Professional Engagement Materials

4) Competitions, 1960 & 1991 (correspondence from Queen Elisabeth Competition to R. Firkušný, list of 1991 jury members, and program)

5) Contracts, 1944

6) Discography, 1992-2003 (includes CD Cover mock-up)

7) Financial records, 1929-1990

8) List – Conductor collaborations, undated

9) List – Performance and Professional Engagements, 1924-1977 (includes graphs)

10) Mailing List (for TV announcement card), October 8, 1988

11) Program notes/set lists, 1928-1956, undated

12-13) Record Books – Performance and Professional Engagements, 1919-1963 (see also Map Drawer 6)

14) Recordings – Rudolf Firkušný – posthumous, 2005-2008 (correspondence from Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Graham Melville-Mason (Dvořák Society), Kateřina Dvořáková (BVA International), and Leslie Gerber (Parnassus Records), Letter of Agreement, reviews)

15) Recordings – Rudolf Firkušný & Erica Morini, 2006-2007 (correspondence from Allan Evans and Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, articles)

 

Box 10

Series VII: Iconography (see also Box 19 & Map Drawer 6)

1) Drawings, ca. 1920s-1939: Drawing of Sybil by unidentified, August 18, 192(?),drawing of R. Firkušný by Ludmila Jiřincová-Schlöglová(?), 1934 (on postcard), and drawing of R. Firkušný by Rudolf Kundera, 1939 (on postcard)

Photographs:

   2-9) Firkušný alone, 1912-1969

 

Box 11

   1-7) Firkušný alone, 1970-1993 (includes 1 CD)

   8-9) Firkušný with family, 1902-1958: Karla Šindelářová Firkušná (mother), Rudolf Firkušný, Sr. (father)

           Leoš Firkušný (brother), Marie Firkušná Kasíková (sister), Tatiana Nevolová Firkušný (wife), Ada

           Šindelářová (aunt), Jindřich Šindelář (maternal uncle), Emilie Šindelářová (grandmother), and

           unidentified.

 

Box 12

   1-2) Firkušný with family, 1963-1994: Véronique Firkušný-Callegari (daughter), Victor Callegari (son-in-

           law), Christopher Callegari (grandson), Silvia Callegari (granddaughter), Igor Firkušný (son), Karla

           Šindelářová Firkušná (mother), Marie Firkušná Kasíková (sister), and Tatiana Nevolová Firkušný (wife).

   3-6) Firkušný with others, 1923-1975: Samuel Barber, 1946, Serge Baudo, 1970, Prof. Branberger, 1929,

           Prof. Branbergerová, 1929, Marta Cittová, 1929, František Chvalkovský & wife, 1934, Leoš Firkušný,

           1946, Mrs. M. Gerstel, ca. 1940s, Emil Gilels, 1983, Philip Glass, 1990, L. Goman-Dombrowská, 1929,

           Howard Hanson, ca. 1940s, Alfred Holeček, 1929, Prof. Rudolf Karel, 1929, Danny Kaye, ca. 1950s

           (signed), Andrea King, ca. 1940s, Joseph Kovarik, 1945, Rafael Kubelík, 1939 & 1973, Rudolf Kundera,

           1937, 1939 & 1946, Vilém Kurz, 1928 & 1932, Růžena Kurzová, 1928, Jamie Laredo, 1966, Perla

           Lucena, ca.1950s, Kay Marjoriebanks, 1933, Bohuslav Martinů, 1940, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, ca.

           1930s, Vojtěch Mastný, 1933, Allessandro Mori, 1933 (signed), Charles Munch, ca. 1950s, Jarmila

           Novotná, 1926, 1929, & ca. 1930s, Karel Otáhal, 1933, Otakar Pavlousek, ca. 1930s, Mayor Ralph Perk,

           1972, Gertrude Pitzinger, ca. 1930s, Beth Rector, 1975, Gail W. Rector, 1975, Julie Reisserova, 1936

           (signed), Eliška Reissigová, 1929, Leonard Rose, 1964, Eudice Shapiro, 1964, Stanisław

           Skrowaczewski, 1975, Mario Stretti, ca. 1930s, Paul Suberts, 1929, George Szell, 1968, Václav Talich,

           ca. 1935, Josef Vihtols, 1929, Dr. Vrabec, 1929, and unidentified.

 

Box 13

   1-3) Firkušný with others, 1980-1993: Yasuhiko Andoh, ca. 1989-1990, Jiří Bělohlávek, ca. 1987 & 1993,

           Gabriela Beňačková, 1991 & ca. 1993, Mayor David Dinkins, 1991 (signed), Miloš Forman, 1988,

           James Gallway, July 21, 1988, Lynn Harrell, ca. 1980s, Václav Havel, 1991, Dr. Emil Hladký, 1990,

           Elsie Morison Kubelík, 1982, Rafael Kubelík, 1982, Louise Lerch-Lerchenborg, 1991, Louise &

           Vladimir Maudr, October 1988, Cynthia & Carlos Moseley, 1986, Libor Pešek, 1992, Mstislav

           Rostropovich, ca. 1986, Alice Smith de Koning & friend Roman, July 8, 1993 (with note), Russell

           Stanger (?), ca. 1980s, Martin Turnovský, 1986, Richard Wilson, 1990, Miyoko Yamane, 1980, and

           unidentified.

   4-5) Other, 1969-2012, undated: Cardinal Josef Beran (with Pope Paul VI), 1968 (signed), Oliviero De

           Fabritiis, 1947 (signed), Leoš Firkušný, ca. 1940s, John Forman (?), 1938 (signed), Leoš Janáček

           (signed), 1924 & 1920s, Rafael Kubelík, 1982, Rudolf Kundera, 1937 (next to paintng, signed) Vilém

           Kurz & Růžena Kurzová, 1928, Kay Marjoriebanks (signed), 1932-ca.1930s, Bohuslav Martinů, 1952-

           ca. 1950s (signed), Jan Masaryk, ca. 1940s, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk (signed), 1920, 1923, & ca. 1930s,

           Darius Milhaud, 1951 (signed), Dimitri Mitropoulos (signed), 1944 & ca. 1950, Alessandro Mori, 1933

           (signed), Jarmila Novotná, 1929-1935, (signed), Eugene Ormandy, April 1966 (signed), George Szell,

           February 21, 1959 (signed), Arturo Toscanini, January 1948 (signed), Ján Ursiny, ca.1940s, Karel

           Weiss, ca. 1930s, and unidentified.

Competitions:

6) Concours Clara Haskil, August 1989: Georges Athanasiadès, Michel Dalberto, Rudolf Firkušný, Hans Graf, Nikita Magaloff, Yuko Yamaoko, and unidentified

7) Concours Géza Anda, 1982: Laurent Cabasso, Hung-Kuan Chen, Rudolf Firkušný, Heidrun Holtmann, and unidentified

8) Johann Sebastian Bach International, November 25, 1966: Rudolf Firkušný and unidentified

9) Queen Elisabeth, May 1960 & May 1991: Renata Borgatti, Harriet Cohen, Zbigniew Drzewiecki, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Jacob (Yakov) Flier, Emil Gilels, King Baudouin of Belgium, Witold Małcużyński, Francis Poulenc, Léon Jongen, Nikita Magaloff, Eduardo Del Pueyo, Vesselin Stoyanov, Eugène Traey, Alex De Vries, Queen Fabiola of Belgium, and unidentified

Festivals: (see also Box 24)

10) Aspen Festival, 1951-1970s, undated: Victor Babin, Sergiu Comissiona, Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, Claude Frank, Kurt Oppens, Murry Sidlin, Albert Tipton, Roman Totenberg, and unidentified

 

Box 14

1) Marlboro and Blossom Festivals, July 1982: Rudolf Firkušný, Rudolf Serkin, and unidentified

