Origination:	Graff, Yveta Synek.
Title:	Yveta Synek Graff Collection, approximately 1977-2009.
Extent:	43 flat boxes (12.17 cubic feet), 19 document boxes (6.65 cubic feet), 10 oversize folders, 46 analog sound discs, 2 digital sound discs, 3 sound cassettes.
Repository:	Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School.
Language note:	Opera words in Czech with translation into English and French; librettos in Czech with translations into English, French and Italian; other textual materials in Czech, English and French.

Organization

Organized in the following series:

I.	Master scores.
II.	Miscellaneous Czech opera scores.
IIIa.	Source literature and historical background books.
IIIb.	Janáček and other Czech scores.
IV.	Articles and photos of Czech opera productions.
V.	Source literature of operas, historical background and context of operas.
VI.	Janáček correspondence, rare photographs and books.
VII.	Czech language recordings to accompany phonetic transcriptions.
VIII.	Czech opera scores and scores of interest.
IX.	Janáček and other Czech scores, songs and various musical materials.
X.	Yveta Synek Graff: my background.
XI.	Miscellaneous material.
XII.	Posters and other oversized material.

Scope and content

The collection comprises scores, librettos, sound recordings and papers related to the life and career of Yveta Synek Graff, with an emphasis on material created in preparation for Czech language productions of operas by Antonin Dvǒrák, Leoš Janáček, and Bedřich Smetana. It includes published vocal scores in which Graff inscribed either a translation of Czech words into English, or a phonetic transcription of Czech words. Depending upon their intended purpose, those scores are variously labeled as master score, translation score, transliteration (i.e. phonetic transcription) score, surtitles cueing score, personal working score, and coaching score. Several opera scores contain inserts comprising cast and production crew rosters, rehearsal schedules, and guides to Czech pronunciation. The collection also includes surtitle and supertitle scripts, correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, posters, literature on Czech music history, books by author and playwright Emil Synek (Graff's father), and a small number of scores and librettos of operas by Philip Glass.

Scores and books without markings were moved to the library's circulating and reference collections. Sound discs are housed in the Media Library.

Administrative Information

Provenance

Gift; Yvetta Synek Graff; 2010.

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

Born in Prague, Yveta Synek Graff has served as translator, Czech language coach, and artistic consultant for opera companies in the United States and Europe. The Czech Republic's Ministry of Culture awarded Graff the Janáček and Smetana medals for her advocacy of Czech opera.

Index terms

Subjects

Operas — Vocal scores with piano.

Operas — Librettos.

Operas — Performances — 20th century.

Opera — United States.

Opera — Czech Republic.

Opera — Czechoslovakia.

Opera — Europe.

Czech language — Phonetic transcriptions.

Personal names

Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904

Janáček, Leoš, 1854-1928

Smetana, Bedřich, 1824-1884

Glass, Philip

Synek, Emil.

Box List

Series I: Master scores

Dvořák, Antonín. Rusalka. [English photocopy surtitles with markings.] Ser.1 Graff BxD01f01

Janáček, Leoš. Jenufa. [s.l.]: Universal Edition, [19--?] [photocopy, cueing score] Ser.1 Graff BxC02f01

Janáček, Leoš. Káta Kabanová. Praha: Hudební Matice, ©1922. [photocopy score with inscriptions, notes and accompanying materials. Czech phonetic transcription and English translation] Ser.1 Graff BxC10f03

Janáček, Leoš. Příhody Lišky Bystroušky / The cunning Little Vixen. [s.l.]: Universal Edition, ©1924. [photocopy score with notes and markings, French translation and Czech phonetic transcription] Ser.1 Graff BxC04f04

Janáček, Leoš. Věc Makropulos. [English, photocopy surtitles with markings] Ser.1 Graff BxD02f05

Janáček, Leoš. Výlety Páně Broučkovy. [s.l.]: Universal Edition, [19--?]. [photocopy, signed English surtitles with markings] Ser.1 Graff BxD02f04

Janáček, Leoš. Zápisník Zmizelého. [English, photocopy surtitles] Ser.1 Graff BxD02f03

Smetana, Bedřich. Dalibor. [two signed English surtitles with markings, one original and one photocopy] Ser.1 Graff BxC08f02

Smetana, Bedřich. Hubička. [English signed photocopy surtitles with markings and an inscription] Ser.1 Graff BxC09f02

Smetana, Bedřich. Hubička. [English signed photocopy surtitles with markings] Ser.1 Graff BxD02f08

Smetana, Bedřich. Prodaná Nevěsta. Praha: Orbis, [19--?] [photocopy, signed, cueing score with notes, markings with English translation] Ser.1 Graff BxC10f01

Series II: Miscellaneous Czech opera scores

Blodek, Vilém. V Studni. Praha: Em. Starý v Praze, [19--?]. [original score with markings, German and Czech languages] 45 B6205vs EStary Ser.2 Graff BxD01f03

Dvořák, Antonín. Čert a Káča. Praha: Orbis, [19--?], [original score with markings, Czech and German languages] 45 D959ce Orbis Ser.2 Graff BxD01f01

Dvořák, Antonín. Dimitrij. [s.l.]: Em. Starý v Praze, [19--?], [original score with markings, accompanying material] 45 D959di EStary Ser.2 Graff BxD01f02 and 54 D959di Ser.2 Graff BxD01f02

Dvořák, Antonín. Svatební košile. London, New York: Novello, Ewer & Co., [19--?], [original score with markings, accompanying material, Czech and German languages] 47 D959sv Nov Ser.2 Graff BxD02f03

Dvořák, Antonín. Svatební košile. Praha, Bratislava: Editio Supraphon, ©1969. [original signed orchestra score with markings, accompanying materials, Czech, German and English languages] 46 D959sv Supra Ser.2 Graff BxC01f02

Dvořák, Antonín. Tvrdé palice. Berlin, Leipzig, London, Paris: N. Simrock, [19--?] [original score with Czech and German languages with markings] 45 D959tv Sim Ser.2 Graff BxD03f04

Fibich, Zdeněk. Smrt Hippodamie. Praha: Státní nakladatelství Krásné literatury hudby a umění, ©1957. [original score with markings, Czech and German languages] 45 F443hi StatNak v.3 Ser.2 Graff BxD03f01

Janáček, Leoš. Šárka. [photocopy manuscript fa., with markings] 45 J251sa Ser.2 Graff BxD03f05

Smetana, Bedřich. Dalibor. Praha: Státní Nakladatelství Krásné Literatury, Hudby a Umění, ©1960. [original, signed orchestra score with markings and accompanying materials] 44 Sm39da StatNak Ser.2 Graff BxC03f01

Smetana, Bedřich. Libuše. [Czech photocopy phonetic transcription with markings] 45 Sm39l AA StatNak Ser.2 Graff BxD04f04

Series IIIa: Source literature and historical background books

Čornej, Petr. Panovníci Českých zemí. Praha: Fragment, 1992. [markings and an inscription] DB2046 C814pa Ser.2 Graff BxC02f03

Dolenský, Rezek, Kosina. Obrázkové Dějiny Národa Československého. Praha: Nakladatelství Jos. R. Vilímek v Praze, ©1932. [markings and picture in the last page] DB2045 D688ob Ser.3a Graff BxC01f01

