Clifford Vaughan Music Collection

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School

Contact Information

Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections

Lila Acheson Wallace Library

The Juilliard School

60 Lincoln Center Plaza

New York, NY 10023-6588

USA

Phone: (212) 799-5000, ext. 265

Fax: (212) 769-6421

Email: library@juilliard.edu

Processed by:	David Snow
Date completed:	March 26, 2009
Encoded by:	David Snow

©2009

---

---

Table of Contents

Titlepage

Descriptive summary

Organization

Scope and content

Administrative Information

Provenance

Access

Biographical Note

Box List

---

Descriptive summary Origination:	Clifford Vaughan, 1893-1987
Title:	Clifford Vaughan Music Collection, approximately 1915-1983.
Extent:	.38 cubic feet (1 box).
Repository:	Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, Lila Acheson Wallace Library, The Juilliard School
Language Note:	The collection contains material in English.

Organization

Arranged in a single series of music scores.

Scope and content

The collection consists of works by Clifford Vaughan for solo piano, solo organ, violin and piano, and various chamber ensembles. Most scores reprod. from holograph; some mss. Includes gift letter from Margaret Vaughan Meyer dated April 16, 2003.

Administrative Information

Provenance

Gift of Margaret Vaughan Meyer, 2003.

Access

Restricted access to rare materials: apply; Library Director.

Biographical Note

American composer, conductor and orchestrator (1893-1987). Collaborated with film composer Franz Waxman on several projects and created original film scores for RKO, Paramount, MGM, Warner Bros. and Disney. Also composed for the concert hall..

Personal names

Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987 -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles.

Subjects

Canons, fugues, etc. (Organ)

Chorales.

Dance music.

Instrumental ensembles.

Organ music.

Passacaglias (Organ)

Piano music.

Quintets (Flute, violins (2), viola, violoncello)

Scherzos (Violin and piano)

Toccatas.

Trios (Flute, violin, viola)

Violin and piano music.

Waltzes.

Music -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles.

Arrangers (Musicians)

Composers -- United States.

Film composers -- United States.

Box List

VaughanBx01f01	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. [Piano solo, untitled] / Clifford Vaughan.       3 p. of music ; 34 cm.       Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Reprod. from holograph.
VaughanBx01f02	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. [Untitled early work for piano] / Clifford Vaughan.       7 p. of ms. music ; 32 cm.       Holograph in black ink. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer.
VaughanBx01f03	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Fantasy on a motive / Clifford Vaughan.       5 leaves of ms. music ; 31 cm.       For piano. Caption title. "Not fast." Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph in ink on vellum. Duration: 1:45. Includes 1 ozalid copy of ms.
VaughanBx01f04	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Piano solo / Clifford Vaughan.       7 p. of music ; 34 cm.       Caption title. "Rhumba, not fast." Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Reprod. from holograph.
VaughanBx01f05	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Prelude no. 2 (piano) / Clifford Vaughan.       2 leaves of music ; 37 cm.       Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy)
VaughanBx01f06	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Prelude no. 5 (piano) / Clifford Vaughan.       2 leaves of music ; 37 cm.       Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy). Includes a total of 3 photocopies (2 c.: 37 cm.; 1 c.: 28 cm. with music partly cut off).
VaughanBx01f07	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Six piano preludes / Clifford Vaughan.        c1983.       12 p. of music ; 28 cm.       Caption title. "Copyright assigned 1983 to Clifford Vaughan"--Label at bottom of p.[1]. Pl. no.: AM 17. Three copies.
VaughanBx01f08	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Two Burmese dances / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       5 p. of music ; 36 cm.       For piano. "Rangoon, '26." Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f09	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Valse ballet / Clifford Vaughan.       11 leaves of music ; 38 cm.       For piano. Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f10	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Agitato : concert etude / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       10 leaves of music ; 34 cm.       For organ. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f11	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Allegeo + chorale / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       6 leaves of music ; 33 cm.       For organ. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f12	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Chorale, prelude and toccata / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       14 leaves of music ; 34 cm.       For organ. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f13	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Fantasy on Land of rest / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       6 leaves of music ; 34 cm.       For organ. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f14	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Service pieces for organ : easy to medium difficulty / Clifford Vaughan. Hollywood, Calif. : Mt. Hollywood Congregational Church, c1983.       32 p. of music ; 29 cm.       Contents: Invitation to worship -- Recitative -- Miniature no. 1 -- Miniature no. 2 -- Chorale in C -- Miniature no. 3 -- Miniature no. 4 -- Soliloquy -- Miniature no. 5 -- Miniature no. 6 -- Miniature no. 7 -- Miniature no. 8 -- Miniature no. 9 -- Dialogue -- Images -- Chorale in D -- Pastiche. Cage box copy: Markings in ms. pencil.
VaughanBx01f15	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Short prelude, passacaglia and fugue / C. Vaughan.        [199-?]       8 leaves of music ; 28 cm.       For organ. Caption title. Ms. (photocopy). "ASCAP." Duration: 5:45.
VaughanBx01f16	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Air on G string : violin and piano / Clifford Vaughan.       1 score (2 leaves) + 1 part ([1] leaf ; 35 cm.       Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f17	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. For violin and piano / Clifford Vaughan.        c1996.       1 score (6 p.) + 1 part (2 p.) ; 33 cm.       Caption title. Copyright 1996 Margarent Vaughan Meyer. Reprod. from holograph.
VaughanBx01f18	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Scherzo for violin and piano / Clifford Vaughan.       1 score (5 p.) + 1 part (2 p.) ; 34 cm.       Caption title in ms. black ink. Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Reprod. from holograph.
VaughanBx01f19	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Sonata for violin and piano / Clifford Vaughan.       1 score (11 leaves) + 1 part (3 leaves) ; 35 cm.       Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f20	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Small trio no. 1 / Clifford Vaughan.       3 parts ; 32 cm.       For flute, violin and viola. Title from caption of flute part. "ASCAP 1945." Copyright 1996 Margaret Vaughan Meyer. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f21	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. Small trio no. 2 / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       3 parts ; 33 cm.       For flute, violin and viola. Title from caption of flute part. "Bev. Hills, CA 1945 ASCAP." Holograph (photocopy). Includes additional photocopy of leaf [1] from violin part with photocopied markings and paste-overs.
VaughanBx01f22	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. White jade : song / Clifford Vaughan.        [199-?]       5 parts, bound ([5] leaves) ; 28 cm.       For flute, 2 violins, viola and violoncello. Caption title. Holograph (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f23	Vaughan, Clifford, 1893-1987. White Jade / [Clifford Vaughan]        c1998.       1 score (16 p.) + 11 parts ; 34 cm.       For flute, oboe, clarinet, 3 violins, viola, 2 violoncellos, triangle and bells. Caption title. Ms. (photocopy).
VaughanBx01f24	Meyer, Margaret Vaughan. Correspondence.        April 16, 2003       1 ALS ; 1 leaf + envelope attached to empty document folder.       From Margaret Vaughan Meyer to Jane Gottlieb.