Roberta Peters Music Collection

2 Ai785gl
PetersBxC04f03

Airs sung by Jenny Lind / [arr. by] Chas. W. Glover.
      [London : s.n. 18--?]
      10 p. of music ; 35 cm.
      Potpourri of opera excerpts arr. for piano. Caption title. Printed from engraved plates. Contents: La figlia del reggimento. Rataplan, rataplan -- Lucia di Lammermoor. Nel tue braccia stringimi ; Torno, torna o caro oggeto -- La figlia del reggimento. Chi naque al rimbombo -- I masnadieri. Carlo vive.

41 B124pri
PetersBxC06f09

Bacharach, Burt.
      I'll never fall in love again / arr. by Frank Proto.
      [196-?]
      1 condensed score + 13 ms. parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical Promises, promises, for medium voice, 2 alto saxophones (doubling flute), tenor saxophone (doubling B♭ clarinet) , baritone saxophone, 3 B♭ trumpets, 3 trombones, guitar, bass, and drum set. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Score reproduced from ms.; ms. parts in black ink. Score and guitar and bass parts include chord symbols. Occasional markings in pencil.

39 B417soa h WmHall
PetersBxC01f01

Bellini, Vincenzo, 1801-1835.
      Ah! Don't mingle, one human feeling / composed by Bellini.
      New York : William Hall & Son, [18--]
      1 vocal score (9 p.) ; 34 cm.
      The aria Ah! non giunge from the opera Sonnambula, originally for soprano and orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. English and Italian words. Caption title. “As sung by Madlle. Jenny Lind, in the opera of La somnambula.”

41 B417puq
PetersBxB01f01

Bellini, Vincenzo, 1801-1835.
      Arie der Elvira a. Die Puritaner / V. Bellini.
      [19--?]
      46 ms. parts ; 35 cm.
      Ms. in black ink. Opera excerpt popularly known as the "mad scene," modified into a solo showcase for soprano with orchestra. Comprises the rectitative O rendetemi la speme and the arias Qui la voce sua soave and Vien diletto, with substantial cuts eliminating passages for baritone and bass. Orchestra parts only. Title from caption of flute 1 part. Markings in black, red and blue pencil; most parts include paste-over of measures 1-8 in ms. black ink. Parts housed in portfolio. Cage box folder includes vocal score originally published Milan : G. Ricordi, [19--?], pl. no.: 54324, with markings in black and red pencil, p. 5-12 taped together, and labels in ms. black ink on brown tape affixed to p. 15-17; vocal score includes 1 ms. leaf ([2] p.) in black ink of measures 1-8 in full score. Folder also Includes diazo reproduction of vocal score with markings in red and black pencil and passages with baritone and bass cut.

PetersBxC11f09

Bellini, Vincenzo, 1801-1835.
      Puritani. Qui la voce sua soave.
      [19--]
      1 score (leaves 636-653) ; 36 cm.
      Opera excerpt from act 2, scene 3, popularly known as the Mad scene. Italian words. Title supplied by cataloger. Ms. (photocopy). Pl. no.: 100716.

41 B4343va
PetersBxC11f04

Benedict, Julius, 1804-1885.
      Der Carneval von Venedig.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score ([24] p.) ; 35 cm.
      Ms. in black ink. Originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Wordless. Cover title. Markings in ms. red ink and black and red pencil.

41 B458wet
PetersBxA01f02

Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990.
      Tonight.
      [1963?]
      1 score ([8] p.) ; 43 x 43 cm. + 34 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical West side story, for high voice and orchestra. Caption title. Words by Stephen Sondheim. Arr. by Lew Davies. "5/1/'63"--Violin part p. [1]. Ms. (photocopy). Guitar part includes chord symbols.

39 B4691ca s
PetersBxC01f02

Bezzio, Luigi.
      Canarino innamorato : soprano lirico / versi e musica di Luigi Bezzio.
      [19--]
      1 score (14 p.) + 1 part (3 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For soprano and piano. Italian words. Holograph (photocopy). T.p. in ms. black ink. Score includes paste-over correction in ms. black ink on p. 5. Composer's initials in black ink at bottom of each p. of score, and in blue ink at bottom of each page of part. Composer's signature in black ink at end of score, and in blue ink at end of part. Markings in score in ms. red ink. Cage box folder includes accompanying leaf with Italian words as typescrpt text, and composer's signature in black ink.

39 B4691va s
PetersBxC01f03

Bezzio, Luigi.
      Il valzer della farfalla : soprano lirico / versi e musica di L. Bezzio.
      [19--]
      1 score (12 p.) + 1 part ([3] p.) ; 31 cm.
      For soprano and piano. Italian words. Holograph (photocopy). T.p. in ms. black ink. Composer's initials in black ink at bottom of each p. of score and part; composer's signature in black ink at end of score and part. Cage box folder includes accompanying leaf with Italian words as typescrpt text, and composer's signature in black ink.

B5425clh
PetersBxB01f03

Bishop, Henry R. (Henry Rowley), Sir, 1786-1855.
      Home sweet home / Bishop
      [19--]
      9 ms. parts ; 35 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Clari, for high voice with orchestra or instrumental ensemble; includes parts for flute, 2 B♭ clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, violins 1-2, viola, violoncello, and double bass; lacks voice part. Title from caption of flute part. Ms. in black ink. Includes typescript (carbon copy) list of parts attached to inside front cover of folder in which parts are contained. "Orchestration of Home, sweet home. Property of Frieda Hempel"-- List of parts. Occasional markings in pencil.

39 B6313je h Firth
PetersBxD01f05

Bochsa, Robert Nicolas Charles, 1789-1856.
      I am the bayadere = (Je suis le bajadere) : the tamborine song : sung by Madame Bishop / arranged & adapted by N. Chas. Bochsa.
      New York : Firth, Pond, & Co., [1848?]
      1 score (7 p.).
      For high voice and piano. English words translated from French. Caption title. Lithograph port. of Anna Bishop on list t.p. Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 19--] 1 score (7 leaves) ; 28 cm.

41 B631f AA
PetersBxB02f02

Bock, Jerry.
      Fiddler medley.
      [1976?]
      1 score (44 p.) ; 45 cm.
      Medley of the songs Matchmaker, Sunrise, sunset, and To life, from the musical Fiddler on the roof, for high voice and orchestra (5 woodwinds, 4 trumpets, horn, 3 trombones, guitar, bass, percussion, drum set, violins 1-2, violas, violoncellos). Words by Sheldon Harnick. Reproduced from ms. Includes chord symbols in guitar part. Piano part not written out (doubles guitar and bass parts). Cage box folder includes incomplete set of parts (33 cm.): lacks woodwinds 1-3, trumpets 1-2, trombone 1, piano, guitar, bass and drums.

38 B778on
PetersBxC07f02-f03

Britten, Benjamin, 1913-1976.
      On this island : opus 11 / music by Benjamin Britten ; words by W. H. Auden ; texte français by Maurice Pourchet.
      London : Boosey & Hawkes ; New York : Boosey, Hawkes, Belwin, c1938.
      1 score (25 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For high voice and piano. English words with French translation. Winthrop Rogers edition. Contents: Let the florid music praise! = Laissez fleurir vos musiques! -- Now the leaves are falling fast = Lors les feuilles tombent vite -- Seascape = Échappée marine -- Nocturne = Nocturne -- As it is, plenty = C'est bien abondance. Cage c. 1: markings in black and red pencil; photocopy paste-overs on piano staves; cues for flute in pencil. Cage c. 2: occasional markings in pencil and ms. blue ink.

PetersBxD02f08

Cadenza no. 1 : Lucia.
      [19--]
      1 score ([2] leaves) ; 27 cm.
      Cadenza for soprano and flute to the aria Ardon gl'incensi from the opera Lucia di Lammermoor. Wordless. Caption title. "S.V.W." Ms. in black ink.

41 C2745mo
PetersBxC10f03

Castellano, Carlos, 1904-2002.
      La morena di mi copla / Carlos Castellaños.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score ([4] p.) + 51 parts ; 32 cm.
      For high voice with orchestra. Wordless. Caption title. Reproduced from ms."Property of Andre Kostelanetz"--Caption of wind and percussion parts. Occasional markings in score in ms. red ink.