Janáček, Leoš. Chaque son, c’est un deferlement de passion. Praha: Fonds musical tchéque, [19--?] [no markings] MT120 J251 L555

Leoš Janáček 1854-1928. Praha: Supraphon, [19--?]. [ no markings with a record] ML225 J251 P8435

Mlejnek, Karel. Česká Filharmonie. [s.l.]: Paseka, [19--?] [signature] ML144 M699ce

Národní Divadlo V Praze. Praha: Národní Divaldo, 1983 v. 1 [no markings] NS1627 .N167s

Národní Divadlo V Praze. Praha: Národní Divaldo, 1983 v. 2 [no markings] NS1627 .N167s

Národní Divadlo V Praze. Praha: Národní Divaldo, 1983 v. 3 [no markings] NS1627 .N167s

O Janáčkovi. Chicago: Česko-Americké kulturní středisko a vydatel katolického týdeníku Hlas Národa, [19--?] [no markings] ML225 J251 J251fi

Ostrovskij, A. N. Bouře. Praha: Dilia, [19--?] [signature and markings] PG3337 Os7gr Ser.3a Graff BxD03f01

Ostrovskij, A. N. Plays. Moscow, Progress Publishers, 1974. PG3337 Os7 AA Ser.3a Graff BxD02f03

Preissová, Gabriela. Její Pastorskyňa. Praha : J. Otto, 1931. [signature and markings] PG5038 P914je Ser.3a Graff BxD03f04

Růžičková, Z. / Kulijevyčová, M. Královna cembala. [s.l.]: Marie Kulijevyčová, c2004. [no markings] ML225 R949 A3kr

Vaňkova, L. Král železny, král zlaty. Praha: Nakladatelsktí Svoboda, 1988. [no markings] PG5039 .V321kr

Všetečka, J. / Berkovec, J. Praga musicopolis Europe. Praha: Editio Supraphon, 1983. [no markings] ML144 V969pr

Series IIIb: Janáček and other Czech scores

Janáček, Leoš. Návod pro Vyučování Zpévu. Praha: Editio Supraphon, c1080. [no markings] 40 J251nav Supra

Janáček, Leoš. On an Overgrown Path. Florida: Masters Music Publications, Inc., [19--?] [signature] 2 J251po Master Ser.3b Graff BxC02f05

Janáček, Leoš. Vlčí stopa. Praha : Editio Supraphon, 1968. [signature] 47 J251vl Supra Ser.3b Graff BxD02f06

Janáček, Leoš. 1. X. 1905. Florida: Masters Music Publications, Inc., [19--?] [signature] 2 J251so Master Ser.3b Graff BxD03f05

Trnavský, Schneider Mikuláš. Slovenské Národné Piesne 1. Bratislava: Slovenské Hudobné Vydavatelstvo, [19--?] [no markings] 38 Sch586sℓ m SHVB v.1 Ser.3b Graff BxC01f02

Trnavský, Schneider Mikuláš. Slovenské Národné Piesne 2. Bratislava: Slovenské Hudobné Vydavatelstvo, [19--?] [no markings] 38 Sch586sℓ m SHVB v.2 Ser.3b Graff BxC01f03

Trnavský, Schneider Mikuláš. Slovenské Národné Piesne 3. Bratislava: Slovenské Hudobné Vydavatelstvo, [19--?] [no markings] 38 Sch586sℓ m SHVB v.3 Ser.3b Graff BxC01f04

Trnavský, Schneider Mikuláš. Slovenské Národné Piesne 4. Bratislava: Slovenské Hudobné Vydavatelstvo, [19--?] [no markings] 38 Sch586sℓ m SHVB v.4 Ser.3b Graff BxC01f05

Trnavský, Schneider Mikuláš. Slovenské Národné Piesne 5. Bratislava: Slovenské Hudobné Vydavatelstvo, [19--?] [no markings] 38 Sch586sℓ m SHVB v.5 Ser.3b Graff BxC01f06

Series ΙV: Articles and photos of Czech opera productions

[Original scrapbook title: “The Cunning Little Vixen: NYCO 1991, Seattle 1994, Washington 1993, Paris 1995, Sidney 1997, NYCO 1998-99, Portland 2000, Chicago 2004”]

Box 1, Fo.1

Programs, 1989-2004 [note: also includes schedules/brochures/posters/fliers/tickets/invitations]

Box 1, Fo.2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1986-2004

Box 1, Fo.3

Correspondence, 1993-2003

Letter from unidentified (hand-written in Czech; photocopies), October 17, 1993

Letter from Jesse Gram, Lyric Opera of Chicago, October 8, 2003

Box 1, Fo.4

Iconography, 1981-2004, undated

Slides: “The Cunning Little Vixen” opening, undated: Y.S. Graff, unidentified

Photographs, 1981

8x10 black and white photos of the sets from various productions of “The Cunning Little Vixen,” 1981 (12): Nadia Pelle and Gianna Rolandi

Glossy printed sketch of Vixen costume by Liška Bustnoǔka

Color photocopies of photographs of Chicago 2004 sets

[Original scrapbook title: “Vixen: NYCO 1981 Part II, Covent Garden 1990”]

Box 1, Fo.5

Programs, 1981-1990

Box 2, Fo.1

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1980-1990

Box 2. Fo.2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1992-2004

Box 2, Fo.3

Correspondence, 1978-1980 [note: also includes a royalty contract]

Letter from Vladimír Solecky to the Embassy of the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic, July 18, 1978

Letter from Beverly Sills to Malcolm Graff; written on New York City Opera stationery, November 14, 1979

Letter to “Frank”, March 2, 1980

Letter from Beverly Sills to Yveta Graff; written on New York City Opera stationery, November 5, 1980

Letter from Robert T. Jones to Andrew Panto, October 18 (year unidentified)

Contract: New York City Opera royalty contract for the 1981 performances of The Cunning Little Vixen; signed by Yveta Graff and Robert T. Jones, February 18, 1980

Box 2, Fo.4

Iconography, undated

Postcards (2): picturing the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden Auditorium

Note cards (2): picturing the vixen costume drawn by Maurice Sendak; includes one envelope

Box 2, Fo.5

Miscellaneous, undated

Photocopied hand-written Czech pronunciations and translations

[Original scrapbook title: “Vixen: NYCO 1981 Translation 1981”]

Box 2, Fo.6

Programs, April 9, 1981 – December 6, 1981

Box 2, Fo. 7-8

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1980-1983

Box 2, Fo. 9

Correspondence, undated

Letter to Yveta Graff on stationery from Hotel Inter-Continental Praha, undated

[Original scrapbook title: “Jenůfa: Met 2003, Houston 2004, Met 2007, Washington Opera 2007”]

Box 3, Fo. 1

Programs, 2003-2007

Box 3, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 2003-2004

Box 3, Fo. 3

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 2006-2007

Box 3, Fo. 4

Correspondence, 2002

Welcome note from James Levine; 2002-2003 Metropolitan Opera season

Box 3, Fo. 5

Iconography, undated

Color photocopies of photos of sets/costumes/performers from the Metropolitan Opera’s Jenůfa, 2002-2003, undated (18): Kim Begley, Karita Mattila, Sheila Nadler, Debora Polaski, and Christopher Ventris

[Original scrapbook title: “Jenůfa: Met 1992, Spoleto USA 1998, Chicago 2000”]