2) Prague Spring Festival 1946: Edvard Beneš, Hana Benešová, Rudolf Firkušný, Jan Masaryk & orchestra

3) Prague Spring Festival, 1990 (see also Oversize and Slides): Jiří Bělohlávek (conductor), Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný Olga Havalová, Václav Havel, Elsie Morison Kubelík, Rafael Kubelík, & orchestra

4) Prague Spring Festival, 1992: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, Lupe Sedláčková, and unidentified

General:

5) AAF Convalescent Hospital broadcast, January 25, 1945: Rudolf Firkušný and unidentified

6) A.B.C. (Australian Broadcasting Commission) Tour, 1959: Rudolf Firkušný, Mrs. M. Gerstel, Lady Lloyd-Jones, Charles Moses, and  Con and Jim Zissermann

7) Abbotsholm, Derbyshire, England 1985: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, Smetana Quartet: Antonín Kohout, Lubomír Kostecký, Jiří Novák, and Milan Škampa

8) Bagby Foundation, December 1992: Eduardus Halim, Judy Halim, Rudolf  & Tatiana Firkušný, Eleanor Mark, Anna Moffo, Jarmila Novotná, and unidentified

9) Bohuslav Martinů Institute, 1890-1959: 2 CD’s of photographs from the Institute’s Archive; includes: Alen Diviš, Rudolf Firkušný, Vítězslava Kaprálová, Marie Krausová, Rudolf Kundera, Bohuslav and Charlotte Martinů, Jiří Mucha, Josef Páleníček, Karel Šebánek, Jaro Stein, Antonin Svoboda, and others.

10) Brno – Memorial & Concert, September 2007: Igor Ardašev, Renata Ardaševova, Christopher Callegari, Silvia Callegari, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Victor Callegari, Václav Cejpek, Igor Firkušný, Jan Jiraský, Alena Štěpánková, Jan Vojtek, and unidentified (includes 1 CD)

11) Brno radio interview, 1991: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný and unidentified

12) Buenos Aires, ca. 1943: Rudolf Firkušný on a horse, with dog, and unidentified

13) Cassis, France, 1986: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Marguerite Fournier, Rudolf Kundera, and unidentified (see also Oversize)

14) Center for U.S.-China Exchange, 1985: Lin Er-Yao, Rudolf Firkušný, Wu Le-Yi, Sang Tong, and unidentified

15) Chicago, Illinois, 1948: Karel Boleslav Jirák, Rudolf Firkušný, Jeroným Zajíček, and unidentified

16) Dvořák in Prague: A Celebration (publicity shots), December 1993: Rudolf Firkušný, Václav Havel, Yo-Yo Ma, Seiji Ozawa, Itzhak Perlman, and Frederica von Stade

17) Honorary Citizenship ceremony (Prague & Napajedla), May 29, 1990: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Jaroslav Kořán, & unidentified

18) Honorary Citizenship ceremony (Uherské Hradiště), June 22, 1993: Silvia Callegari, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

19) Honorary Doctorate ceremony – Charles University, May 30, 1990: Václav Havel & unidentified

20) Honorary Doctorate ceremony – Charles University, June 1, 1990: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, , Rafael Kubelík, and unidentified (see Box 24 for empty photo album)

21) Honorary Doctorate ceremony – JAMU (Janáček Academy of Music and Performing Arts), October 1993: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

22) Honorary Doctorate ceremony – Masaryk University, September 20, 1991: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

 

Box 15

1) Israel, March 1977: Rudolf Firkušný, Arthur Rubinstein, and unidentified

2) Japan, May 1983: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

3) Japan (Fukuoka),1987: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

4) Japan, November 1992: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified (see also Oversize)

5) Juilliard String Quartet (recording session), 1975: Earl Carlyss, Rudolf Firkušný, Joel Krosnick, Robert Mann, and Samuel Rhodes

6) Kawai Piano Factory (Hamamatsu, Japan), September 1987: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

7) La Baule, France, June 1988: Rudolf Firkušný and unidentified

8) Leoš Janáček Museum, Brno, May 30, 1990: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný

9) Montreux, Switzerland, 1989-1991: Georges Athanasiadès, Harrietta Krips, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

10) Nagoya, Japan, 1987: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

11) Napajedla, Czech Republic, September 1991: Mayor Josef Bučka, Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified (includes opening ceremony of school named after Firkušný)

12) Nike Commercial, 1990: Rudolf Firkušný and David Robinson

13) Order of Tomás Garrigue Masaryk Award, February 1992: Igor Firkušný, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Rita Klímová, Vlasta Krausová, Eduard Kukan, Zdenka Kukanová, Jarmila Novotná, Ludmila Schwarzenberg, Jiři Šetlík, Larry Tucker, Aja Vrzáňová, and unidentified

14) Palm Beach, February 1987: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

15) Prague, January 1990: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

16) Prague, May 1990: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Václav Havel, Rafael Kubelík, Milan Lukeš, Jiří Mucha, Václav Neumann, Cardinal František Tomášek, and unidentified

17) Prague, June 1990: Jiří Bělohlávek, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Hella Street & Julian “Pete” Street, and unidentified

18) Prague, June 1993: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and Christopher Callegari

19) Prague, September 2007: Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Christopher Callegari, Silvia Callegari, Igor Firkušný, and unidentified

20) Press Conference (Tokyo, Japan), September 30, 1987: Rudolf Firkušný and unidentified

21) Spanish Hall, Prague, December 1990: Rudolf Firkušný, Václav Neumann, and unidentified

22) United Nations, New York City, 1957: Marlon Brando, Rudolf Firkušný, Dag Hammarskjöld, and unidentified

23) Wedding, June 9, 1965: Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Nevolová Firkušný, Petr Hrobař (TF witness) & Eva Hrobařová, Václav (?) Kasik (RF witness) & Marie Firkušná Kasíková, Jiří Nevole and Dáša Nevolová, & unidentified

 

Box 16

Orchestras:

1) Atlanta, Georgia, May 1980: Rudolf Firkušný, Louis Lane (conductor) & Atlanta Symphony

2) Avery Fisher Hall, undated: Rudolf Firkušný, Rafael Kubelík (conductor) & orchestra

3) Baden-Baden Germany, March 15, 1964: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

4) Bologna, Italy, 1962: Claudio Abbado (conductor), Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

5) Brevard, North Carolina, 1980: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

6) Central Park, New York, 1966: Rudolf Firkušný, Alfred Wallenstein (conductor), & the New York Philharmonic Orchestra

7) Dayton, Ohio, January 14, 1986: Firkušný & Dayton Philharmonic

8) Dvořák Hall, Prague, September 22, 1992: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra, Václav Havel, Josef Suk, and unidentified

9) Japan, May 1983: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

10) Montreux, Switzerland, September 1989: Jiří Bělohlávek (conductor), Rudolf Firkušný & Prague Symphony Orchestra (FOK)

11) Mozart, Concerto for Three Pianos, October 23, 1975: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, Erich Leinsdorf, Carlos Moseley, and New York Philharmonic Orchestra

12) Naples, Italy, March 15, 1968: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

13) Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, ca. 1970s: Eugene Ormandy (conductor), Rudolf Firkušný & Philadelphia Orchestra

14) Royal Festival Hall, January 28, 1982: Antal Dorati (conductor), Rudolf Firkušný, and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

15) Smetana Hall, Prague, October 12, 1991: Rudolf Firkušný, Rafael Kubelík (conductor) & Czech Philharmonic Orchestra

16) Tel Aviv, Israel, April 1960: Lorin Maazel (conductor), Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

17) Washington D.C., August 1982: Firkušný & orchestra

18) Unidentified, undated: Rudolf Firkušný & orchestra

Solo concerts:

19) Bergamo, Italy, November 7, 1961

20) Catania, Sicily (Teatro Massimo Bellini), January 28, 1956

21) Hamamatsu, Japan, September 1987: Rudolf & Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

22) Kishinev, Romania, December 19, 1935

23) Milan, Italy (Teatro alla Scala), 1961

24) Unidentified, undated

25) Negatives, 1951-1991: Firkušný alone, Firkušný with family (New York & Italy – negatives only), Firkušný with others (Rudolf Serkin – negatives only), Festivals, General, & Orchestras

26) Slides, 1990: Firkušný alone & Prague Spring Festival 1990

27) Duplicates

 

Box 17

Series VIII: Scrapbooks (see also Oversize and Map Case)

Notebook I - “Literature,” 1925-1938 (in Czech, English, German)

Includes press clippings and writings, 202 pages:

p. 4-13 writing by Vilem Kurz: O Zázračných Dětech, 1925

p. 105: press clipping, with inscription from R. Firkušný to August Förster, 1932

 

Notebook II, 1925-1928 (note: concert activity in minute detail, in Czech)

Includes journal entries, correspondence, postcards, programs, newspaper clippings, 186 pages:

p. 31 postcard to Jindřich Šindelář (uncle) from unidentified, March 18, 1928

p. 40 two postcards from Rudolf Firkušný to Jindřich Šindelář, 1926

p. 42 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau to Jindřich Šindelář, 1926

p. 48-49 three letters from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1927

p. 54 two postcards to Ada Šindelářová (aunt) from unidentified, 1928

p. 64 correspondence from unidentified, 1927

p. 67 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1927

p. 71 postcard from unidentified

p. 82 correspondence from Weiss to [?], November 11, 1927

p. 85 two postcards to Ada Šindelářová (aunt) from unidentified, 1928

p. 87 two postcards to Ada and Jindřich Šindelář from unidentified, 1928

p. 89 correspondence to Jindřich Šindelář from Czech Journalists Syndicate, November 21, 1927

P.90 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, with 2 postcards from Rudolf Firkušný, 1927

p. 92-93 four letters from unidentified, 1927

p. 96 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Ada Šindelářová, 1927

p. 104 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Jindřich Šindelář, 1928

p. 121 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Ada Šindelářová, 1928

p. 124-125 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná to Jindřich Šindelář, 1928

p. 126-127 correspondence from August Förster to R. Firkušný, February 23, 1928

p. 128 postcard to Ada Šindelářová, 1926

p. 131 postcard to Ada Šindelářová, 1928

p. 133 correspondence from Viktor Jahu, March, 1928

p. 134 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

p. 140-141 correspondence from Zcela Oddany to profesore, March 10, 1928

p. 141 correspondence from unidentified to R. Firkušný, March 8, 1928

p. 143 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

p. 144 telegram from unidentified

p. 145 correspondence from Vilem Kurz, March 18, 1928

p. 145 correspondence to R. Firkušný from unidentified, March 20, 1928

p. 146 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

p. 149 correspondence to R. Firkušný from František Linda, March 14, 1928

p. 151-152 two letters from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

p. 152 correspondence from Vilem Kurz, March 18, 1928

p. 186 biography of Rudolf Firkušný (12 pages, pg. 4 has postcard from Mirko to R. Firkušný, 1928)

 

Notebook III, 1928-1929 (note: includes list of number of concerts played from 1920-1930; in Czech)

Includes: journal entries, correspondence, programs, concert ticket, postcards, newspaper clippings, 150 pages:

p. 13-14 two letters from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

p. 13-14 correspondence from Jindřich Šindelář, April 5, 1928

p. 27 correspondence from Jindřich Šindelář, June 8, 1928

p. 28 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928

P.29 two letters from Jindřich Šindelář, June 1928

p. 30 two postcards and letter to Jindřich Šindelář, 1928

p. 38-39 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Ada Šindelářová, 1928

p. 38-39 correspondence from Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1928 (3 from unidentified)

p. 75 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Ada Šindelářová, 1929

p. 114 correspondence from Jindřich Šindelář, May 15, 1929

 

Notebook IV, 1931-1932 (in Czech, English, German)

Includes newspaper clippings, journal entries, correspondence, programs, 185 pages:

p. 40-41 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1930

p. 42-43 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1930

p. 78-79 Signed clipping of Alfred Cortot, ca. 1930s

p. 86-87 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1931

p. 92-93 coorespondence from unidentified, 1931

btw. pp. 172 and 173: poster and review (German) of Arthur Rubinstein recital, 1932

p. 177-178 telegram from Rudolf Firkušný, 1932

 

Notebook V, 1932-1935 (in Czech)

Includes journal entries, postcards, newspaper clippings, 216 pages:

p. 44-45 postcard and letter from unidentified, 1933

p. 86-87 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Jindřich Šindelář, 1933

p. 104-105 postcard from unidentified, 1933

p. 142-143 correspondence to Rudolf Firkušný from unidentified, 1934

p. 144-145 correspondence to Rudolf Firkušný from A. Petrof Piano Co., 1934

p. 170-171 postcard to Jindřich Šindelář from unidentified, 1935

p. 172-173 correspondence to Rudolf Firkušný from unidentified, 1935

p. 174-175 correspondence from unidentified, 1935

p. 182-183 postcard to Rudolf Firkušný from unidentified, 1935

p. 192-193 postcard from Rudolf Firkušný to Ada Šindelářová, 1935

p. 206-207 Contract with Czech Philharmonic, September 10, 1935

 

Notebook VI, 1935-1937 (note: goes up to a paste-up of Jindřich Šindelář’s obituary; he died in 1937 after a prolonged illness. Last entry by RF’s Aunt, Ada Šindelářová, in 1946, writing from memory (in Czech) the events that took place in 1938, namely the Nazi occupation; in Czech, English)

Includes: journal entries, clippings, correspondence, programs, 80 pages

p. 44-45 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1936

p. 50-51 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1936

p. 52-53 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1936

p. 58-59 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1936

p. 70-71 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1937

p. 72-73 correspondence from Svojsík’s Concert and Theater Bureau, 1937

 

“Literatura,” 1938-1946 (in Czech, English)

Includes press clippings, 39 pages

 

“Různé vzpomínky Rudy Firkušného” (Various recollections about RF), 1933-1936 (in Czech, French, English, German)

Includes press clippings, concert promotion documents, correspondence, 13 pages

p. 3 correspondence from unidentified, 1933 (in Czech)

p. 4 correspondence from unidentified, 1933 (in French)

p. 5 recital guidelines from the Royal Dublin Society

p. 6 correspondence from unidentified, 1933 (in Czech)

p. 7 Correspondence from unidentified, 1933 (in German)

 

Wedding, June 9, 1965 (1 scrapbook page of newspaper clippings from wedding and pressed flowers from their wedding bouquet)

 

Oversize

Box 18

Series I: Biographical Material:

 Awards and Honors:

1) Certificate: Red Moroccan leather case with leather-bound certificate bestowing Honorary Citizenship of the City of Prague on RF, in recognition for his tremendous service of spreading awareness of Czech music throughout the world, Prague, May 1990

2) Certificate: Award for Distinguished achievement in Music – 3^rd Street Music School Settlement, November 7, 1984

Certificate: Bicentennial Award – Czechoslovak Society of Arts & Sciences in America, August 14, 1976

Certificate: Gold Medal of the Performing Arts Academy of Prague, May 1990

Certificate: Honorary Citizenship (Brno), August 29, 1991

Certificate: Honorary Citizenship (Uherské Hradiště), June 22, 1993

School Records – Diplomas:

3) Bard College – Honorary Doctorate, June 1993

JAMU (Janáček Academy of Music and Performing Arts) – Honorary Doctorate, October 1993

Master School – Prague Conservatory, November 5, 1931

Series VII: Iconography:

4) Painting: Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, undated

     Photograph: Karla Šindelářová Firkušná, 1945

Series VIII: Scrapbooks:

5) A.B.C. (Australian Broadcasting Commission) Tour, 1959 (newspaper clippings, 60 pages)

 

Box 19

Series I: Biographical Material: Awards and Honors

1) Key to the city of Cleveland, July 27, 1972 (see also Iconography: Photographs – Firkušný with others)

2) Medal, 1992: with profile of Rudolf Firkušný in front and a leaf with the number 80 (to commemorate his 80^th birthday?), back of medal has Leoš Janáček’s name and his house.