41 C3625hic
PetersBxB01f02

Chapí, Ruperto, 1851-1909.
      Carceleras / by R. Chapi ; arr. by A. De Filippi.
      [1955?]
      5 condensed scores (7 p. each) + 17 ms. parts + 26 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the zarzuela Hijas del Zebedeo, for soprano and orchestra. Spanish words. Caption title. "Piano-Production.""Publ. Union Musical Espanola Madrid. "1955." Reproduced from ms. Markings in black, red and blue pencil and ms. blue ink.

PetersBxC11f13

Concert program facsimiles.
      [19--]
      [5] leaves ; 28 cm. + [4] leaves ; 28 x 34 cm. + [1] leaf ; 22 x 36 cm.
      Photocopies of concert programs from performances by Jenny Lind (1852), Ole Bull and Adelina Patti (1854), and Christine Nilsson (1873). Includes photocopy of concert flyer for Frieda Hempel (1923).

41 C838bii
PetersBxC11f01-f02

Coward, Noel, 1899-1973.
      I'll see you again : fr. Bitter sweet / Noel Coward.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score (7 p.) + 57 parts ; 32-34 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical Bitter-sweet, for medium voice and orchestra. Caption title. "Andre Kostelanetz." "Chappell & Co., Ltd., cop. 1929." Ms. (photocopy). Cage c. 2: string parts only.

41 D28pec
PetersBxB01f04

David, Félicien, 1810-1876.
      La perle du Brésil / v. F. David.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score ([21] p.) + 31 ms. parts ; 34 cm.
      Opera excerpt for soprano and orchestra. French words omitted. Title from label on cover in ms. black ink. Includes 26 orchestral parts on paper and 5 parts on diazo vellum. Markings in blue, red, and black pencil. Score and some parts include property stamp of Frieda Hempel in blue ink. Score and parts housed in portfolio. Cage box folder includes [1] leaf of ms. notes in black ink.

39 D28pec s Heugel
PetersBxC02f04

David, Félicien, 1810-1876.
      La perle du Brésil : drame lyrique en trios actes. No. 12, Couplets du Mysoli / poëme de MM. J. Gabriel et Sylvain St. Etienne ; musique de Félicien David.
      Paris : Heugel, [18--?]
      1 vocal score (7 p.) ; 35 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Perle du Brésil, originally for soprano and orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Includes optional cadenza with flute. French words.

41 D3595to
PetersBxC05f04

De Curtis, Ernesto, 1875-1937.
      Sorrento / arr. Phil Moore.
      [1970?]
      2 piano conductor parts (4 p. each) ; 35 cm. + 41 parts ; 32 cm.
      Song for high voice and orchestra. Italian words by G.B. De Curtis on piano conductor part. Caption title; "Apr 29 1970." Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano conductor and guitar parts include chord symbols. Markings in pencil.

41 D718lio
PetersBxC03f02

Donizetti, Gaetano, 1797-1848
      Linda di Chamounix. Recvo e cavatina, O luce di quest'anima / di. G. Donizetti.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score (9 p.) + 14 ms. parts + 29 parts ; 33 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Linda di Chamounix for soprano and orchestra. Caption title. Wind parts in ms. black ink; vocal score and string parts reproduced from ms. Vocal score in D♭ major; parts in C major. Markings in black and red pencil; vocal score marked as conductor's score. Cage box folder includes photocopies of vocal score and 49 parts.

41 D718lua
PetersBxB06f01

Donizetti, Gaetano, 1797-1848.
      Lucia : transposition from Ah, l'inno suona di nozze!
      [19--]
      1 vocal score ([6] p.) ; 34 cm. + 11 parts ; 36 cm. + 22 parts ; 26 x 36 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Lucia di Lammermoor, for soprano and orchestra; includes vocal score transposed whole step lower than original, and orchestra parts in same transposition. Italian words. Caption title. Reproduced from ms. Cage box folder includes 3 additional vocal scores (photocopy), 1 ms. cadenza for soprano and flute with 4 photocopies of same, and large envelope with notes inscribed in pencil regarding orchestration.

41 D718lud
PetersBxB02f01

Donizetti, Gaetano, 1797-1848.
      Lucia di Lammermoor. No. 13, Scena e' aria / G. Donizetti.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score (41 p.) ; 34 cm.
      Ms. in black ink. Opera excerpt popularly known as the "mad scene," for soprano and orchestra with subsidiary parts for tenor, bass, and mixed chorus (SSTTB); comprises the rectitative Il dolce suono and the arias Ardon gl'incensi and Spargi d'amaro pianto, with the omission of 88 measures preceding Spargi d'amaro pianto. Italian words. "Recitativo: Il dolce suono. Aria: Alfin son tua." "Roberta Peters." Copious markings in black, red and blue pencil and ms. red ink. Cage box folder includes: 1 ms. flute part with inserted cadenza for voice and flute reproduced from ms.; 25 orchestral parts published: Berlin : Bote & Bock, [19--?] Pl. no.: 15126; 16 orchestral parts reproduced from ms.; and 1 autograph note in blue ink signed Sid Doe, librarian, W.S.O.

41 D718lio parts
PetersBxC03f03

Donizetti, Gaetano, 1797-1848.
      O luce di quest'anima : Linda di Chamounix / Donizetti.
      [19--]
      42 parts ; 32 cm.
      Opera excerpt for soprano and orchestra; orchestra parts only. Caption title from piccolo part. Reproduced from ms. At bottom of 1st p. of most parts: Andre Kostelanetz. Cage box folder includes 4 c. of vocal score (photocopy) of O luce di quest'anima, published: Milano : G. Ricordi, [1944?], and 44 photocopied orchestra parts.

39 D718fils h Firth
PetersBxC11f06

Donizetti, Gaetano, 1797-1848.
      Salut à la France : from Donizetti's opera of La fille du regiment / the English words by Wm Corbyn Esq
      New York : Firth, Hall & Pond, c1845.
      1 vocal score (7 p.) ; 34 cm.
      Opera excerpt originally for high voice with orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. English and French words. Caption title. Pl no. 1327 Firth.

39 G2755na m Firth
PetersBxC08f08

Geijer, Erik Gustaf, 1783-1847.
      Lonely I wander : a romance.
      New York : S.C. Jollie : Firth, Pond & Co., c1850.
      1 score (7 p.) : ports. ; 34 cm.
      For medium voice and piano. Caption title. "Swedish melody, sung by Signore Belletti." ["Authorized edition of Jenny Lind's songs"]--List t.p. Publication of series authorized by Julius Benedict and Giovanni Battista Belletti. Lithograph ports. of Giovanni Battista Belletti, Julius Benedict, and Jenny Lind on p. [1]. Imperfect copy, lacks list t.p.

41 G324so AA
PetersBxB05f03-f04

Gershwin, George, 1898-1937.
      Gershwin medley / arr. by Ted Simons.
      [19--]
      2 piano conductor parts (9 p. each) + 22 parts ; 32 cm.
      Medley of the songs 'S wonderful from the musical Funny face, The man I love from the musical Lady, be good!, and Summertime from the opera Porgy and Bess, with transitions between songs by the arranger; scored for high voice and orchestra (5 woodwinds, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, violins, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, drum set). Caption title. Words to S'wonderful and The man I love by Ira Gershwin; words to Summertime by Du Bose Heyward and Ira Gershwin. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano conductor, guitar and bass parts include chord symbols. Occasional markings in pencil. Cage c. 1 includes typescript lyrics (photocopy) to S'wonderful, The man I love, Summertime, and Vilia (i.e. Es lebt' eine Vilja, from the operetta Lustige Witwe by F. Léhar, English words translated from the original German of Victor Léon and Leo Stein by Adrian Ross). Cage c. 2 includes additional piano conductor part.

41 G43car
PetersBxC04f02

Ginastera, Alberto, 1916-1983.
      Canción al árbol del olvido / Alberto Ginastera.
      [19--]
      31 parts ; 32 cm.
      Originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for 2 flutes, oboe, 2 B♭ clarinets, celesta, harp, and strings; instrument parts only. Caption title from flute 1 part. At bottom of p. [1] of wind, celesta, and harp parts: Andre Kostelanetz. Reproduced from ms. Markings in pencil. Cage box folder includes score for high voice and piano (photocopy) published: Buenos Aires : Ricordi Americana, c1945. Pl. no.: B.A.8226. Marked as conductor's score.

39 G5185ge WmHall
PetersBxC11f08

Glover, Stephen, 1813-1870.
      Gently sighs the breeze : the popular duet / written for Madlle. Jenny Lind & Madlle. Marietta Alboni by Stephen Glover ; [words by J.E. Carpenter].
      New York : William Hall & Son, [ca. 1849]
      1 score (7 p.) ; 34 cm.
      For 2 voices and piano. Lithograph ports. of Jenny Lind and Marietta Alboni on t.p.