Box 3, Fo. 6

Programs, 1992-2001

Box 3, Fo. 7

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1992-2001

Box 3, Fo. 8

Correspondence, undated

Note card and envelope thanking Yveta Graff for her assistance, undated; sender unidentified

Note card from Bill Mason (general director of Lyric Opera of Chicago) welcoming Yveta Graff to Chicago, undated

Article about the correspondence between Leoš Janáček and Gabriela Horvátová, undated

Box 3, Fo. 9

Iconography, undated

Color snapshots (4) of Graff with unidentified others: Philip Glass

[Original scrapbook title: Jenůfa: SFO 1986, OONY 1988, Spoleto 1988]

Box 4, Fo. 1

Programs, 1986-1988

Box 4, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1985-1990

Box 4, Fo. 3

Iconography, 1986-1988, undated

Photographs:

Y.S. Graff and Sir Charles Mackerras SF, 1986 (2)

Y.S. Graff and Sir Charles Mackerras, undated (2)

Jenůfa Poster – Carnegie Hall, March 30, 1988

Y.S. Graff, Gabriela Beňačková in front of Jenůfa Poster – Carnegie Hall, March 30, 1988

Y.S. Graff, Gabriela Beňačková, and Leonie (Rysanek) Rysanková 1988

Y.S. Graff with Gunter Kramer at the Spoleto Festival, undated

Box 4, Fo. 4

Miscellaneous: Subtitles in Italian, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Jenůfa: Historical]

Box 4, Fo. 5

Programs, 1980-1983

Box 4, Fo. 6

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1975-1986, undated

Box 4, Fo. 7

Correspondence: 1980, undated

Letter of Agreement signed by Y.S. Graff for translation of Jenůfa for SFO, March 27, 1980

Letter of Agreement signed by Graff for services during SFO 1980 Fall Season, July 21, 1980

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Michael Rennison (The Royal Opera House), October 9, 1980

Letter to Y.S Graff from Kurt Herbert Adler (General Director, SFO), October 15, 1980

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Prof. Jiri Pauer [in Czech], October 21, 1980

Letter to Y.S. Graff from James Levine (Music Director, MET), November 20, 1980

Article about the correspondence between Leoš Janáček and Gabriela Horvátová, undated

Box 4, Fo. 8

Iconography, 1887-1975, undated

Photographs:

Gabriela Preissova, 1887

First act – “Gazdina Roba” – National Theater premiere, 1889

Second act – “Gazdina Roba” – National Theater premiere, 1889

Jenůfa, play by Preissova, 1890 (2)

Photocopy of Leopolda Hanusora-Srobodora with negatives, 1904

Photocopies of pictures of “Jenůfa” - Prague, 1916

Jenůfa, May 26, 1916 (8)

Gabriela Preissová, 1921

Unidentified, 1922

Unidentified, 1925

Jenůfa, 1969

Jenůfa, October 8, 1975 (2)

Jenůfa, undated (3)

Maria Jeritza as Jenůfa, undated

Bust of Jakuba Obrovskéno, undated

Gabriela Preissová, undated

Box 4, Fo. 9

Miscellaneous, undated

Study Guide for Understanding Jenůfa

Jenůfa production notes by Y.S. Graff

Essay: “Janáček Jenůfa,” by Leo Van Witsen

Photocopy of essay: “The Operas of Janáček,” by Michael Kennedy

[Original scrapbook title: Jenůfa: Seattle 1985, MET 1985]

Box 5, Fo. 1

Programs, 1985

Box 5, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1985-1986

Box 5, Fo. 3

Correspondence, 1985

Letter from Metropolitan Opera Club to members, September 10, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Frank E. Taplin, September 16, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Paul Gruber (General Director, Merchandising: Metropolitan Opera Guild), September 23, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Tim Jenkins, September 24, 1985

Invitation from The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czechoslovakia, Bohuslav Chňoupek to Mr. & Mrs. Graff, September 24, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Debi Yanover (Special Services, Education at the MET), September 30, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from National Endowment of the Arts, October 2, 1985

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Gordon K. Greenfield (President, Metropolitan Opera Club), November 4, 1985

Letter from FIFI and Poopy with photograph of dog, circa 1985

Box 5, Fo. 4

Iconography: Photographs, 1985

Y.S. Graff with the cast of “Jenůfa” (2)

Timothy Jenkins and Marvellee Cariaga “Jenůfa” – Seattle Opera

Peter Kazaras and Judith Haddon “Jenůfa” – Seattle Opera

Box 5, Fo. 5

Miscellaneous, ca. 1985

Jenůfa Lecture at Opera Club, October 2, 1985

Study Guide for Understanding Jenůfa by Y.S. Graff

Jenůfa notes and Lecture by Speight Jenkins

Notes by Y.S. Graff

[Original scrapbook title: Rusalka: Historical, OONY 1987]

Box 5, Fo. 6

Programs, 1960-1987

Box 5, Fo.7

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1987

Box 5, Fo. 8

Correspondence: [in Czech] from unidentified, April 26, 1987

Box 5, Fo. 9

Iconography, 1901-1971, undated

Photographs:

Rusalka, March 31, 1901 (10)

Rusalka, scene, 1901

Rusalka, Act III – Rusalka and the Prince, 1901

Costume design for premiere, 1901

Rusalka, May 5, 1944

Rusalka, January 1, 1955 (4)

Rusalka, 1960

Rusalka, September 25, 1969 (4)

Rusalka, 1971

Rusalka, undated

Rusalka – Title Page of autograph score, undated

Front cover, undated

Negatives

[Original scrapbook title: Rusalka: Houston 1991, MET 1993, San Diego 1994, San Francisco 1995]

Box 6, Fo. 1

Programs, 1991-1995

Box 6, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1991-1995

Box 6, Fo. 3

Correspondence, 1991-1994

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Renee [Fleming], 1991

Letter to Malcolm and Y.S. Graff from Neil Rosenshein, August 10, 1993

Letter to Y.S. Graff from John Fiore, September 29, 1993

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Dr. Markéta Hallová (Narodni Muzeum – In Czech), October 25, 1993

Letter to Malcolm Graff from Mitchell L. Lathrop (President, San Diego Opera), July 15, 1994

Box 6, Fo. 4

Iconography, 1993, undated

35mm transparency: Set for Metropolitan Opera’s Rusalka, 1993

Photocopies of paintings from the opening of the exhibition at Prague Municipal House, undated

Box 6, Fo. 5

Miscellaneous: Notes, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Rusalka: MET 2004, MET 2009]

Box 6, Fo. 6

Programs, 2004-2009 (includes ticket stubs)

Box 6, Fo. 7

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 2004-2009

Box 6, Fo. 8

Correspondence, 2004, undated

Email from Robert Sutherland to Metropolitan Opera Staff, April 14, 2004

Email from Robert Sutherland to Metropolitan Opera Staff, April 21, 2004

Card signed by Y.S. Graff that says good luck! in Czech, undated

Box 6, Fo. 9

Iconography, 2004, undated

Photographs:

Performance of Rusalka, 2004 (4)

Dolora Zajick as Jezibaba from the Metropolitan Opera, undated

Box 6, Fo. 10

Miscellaneous: Notes, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Rusalka: Spoleto USA 1988, Minn. Opera 1988, Phil. Opera 1988, Seattle 1990]

