|
McGuireBxB01f03
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
[Canon for 4 ;
Changes : program notes.]
1984?
1 typescript letter ([2] p.) ; 28 cm.
Signed typescript program notes by
Elliott Carter for the scores to Canon for 4 : homage to William, and Changes
for solo guitar. Additional autograph notes and score corrections in black
ink and red pencil on verso.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f04
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
[Canon for 4 :
program notes.]
1985.
1 typescript letter ([1] leaf) ; 28 cm.
Typescript program notes by Elliott
Carter for the score to Canon for 4 : homage to William. Dated May 16, 1985
with inscription in pencil: George, I think this is better than the other one
I sent.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f01
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
[Concerto, violin, orchestra :
corrections]
[1990?]
[1] manuscript leaf ; 28 cm.
Signed autograph note in red, purple and
black pencil from Elliott Carter to George A. McGuire requesting the addition
of rehearsal letters and G.P. indications to the score of Carter's Violin
concerto. The note is inscribed on a manuscript (photocopy) list of score
measure numbers that indicate where requested changes are to be made.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f02
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
[Esprit rude/esprit doux, no. 1 : correspondence]
1985.
1 manuscript leaf (22 cm.) + 1 envelope
(12 x 16 cm.)
Signed autograph letter in black ink on
American Academy in Rome letterhead dated Feb. 2, 1985, from Elliott Carter
to George A. McGuire thanking McGuire for his work on the score to Esprit
rude/esprit doux, no. 1. Includes marginal note by
Helen Carter dated Mar. 7, 1985.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f06
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Canon for 4 / Carter corrections.
1985.
1 manuscript score ([2] leaves) ; 34 cm. + 1 envelope.
Holograph in pencil. Excerpts from Canon
for 4 : homage to William, with corrections by
Elliott Carter indicated in red and blue pencil. Caption title. "April
20, 1985." Note to George A. McGuire inscribed by the composer on verso
of leaf [1].
|
|
McGuireBxB01f12
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Changes :
guitar solo / Elliott Carter.
[1985?]
14 leaves of music ;
35 cm. + 12 leaves of music ; 35 cm. + 12 leaves of music ; 42 cm. + 12
leaves of music ; 42 cm. + 1 manuscript document ([1] leaf ; 32 cm.)
For guitar. Caption title from holograph
(photocopy). Comprises holograph (photocopy), and 1st, 2nd, and 3rd printer's
proofs, all with copious markings in red pencil and manuscript blue, green
and black ink, and [1] leaf of autograph notes in pencil with markings in red
pencil.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f11
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Esprit rude/espirt
doux :
1984 / Elliott Carter.
[1984?]
1 score (10 leaves) ;
44 cm.
For flute and B♭clarinet.
Caption title. "Pour Pierre Boulez." At end: Waccabuc,
November, 1984. Holograph (photocopy). Markings throughout in pencil and
manuscript red ink.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f16
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Harmony book / E. Carter.
[1997?]
2 v. ; 36 cm.
Caption title from v. 1. Reproduced from
holograph. "Nov. 26, 1982"--Caption of v. 2. Inscription by Elliott
Carter to George A. McGuire in manuscript blue ink on v. 1 p. 1 dated Nov. 6,
1997. Includes signed typescript note from Carter to McGuire dated Sep. 16,
1997 enclosed in envelope affixed to verso of cover; note includes manuscript
annotations in blue ink on verso. Includes [3] leaves of notes in pencil and
manuscript blue and red ink, and [1] leaf of manuscript music in pencil.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f08
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Paper for IRCAM piece / Carter.
[1985?]
[1] leaf ; (49
cm.) + 2 leaves ; 28 x 8 cm.
Forty-stave music manuscript leaf
inscribed with a 34-stave system bracket in pencil divided into 5
instrumental groups. Intended as a template for custom music paper for
Elliott Carter's composition Penthode. Annotations
in pencil indicate spacing of staves. Includes 2 strips of paper with pencil
inscriptions.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f10
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Penthode.