45 G521o AA
PetersBxC08f10

Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von, 1714-1787.
      Orfeo : Amor.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score ([29] p. in various pagings) ; 33 cm.
      Excerpts from the opera Orfeo ed Euridice, for soprano (the character Amore), solo and in combination with soprano (Euridice) and tenor (Orfeo); acc. originally for orchestra, arr. for piano. Italian words. Cover title. Different page numbering sequences at top and bottom of each page. Occasional markings in pencil. Cage box folder includes receipt from the Metropolitan Opera Association library dated Oct. 20, 1970.

41 H181wa
PetersBxC02f02

Hamlisch, Marvin.
      The way we were / arr. A. DiPippo.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score (4 p.) + 18 parts ; 32 cm.
      For medium voice with orchestra (4 clarinets (1 doulbing flute), bass clarinet, 3 flugelhorns doubling trumpet, 2 trombones, bass trombone, violins, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, and drum set). Wordless. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano, guitar and bass parts include chord symbols.

41 H118del
PetersBxB03f01

Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.
      Delirio amoroso / Handel.
      [1968?]
      9 ms. parts ; 32 cm.
      Solo cantata originally for soprano, flute, oboe, 3 violins, viola, violoncello, and continuo; acc. adapted for orchestra. Caption title from flute part. Ms. in black ink on diazo vellum. Cage box folder includes: 23 diazo copies of parts with markings in pencil; 1 score (photocopy) originally published: Leipzig ; Händelgesellschaft, 1888; 1 score (photocopy) for violoncello continuo; and 1 score (photocopy) of excerpts for harpsichord continuo. Cage box folder includes 1 autograph invoice for copyist services dated Jan. 7, 1968; 1 typescript statement of expenses for copyist and reproduction services dated Jan. 24, 1998; 1 undated autograph note from John Solum to Roberta Peters; and 3 invoices for reproduction services from Independent Music Publishers Inc. dated Jan. 11, 17, and 19, 1968.

47 H118m Peters
PetersBxD03f01

Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.
      Der Messias : Oratorium / G.F. Händel ; nach dem Autograph und den Stimmen des Findling-Hospitals zu London revidiert und herausgegeben von Arnold Schering und Kurt Soldan ; Klavierauszug von Kurt Soldan = The Messiah : an oratorio / G.F. Händel ; revised and edited from the autograph score and the parts at the Foundlings Hospital in London by Arnold Schering [and] Kurt Soldan.
      Frankfurt ; New York : C.F. Peters, c1939.
      1 vocal score (204 p.) ; 28 cm.
      Oratorio. Libretto compiled by Charles Jennens from the Old and New Teaments. blisher's no.: Edition Peters Nr. 4501. Occasional markings in pencil and ms. red ink

41 H118als
PetersBxC04f01

Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.
      Il Pensieroso / G.F. Händel.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score (13 p.) + 24 ms. parts ; 35 cm.
      Cantata excerpt for soprano and orchestra. English words. Caption title. Libretto adapted from John Milton's Il Penseroso by Charles Jennens. Ms. in black ink. Includes 2 cadenzas for soprano and flute inscribed in ms. black ink on separate part. Occasional markings in blue crayon. Cage box folder includes 1 autograph note in black ink.

41 H243ca
PetersBxB06f02,f04-f05

Harris, Roy, 1898-1979.
      [Canticle of the sun.]
      [1961?]
      1 condensed score (78 p.) ; 36-38 cm.
      For soprano, flute, English horn, clarinet, bass clarinet, piano, 3 violins, 2 violas, and violoncello.. Italian words Title supplied by cataloger. Composed in 1961. Reproduced from ms. Cage c. 3 lacks p. 31-78.

41 H2955cov BHB
PetersBxB02f04

Haussermann, John, 1909-1986.
      Concerto for voice and orchestra, opus 25 / John Haussermann.
      New York : Boosey, Hawkes, Belwin, c1942.
      1 score (91 p.) ; 36 cm.
      Wordless. Pref. in English. Includes errata list.

38 H2955si CPress
PetersBxD01f02

Haussermann, John, 1909-1986.
      Five singing miniatures : for medium high voice with piano, [op. 12] / by John Haussermann.
      New York : Composers Press, c1953.
      1 score (12 p.) ; 31 cm.
      Duration: 8:20. Contents: Perhaps I'll come / Wanda Marine van Hosen -- Death / from the Arabian, E. Poweys Mathers, trans. -- The waterlily / Robert Cage c. 1 includes autograph note by John Haussermann to Roberta Peters dated Nov. 10, 1972.

38 H2955on Cpress
PetersBxD01f04

Haussermann, John, 1909-1986.
      On the river : song cycle for high voice / by John Haussermann ; to poems from the Chinese as translated by Judith Gautier ; English translations by James Whitall.
      New York : Composers Press, c1951.
      1 score (19 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For high voice and piano. English words. Poems from the Book of jade. Duration: 10:00. Pref. in English. Contents: Mid-river / Tchang-Tsi -- Intoxications of love / Li-Taï-Pé -- Before her mirror / Tchan-Jo-Su -- The autumn wind / The Empress Outy -- On the river / Tchan-Jo-Su.

38 H2955mo CPress
PetersBxD01f03

Haussermann, John, 1909-1986.
      Three moods : for medium voice and piano, op. 18 / by John Haussermann.
      New York : Composers Press, c1940.
      1 score (14 p.) ; 31 cm.
      At end of song 1: February 1938; song 2: January 1939; song 3: May 1939. Duration: 6:30. Contents: The wind and the song -- Return -- At Eastertide.

38 H2955cov
PetersBxB03f02

Haussermann, John, 1909-1986.
      Vocal concerto, opus 25 / John Haussermann.
      [1942?]
      1 vocal score (13, 3, 10, 9 leaves) ; 35 cm.
      Wordless. Caption title. Composed in 1942. Reproduced from ms.

41 H415nai
PetersBxC01f05

Herbert, Victor, 1859-1924.
      Italian street song / Angelo DiPippo, arranger.
      [19--]
      2 piano conductor parts (12 p. each) + 16 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the operetta Naughty Marietta for high voice with orchestra (5 woodwinds, 3 trumpets doubling flugelhorn, 2 trombones, violins, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, and drum set). Wordless. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano conductor part includes chord symbols.

41 H415nai Wit
PetersBxD01f01

Herbert, Victor, 1859-1924.
      Italian street song : from Naughty Marietta / music by Victor Herbert ; orchestrated by Geo. J. Trinkaus.
      New York : M. Witmark & Sons, c1910.
      18 parts ; 28 cm.
      Excerpt from the operetta Naughty Marietta for soprano and orchestra; instrument parts only. Cover title. "Witmark concert edition." Two parts printed on each folded 28 x 36 cm leaf, with exception of piano and drums parts. Publisher's no.: Vocal orch 2915. Publisher's no.: 2357. Occasional markings in pencil and ms. red ink.

38 H789so
PetersBxB02f03

Horvit, Michael M.
      Three songs on the death of an American president : 1964 / by Michael M. Horvit ; poems by Emily Dickinson.
      [1964?]
      1 score (9 p.) ; 35 cm.
      For high voice and piano. At end: March 1964. Reproduced from holograph. "Reproduced and bound by Independent Music Publishers, New York City"--Label on cover. Contents: I felt a cleavage in my mind -- Ample make this bed -- I felt a funeral in my brain.

45 H888ma Delhi
PetersBxD02f05

Humphreys, Henry S. (Henry Sigurd), 1909-1990.
      Mayerling : a tragic opera in three acts, op. 33 / with words and music by Henry Rauscher ; vocal score.
      Cincinnati : Delhi Publications : Sole selling agents, Willis Music Co., c1959.
      1 vocal score (viii, 152 p.) ; 27 cm.
      Synopsis in English and German: p. iv-viii. Inscription in black ink on t.p. by Henry Rauscher (i.e. Henry S. Humphreys) to Roberta Peters dated Oct. 5, 1959. Cage box folder includes promotional brochure, excerpt detached from vocal score (p. 13-20) with markings in black ink and red crayon, and signed typescript letter from Henry Humphreys to Bert Fields dated Oct. 5, 1959.