Box 6, Fo. 11

Programs, 1988-1990

Box 6, Fo. 12

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1988-1991

Box 6, Fo. 13

Miscellaneous, Production Information: Rusalka – Seattle Opera Association, 1990

[Original scrapbook title: Rusalka: MET 1997, Decca recording Praha 1998, Seattle 2001, Paris 2002]

Box 7, Fo. 1

Programs, 1997-2002

Box 7, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1997-2005

Box 7, Fo. 3

Correspondence, 1993-2001

Letter in Czech to Y.S. Graff from Yammila, 1993

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Dolora Zajick, 1997

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Alice Fields (Secretary to Michal Haas, Decca Record Company), June 17, 1998

Email to Y.S. Graff from Paul Moe (Opera de Paris) with notes, May 3, 2001

Memo to Y.S. Graff from Robert Lombardo Re: Rusalka in Paris, May 24, 2001

Box 7, Fo. 4

Iconography, 1997

Renee Fleming in Rusalka – Met Opera, May 1997

Renee Fleming and Y.S. Graff, 1997 (2 photos)

Y.S. Graff, 1997

Dolora Zajick as “Jezibaba,” in Rusalka, 1997

[Original scrapbook title: Destin, Novatna, Jeriza – Historical]

Box 7, Fo. 5

Programs, 1948-1951

Box 7, Fo. 6

Articles/Clippings, 1928, undated

Box 7, Fo. 7

Correspondence, July 6, 1983

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Cathy Wearing (Producer, BBC), July 6, 1983

Box 7, Fo. 8

Iconography, 1972, undated

Photograph

Ema Destinova, 1972

Ema Destinova, undated (7)

Leos Janaček, undated

Maria Jeritza, undated (3)

Jeritza and Puccini, undated

Novatna, undated

unidentified, undated (2)

Box 7, Fo. 9

Miscellaneous: Notes in Czech, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Dalibor, OONY 1977]

Box 7, Fo. 10

Programs, 1948-1951

Box 7, Fo. 11

Articles/ Photocopied Clippings, 1976-1978

Box 7, Fo. 12

Correspondence, 1977-1978

Letter to Malcolm Graff from Vladimir Solecky (Cultural Counselor, Czech Embassy), March 7, 1977

Letter in Czech to Y.S. Graff from the Czech Embassy, July 7, 1978

[Original scrapbook title: Singers and Conductors of Czech Music]

Box 7, Fo. 13

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1972-1998, undated

Box 7, Fo.14

Correspondence, undated

Letter from Sir Charles Mackerras in Czech

Note in Czech

Box 7, Fo. 15

Iconography, 1989-2000, undated

Photographs include: Jarmila Novotna,1989 [signed], Thomas Allan, Samuel Barber, James Conlon [signed], Placido Domingo, Renee Fleming, 2000 [signed], Malcom Graff, Y.S. Graff, Susan Graham [signed], Vaclav Havel, Ben Heppner [signed], Catherine Malfitano [signed], Karita Matila [signed], Paul Plishka, Theresa Stratas, and Dobra Z. [signed]

[note: Signed photograph of Sir Charles Mackerras and Y.S. Graff located in Box 14]

[Original scrapbook title: Libuše, NY 1986]

Box 8, Fo. 1

Programs, 1986

Box 8, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1971-1987

Box 8, Fo. 3

Correspondence, 1985-1986, undated

Letter to Y.S. Graff from unidentified [in Czech], October 14, 1985

Letter in Czech to unidentified, February 13, 1986

Postcard: that says: Gamble, but you will be a winner, Libuše, Carnegie Hall, March 13, 1986

Letter to [?] from Emil [?] about Libuše, March 23, 1986

Postcards to Y.S. Graff from [?] [in Czech], 1986 (4)

Letter to [?] from [?] [in Czech], undated

Box 8, Fo. 4

Iconography, 1986

Gabriela Beňačova, Yveta Graff, and Eve Queler at Libuše opening, 1986 (2)

Y.S. Graff from Guggenheim excerpts from Libuše, 1986 (2)

Libuše, 1986

[Original scrapbook title: Libuše - Historical, NY 1986]

Box 8, Fo. 5-6

Iconography, 1881-1945, undated

National Theater before fire, 1881

Poster for opening, 1883

National Theater after fire, 1883

Libuše premiere, 1902 (5)

Libuše premiere, 1945 (3)

Various Libuše pictures including: Gabriela Benackova, Vaclav Zitek, Karel Prusa, Antonii Jvoic, Marie Podralova, Ema Destinnova

Negatives:

George of Poděbrad, undated (6)

Picture from Opera News, undated

Notes on photographs

Box 8, Fo. 7

Miscellaneous: Ticket stubs: Lehman Center, March 8, 1986

[Original scrapbook title: Kata Kabanova – LA Opera 1988, MET 1991, 1999]

Box 8, Fo. 8

Programs, 1988-1999

Box 8, Fo. 9

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1988-1999

Box 9, Fo. 1

Correspondence, 1990, undated

To Y.S. Graff from Richard Mohr (Producer, The Andrews Association)

Invitation from Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Volpe and Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Crawford, undated

Box 9, Fo. 2

Miscellaneous, 1991

Errata (from Susan Webb and Franz Vote), January 25, 1991

Interview: Kata Kabanova script for Texaco broadcast, 1991

[Original scrapbook title: Kata Kabanova - Paris 2000, Houston 2000, MET 2004/2005]

Box 9, Fo. 3

Programs, 2000-2004

Box 9, Fo. 4

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 2000-2004

Box 9, Fo. 5

Iconography, 2000

Colored photocopies of photographs of Stage Set in Paris, 2000 (16)

Box 9, Fo. 6

Miscellaneous, undated

Production notes by Y.S. Graff, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Kata Kabanova – Historical, NY 1979]

Box 9, Fo. 7

Programs, 1974-1986

Box 9, Fo. 8

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1979

Box 9, Fo. 9

Correspondence, 1978-1979

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Přemsyl Kočí (Narodni Divaldo), September 14, 1978 [in Czech]

Letter to Y.S. Graff from James Levine (Music Director, Metropolitan Opera Association), January 15, 1979

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Peter Mennin (President, Juilliard School), February 14, 1979

Thank you card to Y.S. Graff from the Voice of America, April 3, 1979

Box 9, Fo. 10

Iconography, 1922-1974, undated

Photographs:

Kata Kabanova, November 20, 1922 (6)

Kata Kabanova, June 21, 1974

Kata Kabanova, undated (19): Gabriela Benackova, Marta Cihelniková, Eva Lihmundová, L. Marová, Zora Jehličhova, and Ivo Zidek

Negatives: Scenes, undated (6)

[Original scrapbook title: Two Widows – MSM 1998, HLAS LESA, Henry Street Settlement 1982]

Box 9, Fo. 11

Programs, 1988-2002

Box 9, Fo. 12

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1992-2006

Box 9, Fo. 13

Correspondence, 1989-1998

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Jaroslav Mihule (Secretary, Societas Martinů), May 19, 1989

Letter to Malcolm and Y.S. Graff from Jay Lesenger (Stage Director, Chautauqua Opera), 1998

Box 9, Fo. 14

Iconography, undated

Photographs:

Two Widows, undated

Box 9, Fo. 15

Miscellaneous: Translations of Bohuslav Martinů’s works, 1999, undatd

[Original scrapbook title: The Diary of one who Vanished - Alice Tully Hall 1994, Zankel Hall 2006,

Grayson Hirst 1984, Bostridge]

Box 9, Fo. 16

Programs, 1994-2006

Box 9, Fo. 17

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1984-2006

Box 9, Fo. 18

Miscellaneous: Translation of The Diary of One Who Vanished by Y.S. Graff, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Makropulos - MET 1998, 2001]

Box 10, Fo. 1

Programs, 1955-2001

Box 10, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1998-2001

Box 10, Fo. 3

Correspondence, 2001

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Catherine Malfitano, April 23, 2001

Box 10, Fo. 4

Iconography, 2001

Photograph: “The Makropulos Affair” final dress rehersal, 2001

Box 10, Fo. 5

Miscellaneous, 1989-1995, undated

Booklet: The Makropulos Affair by Leoš Janáček, 1989

Photocopied portion: Toward the Radical Center: A Karel Capek Reader, 1990

Essay: The Makropulos Secret by Y.S. Graff, October 10, 1995

Notes, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Makropulos – Historical, SF 1993, Chicago 1995, Play-London, 1995]

Box 10, Fo. 6

Programs, 1928-1995

Box 10, Fo. 7

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1989-2001

Box 10, Fo. 8

Correspondence, 1993-1995

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Charles Mackerras, January 1, 1993

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Robert T. Jones, October 13, 1995

Box 10, Fo. 9

Iconography, 1938-1977, undated

Photographs:

Čapka, 1938

Makropulos, January 3, 1928 (3 photos): Anna Kejsǒvá, Richard Kubla, Václav Novák, and Emil Pollert

Makropulos, February 29, 1956 (2 photos): Emilia Marty and Marie Podralová

Scene from Makropulos, 1956

Photocopies of scenes from Makropulos, 1962

Makropulos, October 15, 1965 (4): Emilia Marty

Makropulos, April 4, 1977 (2): Emilia Marty

Unidentified, undated

Box 10, Fo. 10

Miscellaneous, 1989-1995, undated

Booklet: The Makropulos Affair by Leoš Janáček, 1989

Discrepancies between Makropulos vocal score and other comments by Y.S. Graff, October 12, 1995

Biography of Karel Capek, undated

Writings in Czech, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Brouček - Historical. Canceled 1992, Spoleto US 1996, NYCO Press]

Box 10, Fo. 11

Programs, 1988-1996

Box 10, Fo. 12

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1992-1996

Box 10, Fo. 13

Correspondence, 1992

Memo from the New York City Opera to members Re: Postponement of Excursions of Mr. Brouček, June 2, 1992

Letter to Malcolm Graff from Christopher Keene (General Director) New York City Opera, June 3, 1992

Box 10, Fo. 14

Iconography, 1920-1988, undated

Photographs:

The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, April 24, 1920 (4)

The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, December 17, 1959

The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, April 12, 1968 (2)

The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, May 31, 1988 (17): Josef Kajka, Miroslav Kopp, Olga Orlinová, Ludek Vele, Josef Veverka, and Jiří Zahradníček

The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, undated (5)

Photocopies of buildings, undated

Box 11, Fo. 1

Miscellaneous, 1958-1991, undated

Photocopy: Opery Leoš Janáček na brnĕnské, 1958 [in Czech]

English translation of The Excursions of Mr. Brouček by Y.S. Graff and Robert T. Jones, 1991

Pamphlet in Czech about The Excursions of Mr. Brouček, undated

Writings in Czech, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Bride - MET 1978, Toronto 1993, MET 1996, COC 2000]

Box 11, Fo. 2

Programs, 1978-2000

Box 11, Fo. 3

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1978-1996

Box 11, Fo. 4

Correspondence, 1978

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Peter Aeler, October 3, 1978

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Peter Aeler, October 26, 1978

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Laurence D. Lovett (President, Metropolitan Opera Guild, November 2, 1978)

Invitation from the Counsel of Canada for Cultural Affairs, November 17, 1978

Box 11, Fo. 5

Miscellaneous, 1949, undated

Booklet: Prodaná Nevěsta [in Czech], 1949

Interview Transcript about The Bartered Bride, undated

Essay: Karel Sabina – Triumph and Tragedy, by Hans Heinsheimer, undated

Essay: “…an outing in the country,” by Walter Ducloux, undated

[Original scrapbook title: Hubička – Historical, Sarasota 1991]

Box 11, Fo. 6

Programs, 1991

Box 11, Fo. 7

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1991

Box 11, Fo. 8

Iconography, 1876-1981, undated

Photographs:

Marie Jiffoná, 1876

Hubička, May 11, 1899

Hubička, 1909 (3): Anna Slaviková

Hubička, 1923 (3)

Hubička, 1945 (2)

Hubička, 1950 (3): M. Budíková, M. Fíoledová, J. Veverka, and J. Žídek

Hubička, 1960 (5): V. Bednář, B. Blacavi, B. Blachut, E. Haken, J. Heráček, J. Kachel, M. Tauberová, D. Tkahová

Hubička, 1972 (3): E. Haken, R. Radová N. Šormová, N. Šorahová, and D. Vedlička

Hubička, 1981 (4): M. Koalčka, M. Machtková, V. Soukudová, D. Šounová, M. Vodička, and V. Zitek

Hubička, undated: B. Smetana

Box 11, Fo. 9

Miscellaneous, 1991

Synopsis of “The Kiss,” by Y.S. Graff, 1991

Hubička Time Line, 1991

[Original scrapbook title: House of the Dead Paris 1988, NYC 1990]

Box 12, Fo. 1

Programs, 1988-1990

Box 12, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1988-1991

Box 12, Fo. 3

Iconography, 1988

Photograph:

Opera de Paris from the “House of the Dead,” 1988: Jennifer Bartlett, Yvetta Synek Graff, Sir Charles Mackerras, Volker Schlöndorf, and the Company

Negatives: Opera de Paris, 1988

Box 12, Fo. 4

Miscellaneous, 1980-1988, undated

Book: Leos Janaček: Sa Personalité et Son Oeuvre by Theater National Opera de Paris, 1980

From the House of the Dead English Translation by Y.S. Graff, 1983

Book: De La Maison des Morts (In French), 1988

Essay: Entretien Avec Sir Charles Mackerras by Y.S Graff (In French), 1988

Transcript: Conversation: Sir Charles Mackerras and Y.S. Graff, 1988s

[Original scrapbook title: House of the Dead - Historical New York Philharmonic 1983]

Box 12, Fo. 5

Programs, 1982-1983

Box 12, Fo. 6

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1981-1983

Box 12, Fo. 7

Correspondence, 1982-1983, undated

Letter to Janáćkists from Emil Pŭha, June 27, 1982

Letter to Y.S. Graff from Rafael Kubelik, September 14, 1982

Letter to Robert Jones from Elsa Peterson (Operations and Research Associate, European American Music Distributors Corporation), February 11, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Sir Peter Hall (National Theater, London), March 30, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Maestro James Levine (MET Opera House), March 31, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Miss Ardis Krainik (Lyric Opera of Chicago), April 4, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Mr. Lofti Mansouri (General Director, Canadian Opera Company), April 6, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Beverly Sills New York City Opera), April 11, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Richard Bonynge, April 15, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to Zubin Mehta (New York Philharmonic), May 25, 1983

