William Lincer Music Collection

17 Ai14no
BxB030f07

Aibel, Anthony.
      Nocturne / Anthony Aibel.
      [1992?]
      1 score (7 pages) ; 36 cm
      For viola and piano. Caption title. At head of caption title: For William Lincer on his 85th birthday. Reproduced from holograph.

15 Al27kla
LincerBxC06f08

Aleksandrov, Anatoliĭ Nikolaevich, 1888-1982.
      Aria : aus der "Klassischen Suite," op. 32 / Anatole Alexandrow.
      [19--]
      2 parts ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Originally for chamber orchestra; arranged for violin and piano. "PMC 23A ALE 1."

17 B122br no.6
LincerBxC08f03

Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750.
      Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 6 / Joh. Seb. Bach.
      [19--]
      2 parts ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink on vellum. Parts originally for 2 viole da gamba transcribed for violas.

17 B122su Lincer
LincerBxC07f08

Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750.
      Six suites / J. S. Bach ; edited by William Lincer.
      [19--]
      1 score (62 pages) ; 28 cm
      Photocopy. Suites no. 1-5 reproduced from Six suites for the viola adapted and edited by Samuel Lifschey, originally published: New York : G. Schirmer, c1936. Suite no. 6 reproduced from manuscript. Copious editorial markings by William Lincer added to all suites prior to reproduction. Includes additional copy of Suite no. 6 with markings in pencil and manuscript black ink.

17 B122su
LincerBxD01f03

Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750.
      Six suites for the viola : originally for violoncello / adapted and edited by Samuel Lifschey.
      New York, G. Schirmer, ©1936.
      53 p. 31 cm
      Series: Schirmer's library of musical classics ; 1564. Plate number: 36904. Copious markings in pencil.

15 B122su BWV1068a Fisch
LincerBxD01f01

Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750.
      Celebrated air / J S. Bach ; arr. by A. Wilhelmj ; edited by Henri Ernst.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1912.
      1 part (1 unnumbered leaf) ; 33 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 3019. Series: Masterpieces for violin and piano : series I. Caption title. Plate number: 5485-5. Markings in pencil.

MT131.Ys89so op.27 B149
LincerBxD04f03

Bai, Eun Hwan.
       The six Ysaÿe unaccompanied solo violin sonatas op. 27 transcribed for the viola : with a tape of the world premiere performance of the transcription / by Eun Hwan Bai
       1986.
       iv, 113 leaves, bound : illustrations, music, portraits ; 29 cm
       Typescript; musical score: transcriber's manuscript. Accompanying tape wanting. Thesis (D.M.A.)--The Juilliard School, 1986. Includes bibliographical references and discographies. Contents: Introduction -- Chronological summary of Eugene Ysaye's life and career (1858-1931) -- Description of Ysaye's 6 sonatas for unaccompanied violin. The "Szigeti" ; The "Thibaud" ; The "Enesco" ; The "Kreisler" ; The "Crickboom" ; The "Quiroga" -- The analysis of six Ysaye violin sonatas -- The recordings of Eugene Ysaye -- Recordings of the six sonatas for violin -- The published works of Ysaye -- Unpublished works of Ysaye -- The transcription for viola -- Conclusion -- Bibliography -- Appendixes. The pictures of Ysaye's violin ; The portraits of E. Ysaye. Inscription in manuscript blue ink on preliminary page by the author to William Lincer dated March 14, 1986.

LincerBxC05f05

Ballade.
      [19--]
      1 score (10 pages) + 1 part (4 pages) ; 36 cm
      For viola and piano. Caption title from part. Composer not identified. Reproduced from manuscript.

17 B285c B&H
LincerBxB02f03, LincerBxC01f01

Bartók, Béla, 1881-1945.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra, op. posth. / Béla Bartók ; prepared for publication from the composer's original manuscript by Tibor Serly ; reduction for viola and piano ; the viola part edited by William Primrose.
      London ; New York : Boosey & Hawkes, ©1949.
      1 score (37 pages) + 1 part (15 pages) : facsim ; 31 cm
      Duration: 20:30. Plate number: B. & H. 16854. Cage c. 1: lacks score; comprises 2 photocopies of the solo part with copious markings added prior to reproduction (15 unnumbered leaves each ; 28 cm); 1 enlarged photocopy of the solo part with solo passages from the critical restoration prepared by Csaba Erdélyi cut and pasted-in prior to reproduction (28 leaves ; 38 cm); 1 solo part photocopied from Erdélyi's critical restoration with markings in manuscript green ink (10 unnumbered leaves ; 38 cm); and 1 enlarged photocopy of the Erdélyi solo part with highlighter markings in manuscript pink ink (9 unnumbered leaves ; 55 cm). Cage c. 2: copious pencil markings on part.

17 B285du Lincer
LincerBxC07f10

Bartók, Béla, 1881-1945.
      [Duets, violins] / Bartók ; [arranged for 2 violas].
      [19--]
      1 score (48 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Title supplied by cataloger.

17 B316cva op.46
BxC019f19

Bate, Stanley.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra, opus 46 / Stanley Bate.
      [1946?]
      1 score (61 pages) + 1 part (22 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Accompaniment arranged for piano. At end: June 1944-May 1966 [sic]. Rio de Janeiro-New York. Reproduced from holograph. Dedication to William Primrose under caption title crossed out.

22.2 B393d K 32 Peters
LincerBxD01f04

Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827.
      Duett mit zwei obligaten Augengläsern : Sonatensatz für Viola und Violoncello / L. van Beethoven ; [ed. by Dr. Fritz Stein].
      [Place of publication not identified] : C F. Peters, ©1939.
      1 score (10 pages) ; 31 cm
      Caption title. Preface in German and English.Publisher's no : Edition Peters no. 3375. Plate number: 9665. Includes 2 scores with pencil markings.

15 B393mi WoO10 no.2
LincerBxC01f02

Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827.
      Minuet, G / Beethoven ; arr. for two violins [by] W. Lincer.
      [19--]
      2 parts ; 32 cm
      Arranger's holograph in black ink. Caption title.

15 B393rum Fisch
LincerBxD01f05

Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827.
      Turkish march : scherzo (from the Ruins of Athens) / L. van Beethoven ; transcribed by Leopold Auer.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1916.
      1 score (5 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Sheet music edition. Series: Concert transcriptions / Leopold Auer. Excerpt from incidental music originally for orchestra, arranged for violin and piano. Caption title. Publisher's number: B.48. Plate number: 19020-6. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 B42po Gos
LincerBxD01f06

Belyĭ, Viktor Arkad'evich, 1904-1983.
      Poėma dlia al'ta i fortepiano / V. Belyĭ = Poème pour alto et piano / V. Bély.
      Moskva : Gos. muzykal'noe izd-vo, 1937.
      1 score (5 pages) + 1 part (1 page) ; 31 cm
      For viola and piano. Plate number: M 9189 G. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 B437j B&H
LincerBxC01f03

Benjamin, Arthur, 1893-1960.
      Jamaican rumba / Arthur Benjamin ; arranged for viola and piano by William Primrose.
      New York : Boosey & Hawkes, ©1944
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Originally for orchestra. Plate number: B.S.I.32-33 (score), B.S.I.33 (part). Pencil markings on part.

ML290 B457v
LincerBxD04f02

Bernhardsdottir, Svava.
       Violin and viola playing in Iceland : history and development / by Svava Bernhardsdottir.
       1988.
       161 leaves, bound : illustrations, maps, music ; 29 cm
       Thesis (D.M.A.)--The Juilliard School. Typescript (photocopy). Includes bibliographical references (leaves 154-161). Contents: 9th-19th century: music status: non-professional. Introduction: Iceland, the country. ; Icelandic music: the development of Icelandic music, from 9th-19th century ; Icelandic musical instruments ; The fiddle tradition in South Thingey Province, northern Iceland -- The 20th century: music status: towards professionalism. The beginning of professional violin playing ; The first Icelandic professional violinist ; Building firm foundations: the first orchestral sounds ; The dance bands ; The development of orchestras ; The Reykjavik College of Music ; Concertmasters ; Icelandic violin and viola music ; Today's professional violinist/violist in Iceland -- Conclusion -- Appendix -- Glossary. Inscription in manuscript black ink on title page by the author to William Lincer dated spring 1989.

17 B458s Lincer
LincerBxC01f16

Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990.
      Sonata / Leonard Bernstein.
      [19--]
      1 part (8 leaves) ; 32 cm
      Solo part only, arranged for viola. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript. Occasional markings in pencil.

17 B458so
LincerBxC01f04

Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990.
      Sonata / Leonard Bernstein.
      [19--]
      1 part (6 pages) ; 32 cm
      Solo part only, arranged for viola. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers, New York City"--Label on cover. Cage folder contains 3 copies marked variously in manuscript black and blue ink; 2 copies include paste-overs in manuscript black ink.

15 B62ban Fisch
LincerBxD01f07

Bloch, Ernest, 1880-1959.
      Nigun = Improvisation : no. 2 from Baal Shem : three pictures of Chassidic life / Ernest Bloch.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1924.
      1 score (14 pages) + 1 part (p. 7-10) ; 31 cm
      For violin and piano. Publisher's number: B1857. Plate number: 23048. Ocasional pencil markings on part.

17 B62frp
LincerBxC01f05

Bloch, Ernest, 1880-1959.
      Proseuchē / Bloch.
      [1963?]
      1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 33 cm
      Originally for cello and piano; solo part only, arranged for viola. Caption title and statement of responsibility in Greek. Reproduced from manuscript. Romanized record. Inscription in English by Nick Stamos to William Lincer dated June 1963 in manuscript blue ink on recto of p. [1].