2 J9475pr Ditson
PetersBxC06f14

Jullien, Louis Antoine, 1812-1860.
      The prima donna : waltz / by Jullien.
      Boston : Oliver Ditson, [185-?]
      7 p. of music ; ill., 35 cm.
      For piano. Contents: La prima donna, valse -- Jenny Lind -- Hayes -- Sontag -- Wagner. Markings in pencil

47 K141sa 1981
PetersBxD02f01-f02

Kaplan, Abraham, 1931-
      Sanctification : a vocal symphony for four soloists, mixed chorus and orchestra / music, Abraham Kaplan.
      c1981.
      1 vocal score (172 p.) ; 28 cm.
      Holograph, signed (photocopy). Originally for soloists (SATB), chorus (SATB) and orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Romanized Hebrew and English words. Texts assembled from various sources by the composer. Movements also paginated separately. Contents: Vision and praise. Vaer'e : I saw the Lord ; Overture ; Nakdishach (Sanctification) ; Ledor vador (Through all generations) -- Love and knowledge of God. Love song ; O everyone that thirsteth ; Happy is the man ; She is the tree of life ; Set me as a seal -- Sanctification. Keter (Sanctification) ; We will revere Thee ; Naaritscha ; El Adon (The Lord is master) ; Through all generations. Cage c. 1: occasional markings in pencil. Cage c. 2 includes: prelim. p. with facsimile signatures of Abraham Kaplan, Roberta Peters, and others who participated in the 1982 premiere; 1 concert program from premiere; printed t.p.with title of work given as K'dusha symphony.

41 L179so
PetersBxC04f04

Lambro, Phillip.
      Four songs for soprano & orchestra / by Phillip Lambro ; [poems by Sylvia Plath] ; piano-vocal-percussion reduction ; composer's orchestral reduction.
      Century City, Calif. : Wimbeldon Music, c1975.
      1 score (42 p.) ; 33 cm.
      "In memory of my childhood friend Sylvia Plath." At end: December 3, 1967 Los Angeles, California. Reproduced from holograph. Duration: ca. 17:00. Program notes by the composer on t.p. verso. Contents: The night dances -- The applicant -- Mirror -- Daddy. Occasional markings in red pencil. Cage box folder includes: typescript letter by Phillip Lambro to Roberta Peters dated Dec. 23, 1975; article from the Los Angeles Times (photocopy) by the composer dated June 1, 1975; promotional brochure about the composer.

41 L32gr
PetersBxC01f04

Lara, Agustín, 1897-1970.
      Granada / Angelo DiPippo, arranger.
      [19--]
      2 piano conductor parts (13 p. each) + 16 parts ; 32 cm.
      For high voice with orchestra (5 woodwinds, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, violins, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, and drum set). Wordless. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano conductor part includes chord symbols. Occasional markings in pencil on piano conductor part.

41 L527evw
PetersBxC04f05

Lehár, Franz, 1870-1948.
      Dreaming of you : waltz-song / music by Franz Lehar ; words by Sigmund Spaeth.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score (p. 12-15) + 56 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the operetta Eva. English and German words. Introduction for high voice and piano notated on piano-vocal part; remainder of song for high voice and orchestra notated in vocal score and orchestra parts. English words in piano-vocal part by Sigmund Spaeth. German words in vocal score by Alfred Maria Willner and Robert Bodansky. Caption title from piano-vocal part. Vocal score photocopied from ed. published: Wien : Doblinger, c1911 (Pl. no.: D.4789); orchestra parts photocopied from ed. published [S.l.] : Doblinger, [19--]. (Pl. no.: D.4828). Piano-vocal part reproduced from ms.

41 L527lul
PetersBxC04f06-f07

Lehár, Franz, 1870-1948.
      I love you so : (Merry widow) / F. Lehar.
      [19--]
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 36 cm.
      Excerpt from the operetta Lustige Witwe for high voice and orchestra. English words by Adrian Ross. Caption title. Ms. (photocopy). Cage c. 2: words inscribed in ms. blue ink.

41 L527gm Glock
PetersBxC05f01, PetersBxC11f07

Lehár, Franz, 1870-1948.
      Meine Lippen, sie küssen so heiss : Lied aus der musikalischen Komödie Giuditta / Franz Lehár ; arrangement, Hans Schneider (nach der Original-Partitur des Komponisten).
      Wien : Glocken-Verlag, c1951.
      1 piano conductor part (4 p.) + 63 parts.
      Excerpt from the operetta Giuditta, for high voice and orchestra. German words in piano conductor part by Paul Knepler and Fritz Löhner. Caption title from piano conductor part. Cage c. 1: Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 19--]. 1 piano conductor part (4 p.) ; 27 cm. + 63 parts ; 27-28 cm. Cage c. 2: 64 parts photocopied from cage c. 1; includes vocal score (photocopy) originally published: Wien : Glocken-Verlag, c1935 (Pl. no.: G.V. 134)

41 L527lue
PetersBxC04f08

Lehár, Franz, 1870-1948.
      Vilia : Merry widow.
      [19--]
      1 score ([14] p. in various pagings) + 23 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the operetta Lustige Witwe. Score for high voice wth orchestra, parts for 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 3 flugelhorns, 3 trombones, violins 1-2, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, and drum set. English words by Adrian Ross. Title from caption of flute 1 part. Ms. (photocopy). Piano and guitar parts include chord symbols.

39 L6407pa WmVand
PetersBxC08f01

Lindblad, Adolf Fredrik, 1801-1878.
      The herdsman's mountain song = Pa berget / written and composed by A. F. Lindblad ; rendered into English from the Swedish by J. Wrey Mould.
      New York : Wm. Vanderbeek, [185-?]
      1 score (7 p.) ; 34 cm.
      For high voice with piano. English and Swedish words. Caption title. "Correct American edition"--P.[ 1]. Lithograph port. of Jenny Lind with facsim. signature on p. [1]. Words to the song Come dearest the daylight is gone, attributed to Brinley Richards, inscribed in pencil on p. [2]; at foot of p. [2] in pencil: Mary Matson of North Carolina, 1860.

39 L6473iv FDBent
PetersBxC08f02

Linley, George, 1798-1865.
      I've left the snow-clad hills / G. Linley.
      New Orleans : F.D. Benteen & Wm. V. Mayo, [18--]
      1 score (5 p.) ; 35 cm.
      For medium voice with piano. Caption title. "Baltimore"--List t.p. Lithograph port. of Jenny Lind on list t.p.

41 B124lo
PetersBxC11f03

Look of love ; Yesterday ; Aquarius / arr. by Frank Proto.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score (3 v.) ; 32 cm.
      Popular songs arr. for medium voice with orchestra. Titles from captions. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Aquarius is from the musical Hair. Reproduced from ms. Includes chord symbols. Occasional markings in pencil.

41 M140haa
PetersBxC04f09

MacDermot, Galt.
      Aquarius / arr. Phil Moore.
      [19--]
      13 ms. parts + 2 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical Hair, for voice and orchestra (3 woodwinds, horn, 2 trumpets, trombone, violins, violas, violoncellos, guitar, bass, percussion, drum set); instrument parts only. Caption title from 1st reed (i.e. woodwind) part. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Ms. in black ink, with exception of violin parts reproduced from ms. Guitar part includes chord symbols. Markings in pencil.

39 M279knw h Int
PetersBxD02f03

Mahler, Gustav, 1860-1911.
      Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht : for voice and piano / Mahler.
      New York : International Music Co., c1950.
      1 vocal score (6 p.) ; 28 cm.
      Originally for voice and orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. German words, also printed as text with English translation on p. 2. Occasional markings in pencil.

PetersBxC11f10

Mandel, Johnny.
      Shadow of your smile / arr. by Frank Proto.
      [19--]
      3 ms. parts ; 32 cm.
      Parts for trumpet and 2 trombones from an arrangment for unspecified ensemble. Caption title from trumpet part. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Ms. in black ink.

41 M3312fr
PetersBxC08f11-f13

March of the musketeers
      [1954?]
      1 score (10 p.) ; 34 cm.
      Medley for soprano, tenor and two baritones. Includes March of the musketeers from the operetta Three musketeers by Rudolf Friml, Stouthearted men from the operetta New moon by Sigmund Romberg, and the traditional song Vive la compagnie. Caption title. Performed on the television show Toast of the town (i.e. Ed Sullivan show), probably with instrumental acc. Reproduced from ms. Occasional markings in pencil;Cage c. 1 includes typescript (photocopy) excerpt from the script for the Apr. 4, 1954 broadcast of Toast of the Town includes parts for Roberta Peters, Cesare Siepi, John Perona, Ed Sullivan, Cesare Valletti, Fernando Corena, Billy De Wolfe, and Mary Garden.