Letter from Y.S. Graff to John, undated

Box 12, Fo. 8

Iconography, 1930-1931, undated

Photographs:

Z Mrtvého Domu, Brno, 1930 (2)

Z Mrtvého, February 21, 1931 (3)

Z Mrtvého, Praha, 1931 (3)

Yveta Graff, undated

House of the Dead, undated

Vladíslav Vaňák, undated

Z Mrtvého – Autograf, undated (2)

Z Mrtvého, undated (4)

Box 12, Fo. 9

Miscellaneous, 1983

Notes in Czech, March 8, 1983,

Notes in Czech, March 9, 1983

Notes in Czech, March 21, 1983

Writings by Y.S. Graff about Czech Opera, 1983

Box 13

Original News Clippings

Box 14

[Original scrapbook title: Singers and Conductors of Czech Music]

Iconography:

Signed photograph of Charles Mackerras and Y.S. Graff

Series V: Source literature of operas, historical background and context of operas

Czech TV Documentary. [DVD]

Čapek, Karel. The Makropulos Secret. [English translation by Yveta Synek Graff and Robert T. Jones] PG503 C171m G7585 Ser.5 GraffBxD01f01

Series VI: Janacek correspondence, rare photographs and books

Janáček, Leos. Baletní Soubor. Brně: Státní Divadlo v Brně, [ 19--?]

Janáček, Leos. Book with Janáček’s photos. ML225 J251 C3375 Ser.6 GraffBxC01f01

Janáček, Leos. Photos.

Series VII: Czech language recordings to accompany phonetic transcriptions

Destinová, Ema. Český repertoár. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1986 DEST

Dvořák, Antonín. Biblické písně. Recorded at Prague Supraphon Studio. [1967] DVOR

Dvořák, Antonín. Rusalka. Praha: Supraphon Studio, p1982/1983. [Beňačková, Ochman, Drobková, Novák.] DVOR

Dvořák, Antonín. The Spectre’s Bride. Praha: Supraphon Studio. [1973?] DVOR

Dvořák, Antonín. The unknown Dvořák . [Love songs and Folk-Duets in their original languages] New York, Uni-Pro Recordings, p1985. DVOR

Foerster, Josef. Eva. Praha: Prague Radio Studio, p1982. FOER

Graff, Yveta Synek. Talking about opera – Dvořák’s Rusalka. [MET]

Graff, Yveta Synek. Talking about opera – Janáček’s Jenůfa. [MET]

Graff, Yveta Synek. Talking about opera – Janáček’s Káta Kabanová. [MET]

Janáček, Leoš. The Diary of one who disappeared. Praha: Supraphon Studio, [1962/63?] JANA

Janáček, Leoš. From the house of the Dead. Praha: Supraphon Studio, p1979. JANA

Janáček, Leoš. Její pastorkyňa. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1979. JANA

Moravian Folk songs and dances. New York: Artia recording corp., p1960. MORAV

Janáček, Leoš. Mša Glagolskaja. Praha: Supraphon studio, 1980. JANA

Janáček, Leoš. Osud. Praha: Supraphon Studio, p1976. JANA

Janáček, Leoš. Počátek románu. Brno: Brno Studio, p1976 17767

Janáček, Leoš. Příhody Lišky Bystroušky. Praha: Supraphon Studio, p1972. JANA

Janáček, Leoš. Šárka. Praha: Supraphon studio, c2001. 17768

Janáček, Leoš. Věc Makropulos. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1978. JANA

Janáček, Leoš. Výlety pana Broučka. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1981. JANA

Mysliveček, Josef. Il Bellerofonte. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1987. MYSL

Smetana, Bedřich. The Bartered Bride. Praha: Supraphon studio, [1975?] SMET

Smetana, Bedřich. Čertova stěna. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1960. SMET

Smetana, Bedřich. Dalibor. Santa Monica: Genesis, p1973. SMET

Smetana, Bedřich. Dvě Vdovy. Praha: Supraphon studio, p1975. SMET

Smetana, Bedřich. The Kiss. Brno: Supraphon studio, p1980. SMET

Series VIII: Czech opera scores and scores of interest

Glass, Philip. Satyagraha. [commissioned by the City of Roterdam for De Nedelandse Operastichting] [a full score without markings] 44 G463sat v.1 Ser.8 Graff BxC02f01, 44 G463sat v.2 Ser.8 Graff BxC02f02

Glass, Philip Hydrogen jukebox. Libretto 54 G463hy Dun c.2

Glass, Philip Voyage (2 c.) Libretto 54 G463vo MetOp

Glass, Philip Voyage-Libretto (Draft) 54 G463vo Ser.8 Graff BxD01f05

Glass, Philip. Satyagraha. New York: G. Schirmer, [19--?] [full score of Acts 2 and 3, no markings] 44 G463sat v.1 Ser.8 Graff BxC02f01, 44 G463sat v. 2 Ser.8 Graff BxC02f02

Mysliviček, Josef. Hypermestra. Praha: Statni Divadlo v Brne, [19--?] [photocopy vocal score, with markings and additional materials* inside] 45 M999ip v.1 Ser.8 Graff BxC03f01, 45 M999ip v.2 Ser.8 Graff BxC03f02, 45 M999ip v.3 Ser.8 Graff BxC03f03

Smetana, Bedřich. Hubička. Praze: Barvitiova edice, [19--?] [original vocal score, no markings] 45 Sm39hu KJB

Glass, Philip. The voyage. Act 1, scene 3. 44 G463vo Ser.8 Graff BxB01f01

Series IX: Janacek and other Czech scores, songs and various musical materials

Czech Piano program. [Program notes by Radoslav Kvapil, Evening Songs by Bedřich Smetana – translation by Yveta Synek Graff ’90, an original letter, a review, and the song – Výstup IV( Milada) with markings]

Byly dvě boži myšlénky / na slova Vitězsl[ava] Hálka napsal O. Horník. Topoly / na slova Jar. Kampra ; O. Horník. Na nebi ma sta hvězdiček ; Umlklo stromů šuměni ; Divouci div to boše můj / na slova Vitězslava Hálka ; O. Horník. Chtěl bych tak rád / náladová pisen na slova Jar. Vrchliekébo od A.L. Vymetala 37 B9895ho h Ser.9 Graff BxC01f03

[Song manuscripts from the Yveta Synek Graff Collection] 37 So58gr Ser.9 Graff BxC01f04

Martinů, Bohuslav. Polni Mše = Military mass / Boh. Martinů. Vocal score 47 M366po Ser.9 Graff BxD01f05

Milada. Vystup. [Renee Fleming Homage file, 2006]

Pauer, Jiří. Swan song = Labutí píseň : monodrama for low male voice and orchestra after a story by Anton Chekov / by Jiri Pauer ; translated from the Czech by Yveta Synek Graff and Robert T. Jones. 54 P28ℓa Ser.9 Graff BxD01f14

[Song and vocal duet texts / Antonín Dvořák ; translated by Yveta Synek Graff] 54 D959vo AA Ser.9 Graff BxC01f08