17 B62s Schirm
LincerBxC01f06

Bloch, Ernest, 1880-1959.
      Suite for viola and piano or orchestra / by Ernest Bloch.
      New York : G. Schirmer, ©1920
      1 score (65 pages) + 1 part ; 30 cm
      For viola and piano. Plate number: 29548. Cage c. 1: lacks part; copious markings in pencil.

17 B731s op.38
LincerBxC01f07

Brahms, Johannes, 1833-1897.
      Sonata, E minor, opus 38 / Brahms ; transcribed for viola [by] John Ferritto.
      ©1968.
      1 part (11 pages) ; 34 cm
      Solo part only. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

17 B731so op.120 no.1 Breit
LincerBxC01f08

Brahms, Johannes, 1833-1897.
      Sonate für Klarinette (Viola) und Klavier Nr. 1, f-moll, op. 120 Nr. 1 / Brahms ; Ausg. für Viola und Klavier = Sonata for clarinet (viola) and piano no. 1 in F minor / Johannes Brahms ; edition for viola and piano.
      Wiesbaden : Breitkopf & Härtel, [198-?]
      1 score (26 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 31 cm
      For clarinet or viola and piano; score for clarinet and piano; part for viola. Score also page numbered 153-178 (in parentheses). Publisher's no : Edition Breitkopf 6916. Plate number: J.B.41. Paste-overs in manuscript black ink, and copious markings in pencil.

17 B731so no.2 Breit
LincerBxC01f09

Brahms, Johannes, 1833-1897.
      Sonate Nr. 2 für Klarinette (oder Bratsche) und Pianoforte, op. 120 Nr. 2 / Johannes Brahms.
      Wiesbaden : Breitkopf & Härtel, [19--]
      1 score (24 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 31 cm
      Caption title. Score for clarinet and piano, part for viola. Publisher's no : Edition Breitkopf Nr. 6077. Plate number: J. B. 42. Cage c. 1 includes 2 copies of viola part with pencil markings.

31 B764su G&T
LincerBxC07f05

Bridge, Frank, 1879-1941.
      Suite for string orchestra / Frank Bridge.
      London : Goodwin & Tabb, ©1920
      1 score (28 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Plate number: G.&T. 162. Occasional markings in pencil; includes 3 1st violin parts, 3 2nd violin parts, 2 viola parts, 2 cello parts, and 1 double bass part

38 B778il B&H
LincerBxC07f02

Britten, Benjamin, 1913-1976.
      Les illuminations : pour soprano ou ténor et orchestre à cordes : op. 18 / poésies par Arthur Rimbaud ; musique par Benjamin Britten.
      London : Hawkes & Son ; New York : Boosey, Hawkes, Belwin, ©1940
      1 score (56 pages) ; 35 cm
      For soprano or tenor and string orchestra; reduction of orchestral accompaniment for piano also included. Contents: I. Fanfare -- II. Villes -- IIIa. Phrase -- IIIb. Antique -- IV. Royauté -- V. Marine -- VI. Interlude -- VII. Being beauteous -- VIII. Parade -- IX. Départ. Pl. no.: B. & H. 8327. Copious markings in pencil.

MT185 B789s 1977
LincerBxD04f01

Bronstein, Raphael.
       The science of violin playing / by Raphael Bronstein.
       Neptune, New Jersey : Paganiniana Publications, ©1977.
       176 pages : music ; 29 cm
       Publisher's proof. Includes solo violin parts to seven compositions for violin and orchestra, edited and annotated by R. Bronstein. Pre-publication corrections and instructions entered in black ink and black and red pencil throughout. Inscription in black and red pencil on unnumbered page 2: ISBN 0-87666-601-2. Contents: Principles of visual intonation -- Left hand technique and development of practice habits -- Right hand technique and development of practice habits -- Interpretation -- Technical analyses of complete violin concerti. Mendelssohn ; Mozart Concerto no. 4 ; Rondo Capriccioso ; Glazunov ; Chausson Poeme ; Sibelius ; Tchaikowsky.

17 B83ko
BxC020f09

Bruch, Max, 1838-1920.
      Kol nidrei : op. 47 / Max Bruch ; arr. L B. Wheeler.
      [19--]
      1 part (2 unnumbered leaves) ; 36 cm
      Originally for cello and orchestra; solo part arranged for viola. Reproduced from arranger's manuscript. Solo viola part only.

17 C2505pa
LincerBxB02f01

Carulli, Gustavo, 1801-1876.
      Paganini's art of playing on the G string : viola / [transcribed by Elinor Horvath ; edited by William Lincer].
      [19--]
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 43 cm + 1 part (6 leaves) ; 39 cm
      Originally for violin and piano, arranged for viola and piano. Caption title. Doubtful attribution to Paganini; probably composed by Carulli based on "reminiscences" of themes by Paganini. Early editions published variously under the titles Airs variés, and Trois airs variés. Cf. Moretti. Manuscript (photocopy).Moretti, M. R. Catalogo tematico delle musiche de Niccolò Paganini, p. 346-7.

17 C456no B 49 Patel
LincerBxC01f12

Chopin, Frédéric, 1810-1849.
      Nocturne in C♯ minor, opus posthumous / Chopin-Vardi.
      New York : Patelson, ©1942
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Music for viola from the concert repertory of Emanuel Vardi. Arranged by Emanuel Vardi. Plate number: Nocturne-6. Inscription to William Lincer on title page verso in manuscript black ink.

17 C456so op.65
LincerBxC06f07

Chopin, Frédéric, 1810-1849.
      Sonate, opus 65, for piano and viola / Frédéric Chopin ; transcribed for viola by Vadim Ghin (6/95).
      [1995?]
      1 part (13 pages) ; 35 cm
      Viola part. Arranger's holograph (photocopy). Includes appendix indicating arranger's changes to piano accompaniment.

18 C456spz Fisch
LincerBxC01f11

Chopin, Frédéric, 1810-1849.
      Maiden's wish / F. Chopin ; arr. by A. Hegner.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1904.
      1 score (3 pages) + 1 part (1 unnumbered leaf) ; 30 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 4330. Series: Modern cello music. Series II. Originally for voice and piano; arranged for cello and piano. Publisher's number: S. 4330. Plate number: 8121-52. Occasional markings in pencil. Includes pencil manuscript of the solo part transcribed for viola (1 unnumbered leaf ; 32 cm), with incomplete pencil manuscript of the solo part to Sérénade espagnole from P'esy, op. 20 by A. K. Glazunov transcribed for viola on verso.

25.2 C681va Mperc
LincerBxD01f08

Colgrass, Michael.
      Variations for four drums & viola / Michael Colgrass.
      Ft. Lauderdale, FL : Music for Percussion, ©1959.
      2 scores (20 p. each) ; 31 cm
      Series: Ensemble series. Cover title. Includes performance notes for percussionist, p. [2] of cover. Occasional pencil markings.

15 D254pl Dur
LincerBxC01f13

Debussy, Claude, 1862-1918.
      La plus que lente : valse pour piano / Claude Debussy ; [transcription pour violon et piano par Léon Roques].
      Paris : Durand, ©1910.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 33 cm
      Plate number: D. & F. 7903. Copious markings in pencil on part.

20.6 D354rh Dur
LincerBxC01f14

Debussy, Claude, 1862-1918.
      Rapsodie pour orchestre et saxophone / Claude Debussy ; [réduction pour saxophone et piano].
      Paris : A. Durand, ©1919
      1 score (15 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 35 cm
      Plate number: D. & F. 9597. Includes manuscript transcription of solo part for viola in black ink (5 p ; 32. cm).

17 D374so
LincerBxC01f15

Delano, Jack.
      Sonata en la menor, viola y piano / Jack Delano.
      [19--]
      1 score (28 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 31 cm
      Reproduced from holograph. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers, New York City"--Label on cover. Cage c. 1-2: occasional markings in pencil; folder includes a newspaper review of International String Congress concerts from the Aug. 12, 1960 edition of The Island Times.

22.2 D637du K 219
LincerBxC02f01

Dittersdorf, Karl Ditters von, 1739-1799.
      Divertimento / Dittersdorf.
      [19--]
      2 parts ; 34 cm
      Caption title from viola part. Manuscript (photocopy). Occasional markings in pencil.

18 D851po
BxB030f09

Dubensky, Leo.
      Poeme : cello and piano / Leo Dubensky.
      [1958?]
      1 score (5 pages) ; 36 cm + 1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Part is for viola, an arrangement of cello original by composer. Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. At end of score: reproduction of postcard by Pablo Casals dated May 31st 1958 addressed to composer. Viola part carries inscription in blue ink: To William Lincer-with great admiration and considerable expectation! Leo.

15 D959son op.100l Fisch
LincerBxD01f09

Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904.
      Indian lament : G minor = Indianisches lamento : G-moll / Dvořák-Kreisler.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1910.
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Freely arranged by Fritz Kreisler. Caption title. Publisher's number: B.580. Plate number: 13562. Occasional markings in pencil.

15 El32c
LincerBxD01f10

Elgar, Edward, 1857-1934.
      La capricieuse : morceau de genre für Violine und Pianoforte, Op. 17 / Edward Elgar.
      New York ; Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, ©1893.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Publisher's no : Edition Breitkopf no. 3706. Plate number: V A 3706. Occasional pencil markings.

17 En27cs
LincerBxC02f02

Enesco, Georges, 1881-1955.
      Concertstück / Georges Enesco.
      [1939?]
      2 parts ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. "1939." Piano part formatted as score on pages 1-4 with inclusion of viola line; intermittent viola cues elsewhere; lacks final 19 measures. Copious pencil markings on viola part.