3) Plaque: BMG Record Academy Award – Instrumental: Janáček Piano Music Sonata I.X. 1905, 1991

4) Plaque: “Concerto Per Europa - Rudolf Firkušný, Roma, 9 Aprile 1990”

5) Plaque/certificate: National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences nomination for Firkušný & Gregor Piatigorsky for Best Classical Chamber Music Performance: Prokofiev: Sonata for Cello & Piano, Op. 119; Chopin: Sonata in G minor for Cello & Piano, Op. 65, 1966

6) Plaque/certificate: National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences nomination for Firkušný for Best Classical performance – Instrumental soloist or soloists (without Orchestra) for Janáček: Piano Works (complete), 1972

Series IV: Writings – Writings by Firkušný

7) Special edition – Monograph: “Rudolf Firkušný – sempre crescendo” by Rudolf Firkušný, 1992/1993 (cover shaped like piano keyboard)

 

Box 20

Series VII: Iconography

Drawing:

1) Pencil Drawing of R. Firkušný by unidentified, 1935

Photographs:

2) Firkušný alone, 1949-ca. 1993

3) Firkušný with family, 1990: Silvia Callegari (granddaughter), Igor Firkušný (son), Véronique Firkušný-Callegari (daughter), and Tatiana Firkušný (wife)

4) Firkušný with others: Gabriela Beňačková, ca. 1993, Yefim Bronfman, 1980, Stefanie Brown, 1980, Bella Davidovich, 1980, Richard Goode, 1980, Günther Herbig, 1986, group photo with unidentified signatures, 1947

5) Other: Jan Masaryk, 1944 (signed), unidentified, 1947 (signed)

Festivals:

6) Prague Spring Festival, 1990: Jiří Bělohlávek (conductor), Firkušný & orchestra

General:

7) Cassis, France, 1986: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, Véronique Firkušný-Callegari, Marguerite Fournier, Rudolf Kundera, and unidentified

8) Japan, November 1992: Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified

Orchestras:

9) Philadelphia, 1951: R. Firkušný & the Philadelphia Orchestra

 

Box 21

Series VIII: Scrapbooks

Programs, 1928-1929 (in Czech and Italian): Programs and newspaper clippings

 

Programs, 1934-1938 (in Czech, English, Bulgarian, Croatian, Dutch, Latvian, Estonian, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Slovenian, and Swedish)

Includes programs, publicity, writings, correspondence, and newspaper clippings, 145 pages (1-4 of 8 folders):

p. 11 has journal entries by Jindřich Šindelář about concerts

p. 27 correspondence from Vlad Bazika and Alice G. Masaryk, March 1, 1935

p. 43 correspondence from E. Puklova, June 14, 1935

p. 44, correspondence from Alois Hába, September 11, 1935

p. 46 correspondence from unidentified, September 30, 1935

p. 48 journal entry

p. 78 journal entry

 

Box 22

Series VIII: Scrapbooks

Programs, 1934-1938 (continued; Folders 4-8)

p. 84 correspondence from Antonín Dvořák Association, May 20, 1936

 

Box 23

Series VIII: Scrapbooks

Ruda Firkušný I, 1920-1949 (in Czech, French, English)

Includes programs, clippings, postcards, photos, letters, ticket stub, and contracts, 37 pages:

btw. pp. 8 and 9: postcard, ca. 1929

btw. pp. 14 and 15: note by R. Vonka, 1923

btw. pp. 16 and 17: 2 photos of Rudolf Firkušný, 1924

p. 17: 3 photos, Karla Šindelářová Firkušná (mother), Leoš Firkušný (brother), Marie Firkušná Kasíková (sister), 1924

p 21 Photo of Rudolf Firkušný

btw. pp. 26 and 27: photo of Rudolf Firkušný, 1928

p. 37: 2 photos, Rudolf Firkušný and unidentified, Vilém Kurz and Rudolf Firkušný

 

Ruda Firkušný III, 1912-1939 (in Czech)

Includes photographs, sketches, prints, postcards, and newspaper clippings, 129 pages:

p. 2:  2 photos of R. Firkušný as a baby with family, Napajedla, 1912

p. 3:  3 photos of R. Firkušný as a baby with family, Napajedla, 1913-1915

p. 4:  2 photos of R. Firkušný with family, Červená Řečice, 1911, Brno, 1916

p. 7:  1 photo of R. Firkušný on piano, Brno, 1921

p. 9:  4 photos of R. Firkušný, Brno, 1922-1924

p. 11: 3 photos of R. Firkušný (1 as Mozart), Prague, 1925 1 with family, Brno, 1924

p. 13: 4 photos of R. Firkušný (2 as Mozart), 1925-1926

p. 14: photo of R. Firkušný, Brno, 1927

p. 15: 4 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Brno, 1927

p. 17: photo of R. Firkušný, Brno, 1927

p. 19: class photo (Absolventi Státní Hudební a Dramatické Konservatoře), Brno, 1927

p. 21: 5 photos of R. Firkušný with family (bottom: Ada and Jindřich Šindelář), Zdíkov and Prague, 1928

p. 23: 2 photos of R. Firkušný (1 with dog), Paris and Brno, 1928-1929, 1 group photo in Tlumacov, 1929, 1 with R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1929

p. 25: class photo, “Absolventi Statni Konservatore Hudby V Praze,” 1929

p. 27: 4 photos (top: Vilem Kurz and Ruzena Kurz, bottom: R. Firkušný with unidentified at the gravesite of Leoš Janáček), Brno1928

p. 29: 3 photos of R. Firkušný (2 with piano), Prague, 1929

p. 31: 3 photos of R. Firkušný with piano, Prague 1929, 1 with dog, Brno, 1928

p. 33: 7 photos of R. Firkušný and family (center: with Leoš Firkušný) Brno 1930

p. 35: 7 photos of R. Firkušný and family, Zdikov, 1930

btw. pp. 36 and 37 photo of R. Firkušný, 1930

p. 37:  5 photos of R. Firkušný and family (siblings, mother, and grandmother) Poznan and Brno, 1930

btw. pp. 38 and 39: 2 photos of R. Firkušný, 1930

p. 39: 5 photos of R Firkušný and unidentified and 1pencil sketch of R Firkušný, Paris, 1931

p. 41: 8 photos of R Firkušný and unidentified, Brno, 1930 and Paris, 1931

p. 43: 5 photos of photos of R. Firkušný with family (bottom left: Ada and Jindřich Šindelář), 1931

btw. pp. 44 and 45:  2 photos of unidentified, R. Firkušný, and Jindřich Šindelář, 1931

p. 45: 9 photos (R. Firkušný with top: Ada and Jindřich Šindelář, center: Karel Weiss) Zdíkov, 1931

btw. pp. 46 and 47: 3 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Beskydy, 1931

btw. pp. 48 and 49: photo of R. Firkušný, 1931

p. 49: print by Mario Stretti, 1931

p. 50: photo of R. Firkušný with piano, 1932

p. 51: 4 photos of Rudolf Firkušný, 1932

btw. pp. 54 and 55: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Paris, 1932

