Wilfrid Pelletier Music Collection

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

 

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

 

Processed by:

David Snow

Date completed:

November 26, 2012

Encoded by:

David Snow

©2012

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Access

Biographical Note

Index terms

Personal names
Corporate names
Subjects

Box List

 

Descriptive summary

Origination:

Pelletier, Wilfrid, 1896-1982.

Title:

Wilfrid Pelletier Music Collection, circa 1917-1982.

Extent:

1.31 cubic feet (5 boxes).

Repository:

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

Language Note:

The collection contains material in Italian, German, and English.

Organization

Organized in a single series of music scores and documents.

Scope and content

Contains opera scores, an English translation of the novel Madame Chrysanthème by Pierre Loti, and catalogs of Ampico reproducing piano rolls.

Administrative Information

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

Canadian conductor and music educator (1896-1982). Won the Prix d'Europe in 1915 and moved to Paris where he studied piano with Isidore Philipp, harmony with Marcel Samuel-Rousseau, opera repertory with Charles Bellaigue, and composition with Charles-Marie Widor. In 1917 he was engaged as répétiteur at the Metropolitan Opera, and made assistant conductor in 1921. In 1932 he was appointed conductor of the Met's Sunday Night Opera Concerts, and he served as house conductor until 1950. Pelletier was instrumental in founding the Conservatoire de Musique de Québec à Montrèal, where he served as director from 1942 until 1961, and he was artistic director of the Quebec Symphony Orchestra from 1951 to 1966. From 1961 to 1970 he served as music director in the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of the Quebec government.

Index terms

Personal names

 

Pelletier, Wilfrid, 1896-1982.

Bellini, Vincenzo, 1801-1835.

Loti, Pierre, 1850-1923.

Montemezzi, Italo, 1875-1952.

Paisiello, Giovanni, 1740-1816.

Puccini, Giacomo, 1858-1924.

Spontini, Gaspare, 1774-1851.

Verdi, Giuseppe, 1813-1901.

Wagner, Richard, 1813-1883.

 

Corporate names

 

Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.)

Ampico Corporation.

 

Subjects

 

Conductors (Music) -- United States.

Conductors (Music) -- Canada.

Operas -- Scores.

Box List

Folders

PelletierBxD01

Ampico Corporation
      A catalogue of music for the Ampico : a list of the recordings of pianists whose art is thus preserved for present day music lovers and for posterity : together with short biographies of many of the composers and artists and notes on the music.
      New York : Ampico, 1925.
      351 p. : ports ; 29 cm.
      Includes index. Cage box folder includes catalog supplement dated November 1925 ([16] p. ; 22 cm.) and supplement titled Favorite ballads ([4] p. ; 22 cm.).

PelletierBxD01

Bellini, Vincenzo, 1801-1835.
      Norma : tragedia lirica in due atti / di Felice Romani ; musica di Vincenzo Bellini.
      Milano ; New York : Ricordi, c1915.
      1 miniature score (429 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 115216. Cage box copy: stamp on prelim. p.: Library of the National Broadcasting Co.; markings in ms. black and red pencil; includes page tab.

PelletierBxC01

Loti, Pierre, 1850-1923.
      Madame Chrysanthème / by Pierre Loti ; crowned by the French Academy ; with a preface by Albert Sorel, of the French Academy, and illustrations by Millicent Woodforde, of the École des Beaux Arts.
      Paris : Maison Mazarin, 1905.
      xiv, 355 p. : port., [2] leaves of plates ; 23 cm.
      Series: The immortals : masterpieces of fiction …

PelletierBxC01

Montemezzi, Italo, 1875-1952.
      L'amore dei tre re ; poema tragico in tre atti / di Sem Benelli ; musica di Italo Montemezzi.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, c1925.
      1 miniature score (247 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 119942. Cage box copy: light marking in black and red pencil; signature of Wilfrid Pelletier in black ink on prelim. p.