15 F191vbd no.1 Fisch
LincerBxD01f11

Falla, Manuel de, 1876-1946.
      Danse espanole : from "La vida breve" / by Manuel de Falla ; transcribed for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1913.
      1 score (13 pages) and part ; 31 cm
      Cover title. Publisher's number: B2048. Plate number: 24075-16. Occasional markings in pencil.

17 F275el Ham
LincerBxC02f03

Fauré, Gabriel, 1845-1924.
      Élégie, op. 24 / Gabriel Fauré ; [transcription pour alto par Rene Pollain].
      Paris : J. Hamelle, [19--?]
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 31 cm
      Score for cello and piano, part arranged for viola. Caption title. Pl. no.: J. 2009 H. (score), J. 5566 H. 2009 (part). Copious pencil markings on part; occasional markings on score in blue pencil; inscription on caption of score and part in manuscript black ink: G. E. Imparato 1912.

20.1 F491wi
LincerBxC02f14

Finckel, Edwin A.
      Variations on Willow weep for me / by E. A. Finckel.
      [198-?]
      1 score (20 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 30 cm
      For flute or violin and piano. Caption title. Based on Willow weep for me by Ann Ronell. Manuscript (photocopy). Cage c. 2: occasional markings in red pencil; part arranged for cello.

22.43 F4944so op.1 no.8
LincerBxC02f04

Finger, Godfrey, approximately 1660-1730.
      Sonata ottava / Gottfried Finger.
      [19--]
      2 parts ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in blue ink. Originally for 3 violins and continuo; incomplete set of parts comprises 1 violin part titled Continuo no. 2, and 1 viola part titled Continuo no. 3. Caption title from violin part.

31 F7745cva Schott
LincerBxC02f05

Forsyth, Cecil, 1870-1941.
      Concerto en sol-mineur pour viola et orchestre ou piano / par Cecil Forsyth ; l'accomp. de piano par John Ireland.
      London : Schott, [1904]
      1 score (128 pages) + parts ; 34 cm
      Orchestral score only. Plate number: 27459.

17 F7745co Schott
LincerBxC02f06

Forsyth, Cecil, 1870-1941.
      Concerto en sol-mineur pour viola et orchestre ou piano / par Cecil Forsyth ; l'accomp. de piano par John Ireland.
      Mainz : B. Schott's Söhne, ©1904
      1 score (35 pages) + 1 part (9 pages) ; 32 cm
      Accompaniment arranged for piano. Plate number: 27459. Copious markings in pencil; signature of Elias I. Lifschey in black ink on cover dated 1936; signature of Otto F. Stahl in black ink on title page.

17 F951ca
BxC019f20

Fuchs, Lillian, 1902-1995.
      Twelve caprices for viola : (1948) / Lillian Fuchs.
      [1948]
      1 score (15 pages) ; 35 cm
      Reproduced from holograph. Contents: Allegro giusto -- Deciso -- Commodo -- Agitato -- Amabile -- Mormoramente -- Giocoso -- Lesto -- Marciale -- Doloroso -- Fuga: Risoluto -- Perpetual mobile.

17 F951fe
BxB030f06

Fuchs, Lillian, 1902-1995.
      Sixteen études for viola (1959) / Lillian Fuchs.
      [1959]
      1 score (22 pages) ; 36 cm
      For viola alone. Dedication at head of title: To L S. Reproduced from holograph. Contents: Preludio -- Venusto -- Piacevole -- Risonante -- Amorevole -- Risentito -- Posato -- Agilmente -- Morbidezza -- Giochevole -- Strepitoso -- Fugato -- Frescamente -- Aria parlante -- Marziale -- Precipitoso.

17 F951sop AMP
BxD006f08

Fuchs, Lillian, 1902-1995.
      Sonata pastorale : for unaccompanied viola / Lillian Fuchs.
      New York : Associated Music, ©1956.
      1 score (7 pages) ; 31 cm
      Caption title. Plate number: AMP-95519-7. Plate number: 1643 W. Inscription in blue ink on t p. verso by composer: For a dear friend, Bill, with gratitude--Lillian Fuchs. Contents: Fantasia -- Pastorale.

17 G284so op.5 no.2
LincerBxD01f13

Geminiani, Francesco, 1687-1762.
      Sonata in re minore, opus 5 [no.] 2 / F. Geminiani ; arr. Knuth.
      [196-?]
      1 part (6 unnumbered leaves) ; 28 cm
      Solo part only, arranged for viola. Caption title. Manuscript (photocopy). Includes photocopy of p. 11-18 from Sechs Sonaten für Violoncello und Basso continuo, Opus V / F.S. Geminiani, originally published: Leipzig : Edition Peters, c1964.

18 G469pe no.2 Fisch
LincerBxC02f07

Glazunov, Aleksandr Konstantinovich, 1865-1936.
      Sérénade espagnole : op. 20. No. 2 / Alexandre Glazounow.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1916
      1 score (9 pages) and 1 part (1 unnumbered leaf) ; 31 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 4274. Series: Modern cello music : selected solos for cello & piano ; ser. 2. For cello or bassoon; accompaniment arranged for piano. Publisher's number: S 4274. Plate number: 19432_8. Includes manuscript solo part transcribed for viola in pencil.

15 G521orbm Fisch
LincerBxD01f14

Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von, 1714-1787
      Mélodie / Gluck-Sgambati ; transcribed by August Wilhelmj ; revised and edited by Gustav Saenger.
      New York : Carl Fischer, 1910.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (1 leaf) ; 30 cm
      Series: Encores for violin and piano. Series II. Ballet excerpt from an opera, originally for solo flute with orchestra, arranged for violin and piano based upon an arrangement for piano by Giovanni Sgambati. Caption title. Plate number: 13379-8. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 G54so no.2
LincerBxC02f08

Godard, Benjamin, 1849-1895.
      Sonata for violin alone / B. Godard ; transcribed to viola.
      [19--]
      1 score (6 pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Title from label on cover. "Posth. violin sonata."

38 G9135so op.2
BxC020f01

Gross, Jerome.
      Song cycle based on four Sonnets from the Portuguese : op. 2 / [words] by Elizabeth Barrett Browning ; music by Jerome Gross.
      ©1957.
      1 score (16 pages) ; 32 cm
      For high voice and piano. English words. Reproduced from holograph. Contents: If thou must love me -- The face of all the world is changed -- Not death, but love -- How do I love thee? Inscription in black ink at foot of t p : To Mary and Bill Lincer molto con amore[,] Jerome Gross Nov. 23, 1957.

16 H1135mo Urbanek
LincerBxC07f03, LincerBxC07f04

Hába, Karel, 1898-1972.
      Moderní houslová technika = Une nouvelle technique de violon = Moderne Violintechnik = The school of modern violintechnic : op. 12 / Karel Hába.
      Prague : Fr A. Urbánek, 1928
      2 v. of music ; 32 cm
      Includes excerpts from the solo part to Hába's Violin concerto, op. 6. Plate number: U 1852--U 1853. Occasional markings in pencil.

17 H1135mo
LincerBxC07f11

Hába, Karel, 1898-1972.
      Intonation studies : op. 12, no. 1[-2] / Karel Hába.
      [19--]
      1 score (40 unnumbered leaves) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Originally for violin, arranged for viola. Caption title.Includes excerpts from the solo part to Hába's Violin concerto, op. 6 arranged for viola.

22.2 H169p Int 1942
LincerBxD01f15

Halvorsen, Johan, 1864-1935.
      Passacaglia : for violin and viola / Handel-Halvorsen.
      New York : International Music Co , [1942]
      1 score (3 pages) + 2 parts ; 31 cm
      Caption title. Based on the Passacaille in Handel's Suite for harpsichord in G minor, 1st coll., no. 7. Plate number: 526. Occasional pencil markings.

22.2 H324p AA Peters
LincerBxD01f16

Haydn, Joseph, 1732-1809.
      Trois duos pour 2 violons, op. 99 / Joseph Haydn ; revus par Hans Sitt.
      Leipzig : C. F. Peters, [192-]
      2 parts ; 31 cm
      First duet with 4 movements arranged from 4th, 2nd and part of 1st movements of string quartet H. III,40 (op. 33 no. 4); 2nd duet with 3 movements arranged from 1st and 2nd movements of string quartet H. III,20 (op. 9 no. 2); 3rd duet "Andante con [4] variazoni" and "Presto" arranged from 1st and 4th movements of string quartet H. III,23 (op. 9 no. 5). Publisher's no : Edition Peters no. 3303.Plate number: 9741. Occasional markings in pencil.

15 H861p op.30 no.5
LincerBxD01f17

Hubay, Jenő, 1858-1937.
      Zephyr : op. 30, no. 5 / Jenő Hubay.
      New York : Carl Fischer, 1902.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 36 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 3500. For violin and piano. Includes the poem Zefir by Géza Zichy printed on caption in German and Hungarian. Plate number: 7256-8. Caption title. Occasional markings in pencil.

22.42 H8725pp
LincerBxB01f01

Huffman, Walter Spencer, 1921-2005.
      Piano quartet in G / W. S. Huffman.
      [1955?]
      1 score (33 pages) ; 38 cm + 3 parts ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript. Occasional markings in pencil; inscription in manuscript black ink on p. [1] verso: July 55

22.4 H8725ps no.9
LincerBxB01f05

Huffman, Walter Spencer, 1921-2005.
      String quartet IX / Huffman, W. S.
      [19--]
      1 score (9 pages) ; 44 cm + 4 parts ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

22.52 H8725rp
LincerBxB01f02

Huffman, Walter Spencer, 1921-2005.
      Quintet for piano & string quartet / W. S. Huffman.
      [1956?]
      1 score (56 pages) ; 38 cm + 4 parts ; 35 cm
      Caption title. "July-56 ." Reproduced from manuscript. Occasional markings in pencil; inscription in manuscript black ink on caption: Commissioned by Kindler Foundation.