p. 55: 4 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Paris,

btw. pp. 56 and 57: 3 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, ca. 1932

p. 57: 7 photos of R. Firkušný, top: Vilem Kurz, and unidentified, Brno and Zdikov, 1932

p. 58: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Zdikov, 1932

p. 59: 8 photos of R. Firkušný, bottom: Ada and Jindřich Šindelář, and unidentified, Zdikov, 1932

p. 61: 2 photos of R. Firkušný in Berlin and České Budějovice, and 2 with Karel Otáhal, Rome, 1932

p. 63: 11 photos (2 with Karel Otáhal sculpting a bust of Firkušný), Rome, 1933 

p. 64: color pencil sketch of Rudolf Firkušný by Karel Otáhal, 1933

p. 65: color pencil sketch of Rudolf Firkušný by Karel Otáhal, 1933

p. 66: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1933

p. 67: 7 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Nová Paka and Prague, 1933

p. 69: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified at A. Petrof Piano Company, 1933

p. 71: 1 photo of a castle, 1933

p. 78: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1934

p. 79: 7 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Prague and České Budějovice, 1934

p. 81: 8 photos of R. Firkušný and family, Zdikov, 1934

p. 83: 9 photos of R. Firkušný and family (top: Ada and Jindřich Šindelář), Zdikov, 1934

p. 85: photo of R. Firkušný, České Budějovice, 1934

p. 87: 1 group photo with R. Firkušný at a Supper Club, Prague, 1934

p. 89: 1 group photo with R. Firkušný at a banquet, 1934

p. 93: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, ca. 1934

p. 94: print of drawing of R. Firkušný by Svatopluk Souček, 1934

p. 95: print of drawing of R. Firkušný by [Ludmila Jiřincová-Schlöglová?] 1934

p. 97: 1 photo of R. Firkušný, 1934

p. 98: postcard of a castle

p. 99: 5 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Křečovice, 1935

p. 101: 6 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Zdikov, 1935

p. 102: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1935

p. 103: 2 photos of R. Firkušný performing in Kishinev (now Chișinău), 1935, 3 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Velké Lazý, 1936

p. 104: 3 photos of a house, 1936

p. 105: 9 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1936

btw. pp. 106 and 107: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1936

p. 107: 5 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified in Romania, 1936, 3 phots of R. Firkušný with mother and brother in Brno, 1936

p. 108: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Litovel, 1936

btw. pp. 108 and 109: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified in Litovel, 1936, 3 photos of R. Firkušný (2 with piano), 1936

p. 109: 5 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Litovel, 1936

p. 110: 1 photo of R. Firkušný, Kostrina, 1936

btw. pp. 110 and 111: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Kostrina, 1936

p. 111: 6 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, Kostrina, 1936

p. 113: 1 photo of group with R. Firkušný, 4 alone with piano, Ljubljana, 1937

p. 115: 1 copy of signed photo of Franz Liszt and 2 unidentified and 1 of Liszt alone, undated

p. 117: 1 photo of R. Firkušný, Gertrude Pitzinger, and unidentified on a ship to America, 1938

btw. pp. 118 and 119: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified (unidentified signatures on back) on a ship to America, 1938

p. 119: 1 photo of R. Firkušný and unidentified on a ship to America, 1938

p. 120: 2 photos of R. Firkušný and unidentified, 1938

btw. pp. 120 and 121: 2 photos of R. Firkušný, 1938

p. 121: 3 photos of R. Firkušný with dog, Přerov 1938

p. 122: 2 photos R. Firkušný and unidentified, ca. 1938

p. 123: 2 group photos with R. Firkušný (Rafael Kubelík with fan, Rudolf Kundera standing on chair), Brno, 1939

p. 124: clipping with photo of R. Firkušný, 1933

p. 125: clippings of drawing of R. Firkušný by Rudolf Kundera and photo of R. Firkušný and program, ca. 1939

p. 126: photo of (top) Rudolf Firkušný, Sr. (bottom) Mom and Brother, undated

p. 127:  2 photos of brother and sister, undated

p. 129: 1 photo of R. Firkušný playing piano`, 1938

 

Box 24

Series VIII: Scrapbooks

Ruda Firkušný II, 1926-1934 (in Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latvian, Russian; see also Map Drawer 6)

Includes programs, clippings, concert tickets, posters, manuscript music, and newspaper clippings, 209 pages:

p. 7 manuscript music

p. 9 manuscript music

p. 15 manuscript music

p. 16 manuscript music

p. 22 manuscript music in program

p. 23 manuscript music

p. 24 manuscript music

p. 27 correspondence from Stání Hudební A Dramaticka Konservatoře, March 20, 1928

p. 28-29 manuscript music

p. 30 manuscript music

p. 32 manuscript music

p. 39 manuscript music

p. 40 manuscript music

p. 54 manuscript music

p. 62 manuscript music

p. 73 manuscript music

btw pp. 104 and 105: signed program from unidentified

p. 131correspondence from Karel Luchan, September 17, 1932

 

Box 25

Series VII: Iconography

Festivals:

1) Osaka International Festival, October 1978 (includes empty album): Rudolf Firkušný, Tatiana Firkušný, and unidentified; includes correspondence from Hiroshi Nishio (Osaka international Festival) and ticket stubs

General:

2) Honorary Doctorate ceremony – Charles University, June 1, 1990 (empty album; see Box 13 for photos)

 

Map Case

Drawer 6, Folder 1)

Series III: Articles and Newspaper Clippings: Newspaper Clippings (originals)

 

Drawer 6, Folder 2)

Series I: Biographical Material:

Awards and Honors:

Order of Tomás Garrigue Masaryk Award, October 28, 1991 (certificate signed by Václav Havel)

School Records – Diplomas:

Honorary Doctorate – Charles University, June 1, 1990

Honorary Doctorate – Masaryk University, September 20, 1991

 

Series VI: Performance and Professional Engagement Material

Record Books – Performance and Professional Engagements, 1920-1937: 2 maps of performance locations (Czech Republic & Italy)

 

Series VII: Iconography

Painting:

Unframed but matted portrait of Leoš Janáček (watercolor?), signed Slavíček 1934 in upper right hand corner, with 3 studies of female nudes on back. This portrait was given to RF by Janáček’s widow, and her note, included with the portrait, says: “To dear Master Rudolf Firkušný I dedicate this likeness of his first teacher. [signed] Zdenka Janáčková”

Posters:

Japan – Concert Poster, ca. 1970s-1980s

Nike commercial with David Robinson, 1990 (5)

Teheran Symphony Orchestra with Eugenio Bagnoli (conductor), March ca. 1978

 

Series VIII Scrapbooks:

Ruda Firkušný II, 1926-1934: Concert Posters – Sala Accademica di S. Cecilia (Italy), February 28, 1929

Ruda Firkušný II, 1926-1934: Concert Posters – Sala Accademica di S. Cecilia (Italy), March 20 & 22, 1931

 

Map Case Extension

Box 1

Series VII: Iconography

Poster:

Carnegie Hall, November 30, 1987

Series IX: Music

31 D959cp op.33 StatNak parts FirkusnyBxC04	Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904.       Klavírní koncert, op. 33 = Klavierkonzert = Piano concerto = Concerto pour piano / Antonín Dvořák.        Praha : Státní nakl. krásne literatury, hudby a umĕni, c1956.       50 parts ; 34 cm.       Orchestra parts only. Caption title from flute 1 part. Markings in black pencil; occasional markings in red pencil.
ML225 F5157 A4n FirkusnyBxC03f01	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       [Notebooks].        1920-[1923?]       19 v. of ms. music ; 17 x 25 cm.       Holograph in pencil and black ink. Primarily consists of music theory exercises completed by Firkušný when he was a private student of Janáček; includes occasional compositional sketches for piano. Title supplied by cataloger. Most v. have cover titles in pencil or ms. black ink. Occasional markings in red pencil. Dimensions of v. 1: 26 cm. Vol. 14 contains insert of holograph music in pencil ([2] p. ; 32 cm. folded to 16 x 26 cm.). v. 1. Teorie [Oct.-Dec. 1920] -- v. 2. [Jan-Apr. 1921] -- v. 3. Teorie skladby [Apr.-Jun. 1921] -- v. 4. [Oct. 1921-Jan. 1922] -- v. 5. Teorie [1923] -- v. 6. Intonace -- v. 7 Harmonie (úlohy) -- v. 8. Harmonie (úlohy) -- v. 9. Harmonie (úlohy) -- v. 10. Harmonie (úlohy) -- v. 11. Harmonie (školú sešit) -- v. 12. Harmonie (školú sešit) -- v. 13 Harmonie (školú sešit) -- v. 14. Harmonie -- v. 15. Harmonie (školú sešit) -- v. 16. Kontraupnkt -- v. 17 -- Kontrapunkt -- v. 18 -- v. 19.
2 F5157ba FirkusnyBxC01f01	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Bagately.        1933.       [18] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. "Tremezzo, cervenec-srpen [i.e. July-August] 1933." "Drahé tetince k svítku." Contents: In tempo di barcarolle -- In tempo di menuetto --Molto vivo (quasi carillon)-- Adagio molto -- Allegretto grazioso -- Epilogo.
45 F5157brp FirkusnyBxC01f02	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Broučci : opera / napsal Ruda Firkušný ; slova Leoš Firkušný.        [19--]       1 ms. vocal score ([9] p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Czech words. Comprises Prolog and beginning of 1st act. Occasional markings in green and blue pencil and ms. black ink.
2 F5157ca FirkusnyBxC01f03	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Cadenza / R. Firkušný.        [19--]       [3] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       Caption title. 500 "25/II. 1922." Holograph (photocopy). Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
31 F5157cp ms. FirkusnyBxC01f04	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Concert / R. Firkušný.        1929.       1 ms. score (71 p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. At end: Praha 8/VI 1929. Markings in red and blue crayon. Musical sketches in pencil following p. 71.
31 F5157cp FirkusnyBxB01f01	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Koncert pro klavír a orchestr / Ruda Firkušný.        1929.       1 ms. score (77 p.) + 38 ms. parts ; 35 cm.       Holograph in black ink. At end: Praha 13/V 1929. "1. provedení 27. červne 1929 v Praze na Slov. ostrově (Čes. filharmonie, dir. Stupka, klavír: autor)"--P. [2]. Inscription on t.p. in pencil: 10 minut. Markings in pencil and red and blue crayon, and paste-overs in ms. black ink. Parts housed in portfolio.
5 F5157com FirkusnyBxC01f05	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Klavírní koncert.        [1929?]       1 ms. score (14 p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Excerpt from 1st movement; acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Composed in 1929. Occasional markings in black, blue and red pencil and ms. blue ink; includes paste-over in ms. black ink. Housed in cover of music ms. paper; music sketches and Czech text inscribed on cover in pencil and ms. black ink.
39 F5157dv FirkusnyBxC02f20	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Dvacet let        [19--]       1 ms. part ([2] p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Part from song for medium voice; acc. not specified. Czech words. Caption title.
5 F5157fa FirkusnyBxC01f10	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Fantaisie pour piano avec l'accompagnement de l'orchestre / R.Firkušný.        1931.       1 ms. score (21, [12] p.) ; 35 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Acc. arr. for piano. "2/7 31 Paris." "Věnováno drahé tetince k svátku od Rudy." Pages following p. 21 are un-numbered or numbered in irregular order. Occasional markings in red and blue pencil.
2 F5157fo FirkusnyBxC01f11	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Fox-trott : strýčkovi k narozeninám / Rud[?]        [1931?]       [3] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. For piano. Caption title. Signature of composer on caption not fully legible. Composed Nov. 1, 1931.
2 F5157ga FirkusnyBxC01f12	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Gavotte.        [19--]       [3] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title. Incomplete. Occastional markings in red pencil.
2 F5157hu no.1 FirkusnyBxC01f15	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska / R. Firk[ušný].        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       Caption title. Composed in 1919. Holograph (photocopy). Composer's name incompletely reproduced on caption.
2 F5157hu no.1 FirkusnyBxC01f13	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska /napsal Rudi Firkušný.        1919.       [2] p. of ms. music ; 31 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Caption title. "v Brně 19 17/XII. 19." Occasional markings in pencil and ms. blue ink.
2 F5157hu no.1 1919 FirkusnyBxC01f14	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       Caption title. Holograph (photocopy). At end: Rud. Firkušný v. Brně 19 17/XI. 1919. "Věnováno veleváž Panu rěditelí Janáčkovi"--Leaf [2]. Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 F5157hu no.2 FirkusnyBxC01f17	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska 2 / Firkušný R.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 32 cm.       Caption title. Holograph (photocopy). "Komp. v sletech. 1920."
2 F5157hu no.2 1920 FirkusnyBxC01f16	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska II / Rud. Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       Caption title. Holograph (photocopy). "Komp.27.8.1920." Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 F5157ji no.3 FirkusnyBxC01f19	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska 3 / R. Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       Caption title. Holograph (photocoy). Composed Jan. 20, 1922. Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 F5157ji no.3 ms. FirkusnyBxC01f18	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Humoreska 3 / Ruda Firkušný.        1922.       [2] p. of ms. music ; 32 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Caption title. "20./I.22."
39 F5157la FirkusnyBxC01f20	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Láska tajená : (Moravská) / Ruda Firkušný.        1922.       1 ms. score ([3] p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For low voice and piano. Caption title. At end: At end: Brno, dne 2. prosince [i.e. December] 1922. Inscription in ms. black ink on caption; occasional markings in pencil.
2 F5157mo FirkusnyBxC01f26	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Modlitba.        [19--]       [1] leaf of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. At end: Brno 7.II.19[20]. Holograph (photocopy). Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 F5157mo ms. FirkusnyBxC01f21	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Modlitbitbíčka        [19--]       [1] leaf of ms. music ; 30 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. At end: Brno v února [i.e. February] 1920. "Připisuje Matince Firkušný."
2 F5157mo 1920 FirkusnyBxC01f25	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Modlitbitbíčka        [19--]       [1] leaf of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. At end: Brno 7/II.1920. Holograph (photocopy).
2 F5157na FirkusnyBxC01f27	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Na prázdniny!        1924.       [2] leaves of music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink with extensive revision in red crayon. For piano. Caption title in red crayon. "10/24."