41 M576pao
PetersBxB04f01

Meyerbeer, Giacomo, 1791-1864.
      Ombre legere = Shadow song : from Dinorah / by Meyerbeer ; arr. for Roberta Peters by A. De Filippi.
      [19--]
      1 ms. score (41 p.) ; 35 cm. + 14 ms. parts + 33 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Pardon de Ploërmel, for high voice and orchestra. French words. T.p. partly obscured by leaf of recitative music glued over it. Score and wind parts in ms. in black ink; strings parts reproduced from ms. Copious markings in black, red, and blue pencil; cuts in score indicated by blank sheets taped over music. Score includes cadenza by Estelle Liebling (from G. Schirmer ed. of Ombre légère qui suis mes pas) and photocopy of cadenza with markings, inserted between p. 39 and 40; flute 1 part includes photocopy of Liebling cadenza taped to p. 4.

39 M576ror h WmHall
PetersBxC08f03

Meyerbeer, Giacomo, 1791-1864.
      Robert! Robert! thou whom I love = Robert! Robert! toi que j'aime : cavatina : Robert le diable / by Meyerbeer ; English translation by W. Henry Morris.
      New York : Wm. Hall & Son, c1850.
      1 vocal score (9 p.) ; ill., 34 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Robert le diable, originally for high voice with orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Lithograph port. of Jenny Lind on p. [1].

41 M6155th
PetersBxB04f03

Miller, Joseph N.
      Thank you Lord / by Francis X. O'Neill ; Wm. J. Little ; arrang[e]ment, Fred Kepner.
      [195-?]
      1 condensed score (3 p.) + 36 parts ; 33 cm.
      Sacred song originally for for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Caption title. Francis X. O'Neill and William J. Little are pseudonyms for Joseph N. Miller. Ms. (photocopy). Markings in pencil. Cage c. 1 includes 1 typescript (photocopy) note of information about the song, and 1 autograph note by the the arranger. Cage box folder includes Thank you Lord for medium voice and piano, cataloged separately as 39 M6155th.

39 M6155th m
PetersBxB04f03

Miller, Joseph N.
      Thank you Lord / words & music by Francis X. O'Neill and William J. Little.
      c1956.
      1 score (2 leaves) ; 33 cm.
      Sacred song for medium voice and piano. Caption title. Francis X. O'Neill and William J. Little are pseudonyms for Joseph N. Miller. Includes chord symbols. "© 1956 Godspell Music Corp." Ms. (photocopy). Cage box folder includes Thank you Lord arr. for high voice and orchestra, cataloged separately as 41 M6155th.

39 M877np s WmHall
PetersBxC06f01

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Cruel love dost wring with pleasure = Porgi amor qual che ristoro : Le nozze di Figaro / composed by W.A. Mozart ; rendered into English from the Italian by J.W. Mould.
      New York : William Hall & Son, [18--]
      1 vocal score (5 p.) : port. ; 34 cm.
      Opera excerpt originally for soprano and orchestra, acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte. Lithograph portrait of Jenny Lind on p. [1].

38 M87 ar h
PetersBxD02f04

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Konzert-Arien : für eine Singstimme mit Orchester / W.A. Mozart ; Ausgabe für eine Singstimme mit Klavierbegleitung von Lilli Lehmann.
      New York : C.F. Peters, 1921
      1 score (48 p.) ; 31 cm.
      Originally for high voice with orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Italian and Latin words with German translations. Contents: v. 1. Mia speranza adorata, K. 416.--Popoli di Tessaglia, K. 300b (316 -- No, no, che no sei capace, K. 419 -- Laudamus te, Et incarnatus est from Mass in C minor, K. 417a (427). Pl. nos.: 10267. Cage v.1 c. 1: markings in black and brown pencil.

41 M877io K.316
PetersBxB04f02

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Popoli di Tessaglia : K.V. 316 / W.A. Mozart
      [1960?]
      7 ms. parts ; 36 cm.
      Recitative and aria for soprano and orchestra; orchestra parts only. Caption title from oboe part. Ms. and typescript in black ink on diazo vellum. Cage box folder includes 39 parts reproduced from ms. with markings in pencil, and 2 concert programs from the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra dated Feb. 26-27, 1960.

41 M877s K.580
PetersBxC05f05

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Schon lacht der holde Frühling : Arie für Sopran = Already spring is smiling : aria for soprano / W.A. Mozart ; English version by Käthe Epstein.
      Wiesbaden : Breitkopf & Härtel, [19--]
      1 score (17 p.) + 2 parts.
      Originally for soprano, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns and strings; acc. arr. for violin and piano. German and English words. Caption title. "Nach dem Mozartschen Partiturentwurf ergänzt und für den Konzertvortrag eingerichtet von Ernst Leibholz." Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 19--] 1 score (17 p.) ; 33 cm. + 2 parts ; 27-32 cm. Publisher's no.: Edition Breitkopf Nr. 5885. Pl. no.: 28697. Cage box folder contains 1 score, 2 voice parts, and 8 violin parts; pencil markings on score.

41 M877s
PetersBxD01f07

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Schon lacht der holde Frühling : Arie für sopran mit Begleitung eines kleinen Orchesters, KV 580 / W. A. Mozart ; vervollständigt und instrumentiert von Helmut Seidelmann.
      Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel Musikverlag, [19--].
      1 score (24 p.) ; 35 cm.
      Publisher's no.: Breitkopf & Härtels Partitur-Bibliothek Nr. 4010. Cage c. 1: Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 1987?] 1 score (24 leaves) ; 28 cm. Cage box folder includes parts (photocopy) for clarinet 1-2, bassoon 1-2, horn 1-2, violin 1-2, viola, and violoncello, originally published: Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [19--]. Folder also includes autograph note from David Levenson to Roberta Peters dated Feb. 3, 1987.

38 M877ar h 1952
PetersBxC08f04

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Twenty-one concert arias for soprano / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ; original texts with English versions by Lorraine Noel Finley.
      New York : G. Schirmer, c1952
      1 vocal score (2 v.) ; 30 cm.
      Originally with orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. Piano reductions principally by John Verrall. Italian and English words. Contents: v. 2. Mia speranza adorata!/Ah, non sai, qual pena : K. 416 = Dearest hope, my beloved!/You know not how my heart is breaking ; Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio : K. 418 = If I, o heaven, could tell you ; No, no, no, che non sei capace : K. 419 = No, no, no, truly you know nothing ; Non più, tutto ascoltai/Non temer, amato bene : K. 490 = No more, I heard it clearly/Do not fear my love may alter ; Ch'io mi scordi di te/Non temer, amato bene : K. 505 = I forget you, my dear?/Do not fear my love may alter ; Bella mia fiamma/Resta, o cara : K. 528 = Heart's beauty flaming/Stay, love, I perish ; Ah se in ciel, benigne stelle : K. 538 = Friendly stars, if yet in heaven ; Al desio di chi t'adora : K. 577 = Let my longing and supplication ; Alma grande e nobil core : K. 578 = One whose spirit is true and noble ; Chi sà, chi sà, qual sia : K. 582 = Who knows my swain's affliction? ; Vado, ma dove? : K. 583 = Whither I'm going I know not. Pl. no.: 42558--42559. Cage v.2 c.1: markings in pencil and ms. black ink.

41 M877voi ms.
PetersBxC06f03

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Voi avete un cor fedele : K. 217 / W.A. Mozart.
      [19--]
      7 ms. parts ; 33 cm.
      For soprano and orchestra ; instrument parts only (oboe 1-2, horn, violin 1-2, viola, violoncello-double bass). Caption title from oboe 1 part. Ms. in black ink on diazo vellum.

41 M877voi
PetersBxC06f02

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
      Voi avete un cor fedele : K. no. 217 / W.A. Mozart.
      [19--]
      19 parts ; 33 cm.
      For soprano and orchestra; instrument parts only (oboe 1-2, bassoon, horn 1-2, violin 1-2, viola, violoncello, double bass). Caption title from oboe 1 part. Ms. (photocopy). Cage box folder includes score (photocopy) originally published: Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [1876?].

39 M9148dr m
PetersBxC06f05

Müller, Karl.
      Jenny Lind's dream / from the original of Frederica Bremer ; adapted to a Swedish melody by Carl Müller. Loves Ranz de vache : as sung by the Hauser Family of Tyrolienne singers.
      [18--]
      1 score (p. [109]-116) ; 33 cm.
      Songs for medium voice and piano. English words. Caption titles. "New York. ATWILL, 201, Broadway"--Caption of 1st song. Printed from engraved plates.