17 H8725so no.2
LincerBxB01f04

Huffman, Walter Spencer, 1921-2005.
      Sonata for viola #2 / Huffman.
      [19--]
      1 score (8 pages) ; 44 cm + 1 part (4 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. "To Wm. Lincer. " Reproduced from manuscript.

22.32 H8725tp no.1
LincerBxB01f06

Huffman, Walter Spencer, 1921-2005.
      Trio #1 / W. S. Huffman.
      [19--]
      1 score (15 pages) ; 44 cm + 2 parts ; 39 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

31 H884p EMT
LincerBxB01f08

Hummel, Johann Nepomuk, 1778-1837.
      Fantaisie pour alto et orchestre à cordes / J. N. Hummel ; reconstitution par Fernand Oubradous.
      Paris : Éditions Transatlantiques, ©1971
      1 score (29 pages) + 7 parts
      For viola, 2 clarinets in C, and string orchestra. Based on the aria Il mio tesoro from Don Giovanni by Mozart. Plate number: E.M.T.1.157. Photocopy. [Place of reproduction not identified : agency responsible for reproduction not identified, 19--]. 1 score (29 leaves) + 7 parts ; 36 cm Lacks solo viola part. Score includes occasional markings in pencil.

31 H95po
BxB029f06

Husa, Karel, 1921-
      Poem : for viola and chamber orchestra / Karel Husa.
      ©1959.
      1 score (33 pages) + 1 part (9 pages) ; 35 cm
      At end: Ithaca, summer 1959. Reproduced from holograph. Duration: 13:00. Includes viola solo part. Contents: Improvisando -- Misterioso -- Dolce.

17 J152pe
BxB030f05

Jacobi, Frederick, 1891-1952.
      Penelope / Frederick Jacobi.
      [19--]
      1 score (2 unnumbered pages) + 2 parts (1 unnumbered leaf each) ; 35 cm
      For viola and piano; originally for wordless voice and piano. Includes optional violin part. Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers[,] New York City"--from sticker on cover. Library copy includes typed leaf (18 x 16 cm), probably meant for William Lincer, suggesting work for performance, with composer's initials in black ink as signature.

16 J1555vi Hinric
LincerBxD01f18

Jacobsen, Maxim.
      40 Minuten : eine Zusammenstellung der wichtigsten tecnischen Übungen = a short summary of the most important principles of violin technique / von Maxim Jacobsen.
      London : Hinrichsen ; New York : C. F. Peters, sole agents, ©1957.
      1 score (11 pages) ; 31 cm
      Violin studies and exercises. Text in English and German. Publisher's no : Hinrichsen Edition No. 214. Occastional markings in pencil.

17 J1555vi AA
LincerBxC05f04

Jacobsen, Maxim.
      Exercises / Jacobson [sic].
      [1957?]
      1 score (12 pages) ; 33 cm
      Selected studies arranged for viola from the collection of violin exercises by M. Jacobsen titled 40 Minuten originally published: London : Hinrichsen, c1957. Title from label on cover in manuscript black ink. Reproduced from manuscript. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers, New York City"--Label on cover. Cage c. 2: occasional markings in pencil.

MT200 K28d
LincerBxD03f03, LincerBxD03f04

Kella, John Jake.
       The development and qualitative evaluation of a comprehensive music curriculum for viola : with an historical survey of violin and viola instructional literature from the 16th through 20th centuries, including a review of the teaching concepts of William Lincer / John Jake Kella.
       1983.
       3 volumes (xix, 644 leaves) : illustrations, music, portraits ; 29 cm
       Thesis (Ph. D.)--New York University, 1983. Typescript (photocopy). Bibliography: leaves 597-644. William Lincer Music Collection lacks volume 2. Contents: Part I. Historical perspectives -- Part III. Biographical perspective : William Lincer, professor of viola.

17 K6785fa
LincerBxB01f03

Klenner, John, 1899-1955.
      Fantastia for viola and orchestra / John Klenner.
      [19--]
      1 score (32 pages) + 1 part (9 pages) ; 37 cm
      Accompaniment arranged for piano. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

15 K876ca Fisch
LincerBxD01f19

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Caprice viennois : op. 2 / Fritz Kreisler.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1910.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Compositions for violin and piano / Fritz Kreisler. For violin and piano. Caption title. Publisher's number: B.586. Plate number: 29033. Copious pencil markings on part.

15 K876ch Fisch
LincerBxD01f20

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      La chasse : (Caprice) / Fritz Kreisler ; [in the style of] Jean-Baptiste Cartier.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1911.
      1 score (4 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      For violin and piano. Caption title. Plate number: 29504. Occasional pencil markings on part.

15 K876mi Fisch
LincerBxD02f05

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Menuett / Porpora-Kreisler.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1910.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Classical manuscripts : violin and piano / Fritz Kreisler. Caption title. Falsely ascribed to Nicola Porpora. Publisher's number: B 547. Plate number: 29021. Occasional pencil markings on violin part.

17 K876p
LincerBxC06f11

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Praeludium & allegro / G. Pugnani-Kreisler ; transcribed for viola and piano.
      [19--]
      1 score (10 unnumbered leaves) + 1 part (3] leasves) ; 28 cm
      Caption title. Manuscript (photocopy).

15 K876p facsim.
LincerBxC06f12

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Praeludium und allegro / G. Pugnani-Kreisler ; arr. R. Spencer.
      [19--]
      1 score (7 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Caption title. Name of arranger inscribed on caption in manuscript blue ink. Piano accompaniment modified from original and transposed to A minor; violin untransposed. Score assembled from published violin part cut and pasted to manuscript of piano accompaniment, then photocopied.

17 K876re
LincerBxD01f21

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Recitativo and scherzo-caprice / Fritz Kreisler ; transcribed for viola by Alan H. Arnold.
      [19--]
      [6 unnumbered pages of music ; 34 cm
      Originally for violin. Caption title. Manuscript (photocopy).

17 K876ro
LincerBxC08f05

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Rondino (on a theme of Beethoven) / Fritz Kreisler ; transposed by Alan Gordon
      [19--]
      1 score (8 leaves) ; 28 cm
      Originally for violin and piano; arranged for viola and piano. Caption title. Based on Beethoven's Rondo in G for violin and piano. Cf. Kinsky, Beethoven-Verzeichnis, WoO 41. Manuscript (photocopy).

15 K876si Fisch
LincerBxD01f12

Kreisler, Fritz, 1875-1962.
      Sicilienne and rigaudon / François Francoeur.
      Boston : Carl Fischer, ©1910.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 35 cm
      Composed by F. Kreisler in the style of François Francoeur. Publisher's no.: B. 550. Plate number: 29024. Copious markings in pencil on part.

17 L158c Bote
LincerBxC02f09

Lalo, Edouard, 1823-1892.
      Concerto en ré / E. Lalo ; transcription pour alto d'après la partition d'orchestre par Henri Casadesus.
      Berlin : Ed. Bote & G. Bock, [19--]
      1 score (35 pages) + 1 part (13 pages) ; 34 cm
      Score for cello and piano; part for viola. Title from caption of part. Plate number: 11623 (score); 15179 (part). Copious markings in pencil on part.

15 L496so op.3 Senart
LincerBxC03f10

Leclair, Jean Marie, 1697-1764.
      6 sonates à 2 violons sans basse / J B. Leclair l'aîné ; recueillies par Marc Pincherle.
      Paris : M. Senart, ©1924.
      4 parts in 2 v. ; 35 cm
      Series: Édition nationale ; 5388, 5395. Contents: v. 1. G major ; A major ; C major -- v. 2. F major ; E minor ; D major. Preface in French. Library has v. 1 only; occasional pencil markings on parts.

17 L5662es no.7 ARomero
LincerBxC05f03

Lestán, Tomás, 1827-1908.
      7° egercicio para viola (en la ♭ mayor) : en forma de gran solo con accompañamiento de piano / por T. Lestán.
      Madrid : Antonio Romero, [19--?]
      1 score (12 pages) ; 33 cm
      For viola and piano. Caption title. From the set of studies by T. Lestán titled Estudio de la viola : siete ejercicios difíciles. Inscription on page 1 in manuscript black ink to G. Imperato [sic] dated Dec. 21, 1916.

17 L5662es no.5
LincerBxC02f10

Lestán, Tomás, 1827-1908.
      Estudio de la viola : siete ejercicios difíciles. No. 5, En si mayor / compuestos por Tomás Lestán.
      Madrid : Antonio Romero, [19--?]
      1 score (6 pages) ; 33 cm
      For viola and figured bass; figured bass not realized. Plate number: A R. 2860. Signature on title page in manuscript black ink by Giovanni E. Imparato, Habana, Cuba, dated 1916; inscription on page 1 in manuscript black ink to G. Imperato [sic] dated Dec. 21, 1916

17 L5662es no.6 ARomero
LincerBxC02f11

Lestán, Tomás, 1827-1908.
      Estudio de la viola : siete ejercicios difíciles. No. 6, En sol mayor, en forma de gran solo con accompañamiento de piano / compuestos por Tomás Lestán.
      Madrid : Antonio Romero, [19--?]
      1 score (12 pages) ; 33 cm
      For viola and piano. Plate number: A.R. 2861. Signature on title page in manuscript black ink by Giovanni E. Imparato, Habana, Cuba, dated 1916; inscription on page 1 in manuscript black ink to G. Imperato [sic] dated Dec. 21, 1916

39 L634gi hologr.
BxC020f07

Lincer, William.
      Give up your girdle for the U S A. / words by Hoffman Hayes ; music by William Lincer.
      [194-?]
      1 score (4 leaves) ; 35 cm
      Holograph, signed. Song for low voice and piano. English words. Caption title.