Manuscript opera excerpts for soprano. (Not cataloged in Juilcat) Ser.9 Graff BxC01f09

Novak, Vítězslav. Melancholische Lieder von der Liebe. Praha: Umělecká Beseda,[19--?] 38 N858me Ser.9 Graff BxC01f07

Dvořák, Antonin. Dětská píseň. [s.l] [19--?] [photocopy with Czech IPA] 38 D959ℓi AA Ser.9 Graff BxD01f13

Dvořák, Antonin. Liebeslieder, Op. 83. [s.l.] [19--?] [photocopy with markings of English translation] 38 D959ℓi Ser.9 Graff BxC01f05

Dvořák, Antonin. Song Cycle, Op. 73. [s.l.] [19--?] [photocopy with markings] 38 D959ℓi AA Ser.9 Graff BxD01f13

Series X: Yveta Synek Graff: my background

Synek, Emil. Ano a Ne. Praha: Edice Průlom, [19--?]. [with markings]. PG5038 Sy74 AAan

Synek, Emil. Mimo Proud. Praze: Divadelní Knihovna Máje, [19--?] [no markings] PG5038 Sy74mi

Synek, Emil. Schůzka u Pyramid. Praze: Evžen J. Rosendorf, [19--?]. [no markings] PG5038 Sy74sc

Series XI: Miscellaneous material

(note: original news clippings located in Box 13)

Czech Harp Music

Box 15, Fo. 1

Writings, undated (list of composers who composed music for harp, with markings)

Czech piano program, 1990-2006, undated

Box 15, Fo. 2

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 2006

“Renee Fleming.” musicOMH.com. December 2, 2006

Fisher, Neil. “Review.” Times Online (UK). December 5, 2006

Box 15, Fo. 3

Writings, 1990, undated

Evening Songs by Bedřich Smetana – translation by Yveta Synek Graff, 1990

Program notes by Radoslav Kvapil, undated

Score: Výstup IV( Milada) with markings, undated

Notes, undated

Ema Destinová, 1999, undated (note: materials taken from Ema Destinová book, Series IIIa)

Box 15, fo. 4

Correspondence (fax) Charles Mackerras to Y.S. Graff, 1999

Notes, undated

Dolenský, Rezek, Kosina

Box 15, fo. 5

Iconography: Photograph, undated

Photgraph from: Obrázkové Dějiny Národa Československého

Antonín Dvořák, 1994, undated

Box 15, Fo. 6

Iconography, undated

Rusalka scene drawings, undated (3 colored photocopies)

Box 15, Fo. 7

Writings, 1994, undated

The Brooklyn Philharmonic Orchestra. Dvorak From the New World, 1994 (at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, ca. 1994[?]; no markings, catalog from concert January 28-30, 1994[?])

Horsbrugh, Ian. “The Jacobin,” undated (note: taken from Dvořák Jakobin full score: call# 44 D959; a SHV)

Leoš Firkušný

Box 15. Fo. 8

Writings, ca. 1954

Leoš Firkušný. New York: Printed in USA, ca. 1954

Philip Glass

Box 15, Fo. 9

Programs, 1981-1992 (In Performance from Brooklyn Academy of Music, 1981, The Metropolitan Opera 1992)

Box 15, Fo. 10

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1989-1992

Queenan, Joe. “Breaking Glass.” The American Spectator, April 1989

Hess, Harvey. “Bruce Ferden.” Opera Monthly, June 1989

Bernheimer, Martin. “The MET says, ‘Hello, Columbus’,” The New York Times, October 14, 1992

Box 15. Fo. 11

Iconography, 1981

Photograph: Satyagraha, Brooklyn Academy of Music NY (Douglas Perry (center) plays the role of M.K. Gandhi), 1981

Box 15, Fo. 12

Writings, 1990-1991, undated

“Hydrogen Jukebox a mature Glasswork,” May 28, 1990

Glass by Dunvagen, 1991

Akhnaten: an Opera in Three Acts, undated

V Kárném Táboře, undated [in Czech]

Yveta Synek Graff: my background, ca. 1931-1993 (see also box 18 and 19)

Box 15, Fo. 13

Articles/Photocopied clippings, 1956-1993

New York World-Telegram, 1956 (note: about Y.S. Graff’s arrival in NYC; original along with exhibit copy found in Map Drawer 3, Folder L-12)

“Met Opens 78^th Season,” NYT, 1962 (note: original along with exhibit copy found in Map Drawer 3, Folder L-12)

Heinsheimer, Hans. “Meistersinger or Mastersingers, 1975

Thomas, Kevin. “2 moving Portraits of Elders.” Los Angeles Times, 1995

Box 15, Fo. 14

Iconography: Photographs, 1974-2009, undated: Frank Corsaro, Placido Domingo, F. Malcom Graff, Yveta Synek Graff, Maria Jeritza, Robert T. Jones, James Levine, Sir Charles Mackerras, Jarmila Novotná, Luciano Pavarotti, Dolora Zajick, and unidentified

Box 15, Fo. 15

Writings, ca.1931-ca. 1948 (note: materials are duplicates taken from Series X)

Synek, Emil. Mimo Proud. Praze: Divadelní Knihovna Máje, [19--?]

Emile Bernard, 1968

Leoš Janáček (note: additional material found in Box 17)

Box 15, Fo. 16

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1978-2000

Smith, Patrick. “The Incursion of Mr. Janáček.” High Fidelity Magazine, June 1978

“The Honor of Leoš Janáček,” 1978

Sutcliffe, James Helme. “Eva Randová.” Ist Revise. December 8, 1986

Echo Opera Ballet, 1986

Clippings and articles in Czech, 1990-2000 (7)

Box 15, Fo. 17

Iconography, 1995, undated

Cunning Little Vixen scene pictures, May 1995 (11 colored photocopies)

Old post cards, undated [in Czech]

Box 16, Fo. 1

Writings, 1958-undated (note: additional materials found in Box 17)

Setkání Leoše Janáčka s Gabrielou Preissovou, 1958

Časopis Moravského Musea, 1974

Janáček, Leos. Patnáct Moravských Lidových Písní. Praha: Panton, ca1978.

Janáček, Leos. Osud (the story), undated

Janáček, Leos. Počátek Románu (the story), undated

Leos Janáček, undated

Opery - Leos Janáček, undated

Program- Opery Leos Janáček Doma a v Zahraničí, undated

Notes, undated

Bohuslav Martinů

Box 16, Fo. 2

Programs, 1978-1990 (Carnegie Hall 77/78 and Lincoln Center 1979, Narodni Divadlo, 1990)

Box 16, Fo. 3

Articles/Photocopied clippings, 1978-1990

“Music Coral Society.” The New York Times, May 1978

Barnes, Clive. “Netherlands Dance a Knockout.” New York Post, July 7, 1981

Kisselgoff, Anna. “Netherlands and Soldiers Mass.” The New York Times, July 7, 1981

Kisselgoff, Anna. “Dance View.” The New York Times, July 19, 1981

“Můj dědeček Čech.” Svobodné Slovo, 1990

Box 16, Fo. 4

Writings, 1982-1990, undated

Branch, Murel. “Festival Mass,” 1982

“Bohuslav Martinů’s Piano Works.” Music News From Prague. No. 4, 1988

Opery Bohuslav Martinů, 1990

Panorama of Czech Music, 1990

Survery of Works by Bohuslav Martinů, 1990

Notes, undated

Josef Mysliviček

Box 16, Fo. 5

Programs, 1987 (The Prague Spring – International Music Festival, 1987)

Box 16, Fo. 6

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1987

Schneider, Edward. “Ancient Prague’s Modern Disks.” The New York Times. April 12, 1987.