39 M9148dr m Lee
PetersBxC06f04

Müller, Karl.
      The dream / from the original of Fredericka Bremer ; adapted to a Swedish melody by Karl Müller.
      Philadelphia : Lee & Walker, [between 1845 and 1848]
      1 score (5 p.) ; 34 cm.
      For medium voice and piano. Caption title. Printed from engraved plates. Lithograph port. of Jenny Lind on list t.p.

39 M988ad h Scharf
PetersBxC06f07

Muzio, Emanuele, 1825-1890.
      Adelina waltz : as sung with great success by Adelina Patti in the Barber of Seville / composed by Signor Muzio.
      New York : Scharfenberg & Luis, c1860.
      1 vocal score (11 p.) : port.
      Song for high voice and piano composed for Adelina Patti for the finale of Barbiere di Siviglia by Rossini. English and Italian words. Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 19--] 1 score (11 leaves) ; 37 cm.

38 N1655 AA h
PetersBxC06f06

Nardi, Nachum, 1901-1977.
      B'er sheba ; [Etz harimon] ; Haleluya ; Haleluya ; [Sisi admat hasharon] / Nachum Nardi.
      [19--]
      1 score ([28] p. in various pagings) ; 32-35 cm.
      Songs for high voice and piano. Hebrew words, some romanized. Titles from captions. Words to Haleluya (3rd and 4th songs) from Psalm 150, 3rd song in Hebrew script, 4th song romanized. Words to Sisi admat hasharon by Jacob Fichman. Reproduced from ms. Romanized words to B'er sheba inscribed in ms. red ink; words to Etz harimon and Sisi admat hasharon inscribed in Hebrew script in ms. blue ink. Caption title to Etz harimon inscribed in ms. blue ink in English as The pomegranate tree. Cage box folder includes a concert flyer dated May 9, 1967, a business card from Robert Small, and a page fragment with Hebrew words to the song Etz harimon printed as text.

39 P2775on h Brandus
PetersBxC06f08

Patti, Adelina, 1843-1919.
      Le baiser d'adieu = Il baccio d'addio / poésie de Lord Byron ; musique de Adelina Patti.
      Paris : G. Brandus et S. Dufour, [1867?]
      1 score ([7] p.) : ports.
      For high voice and piano. "Paroles françaises de Philippe Théolier"--Caption. At head of title: Supplément à lá Revue et Gazette Musicale, Mars 1867. Photocopy. [S.l. : s.n., 19--] 1 score ([7] leaves) ; 35 cm.

PetersBxD02f07

Pierce, Roberta.
      Lo! here the gentle lark / [written by Mr. Smith & Roberta Pierce].
      [19--]
      1 ms. score ([1] leaf) ; 27 cm.
      Cadenzas for soprano with flute to the song Lo! here the gentle lark, from incidental music to Comedy of errors composed by Henry R. Bishop. Wordless. Caption title. Ms. in pencil.

41 P961go
PetersBxC02f03

Puccini, Giacomo, 1858-1924.
      O mio babbino / arr. Angelo DiPippo.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score (2 p.) + 16 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the opera Gianni Schicchi, originally for soprano with orchestra; acc. arr. for flute, 3 clarinets, bass clarinet, 3 flugelhorns, trombone, violins, violas, violoncellos, piano, guitar, bass, and drum set. Italian words by Giovacchino Forzano. English version by Anne and Herbert Grossman. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Piano part reproduced from vocal score published: [S.l.] : Ricordi, c1959. Piano and guitar parts include chord symbols.

38 P971or AAh B&H 1948
PetersBxC08f05

Purcell, Henry, 1659-1695.
      Orpheus Britannicus : six songs / Henry Purcell ; the figured bass realized by Benjamin Britten ; the vocal parts edited by Peter Pears.
      [New York?] : Boosey & Hawkes, c1948.
      1 score (31 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For high voice and piano. English words. Pref. in English. Mad Bess -- If music be the food of love -- There's not a swain of the plain -- Not all my torments -- Man is for woman made -- Sweeter than roses. Occasional markings in pencil.

38 R115so AAh Gut
PetersBxC08f06

Rachmaninoff, Sergei, 1873-1943.
      Selected songs = Mélodies choisies = Ausgewählte Lieder / Serge Rachmaninoff.
      London : Édition A. Gutheil ; Boosey & Hawkes, 1949, c1947.
      1 score (47 p.) ; 31 cm.
      "New edition with English, French, German and Russian texts." All songs originally in Russian. Contents: Oh stay, my love = Ne t'en va pas = O nein, ich fleh', geh' nicht von mir -- In the silent night = Lorsque la nuit m'entoure = Wenn Nacht mich hüllt und Schweigen -- The harvest of sorrow = Blés dorés, moisson vaste = O du wogendes Feld -- The little island = L'ilot = Das Inselchen -- O, do not grieve for me! = Ne me regrette pas! = O, traure nicht! -- Spring waters = Les eaux du printemps = Frühlingsfluten -- The lilacs = Les lilas = Flieder -- Sorrow in springtime = Oh, je souffre = Wie mir's weh tut -- Christ is risen = Le Christ renaît = Der Her [i.e. Herr] erstand -- To the children = Aux enfants = An die Kinder -- Before my window = Dans mon jardin je vois! = Vor meinem Fenster -- Vocalise. Occasonal markings in pencil.

44 R616ki AA
PetersBxC09f01-f05, PetersBxC10f01

Rodgers, Richard, 1902-1979.
      [King and I : selections.]
      [19--]
      1 piano conductor part (6 v.) + parts (6 v.) ; 28-34 cm.
      Excerpts from a musical, for medium voice with orchestra. Title supplied by cataloger. Words by Oscar Hammerstein. Piano conductor part reproduced from ms.; orchestra parts in ms. (pencil and black ink) and reproduced from ms. "Material not used in 4 selections & reprise"--Cover. Contents: v. 1. I whistle a happy tune -- v. 2. Hello young lovers -- v. 3. Getting to know you -- v. 4. Anna's bedroom [i.e. Shall I tell you what I think of you?] -- v. 5. Hello young lovers (reprise) -- v. 6. Shall we dance? Markings in pencil. Vol. 1 includes music ms. notation book with piano arrangements of I whistle a happy tune, Hello young lovers, Getting to know you, Shall we dance, and Shall I tell you what I think of you (music notated in pencil, words inscribed in red ink).

41 R616cai Wmsn
PetersBxD01f09

Rodgers, Richard, 1902-1979.
      If I loved you : dance and vocal : from the musical play Carousel / music by Richard Rodgers ; lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein 2nd ; dance and vocal background arr. by Johnny Warrington.
      New York : Williamson Music, c1956.
      25 parts ; 27 cm.
      Includes versions in B♭ major for medium male voice with orchestra, and G major for low female voice with orchestra; also arr. as a foxtrot for dance orchestra in C major. Title from vocal part. "A masterscore arrangement." Guitar part includes chord symbols. Occasional markings in pencil.

41 R616men
PetersBxC10f04

Rodgers, Richard, 1902-1979.
      No other love : Me and Juliet / Rodgers & Hammerstein ; arr. by A. Borguno ; mixed choir by H. Simone ; piano production.
      [1956?]
      1 ms. vocal score (8 leaves) + 17 ms. parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from a musical, for high voice, mixed chorus (SATTBB) and orchestra; acc. in vocal score arr. for piano. Caption title. Vocal score includes orchestra cues. "Transposed for Roberta Peters from Firestone Library." "Williamson Music Co. ; Mar. 5. 1956"--Foot of leaf [1]. Originally broadcast on The voice of Firestone television program, Mar. 5, 1956. Vocal score and string parts in ms. black ink on diazo vellum wind and harp parts in ms. black ink on paper. Lacks parts for flute 1, clarinet 1-2, trumpet 1-2, trombone 1, and percussion 1-2. Markings in pencil and ms. blue ink on wind and harp parts. Cage box folder includes 3 vocal scores and 7 string parts reproduced from diazo ms.masters.

41 R616caw
PetersBxA01f01

Rodgers, Richard, 1902-1979.
      What's the use of wond'rin / arranged by Jack Andrews.
      1962.
      1 ms. score (15 p.) ; 49 cm. + 15 ms. parts + 11 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical Carousel, for medium voice and orchestra. Wordless. "Jul 11 1962." Ms. score in pencil; ms. parts in black ink; string and percussion parts reproduced from ms. Chord symbols in piano and guitar parts. Markings on score in red an blue pencil; markings on parts in black pencil.