38 L634so AA m
LincerBxC06f02

Lincer, William.
      War songs / [music by William Lincer ; words by H. R. Hays].
      [194-?]
      1 score (23 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm + texts (58 unnumbered leaves ; 28 cm)
      Holograph in pencil, black ink, and typescript. Comprises songs (primarily for medium voice with piano), song lyrics printed as text, and radio play scripts, mostly from the era of the second World War. Title from pencil inscription on envelope. Contents: Get a horse (song and radio play script) -- Give up your girdle for the U S A. (lyrics only, printed as text) -- I gotta know (lyrics only, printed as text) -- For freedom, let's go! (song) ; Men working : an American hymn (radio play script) -- Verses for I've discovered lilacs (lyrics only, printed as text) -- I've invented spring (lyrics only, printed as text) -- The lady in the harbor (lyrics only, printed as text) -- The answer (song) ; Men working : an American hymn (radio play script) -- Millions for defense (radio play script) -- Send for Doctor Love (song with lyrics also printed as text) -- Trial of Peter Zenger (radio play script) -- We part friends (lyrics only, printed as text) -- A ballad by the late Lord Dorset when at sea (song) ; The Whig's exaltation (song) / Thomas D'Urfey -- A song made on the election of new magistrates for this city (song). Script to Millions for defense dated March 17, 1942. Includes 2 unaccompanied songs for high voice by Thomas D'Urfey without words, and A song made on the election of new magistrates for this city, arranged for 2 part chorus with bass accompaniment. Includes [9] p. of untitled manuscript music.

17 L8813cac Ric
LincerBxC01f10

López Buchardo, Carlos, 1881-1948.
      Canción del carretero ; Campera / Carlos López Buchardo ; para viola y piano ; transcripción por Bruno Bandini.
      Buenos Aires ; New York : Ricordi, 1928.
      1 score (11 pages) + 1 part (5 pages) ; 31 cm
      First work originally for voice and piano, 2nd work originally for orchestra; both arranged for viola and piano. Plate number: B.A.6216. Inscription in manuscript black ink on title page of score and caption of part by arranger to Isidoro Schweitzer dated 1929.

17 M2895co
LincerBxC06f01

Makris, Andreas, 1930-2005.
      Viola concerto, 1970 / Andreas Makris.
      [1970?]
      1 part (12 pages) ; 32 cm
      Solo viola part. Reproduced from manuscript. Markings in manuscript blue ink on p. 12 verso. Includes autograph letter from composer to William Lincer dated Sept. 17, 1970 (1 unnumbered leaf ; 23 cm), and photocopy of concert reviews of 1st performance. Includes sound tape reel (analog, 7 1/2 ips, full track mono ; 7 in ) of 1st performance recorded Mar. 28, 1970. Salvatore Vinetelli, viola ; St. Paul Chamber Orchestra ; L. Sipe, conductor.

17 M331so op.1 no.2 Schott
LincerBxC02f12

Marcello, Benedetto, 1686-1739.
      Sonate e moll = mi mineur / B. Marcello ; [bearbeitet von Carl Schroeder] ; für Viola und Klavier bearbeitet von G. Marchet.
      Mainz : B. Schott's Söhne, [19-?]
      1 score (7 pages) and 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Score for cello and piano; part arranged for viola. Publisher's number: Edition Schott no. 961. Plate number: A 330. Copious pencil markings on part.

17 M521so Dur
LincerBxC02f13

Menasce, Jacques de, 1905-1960.
      Sonate pour alto et piano : en un mouvement / Jacques de Menasce.
      Paris : Durand ; Philadelphia : Elkan-Vogel, ©1956
      1 score (17 pages) + 1 part (6 pages) ; 32 cm
      Plate number: D. & F. 13 784. Inscription on cover verso in manuscript black ink by composer to William Lincer dated Oct. 1956.

22.2 M877d K.423-424 1943
LincerBxD02f01

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Duets for violin and viola / Mozart ; [edited by] F. Hermann.
      New York : International Music Co., c1943.
      2 parts ; 31 cm
      Contents: K. 423, G major -- K. 424, B♭ major. Plate number: 604. Occasional pencil markings on viola part.

25.2 M877dgm
LincerBxC06f09

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Minuet : (from Don Giovanni) / W. A. Mozart ; arr. by Paul Herfurth.
      [19--]
      1 score (1 unnumbered leaf) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Opera excerpt originally for offstage ensemble arranged for unspecified instrument with keyboard accompaniment. Caption title.

22.3 M877f K 404a no.1-3
LincerBxD01f02

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Four preludes and fugues : for violin, viola, and cello / Bach-Mozart ; [edited by] (Pasquier Trio).
      New York : International Music, ©1950.
      3 parts ; 31 cm
      Title from cello part. The fugue transcriptions are preceded by originally composed Adagios. Includes K. 404a no. 1, 6, 3, and 2; fugues no. 1-3 are from J. S. Bach's Das wohltemperierte Clavier (T. 1, no. 8, and T. 2, no. 13-14), no. 6 is from W. F. Bach's Fugue no. 8 (F. 31). Plate number 1217. Pencil markings on parts.

31 M877si Anh 104 manuscript
LincerBxC08f02

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Sinfonia concertante / W. A. Mozart.
      [1953?]
      12 parts ; 35 cm
      Manuscript in black ink on vellum. Caption title from solo violin part. Left incomplete by composer and completed by Otto Bach. Cf. Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York concert program, October 23, 1955.

31 M877si Anh 104
LincerBxC08f01

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Sinfonia concertante : Tripel-Concert für Violine, Viola, Violoncello mit Orchester (Vioilne 1 2, Viola, Violoncello, Bass, 2 Oboen, 2 Hörnen) / von W. A. Mozart.
      [1953?]
      8 parts ; 26 cm
      Caption title from solo violin part. Composition left incomplete by composer. String parts only; lacks oboe and horn parts. Photo-reproduction of manuscript from the library of the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg. Includes mulitple copies of orchestral string parts, and multiple copies of the title page from the orchestral score originally published: Wien : C A. Spina, [187-?]. Housed in box with William Lincer's pencil markings inside cover

17 M877so AA CFS
LincerBxC03f01

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Zwölf Duette für 2 Bratschen (viola's), op. 70. Heft I (No. 1-3) / W A. Mozart ; übertragen von Louis Pagels.
      Heilbronn a/N. : C F. Schmidt, [192-?]
      2 parts ; 36 cm
      Caption title. Plate number: C.F.S.1238. Occasional markings in pencil.

17 M9315pa
LincerBxC03f02

Muradian, Vazgen.
      Partita per viola e pianoforte, opus 10 / Vazgen Muradian.
      [19--]
      1 score (23 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 32 cm
      Caption title. "Ashoon." Reproduced from manuscript. Contents: Tesil -- Khoh -- Katak -- Hoosh.

18 N358to
LincerBxC03f02

Nero, Paul, 1917-
      The Town Hall blues / Paul Nero.
      ©1946.
      1 score (1 folded leaf (4 unnumbered pages)) ; 28 x 87 cm , folded to 28 x 22 cm + 1 part (1 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      For cello and piano. Caption title. "To 'Bernie' Greenhouse"--Caption. Reproduced from holograph. At bottom of p. [1]: Copyright 1946 by Carl Fischer Inc. Includes pencil part for viola arranged from the original cello part.

17 N856p Stokowski
LincerBxC07f09

Nováček, Ottokar, 1866-1900.
      Perpetuum mobile / Nováček-Stokowski.
      [19--]
      [2 unnumbered leaves of music ; 35 cm
      Solo part only, arranged for viola. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

31 N856p
LincerBxC06f13, LincerBxB02f05

Nováček, Ottokar, 1866-1900.
      Perpetuum mobile / O. Nováček.
      [19--]
      1 score (24 leaves) + 14 parts ; 34 cm
      Manuscript in black ink on vellum. Solo part arranged for viola. Caption title. Cage c. 2: ozalid reproduction of score and parts; includes 4 copies of solo viola part and 45 orchestral parts.

17 Ou4sh
LincerBxC06f03

Ouglitzky, Paul, 1892-
      Shepherd's dream : on a theme of Th. Akimenko (Aug. 1940) : for viola or English horn with piano acc. / by Paul Pecheniha Ouglitzky.
      [1940?]
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 part (2 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscrpt. Score and viola part bound together

17 Ou4tu
LincerBxC06f04

Ouglitzky, Paul, 1892-
      Turkish dance : viola solo with piano accomp. / by Paul Pecheniha Ouglitzky.
      [19--]
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

17 P141ca op.1 no.13
LincerBxC03f05

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Caprice XIII / Paganini-Kreisler.
      [19--]
      1 score (3 unnumbered pages) + 2 parts ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink.Originally for violin solo, arranged for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler, and adapted for viola and piano.Caption title.Includes 2 solo parts, 1 marked D C. al fine at end, the other with da capo repetition written out.Occasional paste-overs in manuscript black ink.

17 P141ca op.1 no.20
LincerBxC03f17

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Caprice XX / Paganini-Kreisler.
      [19--]
      1 score (5 unnumbered pages) + 1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink.Originally for violin solo, arranged for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler, and adapted for viola and piano.Occasional paste-overs in manuscript black ink and markings in pencil.

17 P141ca op.1 no.24 manuscript
LincerBxC03f18

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Caprice XXIV / Paganini-Kreisler.
      [19--]
      1 score (11 pages) + 1 part (8 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink.Originally for violin solo, arranged for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler, and adapted for viola and piano.Occasional paste-overs in manuscript black ink and markings in pencil.