[1985?-1990]
[13] leaves of music ; 45 cm. + 1 score
([1] leaf) ; 38 cm. + documents
Holograph (photocopy) leaves of various
sizes from the harp part to Penthode, with
corrections and revisions in red, green, and black pencil and manuscript
black ink. Includes a printer's proof of a leaf from the Penthode
score (measure numbers 420-421) with corrections in red pencil. Includes a
paper strip with score layout parameters for percussion parts inscribed in
pencil; a holograph excerpt from Canon for 4 in pencil on vellum with
markings in red pencil with accompanying envelope postmarked Apr. 4, 1983; 2
signed typescript letters from Elliott Carter to George A. McGuire dated
Sept. 4 and Oct. 12, 1987; and 2 purchase orders from Boosey
& Hawkes to McGuire, both dated Jun. 20, 1990, for the engraving of the
full score to Carter's Violin concerto.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f15
|
Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
Riconoscenza
per Goffredo Petrassi ; Changes / Elliott Carter.
1984.
[25] leaves of music ;
36 cm. + [4] p. of music ; 32 cm. + 3 letters (28 cm.)
Five pre-publication versions of Riconoscenza per Goffredo Petrassi for solo violin, and 1 pre-publication version
of Changes for guitar. Occasional markings in red and blue pencil. Includes
manuscript string harmonic notation chart in pencil for copyist's use in
transcribing Changes. Includes 1 typescript letter (photocopy) from Elliott Carter
to David Huntley of Boosey & Hawkes dated July
3, 1984, 1 typescript (photocopy) memo from David Huntley dated July 17,
1984, and 1 autograph (photocopy) letter from Carter to R. Wharton dated Aug.
28. 1984.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f05
|
Composer's String Quartet
[Concert flyer :
Composer's String Quartet.]
1986.
1 concert flyer ([2] p.) ; 26 cm.
Concert flyer for the New York premiere
performance of Carter's Fourth string quartet by the Composers String Quartet
on Dec. 13, 1986, presented by the Columbia University Department of Music.
Inscription in manuscript black ink by Helen Carter on page [2].
|
|
McGuireBxB01f14
|
McGuire, George A.
[Esprit rude/esprit doux, no. 1.]
[1985?]
6, [1] typescript leaves ; 28 cm.
Typescript notes describing text layout
and typeface choices for Elliott Carter's score to Esprit rude/esprit doux, no. 1 published by Boosey
& Hawkes. Program notes in English, French and German. Copious markings
in manuscript red and blue ink. Includes [1] manuscript leaf in pencil
describing text layout for the score to Carter's Changes for solo guitar.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f13
|
McGuire, George A.
Esp[r]it ; Changes ; Canon a 4 / Carter.
[1985?]
[1] manuscript leaf of notes ; 25 cm. + 7
leaves ; 28 cm.
Manuscript note in black and blue pencil
concerning Boosey & Hawkes music staff sizes, rastral numbers, and music score dimensions. Title from
inscription on folder in manuscript red ink. Includes [6] photocopy leaves of
Alphatype Caledonia typeface examples, and [1]
photocopy leaf of VCG Greek typeface examples.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f09
|
Music Publishers'
Association
[Paul Revere Awards.]
1982-2008.
[23] leaves ; 22 x 28 cm.
Music Publisher's
Association Paul Revere Award certificates for graphic excellence, awarded to
George A. McGuire in the years 1982, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996,
1998, 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, and 2008.
|
|
McGuireBxB01f07
|
Wharton, Robert.
[Con leggerezza
penosa :
Correspondence.]
1991.
1 typescript letter ([4] leaves) ; 28 cm. + 2 documents ; 28 cm. + 1 folder (23 x 30 cm.)
Signed typescript letter from Robert
Wharton of Boosey & Hawkes to George A. McGuire
dated March 26, 1991 describing corrections needed to the 3rd proof score of
Elliott Carter's Con leggerezza penosa,
with photocopies of pages 2-4 of the score attached and marked in manuscript
red ink. Includes typescript mockups of the title page and program notes, with
typeface and layout annotations in manuscript red ink. Also includes [11]
leaves of pencil notes describing graphic layout of score, and a cardboard
folder with markings in manuscript red ink.
|