PetersBxC11f11

Rossini, Gioacchino, 1792-1868.
      Contro un cor : Barbiere di Siviglia / G. Rossini.
      [19--]
      1 part ; 32 cm.
      Horn part from the aria Contro un cor che accende amore. Caption title. Ms. (photocopy).

31 R7555ma
PetersBxD01f06

Rouget de Lisle, Claude Joseph, 1760-1836.
      French republic : La marseillaise.
      [United States : United States Navy,] 1987.
      1 condensed score ([1] leaf) + 52 parts ; 28 cm.
      French national anthem arr. for band. Caption title. "Prepared for the official use of the Department of Defense by the editor, National Anthem Series, U. S. Naval Academy Band, and the Music branch (NMPC-654), Naval Military Personnel Command, 27 February 1987 : 100"--Flute/piccolo part. Marking in score in ms. black ink. Includes signed typescript letter from Frank Byrne to Roberta Peters dated June 1, 1989. Cage box folder includes Marseillaise for medium voice and piano, cataloged separately as 39 R7555ma McKinley.

39 R7555ma m McKinley
PetersBxD01f06

Rouget de Lisle, Claude Joseph, 1760-1836.
      La Marseillaise : French national hymn / Rouget de L'isle ; arranged by Henry S. Sawyer.
      Chicago : McKinley Music Co., c1918.
      1 score (3 p.) ; 35 cm.
      For medium voice and piano. Caption title. Markings in pencil and ms. black ink. Typescript on caption: Band arrangement is in A-flat. Cage box folder includes Marseillaise arr. for band, cataloged separately as 31 R7555ma.

39 R818ca Trans
PetersBxD01f08

Rozin, Albert.
      Cause us, O Lord, our God : for voice and organ (or piano) / Albert Rozin.
      New York : Transcontinental Music Publications, c1966.
      1 score (5 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For medium voice with piano or organ. English words adapted from Jewish liturgy. Inscription on t.p. by Albert Rozin to Robert Peters in ms. blue ink. Cage box folder includes signed autograph letter from Albert Rozin to Roberta Peters dated Oct. 11, 1967, and offprint article The case of the piano dropout, by Albert Rozin (Music journal, Feb. 1967).

38 Sa5945ci
PetersBxB05f02

Santini, Dalmazio.
      Cinquains / Dalmazio Santini ; [words by] Adelaide Crapsey.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score (14 p.) ; 36 cm.
      Originally for high voice, flute, 3 clarinets, percussion, piano, 5 violins, 2 violas, 2 violoncellos, and double bass; acc. arr. for piano. English words. Reproduced from ms. Contents: November night -- Triad -- Susanna and the elders -- The guarded wound -- The warning.

41 Sa5945ci
PetersBxB05f01

Santini, Dalmazio.
      Cinquains / Dalmazio Santini ; [words by] Adelaide Crapsey.
      [19--]
      1 score (31 p.) ; 36 cm.
      For high voice and flute, 3 clarinets, percussion, piano, 5 violins, 2 violas, 2 violoncellos, and double bass. English words. Reproduced from ms. Contents: November night -- Triad -- Susanna and the elders -- The guarded wound -- The warning.

38 Sch78so Ah
PetersBxD02f06

Schubert, Franz, 1797-1828.
      Gesänge für eine Singstimme mit Klavierbegleitung / Franz Schubert ; nach den ersten Drucken revidiert (Friedländer).
      New York : C. F. Peters, [195-?]
      1 score (7 v.) ; 27 cm.
      Cage v.1 c.1: occasional markings in pencil.

45 Sch78zwv
PetersBxC06f11-f12

Schubert, Franz, 1797-1828.
      Nr. 2 Duett Lieschen-Anton : aus Die Zwillingsbrüder ; Nr. 7 Duett Lieschen-Anton / Fr. Schubert.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score (15, 3 p.) ; 31-34 cm.
      Excerpts from a Singspiel, originally for soprano and tenor with orchestra; acc. arr. for piano. German words. Caption titles. Ms. (photocopy). Cage c. 1 includes: No. 4 Duett (2 photocopies) and No. 6 Duett (2 photocopies) from Fernando by F. Schubert, originally published: Leipzig : Bärenreiter, 1888; No. 1 Duett (2 photocopies) and No. 8 Duett (2 photocopies) from Verschworenen by F. Schubert, vocal score originally published: Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [19--?]; Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt : Mignon und der Harfner (photocopy), Licht und Liebe (photocopy), and Duett aus den Zwillingsbrüdern (2 photocopies) by F. Schubert, originally published: Leipzig : Peters, [19--].; Tanzlied, op. 78 no. 1 (photocopy), Er und Sie, op. 78 no. 2 (photocopy), and Ich denke dein, op. 78 no. 3 (photocopy) by R. Schumann, originally published: Frankfurt : C.F. Peters, [19--].; A l'autel j'allais rayonnant (photocopy) from Roi d'Ys by E. Lalo, originally published: Paris : Heugel, [189-]

41 Si545fi
PetersBxC05f02

Simon, Paul, 1941-
      Feelin' groovy / arr. Phil Moore.
      [19--]
      12 ms. parts + 4 parts ; 32 cm.
      For voice and orchestra (3 woodwinds, horn in F, 2 B♭ trumpets, trombone, violins A-B, violas, violoncellos, guitar, bass, drum set, percussion); instrument parts only. Caption title from 1st reed (i.e. woodwind) part. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Ms. in black ink, with exception of violin and percussion parts reproduced from ms. Guitar part includes chord symbols. Markings in pencil and ms. red ink.

37 So575je
PetersBxC11f05

Sonnambulists song : sung by Jenny Lind.
      [18--]
      1 score (p. [125]-142) ; 33 cm.
      Works for medium voice with piano, high voice with piano, and solo piano; detached from published collection. English words in songs 1 and 3; English and Italian words in songs 2 and 4. Sonnambulists song, variously titled Somnambulist's song and Is it a dream, attributed to Charles Jeffreys. Prefatory note in Engish to Swedish star polka attributes composition to Meyerbeer. Contents: Sonnambulists song : sung by Jenny Lind. Soul of my blest adored one = Tu del mio Carlo in [sic] seno : aria, as sung by Jenny Lind in Verdi's grand opera I masnadieri (Robbers). That holy spot of early days : sung by Made. Bishop / composed by Walter Maynard. Yes in those eyes angelic light = Lo sguardo avea degl[i] angelic [sic] : as sung by Jenny Lind in Verdi's grand opera I masnadieri (Robbers). Swedish star polka.

37 So67s B&H
PetersBxC08f07

Soprano songs.
      New York : Boosey & Hawkes, [19--]
      1 score (2 v.) ; 30 cm.
      For soprano and piano. English words. Contents: v. 1. Where the bee sucks / Arne -- Dawn, gentle flower ; May-dew / Bennett -- Bid me discourse ; Home, sweet home ; Should he upbraid ; Tell me, my heart / Bishop -- She wandered down the mountain side / Clay -- It was a dream / Cowen -- Kathleen Mavourneen / Crouch -- Come out, come out, my dears / Dessauer -- Ye powers that dwell below / Gluck -- The message of love ; Serenade / Gounod -- Solveig's song / Grieg -- Angels ever bright and fair ; Let me wander not unseen ; Oh, had I Jubal's lyre! / Handel -- My mother bids me bind my hair / Haydn -- O bid your faithful Ariel fly / Linley -- The loreley / Liszt -- The first violet / Mendelssohn -- The Asra ; The dew it shines ; Oh fair, and sweet, and holy / Rubinstein -- Ave Maria ; The novice ; Whither? / Schubert -- The almond tree / Schumann -- Rose softly blooming / Spohr -- Orpheus with his lute ; O that thou hadst hearkened / Sullivan -- English airs. The bailiff's daughter of Islington ; The banks of Allan Water ; Oh! the oak and the ash -- Irish airs. The last rose of summer ; The minstrel boy ; Rich and rare were the gems she wore -- Scotch airs. Comin' thro' the rye ; Robin Adair ; Within a mile of Edinburgh town -- Welsh airs. The ash grove ; The bells of Aberdovey Pl. no.: H.4135 (v. 1). Cage v.1 c.1: occasional markings in pencil.