17 P141ca op.1 no.24
LincerBxC06f05

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      XXIV / Paganini.
      [19--]
      1 score (3 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in pencil. Arranged for unidentified instrument (possibly viola) with piano accompaniment. Incomplete; comprises theme, variations 1-3, and beginning of variation 4.

17 P141ca op.1 no.9 OUP
LincerBxC03f04

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Caprice no. 9 / Paganini ; arr. by Sydney Shimmin ; the viola part edited by Bernard Shore.
      London : Oxford University Press, ©1949.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (1 unnumbered leaf) ; 31 cm
      Caption title. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 P141ca op.1 Cranz
LincerBxC03f03

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      24 Caprices pour violon, op. 1 / Nicolò Paganini ; transcrits pour alto par Leon Raby, op. 72.
      Leipzig : Cranz, [19-?]
      1 score (51 pages) ; 32 cm
      Arranged for viola. Includes thematic index. Technical notes in French, German and English. Publisher's number: Edition Cranz no. 729. Plate number: C. 45966. Copious markings in black and red pencil. Inscription on list t p. in manuscript blue ink: Giovanni Imparato 1929.

17 P141mo op.11 OUP
LincerBxC03f08

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Moto perpetuo (concert-allegro) : opus 11 / Paganini ; arranged for viola and piano by Watson Forbes.
      London ; New York : Oxford University Press, ©1952.
      1 score (8 pages) + 1 part (4 pages) ; 35 cm
      Originally for violin and orchestra. Title from part.Performance notes in viola part. Duration: 4:00. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 P141mo op.11
LincerBxC03f07

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Moto perpetuo / by Paganini ; (transposed for viola).
      1920.
      1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 33 cm
      Manuscript in black ink.Originally for violin and string orchestra; solo part for viola only.At end: H. Boswig, 1920.

15 P141sop
LincerBxC03f06

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Moses variations on the G string / Paganini.
      [19--]
      1 score (13 pages) ; 33 cm
      Solo instrument not specified, playable on violin or viola; accompaniment originally for orchestra, arranged for piano.Title from inscription in manuscript black ink on preliminary page.Reproduced from manuscript. Occasional markings in pencil

17 P141so M.S.70
LincerBxC08f04

Paganini, Nicolò, 1782-1840.
      Sonata per la grand' viola ed orchestra / di Niccoló Paganini ; (edited by Richard Fleischman).
      [19--]
      1 part (8 unnumbered leaves) ; 28 cm
      Solo viola part only. Manuscript (photocopy).

15 P3335li WHPaling
LincerBxC03f09

Pechotsch, Raimund.
      Liebeslied = (Love song) : for violin and piano / by Raimund Pechotsch.
      Sydney : W H. Paling & Co , ©1915.
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 part (page 7) ; 31 cm
      Series: Selected gems for violin and piano / arranged by August Ambros ; no. 62. For violin and piano. Title from cover of violin part. Plate number: W.H.P. & Co. Ltd. 1300. Occasional pencil markings on part.

31 P678cva AMP
BxB029f03

Piston, Walter, 1894-1976.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra / Walter Piston.
      New York : Associated Music Publishers, [1957?]
      1 score (88 pages) ; 46 cm
      Title on cover stamp: Viola concerto. Reproduced from holograph. Library copy includes Puerto Rico government resolution honoring the International String Congress as guests of the municipality in summer 1960 (1 leaf ; 31 cm); also included is a billboard for a 1968 concert by the touring New York Philharmonic at the Teatro alla Scala, Milan (1 leaf ; 28 x 38 cm).

18 P817spv Fisch
LincerBxD02f04

Popper, David, 1843-1913.
      Vito : from Spanish Dances, op. 54, No. 5 / David Popper.
      New York : Carl Fischer, 1908.
      1 score (10 pages) + 1 part {5 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 4266. Series: Selected solos for cello & piano, Series V. Caption title. Publisher's number: 4266. Plate number: 11333-14. Extensive paste-overs in manuscript black ink on cello part.

31 P835cva
BxB030f02

Porter, Quincy, 1897-1966.
      Concerto for viola / by Quincy Porter.
      ©1948.
      1 score (51 pages) ; 38 cm
      Caption title. At end: April 16, 1948 New Haven. Reproduced from holograph.

17 P889mo
BxD006f09

Pratt, Samuel.
      Monologue : for unaccompanied viola / by Samuel Pratt.
      [1952]
      1 score (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      At end: January 7, 1952. Reproduced from holograph.

17 R180so op.7 no.1 Breit
LincerBxD02f06

Raphael, Günter, 1903-1960.
      Sonate für Bratsche allein, Op. 7, Nr. 1 / Günter Raphael.
      Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, ©1925.
      1 score (15 pages) ; 31 cm
      Contents: Praeludium -- Fuga -- Gavotte -- Andante mit Variationen -- Menuett -- Gigue. Publisher's number: Edition Breitkopf Nr. 5304. Plate number: 9219. Occasional markings in pencil.

17 R196pa Demets
LincerBxC03f11

Ravel, Maurice, 1875-1937.
      Pavane pour une infante défunte / M. Ravel ; transcrite pour flûte ou violon et piano par Louis Fleury ; [transcrite pour alto et piano par G. Drouet]
      Paris : E. Demets, ©1909.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 35 cm
      Series: Oeuvres de Maurice Ravel pour piano. Originally for piano; score arranged for flute or violin and piano; part arranged for viola. Caption title. Plate number: E. 1463 D. Copious pencil markings on part; inscription on score and part in manuscript black ink: Giovanni E. Imparato.

15 R263du op.131b Sim
LincerBxC03f12

Reger, Max, 1873-1916.
      Drei duos : Canons u. Fugen im alten Stil für zwei Violinen : opus 131b / Max Reger.
      Berlin : Simrock ; Leipzig : C F. Peters, ©1914.
      1 score (3 v ) ; 35 cm
      Contents: No. 1. E moll (E minor) -- No. 2. D moll (D minor) -- No. 3. A dur (A major). Publisher's number: 3969. Plate number: 13593--13594. Plate number: 10674. Vol. 1 only; includes copious markings in black and red pencil.

15 R263du op.131b no.1
LincerBxC03f13

Reger, Max, 1873-1916.
      Drei Duos : Canons u. Fugen im alten Styl für zwei Violinen. No. 1, E moll / Max Reger.
      [19--]
      1 part (4 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. First violin part. Occasional markings in black and red pencil.

15 R469sha Fisch
LincerBxD02f07

Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay, 1844-1908.
      Chanson arabe / Rimsky-Korsakoff ; transcribed by Fritz Kreisler.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1922.
      1 score (9 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      List title: Two sketches from Scheherazade. No. 2, Chanson arabe. Series: Transcriptions for violin and piano / Fritz Kreisler. Caption title. Publisher's number: B.1802. Plate number: 022541-10. Copious pencil markings on violin part.

17 R526con Sal
LincerBxC03f21

Rivier, Jean, 1896-1987.
      Concertino pour alto et orchestre / Jean Rivier ; réduction pour alto et piano.
      Paris : Editions Salabert, ©1947.
      1 score (23 pages) + 1 part (8 pages) ; 34 cm
      Cover title. Duration: 14:30. Plate number: E.M.S. 8843.

31 R647co op.3 parts
LincerBxB01f07

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra / Alessandro Rolla.
      [New York] : New York Public Library, ©1942
      15 parts ; 34 cm
      Solo and chamber orchestra parts. Caption title from solo part. Reproduced from manuscript. Plate number: NN 65. Occasional pencil markings on solo part.

17 R647co op.3
LincerBxC06f06

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra / Alessandro Rolla ; piano reduction of the score by Karl Weigl ; edited by Sydney Beck.
      [New York] : New York Public Library, ©1942
      1 score (35 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript. Plate number: NN66.

15 R647du BI 200 Ric
LincerBxC03f15

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      Tre gran duetti per due violini. N. 3 / composti da Alessandro Rolla.
      Milano : Ricordi, [19--?]
      2 parts ; 34 cm
      Cover title. Plate number: 86729. Inscription on cover in manuscript black ink dated Aug. 1922.

15 R647du AA Ric
LincerBxC03f14

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      Tre duetti facili per due violini / da Aless. Rolla.
      Milano : Ricordi, [19--?]
      2 parts ; 34 cm
      Contents: Duetto no. 1 in A major, BI. 211 -- Duetto no. 2 in F major, BI. 181 -- Duetto no. 3 in E♭ major, BI. 154. Plate number: 86730. Inscription in manuscript black ink on title page dated Aug. 1922.

22.2 R647so BI 66
LincerBxB02f02

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      Sonata / Alessandro Rolla ; edited by William Lincer & Elinor Horvath.
      [19--]
      1 score (19 leaves) ; 43 cm
      Caption title. Manuscript (photocopy). Score assembled from printed viola part cut and pasted to manuscript violin part and photocopied.

17 R647so BI.66
LincerBxD02f20

Rolla, Alessandro, 1757-1841.
      [Sonata, violin, viola, BI. 66, E♭ major / Alessandro Rolla ; arranged for viola and piano.]
      [19--]
      1 score (29 pages) ; 29 cm
      Title supplied by cataloger. Manuscript (negative photocopy).