PelletierBxC01

Paisiello, Giovanni, 1740-1816.
      Il barbiere di Siviglia ; opera buffa in 4 atti / musica di Giovanni Paisiello.
      Firenze : G.G. Guidi, [18--?]
      1 miniature score (320 p.) ; 22 cm.
      Italian words. Pref. in Italian. Pl. no.: 2344.

PelletierBxC01

Ponchielli, Amilcare, 1834-1886.
      La gioconda : dramma lirico in quattro atti / di Tobia Gorrio ; musica di Amilcare Ponchielli.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, c1916.
      1 miniature score (544 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 115330. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black, blue and red ink; signature of Wilfrid Pelletier in pencil on prelim. p.

PelletierBxC02

Puccini, Giacomo, 1858-1924.
      La Bohème : scene da La vie de Bohème di H. Murger / quattro quadri di Giuseppe Giacosa e Luigi Illica ; Giacomo Puccini.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, 1953, c1920.
      1 miniature score (408 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Publisher's no.: P.R. 110. Pl. no.: P.R. 110. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black and red pencil.

PelletierBxC02

Puccini, Giacomo, 1858-1924.
      Madama Butterfly : tragedia giapponese / (da John L. Long e David Belasco) ; di L. Illica e G. Giacosa ; musica di G. Puccini.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, c1920.
      1 miniature score (487 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian and German words. Pl. no.: 118378. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black, blue and red pencil; signature of Wilfrid Pelletier on prelim. p. in ms. blue pencil; includes page tabs.

PelletierBxC02

Puccini, Giacomo, 1858-1924.
      Manon Lescaut : dramma lirico in quattro atti / musica di Giacomo Puccini.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, c1915.
      1 miniature score (464 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 115300. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black and red pencil; inscription on prelim. p. in ms. pencil: Wilfrid Pelletier Paris 1921.

PelletierBxC02

Spontini, Gaspare, 1774-1851
      La vestale : opera completa / di G. Spontini.
      Milano : Edizioni Ricordi, 1876.
      1 miniature score (221-519 p.) ; 20 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Acts 2-3 only. Italian words. Title and publisher from WorldCat. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black and red pencil.

PelletierBxD02

Verdi, Giuseppe, 1813-1901.
      Rigoletto : melodramma in tre atti / di Francesco Maria Piave ; musica di Giuseppe Verdi.
      Milano ; New York : G Ricordi, c1914.
      1 miniature score (431 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 113960. Cage box copy: markings in ms. black, blue and red pencil; signature of Wilfrid Pelletier on prelim. p., and stamp of Pelletier signature on multiple pages. Includes page tabs.

PelletierBxD02

Verdi, Giuseppe, 1813-1901.
      Il trovatore : dramma in quattro parti / poesia di Salvadore Cammarano ; musica di Giuseppe Verdi.
      Milano ; New York : G. Ricordi, c1913.
      1 miniature score (445 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian words. Pl. no.: 113957. Cage box copies: markings in black, blue and red pencil; includes page tabs.

PelletierBxD03

Wagner, Richard, 1813-1883.
      Parsifal : dramma mistico in tre atti / di Richard Wagner ; traduzione ritmica di Giovanni Pozza dal testo originale tedesco.
      Milano : G. Ricordi e C. : Edoardo Sonzogno, [1928].
      1 miniature score (467 p.) ; 23 cm.
      Partitura d'orchestra. Italian and German words. Original German libretto by the composer. Occasional markings in pencil. Signature of Wilfrid Pelletier in pencil on endpaper, and in red crayon on half title page.

PelletierBxD02

Zecchi, Adone.
      Due preludi per orchestra / di Adone Zecchi.
      Bologna : F. Bongiovanni, c1934.
      1 score (40 p.) ; 25 cm.
      Partitura. Durations: 6:00 ; 4:00. Contents: Preludio drammatico -- Preludio giocoso. Pl. no.: F. 1879 B. Cage box copy: inscription on prelim. p. in ms. black ink by A. Zecchi dated autumn 1934.