2 F5157pi A min. ms. FirkusnyBxC01f24	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Píseň beze slov.        [19--]       [2] p. of ms. music ; 30 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. Markings in pink and black pencil.
2 F5157pi F maj. ms.2 FirkusnyBxC01f28	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Píseň beze slov : (Tatíčku starý náš) / R. Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. At end:16 září [i.e. September] 1921. Inscriptions in in ms. black ink by composer on caption and at end.
2 F5157pi F maj. ms. FirkusnyBxC01f23	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Píseň beze slov : (Tatíčku starý náš) / R. Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] p. of ms. music ; 30 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. Composed in 1921. Lacks final 3 measures. Occasional markings in pencil.
2 F5157pi F maj. FirkusnyBxC01f22	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Píseň beze slov : (Tatíčku starý náš) / Ruda Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. At end: 13.VIII.21. Holograph (photocopy). Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
38 F5157pi op.12 h FirkusnyBxC01f06	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Písnĕ, op. 12 / Ruda Firkušný.        [1928?]       1 ms. score (15, 16 p.) ; 30 cm.       Partitura. Holograph in pencil. For high voice and piano. Czech words. At end of 1st song: Dne 2 listop. 1926; at end of 2nd and 3rd songs: 1926; at end of 4th song: dokončeno 18 června 1928. "Věnováno p. D. Hromádkovi." Occasional markings in red crayon. Contents: Sám a sám ; Čtrnáctiletý / words by Fráňa Šrámek-- Smutek / words by Kao-ši -- Raport / words by Fráňa Šrámek.
41 F5157pi op.12r FirkusnyBxC01f09	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Raport : balada pro zpěv s průvodem orchestru / na slova F. Šrámka ; Ruda Firkušný.        1928.       1 ms. score (47 p.) ; 34 cm.       Partitura. Holograph in pencil. Excerpt from a song cycle originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Czech words by Fráňa Šrámek. "Vénována Johnovi Pardonovýmu." "v Brně dne 27/8. 1928"--T.p. verso.
39 F5157pi op.12sa h FirkusnyBxC01f08	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Cyklus písní, op. 10 [sic]. Sám a sám.        1928.       1 ms. score ([4] p.) ; 33 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Excerpt from a song cycle for high voice and piano. Czech words by Fráňa Šrámek. Dated and initialed by composer at end; date not legible. Markings in pink and black pencil.
41 F5157pi op.12sa FirkusnyBxC01f07	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Sám a sám        1926.       1 ms. score (15 p.) ; 33 cm.       Partitura. Holograph in pencil. Excerpt from a song cycle originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Czech words by Fráňa Šrámek. At end: Dne 24/XII 1926.
41 F5157pi op.12sm FirkusnyBxB01f02	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Smutek / R. Firkušný ; Kao-ši.        [19--]       1 ms. score ([10] p.) ; 40 cm.       Partitura. Holograph in pencil. Originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Czech words. Occasional markings in red crayon.
2 F5157po FirkusnyBxC01f30	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Pozdrav slunÍčku / Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy). Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 F5157po ms. FirkusnyBxC01f29	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Pozdrav slunÍčku.        1920.       [1] leaf of ms. music ; 31 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. Composed October, 1920. Incomplete.
39 F5157pr FirkusnyBxC01f31	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Přání : k 26./VII 1934 / Rud. Firkušný ; [slova J. Šindelář].        1934.       1 ms. score ([8] p.) + 1 ms. part ([2] p.) ; 33 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For high voice and piano. Czech words. "Drahé tetince na slova strýčkova napsal a věnoval."
27 F5157ps FirkusnyBxC01f32	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       [Quartet, strings].        [19--]       1 ms. score ([14] p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. For 2 violins, viola and violoncello. Title supplied by cataloger. Incomplete. Occasional markings in red pencil.
2 F5157ro FirkusnyBxC01f33	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Rondino.        1936.       [3] p. of ms. music ; 33 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title. At end: 6/III 1936. Occasional marking in red pencil. Additional music notation on verso of p. [3] in pencil and ms. blue and red ink.
ML225 F5157 A4 AA FirkusnyBxC02f19	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       [Selections].        [1920?-1994?]       1 folder of ms. music ; 35 cm.       Holograph. Primarily untitled compositions for piano solo and medium voice with piano; also includes an arrangement of The star spangled banner for piano, sketches of untitled works for solo piano and chorus with piano, and technical exercises for piano. Czech words in vocal works. Title supplied by cataloger. Principally in pencil with occasional notation in ms. ink, inscribed in a spiral bound ms. book and on individual p. and leaves of ms. paper of differing sizes. Songs and choral sketches in score format. Includes a movement for piano dated Aug. 11, 1955 marked Risoluto, a fugue for piano, a song with words by Jiří Mucha for medium voice and piano beginning with the words Na každé louce, and a song for medium voice and piano beginning with the words Na avignonském mostě. Contains a promotional flyer for a Prague concert series given by R. Firkušny in Oct. 1938; p. [3] of the flyer contains a 5-measure holograph score in ink for medium voice and piano with Czech words, and the French inscription Peut-être un jour! and the Czech inscription v Praze 20/III 1938 at the bottom. Includes an autograph note in pencil inscribed with the incipit to the overture from the opera Demofoonte by Josef Mysliveček, and text by W.A. Mozart from a letter dated Dec. 22 1770, translated into English: "Ask whether they have got this symphony of Mysliveček in Salzburg. If not we shall bring it with us." Also includes an autograph note in ink inscribed with metronome markings for the Piano sonatas op. 7, op. 90, and op. 10 no. 3 by L. van Beethoven.
2 F5157son FirkusnyBxC01f34	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Sonatine.        1935.       [8] p. of ms. music ; 25 x 33 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title. In 3 movements; 3rd movement incomplete. At end of 1st movement: 2/[8?] 35; at end of 2nd movement: 4/[9?] 35. Includes musical sketches on p. [1] inscribed and crossed out in pencil.
38 F5157 AA FirkusnyBxB01f03	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Pravá veselost ; Přání I ; Přání II ; Přání III ; Pohádka ; O adičce / Ruda Firkušný.        [1932?]       1 ms. score (25 p.) ; 32 cm.       500 Holograph in black ink. 500 Songs for medium voice or high voice with piano; includes an excerpt from a work originally for tenor and orchestra with acc. arr. for piano (acc. only). Czech words. Titles from captions. Composed between 1920 and 1932. Dedicated to Ada and Jindřich Šindelář, the composer's aunt and uncle. Occasional markings in pencil. Contents: Pravá veselost / na slova Fr. Lad. Čelakovského -- Přání I / na slova M. Žlábkové -- Přání II ; Přání III / na slova J. Šindeláře -- Pohádka / na slova Jos. Tomana -- O adičce : malá hudebni básnička pro orchestr a tenorový hlas [incomplete] / na slova J. Šindeláře.
2 F5157sou 1921 FirkusnyBxC01f36	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Souzvukový valčík / Ruda Firkušný.        1921.       [2] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. "Comp. 23./IV.1921." "Svému milovanému p. prof. Parmovi věnuje vděčný žák v Brně 19 22/V 21."
2 F5157sou FirkusnyBxC01f35	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Souzvukový valčík / Ruda Firkušný.        1921.       [2] p. of ms. music ; 30 cm.       Holograph in black ink. For piano. Caption title. "Komp. 23.IV.1921." At end: 23/6 1921. "Milovanému p. profesoru Parmovi připisuje v Brně dne 22.V.1921 vdecnný [i.e. vděčný] žák R. Firkušný."
2 F5157su FirkusnyBxC01f38	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Klavirni suita / Rudolf Firkušný.        1930.       14 p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. At end: 24/7 30. "červenec-srpen 1930." "Věnována tetince." Contents: Passacaglia -- Berceuse -- Burlesca.