15 Sa28h Fisch
LincerBxD02f09

Saint-Saëns, Camille, 1835-1921.
      Havanaise : op. 83 / Camille Saint-Saëns ; [edited by Theodore Spiering].
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1916.
      1 score (15 pages) and 1 part (7 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 3518. Series: Modern concert solos for violin with piano, Series IV. Accompaniment arranged for piano. Publisher's number: S 3518. Plate number: 16800-20. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 Sa593ma
LincerBxC03f16

Santórsola, Guido, 1904-1994.
      Estudio Mangangá : viola sola / Guido Santórsola.
      [1953?]
      1 score (8 pages) ; 36 cm
      Caption title. "1953." Holograph, signed (photocopy). Composer's signature at foot of each page.

15 Sa71da op.21 no.2 Schirm
LincerBxD02f10

Sarasate, Pablo de, 1844-1908.
      Spanish dances. Habanera, op. 21, no. 2 / Pablo de Sarasate ; edited and fingered by Ariberto di Butera.
      New York : G. Schirmer, ©1921.
      1 score (11 pages) + 1 part (4 pages) ; 32 cm
      Series: Brilliant pieces with scale, arpeggio and passage work for violin and piano. Caption title. Plate number: 30256. Occasional markings in pencil. Signature dated 1926 in manuscript blue ink on list title page and caption of part.

15 Sa71da op.22 no.1 Fisch
LincerBxD02f11

Sarasate, Pablo de, 1844-1908.
      Spanish dances, op. 22. III, Romanza andaluza / Pablo de Sarasate.
      New York : Carl Fischer, 1903.
      1 score (8 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Superior ed. ; 3795. Series: Masterpieces for violin and piano, Series VII. Caption title. Publisher's number: S 3795. Plate number: 7440-22. Copious pencil markings on part.

16 Sa88gr Forb
LincerBxC03f22

Sauret, Émile, 1852-1920.
      Gradus ad Parnassum du violoniste = Lehrgang für das virtuose Violinspiel, op. 36 / par Émile Sauret.
      Leipzig : R. Forberg, 1902.
      4 v. of music ; 34 cm
      Cover title. v. 4. Seize caprices = Sechzehn capricen = 16 caprices. Library has v. 4 only; occasional markings in pencil.

MT131 K876 Sch245vi 1989
LincerBxD03f02

Scheidemantle, Cheryl Range.
       The violin works of Fritz Kreisler : an analysis and performance guide / Cheryl L. Range.
       1989.
       83 leaves : illustrations, charts, music ; 28 cm
       Proposal for a doctoral dissertation that was completed in 1999 (Ph. D. New York University). Computer printout (photocopy). Bibliography: leaves 31-34. Contents: Problem statement -- Sub-problems -- Definitions -- Delimitations -- Significance of the study -- Review of related literature -- Introduction to the method - Methodology -- Preliminary bibliiography. Appendix A, Letter of William Lincer ; Appendix B, Matrix for selection process ; Appendix C, Liebesfreud ; Appendix D, Ferrara method ; Appendix E, LaRue method ; Appendix F, Performance guide ; Appendix G, Curriculum vitae.

17 Sch63co
LincerBxC04f01

Schoenberg, Arnold, 1874-1951.
      Concerto for violoncello : after the Concerto for clavicembalo composed in 1746 by Georg Matthias Monn (1717-1750) / Arnold Schoenberg ; transcribed and edited for viola by William Lincer.
      [19--]
      1 part (11 pages) ; 33 cm
      Manuscript in black ink on vellum. Solo viola part. Caption title.Includes ozalid copy.

31 Sch63ve AMP
LincerBxC07f01

Schoenberg, Arnold, 1874-1951.
      Verklärte Nacht = Transfigured night : revised 1943 / Arnold Schoenberg ; arrangement by the composer for string orchestra.
      New York : Associated Music Publishers, ©1943.
      1 score (36 pages) ; 31 cm
      Originally for string sextet. "Verklärte Nacht, by Richard Dehmel" with English paraphrase by Henry Krehbiel: p. [2]. Duration: ca. 27:00. Pl. no.: AMP-96410-34. Copious markings in pencil.

17 Sch96su
BxB030f10

Schwartz, Elliott, 1936-
      Suite for viola and piano / Elliott Schwartz.
      [1963]
      1 score (10 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 37 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. Duration: ca. 8:30-9:00. Includes typed letter (1 leaf ; 22 cm), signed, from composer to Wm. Lincer dated Sept. 28, 1963.

17 Se67cva
BxC020f08

Serly, Tibor.
      Concerto for viola and orchestra / by Tibor Serly.
      [192-?]
      1 part (13 p , 1 unnumbered leaf) ; 35 cm
      Solo viola part only; includes leaf containing cadenza to be inserted in first movement. Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. Includes performance annotations in green ink throughout, and April 1941 in pencil at end.

17 Se67da
BxC020f05

Serly, Tibor.
      David of the white rock : viola solo / Tibor Serly.
      New York : Sprague-Coleman, [19--]
      1 unnumbered leaf of music ; 33 cm
      Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. Imprint from stamp on bottom of leaf.

17 Se67rh
BxB030f03

Serly, Tibor.
      Rhapsody for viola and orchestra / Tibor Serly.
      [1946]
      1 score (11 pages) + 1 part (6 pages) ; 36 cm
      Acc. arr. for piano. Title from caption of viola part. At end: Dec 30th-1946. Based on folk songs harmonized by Béla Bartók. Cf. edition published: New York : Southern Music, [1950]. Reproduced from holograph. Includes annotation in pencil at foot of first page: for W'm. Lincer.

16 Se82sc Bosw
LincerBxC07f06

Ševčík, O (Otakar), 1852-1934.
      The Ševčik scale and arpeggio book for violin : a preparation for all examinations / compiled from Ševčik's different works and completed.
      London : Bosworth & Co. ; U S A. : Belwin, sole selling agents, ©1911
      1 score (71 pages) ; 31 cm
      Technical notes in English. Plate number: B. & Co. 13772 15082. Occasional markings in pencil; includes autograph (photocopy) insert titled The complete performer, listing 13 ideal attributes of a musician.

17 Sh92ca C26co
LincerBxC04f02

Shulman, Alan.
      Cadenza for the 3rd movement, B mi. concerto for viola (Handel) / Alan Schulman.
      [19--]
      1 score (2 pages) ; 35 cm
      For a concerto erroneously attributed to G. F. Handel probably composed by H. G. Casadesus. Caption title. Reproduced from manuscript.

17 Sh92th facsim.
BxC020f04

Shulman, Alan.
      Theme and variations for viola and piano / Alan Shulman.
      [194-?]
      1 score (15 pages) + 1 part (5 pages) ; 34 cm
      Reproduced from holograph.

17 Si12kuv Breit
LincerBxD02f13

Sibelius, Jean, 1865-1957.
      Valse triste : aus der Musik zu Arvid Järnefelts Drama, Kuolema : op. 44 / Jean Sibelius ; für Pianoforte und Viola von Friedrich Hermann.
      Berlin : Breitkopf & Härtel, ©1907.
      1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Originally for chamber orchestra; arr. for viola and piano. Program notes in German, English and French. Publisher's number: Edition Breitkopf Nr. 2284. Plate number: V.A.2284. Occasionalmarkings in pencil.

17 Sm54so op.72
BxC019f21

Smith, David Stanley, 1877-1949.
      Sonata for viola and pianoforte, op. 72 / by David Stanley Smith.
      [1934?]
      1 score (23 pages) + 1 part (8 unnumbered pages) ; 35 cm
      At end of score: Yelping Hill Sept. 14, 1934. Reproduced from holograph.

17 St23co Breit 1932
LincerBxD02f14

Stamitz, Karl, 1745-1801.
      Konzert in D dur für Viola und Klavier, op. 1 / Karl Stamitz ; bearbeitet von Paul Klengel.
      Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, ©1932.
      1 score (24 pages) + 1 part (10 pages) ; 30 cm
      Series: Hohe Schule des Violaspiels ; Nr. 22. Accompaniment arranged for piano. Publisher's number: Edition Breitkopf Nr. 5580. Plate number: 30469. Occasional pencil markings on part.

17 St28cva
BxB029f04

Starer, Robert.
      Concerto for viola, strings and percussion / Robert Starer ; piano reduction.
      [1958?]
      1 score (46 pages) ; 36 cm + 1 part (18 pages) ; 35 cm
      Accompaniment arranged for piano. "1958"--Caption. Reproduced from holograph. Duration: ca. 21:00. Includes 2nd copy of viola part (36 cm) which contains performance annotations in pencil.

LincerBxB02f04

Stockhausen, Karlheinz, 1928-2007.
      Hymnen, Werk 22 2/3
      Vienna : Universal Edition, c1970.
      1 unnumbered leaf of music ; 42 cm + performance instructions (3, 3 p. ; 32 cm)
      Detached from the orchestral viola part, Dritte Region section of Hymnen for 4-track tape and orchestra. Acquired by William Lincer after a Feb. 25, 1971 performance by the New York Philharmonic. Includes autograph inscription and signature in red ink by the composer dated 1971, and pencil markings probably by William Lincer. Includes accompanying performance instructions in English and German. Cage box includes photocopy of complete viola part, and a New York Times review by Harold C. Schonberg of the 1971 New York Philharmonic performance.

22.2 St88so Jost
LincerBxC04f03

Strong, Templeton, 1856-1948.
      Sonate pour viola et violoncelle / Templeton Strong.
      Leipzig : Jost, [date of publication not identified]
      1 score (21 pages) ; 35 cm
      Plate number: F J. 30. Occasional markings in pencil.

LincerBxC02f15

Szigeti, Joseph, 1892-1973.

      [The ten Beethoven sonatas for piano and violin. Appendix] / [by Joseph Szigeti ; edited by Paul Rolland].

      [Urbana, Illinois?] : Paul Rolland, [1964?]

      5 leaves ; 22 x 37 cm + 2 letters.