41 St825wa AA
PetersBxC02f01

Strauss, Johann, 1825-1899.
      Strauss Potpourri / arr. N. Chotem ; vocal score.
      [1979?]
      1 vocal score (73 p.) + 41 parts ; 30 cm.
      Medley of the waltzes An der schönen, blauen Donau, G'schichten aus dem Wienerwald, and Frühlingsstimmen. Originally for orchestra; arr. for high voice with piano; includes parts for orchestra acc. to An der schönen, blauen Donau. German words to An der schönen, blauen Donau by Franz von Gernerth; German words to G'schichten aus dem Wienerwald by Hans Bernhoff-Dresden; Frühlingsstimmen is wordless. Caption title on parts Johann Strauss pot-pourri. At end: Copying -- DR Jones '79. Ms. (photocopy). Cage c. 2 lacks score.

45 St828ar AA
PetersBxC06f13

Strauss, Richard, 1864-1949.
      Arabella. #1, Fiakermilli / R. Strauss.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score ([16] p. in various pagings) ; 35 cm.
      Opera excerpts constituting the entire soprano role of Fiakermilli from Act II extracted for study purposes; acc. arr. for piano. Cover title. Reproduced from ed. published: Mainz : B. Schott's Söhne, c1933. English translation inscribed below German words prior to reproduction.

45 St828ari AA
PetersBxC08f09

Strauss, Richard, 1864-1949.
      Prologue : Ariadne auf Naxos.
      [19--]
      1 vocal score ([26] p. in various pagings) ; 33 cm.
      Opera excerpts for soprano (the character Zerbinetta), solo and in combination with mezzo soprano (Componist), baritone (Musiklehrer), soprano (Primadonna), tenor (Tanzmeister), and spoken voice (Haushofmeister); acc. originally for orchestra, arr. for piano. Cover title. Reproduced from published vocal score (Boosey & Hawkes pl. no. B. & H. 15781); German words deleted and English words inscribed prior to reproduction. Occasional markings in pencil.

41 St828li op.17st
PetersBxB05f05

Strauss, Richard, 1864-1949.
      Ständchen = Serenade, op. 17 no. 2 / Richard Strauss ; instrumentiert von Felix Mottl.
      Leipzig : Rahter, c1912.
      1 score (26 p.) + 30 parts ; 32 cm.
      Originally for high voice and piano acc. arr. for orchestra. German, English and French words. Caption title. Markings in black and blue pencil. Includes ms. parts in black ink for violin 1-2 (2 c. each), viola, violoncello, and double bass includes autograph note in black ink.

41 St99fum
PetersBxC05f03

Styne, Jule, 1905-1994.
      Music that makes me dance / arr. Phil Moore.
      [19--]
      12 ms. parts + 4 parts ; 32 cm.
      Excerpt from the musical Funny girl, for voice and orchestra (3 woodwinds, horn in F, 2 B♭ trumpets, trombone, violins A-B, violas, violoncellos, guitar, bass, drum set, percussion); instrument parts only. Caption title from 1st reed (i.e. woodwind) part. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Ms. in black ink, with exception of violin and percussion parts reproduced from ms. Guitar part includes chord symbols. Markings in pencil and ms. red ink.

41 T846pfc
PetersBxC07f01

Turina, Joaquín, 1882-1949.
      Cantares / Turnina.
      [19--]
      1 condensed score (p. 7-10) + 37 parts ; 32 cm.
      Originally for high voice and piano; acc. arr. for orchestra. Spanish words by Ramón de Campoamor. Caption title. Condensed score reproduced from score originally for high voice with piano, marked with orchestra cues prior to reproduction. Signature of Andre Kostelanetz reproduced at foot of p. 7. At foot of p.[1] of wind parts: Andre Kostelanetz. Parts reproduced from ms. Occasional markings in ms. red ink and pencil

37 It1 mh
PetersBxD01f10

Twenty-four Italian songs and arias of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
      New York : G. Schirmer, c1948.
      1 score (100 p.) ; 31 cm.
      For high voice and piano. Words in Italian and English; English translation by Theodore Baker. Contents: Per la gloria d'adorarvi / Giovanni Battista Bononcini -- Amarilli, mia bella / Giulio Caccini -- Alma del core ; Come raggio di sol ; Sebben, crudele / Antonio Caldara -- Vittoria, mio core! / Giacomo Carissimi -- Danza, danza, fanciulla gentile ; Vergin, tutto amor / Francesco Durante -- Caro mio ben / Giuseppe Giordani -- O del mio dolce ardor / Christoph Willibald von Gluck -- Che fiero costume / Giovanni Legrenzi -- Pur dicesti, o bocca bella / Antonio Lotti -- Il mio bel foco / Benedetto Marcello -- Non posso disperar / S. De Luca -- Lasciatemi morire / Claudio Monteverdi --;Nel cor piu non mi sento / Giovanni Paisiello -- Se tu m'ami, se sospiri ; Nina / Giovanni Battista Pergolesi -- Gia il sole dal Gange ; Le violette ; O cessate di piagarmi ; Se Florindo e fedele / Alessandro Scarlatti -- Pieta, Signore! / Alessandro Stradella -- Tu lo sai / Giuseppi Torelli. Cage c. 1: occasional markings in pencil..

2 W1565je Firth
PetersBxC03f01

Wallerstein, A. (Anton), 1813-1892.
      The Jenny Lind polka : as played by Dodworth's Cornet Band / arranged by Allen Dodworth.
      New York : Firth, Pond & Co., c1846.
      [2] p. of music ; 33 cm.
      For piano. Caption title.

41 W381di
PetersBxC06f10

Webb, Jimmy.
      Didn't we / arr. by Frank Proto.
      [19--]
      2 piano conductor parts + 12 ms. parts ; 32 cm.
      For medium voice, flute, 2 B♭ clarinets (1 doubling flute), bass clarinet (doubling baritone saxophone), 3 B♭ trumpets, 3 trombones, piano, bass, and drum set. Wordless. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Piano conductor part reproduced from ms.; ms. parts in black ink. Piano conductor part includes chord symbols. Cage c. 1 includes piano vocal part from different arrangement by Frank Proto; markings in pencil and red ink.

PetersBxC11f12

Webb, Jimmy.
      Phoenix / arr. by Frank Proto.
      [19--]
      1 part (3 p.) ; 32 cm.
      Piano vocal part from an arrangement for unspecified ensemble of the popular song By the time I get to Phoenix. Caption title. Arr. for Roberta Peters. Reproduced from ms. Includes chord symbols. Cage box folder includes 2 copies, 1 with occasional markings in black and red pencil and blue ink.

NC997 .A3P
PetersBxB06f03

Art reproductions from the Roberta Peters Music Collection.
      1845-1998.
      22 art reproductions (19 sheets) : b&w and col. ; 29-36 cm., 11 x 14-28 x 40 cm.
      Reproductions of lithographs, etchings, and a painting. Includes portraits of opera singers, satirical scenes, and other subjects. Title supplied by cataloger. Some items detached from books or scores. Contents: Lithograph ports. of opera singers Eugenie Pappenheim, Marie Rôze, Etelka Gerster, Christine Nilsson, Sofia Scalchi, Marzella [i.e. Marcella] Sembrich, Alwina Valleria, Zélia Trebelli, Giuditta Grisi, Maria Malibran, and Jenny Lind -- Opera scene (probably Semiramide by G. Rossini) with caricatures of Luigi Paoletti, Carlotta Marchisio, Filippo Coliva, Ghennady Kandratieff, and Barbara Marchisio, mounted on 21 x 25 cm. card with ms. inscription in brown ink by Eugenio Cosselli to Caroline Unger dated 1862 -- Lithograph port. of ballerina Fanny Elssler published by Stagni, Bologna, l'Autunno del 1845 -- Satirical engravings by George and Robert Cruikshank portraying life in London and Paris ca. 1822. Cribb's parlour ; Dick, and the captain, paying their respects to the fair limonadière, in the Café de Mille Colonnes ; Dick, the captain, and Squire Jenkins, dining at Nery's, in the Palais Royale ; Tom and Jerry taking the hint at Logic's being blown up at Point Nonplus ; Tom, Jerry and Logic tasting wine in the wood -- Engraving of the musical contest between Apollo and Marsyas, from Theatrum Pictorium by Théodorus van Kessel -- Engraving of ancient musical instruments by D.K. Bonatti -- Engraving of images from ancient Greek theater by Vittorio Raineri -- Painting of winter scene. Occasional pencil markings.