Box 16, Fo. 7

Writings, 1986, undated

Ipermestra, 1986 [in Czech]

Nezapomenutelná, undated [in Czech]

Notes about the composer by Harlow Robinson, undated

Alexander Ostrovsky

Box 16, Fo. 8

Writings, undated

Ostrovsky, Alexander. The Storm Groza, undated

Gabriela Preissová (note: additional material found in Box 17)

Box 16, Fo. 9

Writings, ca. 1890-ca. 1908

Preissová, Gabriela. Gazdina Roba. Praha: F. Šimáček Nakladatelstvo, ca. 1890

[in Czech]

Preissová, Gabriela. Povídky. Praha: F. Šimáček Nakladatelstvo, ca. 1890 [in Czech]

Preissová, Gabriela. Jenůfa her stepdaughter. Brno: Universal Edition, ca. 1908

Antonin Rejcha, 1986

Box 16, Fo. 10

Programs, 1986 (Česká Filharmonie)

Box 16, Fo. 11

Correspondence, 1986

Letter to Y.S. Graff from unidentified, March 6, 1986 [in Czech]

Box 16, Fo. 12

Writings,

Biography - Antonin Rejcha, 1986

Jaromir Weinberger

Box 16, Fo. 13

Articles/Photocopied Clippings, 1931-1991

Downes, Olin. “Schwanda Hailed as Opera Novelty.” November 8, 1931

Ericson, Raymond. “Schwanda Is Sung by Opera Theater.” The New York Times. December 10, 1973

Crutchfield, William. “Music: Cincinnati Opera’s Schwanda.” March 23, 1986

“Hádanka Života.” 1991 [in Czech]

Box 16, Fo. 14

Correspondence, 1988

Letter to Y.S. Graff from O.F. Korte (includes writing: “Obsah Muzikálu Piráti z Fortunie”), September 27, 1988 [in Czech]

Box 16, Fo. 15

Writings, 1928

Švanda Dudák by Jaromir Weinberger, 1928 [in Czech]

Publications, 1979-1991 (note: additional material located in box 17)

Box 16, Fo. 16

Bulletin of Czechoslovak Music Society. John H. Yoell, editor. Michael Beckerman, publisher. No. 3, June 1989

Box 16, Fo. 17-18

Music News from Prague, May 1979-September 1991

May 1979-September 1987

January 1988-September 1991

Box 17 (Legal Sized)

Publications, 1977 (note: additional material found in box 16)

Box 17, Fo. 1

Czechoslovakia Today, 1977

Leoš Janáček (note: additional material found in Box 15-16)

Box 17, Fo. 2

Correspondence, 1916-1953

Correspondence between Leos Janacek and Max Brod, 11/1916 (photocopy)

Correspondence between Leos Janacek and Otto Klemperer, 7/1919 (photocopy)

Racek, Jan. Korespondence Leoše Janáčka s Marií Calmou. Praha: Národní hudební vydavatelství Orbis, ca. 1951 (photocopy)

Racek, Jan. Korespondence Leoše Janáčka s Maxem Brodem. Praha: Hudby a Uměni, ca. 1953 (photocopy)

Box 17, Fo. 3

Writings, undated

Leoš Janáček: Hledal Jsem Proutkem Pramenitou Vodu, undated (in Czech)

Gabriela Preissová (note: additional material found in Box 16)

Box 17, Fo.4

Writings:

Závodský Artur. Gabriela Preissová. Praha: Státní Pedagogické Nakladatelství, ca. 1962 [in Czech]

Yveta Synek Graff: my background (note: additional materials found in Box 15)

Box 18

T-Shirts, 1991-1994, undated

“Czech it Out” (picture of red lips) The Kiss (Hubička) Smetana, Bedřich, U.S. premiere, 1991

“Metropolitan Opera Season,” 1993-1994

Rusalka, Houston Grand Opera (with picture of Rusalka), undated

“Janaček” (with his picture), undated

Box 19

Scarf with scene from The Cunning Little Vixen. Illustration by Maurice Sendak (signed by him), NYC Opera, 1981

Series XII: Posters and other oversized material

Drawer 5, Folder 1:

Janáček, Leoš. The Cunning little Vixen. [First production by The Royal Opera House. Conductor: Simon Rattle, Soloists: Thomas Allen, Gwynne Howell, Gillian Knight, Diana Montague, Robert Tear, Lillian Watson]

Drawer 5, Folder 2

New York Philharmonic. Upcoming Concerts March 10 – April 16. [Zubin Mehta, Music Director, Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center]

Drawer 5, Folder 3

Synek, Emil. The Last Stone. [Phoenix Theatre. Produced by Edward Stirling with Roy Russell Kenneth Warrington, Harold Douglas, Eric Stocken]

Drawer 4, R-10, Folder 4

Janáček, Leoš. De La Maison des Morts. [Theatre National Opera de Paris, Conductor: Sir Charles Mackerras, John Burdekin, Director: Volker Schloendorff, Singers: Dalibor Jedlicka, Miroslav Kopp, Frantisek Livora, Robert Dume, Marcel Quillevere, Ivan Kusnjer, Antonin Svorc, Jacques Loreau, Peter Straka, Josef Hajna, Jerome Engramer, Vaclav Zitek, Vincent Le Texier, Danielle Streiff]

Drawer 4, R-11, Folder 5

Janáček, Leoš. From the House of the Dead. [in English with supertitles, New Production, Conductor: Christopher Keene, Director: Rhoda Levine, Cast: Luka Kuzmich –John Absalom, Skuratov – Jon Garrison, Shishkov – Eugene Perry, Goryanchikov – Harlan Foss, The Commandant – John Calvin West]

Drawer 4, L-10, Folder 6

Janáček, Leoš. Jenufa. [ Festival dei due Mondi, Spoleto ’88, Teatro Nuovo, Conductor: Spiros Argiris, Director: Gunter Kramer, Singers: Ortrun Wenkel, William Pell, Mignon Dunn, Katerina Ikonomu, Vassili Janulaco, Gianni Sancin, Laura Zannini, Antonia Brown, Anna Assandri, Beate Conrads, Maria Fenty, Emily Magee, Craig Denison]

Drawer 4, L-11 Folder 7

Janáček, Leoš. Jenufa. [Seattle Opera. Searing Theater – Love emerges triumphant over violence and murder. Performed in English. May, 1985]

Drawer 4, L-12, Folder 8

Smetana, Bedřih. Libuše. [Opera Orchestra of New York, Eve Queler – music director at Carnegie Hall, American premiere, Soloists: Gabriela Benakova, Linda Roark-Strummer, Paul Plishka, Vaclav Zitek]

Drawer 4, L-13, Folder 9

Janáček, Leoš. The Excursion of Mr. Brouceck. [an evening picture with different types of buildings. Above them a flying young man holds the moon with sausages in his pocket by Rafal Olbinski; no text]