      Holograph (photocopy) of Joseph Szigeti's technical notes on performance of Beethoven's sonatas for violin and piano, later published as the appendix to Szigeti's book The ten Beethoven sonatas for piano and violin, edited by Paul Rolland (published: Urbana, Illinois : American String Teachers Association, ©1965). Title devised by cataloger. Includes a signed, typescript letter from Paul Rolland to William Lincer dated April 24, 1964, that was originally a cover letter attached to a pre-publication copy of the book given to Lincer, and a signed, typescript letter from Rolland to Lincer dated April 25, 1964 that was originally a cover letter attached to the photocopied holograph described here.

15 T179so G min. Foley
LincerBxD02f15

Tartini, Giuseppe, 1692-1770.
      The Devil's trill = Le trille du diable : for violin and piano / Giuseppe Tartini ; [newly transcribed by] Fritz Kreisler.
      New York : Charles Foley, ©1932.
      1 score (15 pages) + 1 part (9 pages) ; 31 cm
      Publisher's number: 1193. Plate number: 024418. Copious pencil markings on violin part.

15 T22evk Fisch
LincerBxD02f16

Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893.
      Air de Lensky = O days of youth : from the opera Eugene Onégin / P. Tschaikowsky ; transcribed by Leopold Auer.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1921.
      1 score (9 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Sheet music edition. Series: Concert transcriptions / Leopold Auer. Caption title. Publisher's number: B 1257. Plate number: 022144-10. Lacks score; copious pencil markings on part.

17 T223pi AA
BxC020f06

Tcherepnin, Alexander, 1899-1977.
      Six pieces / by Alexander Tcherepnin ; arranged for viola and piano by L B. Wheeler.
      [19--]
      1 score (17 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Caption title. Above caption title: To William Lincer. Reproduced from manuscript of arranger. Contents: Prelude -- Chant sans paroles -- Allegretto -- Scherzo -- Andantino -- Humoresque. Includes inscription by arranger in black ink above caption title: To my friend and teacher, William Lincer, from his grateful student, Larry Wheeler.

17 T663du
BxB030f08

Townsend, Douglas.
      Duo for violas / by Douglas Townsend.
      [1957]
      2 scores (10 p. each) ; 36 cm
      At end: Feb. 24, 1957. Reproduced from holograph. One score includes performance annotations in pencil, blue ink, and red marker.

17 T7375tr
LincerBxD03f01

Trio sonata, viola, harpsichord, GraunWV Cv:XV:132, B♭ major.
       Trio for cembalo and viola / Johann Gottlieb Graun.
       [United States?] : [David Schulenburg?], [1984?]
       1 score (20 leaves) ; 28 cm + notes (ii leaves ; 28 cm)
       Caption title from notes. Work spuriously attributed to Johann Gottlieb Graun. Edition based on Ms. 240 (8) in the Amalien-Bibliothek, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung. Manuscript (photocopy). Includes typescript (photocopy) historical and technical notes by David Schulenburg dated May, 1984.

17 Uh6 Schott
LincerBxD02f17

Uhl, Alfred, 1909-1992.
      Twenty etudes for viola / Alfred Uhl.
      London : New York : Schott ; Melville, N.Y. : Belwin-Mills, exclusive representation for the U.S., ©1973.
      1 score (23 pages) ; 31 cm
      Series: Viola library ; VAB 40. Publisher's number: AP 388. Occasional markings in pencil.

31 Un3s Fisch
LincerBxC08f07

University string orchestra album
      University string orchestra album : selected classics for string orchestra / compiled, edited, and arranged and provided with descriptive notes by Albert Stoessel.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1927.
      1 piano conductor part (62 pages) ; 31 cm
      Contents: Serenade in four movements : eine kleine Nachtmusik / W A. Mozart -- Aria / A F. Tenaglia -- Two gavottes from the Suite in D major / J S. Bach -- Two dances from the ballet Terpsichore / G F. Handel -- Marche militaire / Franz Schubert -- Gavotte from Iphigenia in Aulis / Christoph W. von Gluck -- Chorale and Chorale prelude / J S. Bach -- Minuet from the sixth suite / J Ph. Rameau -- Emporer variations / Franz Joseph Haydn -- Two old dances / William Byrde [sic]. -- Overture to The Messiah / G F. Handel. Publisher's no : 01525. Plate number: 24015-162. Occasional markings in score in pencil and red crayon; includes 3 1st violin parts, 3 2nd violin parts, and 1 part each for viola, cello, and double bass.

31 V837c RV392
LincerBxC06f10

Vivaldi, Antonio, 1678-1741.
      Concerto con viola d'amore / del Sigr. Vivaldi.
      [19--]
      1 score (34 pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Transcribed from manuscript Mus 2389-O-84, Sächsische Landesbibliothek--Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden. Manuscript number erroneously recorded as 2389 O184 on title page and at bottom of page 1. Occasional markings red and black pencil.

31 V837c RV395 Fisch
LincerBxD02f18

Vivaldi, Antonio, 1678-1741.
      Concerto in B-flat minor for viola with strings and continuo / by Antonio Vivaldi ; arranged by Robert Courte from the original in D minor for viola d'amore, strings, and continuo.
      New York : Carl Fischer, ©1965.
      7 parts ; 31 cm
      Duration: 9:00. Foreword in English. Plate number: N4769-N4775 (parts). Occasional markings in pencil.

18 V837so RV47 Senart
LincerBxC04f04

Vivaldi, Antonio, 1678-1741.
      Sonates en concert. Sonate I / Vivaldi ; réalisation en concert pour orchestre à cordes par Vincent D'Indy ; recueillie et annotée par Marguerite Chaigneau.
      Paris : Éditions Maurice Senart, ©1934.
      1 score (12 pages) + 5 parts ; 34 cm
      Series: Édition nationale ; no. 5410. Arranged for cello solo and string orchestra. Plate number: E.M.S. 5410. Includes solo part in manuscript black ink arranged for viola.

31 W123cov Dob
LincerBxC04f05

Wagenseil, Georg Christoph, 1715-1777.
      Concerto in A für Violoncello solo, Streichorchester und Cembalo / Georg Christoph Wagenseil ; herausgegeben von Enrico Mainardi und Fritz Racek ; Kadenzen von Enrico Mainardi.
      Wien : Verlag Doblinger, ©1960.
      1 score (28 pages) + parts ; 30 cm
      Series: Diletto musicale ; Nr. 61. "Erstdruck." Edited from a manuscript in the Wiener Stadtbibliothek. Preface in German and English. Plate number: D.9999. Score and solo part only. Includes solo part arranged by Elinor Saffir for viola (treble clef) in manuscript black ink, and solo part arranged for viola (alto clef) in manuscript black ink.

31 W387an Schott
LincerBxC07f07

Weber, Carl Maria von, 1786-1826.
      Andante und Rondo ungarese : für Viola und Orchester / Carl Maria von Weber ; herausgegeben von Georg Schünemann.
      Mainz : B. Schott's Söhne ; New York : Schott Music, ©1938
      1 score (23 pages) ; 34 cm
      Duration: 9:00. Preface in German, English and French. Publisher's number: Edition Schott 3303. Occasional markings in pencil. Cage box folder includes orchestra parts originally published: Mainz : B. Schott's Söhne, ©1938; markings in pencil and paste-overs in manuscript black ink.

17 W565ca
BxC020f10

Wheeler, Lawrence, 1949-
      12 caprices for viola solo, op. 1 / Lawrence B. Wheeler.
      [19--]
      [13 unnumbered leaves of music ; 36 cm
      Caption title. No. 12 titled Variations on a theme of Brahms, based on theme from 2nd mvt. of Brahms' Symphony no. 4. No. 8 titled Elegy. Reproduced from holograph. Nos. 5, possibly 10 missing; No. 11 not numbered in score. Includes caption inscription in black ink by composer addressed to Wm. Lincer.

17 W587se
BxB030f01

Whitefield, Bernard, 1910-
      Serenade for viola and piano / Bernard Whitefield ; ed. by Wm. Lincer.
      [19--]
      1 score (11 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers"--Label on cover.

17 W636ema
LincerBxC03f20

Wieniawski, Henri, 1835-1880.
      Caprice in E♭ major / Wieniawski- Kreisler.
      [19--]
      1 score (6 unnumbered pages) + 1 part (3 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Originally for violin, arranged for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler and adapted for viola and piano. Title from part. Occasional paste-overs in manuscript black ink.

17 W636et no.4k
LincerBxC03f19

Wieniawski, Henri, 1835-1880.
      Caprice [in] A minor / Wieniawski- Kreisler.
      [19--]
      1 score (7 unnumbered pages) + 1 part (2 unnumbered pages) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Originally for violin, arranged for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler and adapted for viola and piano. Title from part. Occasional paste-overs in manuscript black ink and markings in pencil.

17 W9605du
LincerBxC04f06

Wunderer, Alexander, 1877-1955.
      Duett für 2 Bratschen / Alex. Wunderer.
      [1948?]
      1 score (26 pages) ; 35 cm
      Caption title. "Gustav Gruber gewidmet." At end: Zinkenbach, 22. Dez. 1948. Reproduced from manuscript.

17 Y83st
LincerBxC05f01, LincerBxC05f02

Yost, Gaylord, 1888-1958.
      [Studies for violin] / [Gaylord Yost ; arranged for viola.]
      [195-?]
      1 score (2 folders) ; 32 cm
      Manuscript in black ink. Title supplied by cataloger. Contents: v. 1. Bow and finger ; Finger action and position playing ; Formula I ; Formula II ; Formula III ; Formula IV ; Formula V -- v. 2. Mastery of shifting ; Short way to the mastery of bowing ; Twelve daily exercises.