39 F5157su FirkusnyBxC02f01	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Sur le pont d'Avignon / Firkušný.        [19--]       1 ms. score (4 p.) ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil and black ink. For high voice and piano. French words. Caption title. Occasional markings in blue crayon.
2 F5157ka FirkusnyBxC01f37	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Klavírní variace / Ruda Firkušný.        1928.       9 p. of ms. music ; 33 cm.       Holograph in black ink.
2 F5157ve FirkusnyBxC02f02	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Véronique berceuse.        [19--]       [2] p. of ms. music ; 33 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Additional music notation in pencil on caption above title. Originally housed in paper bag with inscription in ms. blue ink: Véronique -- lullaby, La lumière s'éteint.
2 F5157wa FirkusnyBxC02f03	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       3 valčíky pro piano / R. Firkušný.        1963.       16 p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title. At end: 10/6 32. "Věnováno strýčkovi." Contents: La valse petite -- Valse mélancolique -- Valse joyeuse.
2 F5157wam FirkusnyBxC02f09	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Valse mélancolique / R. Firkušný.        [1932?]       4 p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title.
2 F5157wap FirkusnyBxC02f04	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Petite valse.        [1963?]       [4] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Caption title. Incomplete. Music on p. [4] (marked as p. 6) not from Petite valse.
2 F5157za 1918 FirkusnyBxC02f06	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Zastaveničko / Firkušný.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. "Komp. 15.XI.1918." Holograph (photocopy)
2 F5157za 1920 FirkusnyBxC02f05	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Zastaveničko / R. Firkušný.        [19--]       [3] leaves of music ; 32 cm.       For piano. Caption title. "15/XI 1920." Holograph (photocopy). "Věnováno naé milé paní profesorce L. Tučkové"--Leaf [3].
2 F5157za FirkusnyBxC02f07	Firkušný, Rudolf, 1912-1994.       Zastaveničko.        [19--]       [2] leaves of music ; 30 cm.       For piano. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy). Stamp impression on holograph: Ústav dějin hudby Mor. muzea Brno.
2 M877cp K.491 G463 FirkusnyBxC02f08	Glass, Philip.       Cadenza for Mozart 491 : for Rudolf Firkušný / Philip Glass.        c1988.       [2] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Cadenza for the Conceo for piano and orchestra, K. 491, in C minor. At end: Feb '88. "Coright © 1988 Dunvagen Music."
25.7 J251c FirkusnyBxC02f12	Janáček, Leoš, 1854-1928.       Capriccio pro klavir (levou rukou) a dechovy soubor (1926) / partitura a hlasy rev. Jarmil Burghauser.        Praha : Statni nakl. krasne literatury, hudby a umeni, c1953.       1 score (67 p.) + 7 parts ; 34 cm.       For flute (doubling piccolo), 2 trumpets in F, 3 trombones, tenor tuba and piano (left hand). Pref. in Czech, Russian, English, French, and German. Duration: ca. 17:00. Signature of Rudolf Firkusný in black ink on t.p.; markings in black and red pencil; parts include additional photocopied flute part.
2 M877cp K.491 K9505 FirkusnyBxC02f11	Kubelík, Rafael, 1914-1996.       Cadenza, Mozart, do minore / R. K.        1956.       [4] p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in blue ink. Cadenza for the Concerto for piano and orchestra, K. 491 in C minor by W.A. Mozart.. Caption title. "R.K. 1956."
2 K9505ka FirkusnyBxC02f10	Kubelík, Rafael, 1914-1996.       Kaštanské menuetto : Verunce a Igorovi / Rafael K.        1975.       [1] leaf of ms. music ; 36 cm.       Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For piano. "Napsáno pro Verunka a Igora v Kaštanu 31.srpna. [i.e. August] 1975 Rafael"--P. [1].
5 P864co2 FirkusnyBxC02f13	Poulenc, Francis, 1899-1963.       Concerto en ré mineur pour deux pianos et orchestre / Francis Poulenc ; réduction pour 2 pianos par l'auteur.        Paris : Éditions Salabert, c1933.       1 score (53 p.) ; 32 cm       Publisher's no.: 11876. Inscription on caption in ms. black ink by F. Poulenc to Rudolf Firkušný dated 1960.
2 P864im v.2 FirkusnyBxC02f14-15	Poulenc, Francis, 1899-1963.       Improvisations pour le piano / Francis Poulenc.        a Paris : Chez Rouart Lerolle et Cie. ; vente exclusive, Editions Salabert, c1934.       2 v. of music ; 34 cm.       Pl. no.: 11893, 11918, 11919, 11924, 12124, 12125. Inscription on caption of each volume in ms. black ink by F. Poulenc to Rudolf Firkušný dated 1951.
2 P864n FirkusnyBxC02f16	Poulenc, Francis, 1899-1963.       Nocturnes pour piano / Francis Poulenc.        Paris : Heugel, c1932.       24 p. of music ; 35 cm.       Pl. no.: 30477, 30852, 30870, 30877, 30880, 30885, 30962, 31052.
2 Sm39ce pt.1 Urban FirkusnyBxC05f01	Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884.       České tance : pro piano na 2 ruce. Díl I, Polky = Danses tchèques : pour piano à 2 ms. Cahier I, Polkas = Böhmische Tänze : für Klavier 2 händig. I. Teil, Polkas / složil Bedřich Smetana.        Praha : Mojmír Urbánek, c1923.       21 p. of music, [2] p. ; 31 cm.       Nouv. éd. = Nové vyd. = Neue Ausg. / uspořádal V. Štěpán. Includes annotations in Czech, French and German. Publisher's no.: Edition M.U. Č.1387. Pl. no.: Edition M.U. 1387. Gift of Sara Davis Buechner. Acquired by Rudolf Firkušný when the pianist was 12 years old, and used by him in recording sessions during the 1950s. Acquired by Sara Davis Buechner as a gift from Tatiana Firkušný after Rudolf's death. Copious markings in black and red pencil, with autograph signature of Rudolf Firkusny in black ink on t.p. (part of signature lost due to deterioration of paper).
2 Sm39ce pt.2 Urban FirkusnyBxC05f02	Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884.       České tance : pro piano na dvě ruce. Díl II / složil Bedřich Smetana.        Praha : Mojmír Urbánek, c1919.       58 p. of music : facsim. ; 31 cm.       Nové vyd. / V. Štepána. Pref. in Czech. Includes holograph facsim. on p. 2. ontents: Furiant -- SlepiČka -- Oves -- Medvěd -- CibuliČka -- Dupák -- Hulán -- ObkroČák -- Sousedská -- Skočná. Publisher's no.: Edition M.U. Č.1100. Pl. no.: Edition M.U. 1100. Gift of Sara Davis Buechner. Acquired by Rudolf Firkušný when the pianist was 12 years old, and used by him in recording sessions of the complete České tance during the 1950s. Acquired by Sara Davis Buechner as a gift from Tatiana Firkušný after Rudolf's death. Copious markings in black and red pencil, with autograph signature of Rudolf Firkusny in black ink on t.p. (part of signature lost due to deterioration of paper).
2 T1965ta FirkusnyBxC02f18	Tausky, Vilem.       Polka from The bartered bride / Smetana-Firkušný.        [19--]       10 leaves of music ; 34 cm.       Potpourri for piano adapted by Vilem Tausky and Rudolf Firkušný from orchestral excerpts from the opera Prodaná nevěsta by Bedřich Smetana; includes portions of the finale from act 1 and the Skočná from act 3. Caption title. Edited by Sara Davis Buechner. Uncertain whether V. Tausky transcribed work as R. Firkušný performed it, or if it is a collaborative adaptation. Computer printout (photocopy). Markings on caption in ms. blue ink; bottom staves on leaves 4 and 7 not completely reproduced in photocopy. Cage box folder includes email printout (photocopy) from Sara Davis Buechner to Véronique Firkušný discussing editorial process, dated July 21, 2007; autograph (photocopy) note at the bottom of the email by Véronique Firkušný dated Aug. 28, 2011.
2 FT1965ta ms. FirkusnyBxC02f17	Tausky, Vilem.       Tanečni hudba z opery Prodaná nevěsta / V. Tauský ; Firkušný.        [19--]       16 p. of ms. music ; 34 cm.       Holograph in pencil. Potpourri for piano adapted by Vilem Tausky and Rudolf Firkušný from orchestral excerpts from the opera Prodaná nevěsta by Bedřich Smetana; includes portions of the finale (polka) from act 1 and the Skočná from act 3. Caption title. Signature of V. Tausky on caption and at end. Uncertain whether V. Tausky transcribed work as R. Firkušný performed it, or if it is a collaborative adaptation. Includes [1] leaf of ms. musical sketches in pencil, and 1 holograph (photocopy) of Tanečni hudba z opery Prodaná nevěsta.