Louis Weingarden Collection

24.5 W4325aℓ
WeingardenBxC01f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      All and some : variations for brass quintet / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [196-?]
      1 score (6 pages) + 1 score ([13] pages) + 3 parts ; 32 cm + musical sketches (5 unnumbered leaves) ; 37 cm
      Holograph scores and parts in black ink; musical sketches in pencil with occasional markings in manuscript black ink. For 2 B♭ trumpets, F horn, and 2 trombones. Conductor's score inscribed on 3-stave systems and untransposed; other score inscribed on 5-staff system with trumpet and horn lines transposed. Folder includes parts photocopied from holograph, with occasional markings in manuscript red and green ink.

46 W4325bec
WeingardenBxC01f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The beginning. Part I, Creation / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1968.
      1 score ([22 pages]) ; 34 cm
      Choral music: holograph (photocopy); orchestral music: holograph in pencil; Musical sketch of a work for 4-part chorus of unspecified voices, with orchestra. English words from the book of Genesis. Choral music in graphic notation; orchestral music in staff notation. Choral music pasted on verso pages, and sketches of orchestral accompaniment notated on recto pages, with cue numbers inscribed on both to correlate choral and orchestral passages. Occasional markings in pencil and manuscript purple and blue ink.

27 W4325ca
WeingardenBxC01f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Canzone a quatro / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1988?]
      1 score (7 leaves) ; 28 cm
      For flute, 2 cellos, and piano. Caption title. Manuscript (photocopy). Composed in 1988. Folder contains 6 copies of score; occasional pencil markings.

39 W4325ce h
WeingardenBxC01f04

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Celestial mechanics / L. Weingarden ; K. Congdon.
      New York : Louis Weingarden, 1983.
      1 score (3 unnumbered leaves) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in black ink. For high voice and piano. Caption title. At end: Oct. '83, New York City. Folder also contains 2 photocopies of holograph.

47 W4325co
WeingardenBxC01f05

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Madrigal : Come not near my songs / L. Weingarden.
      [United States?] : Louis Weingarden, [1977?]
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 29 cm
      For SATB vocal quartet or chorus. Words by Mary Austin. Holograph (photocopy). Inscription on title page: For David Arner, Musician & Teacher.

46 W4325com
WeingardenBxC01f06

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Come sweet death / [Louis Weingarden].
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [197-?]
      1 score (10 leaves) + 11 parts ; 35 cm + 1 playscript (27 leaves ; 28 cm)
      Holograph score in pencil and blue ink, manuscript instrumental parts in blue and red ink. Incidental music to a dramatic adaptation of the book Come sweet death by B. D. Napier, for high voice, medium voice, oboe, 2 B♭ trumpets, trombone, percussion (2 players), 2 violins, viola, cello, and double bass. English words. Caption title from oboe part. Score lacks leaves 6 and 9. Includes typed (mimeograph) playscript in English. Folder includes the book Come sweet death by B. D. Napier (published: Philadelphia : United Church Press, ©1967); occasional markings in pencil and manuscript black and purple ink.

31 W4325coc
WeingardenBxA01f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      [Clarinet concerto with winds, brass, and percussion] / [Louis Weingarden].
      New York : Louis Weingarden, 1966.
      1 score (49 leaves) ; 51 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. Lacks title page; title and statement of responsibility from facsimile of holograph. At end: New York City, Sept. 1966. Copyright 1966 Jonathan Slater. Dedication printed on facsimile: For Al Renino, musician & teacher, a gift from Jonathan Slater.

31 W4325coc facsimile
oversize folder

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Clarinet concerto, with winds, brass, and percussion, 1966 / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1966?]
      1 score (2 unnumbered pages, 49 pages) ; 56 cm
      At end: New York City, Sept. 1966. Reproduced from holograph. Copyright 1966 Jonathan Slater. Dedication on preliminary page: For Al Renino, musician & teacher, a gift from Jonathan Slater. Includes performance instructions in English.

31 W4325cp
oversize folder

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Concerto.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1974?]
      1 score (82 p.) ; 62 cm
      Caption title. At end: November 15, 1974. Reproduced from holograph. Dedicated to Garrick Ohlsson. Includes performance notes in English. Occasional markings in pencil and manuscript black ink.

27 W4325copv
WeingardenBxA01f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Triple concerto for violin, violoncello and piano. (First movement) / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1965.
      1 score (19 unnumbered pages) ; 48 cm
      Holograph in black and blue ink. Accompaniment scored for piccolo, flute, oboe, E♭ sopranino clarinet, B♭ clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 F horns, trumpet (1 player, B♭ and C), trombone, 2 double basses, mandolin, harp, celesta, and percussion (10 players: vibraphone, xylophone, tubular bells, triangles, glockenspiel, cymbals, gongs, tam-tams, and drums). Composed in 1965. Includes performance instructions in English. Folder includes photocopy of holograph.

2 W4325da
WeingardenBxC01f07

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Dance movement / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1986.
      1 score (4 leaves) ; 31 cm
      Holograph in black ink. For piano. "For George and Charles who left us this June." Not to be confused with Dance movements for piano and percussion by the same composer. Folder also includes 3 photocopies of holograph.

13 W4325da
WeingardenBxC01f08

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Seven dance movements : for piano & percussion / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1976.
      1 score (19 unnumbered leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For piano and percussion (1 player: glockenspiel, tubular bells, marimba, 6 temple blocks, 2 bongos, snare drum, bass drum, 3 gongs, 2 cymbals, tam-tam).

41 W4325ep
WeingardenBxC01f09

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Epitaphs : music for fifteen poems from E. L. Master's Spoon River anthology : 1966 / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1966?]
      1 score (31 pages) + 6 parts ; 32 cm
      For narrator, oboe, clarinet, trumpet, trombone, double bass, percussion, and piano. At end: Feb 27, 1966, New York, New York. Score includes text cues for narrator, but lacks full text. Score reproduced from holograph; manuscript parts in blue ink. Performance instructions in English. "For Jonathan Slater." Contnets: Prelude: the hill -- Birth pains -- A theme with four variations -- Several ways of looking at the thing. Markings in pencil and manuscript blue ink on score. Folder includes photocopies of manuscript parts with markings in pencil and manuscript blue ink, and an envelope with markings in pencil, and manuscript blue and green ink.

46 W4325ev
oversize folder

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Evening liturgy of consolation / Louis Weingarden.
      New York : Louis Weingarden, 1988.
      1 score (50 leaves) ; 56 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For contralto voice, baritone voice, mixed chorus (SATB), and orchestra. Words in English and romanized Hebrew. "Commissioned by William Schaffner of Denver, Colorado and dedicated to his memory." Contents: As you do not know (Ecclesiastes 11: 5-8) -- God full of mercy (Jewish liturgy) --- The fear of death (Psalm 55: 4-7) -- Hashkivenu (Jewish liturgy) -- Dost thou work wonders (Psalm 88: 10-12) ; Hear this all peoples (Psalm 49: 1, 4) ; Yigdal (Daniel ben Judah, after Maimonides) -- Psalm 23. Leaves taped together in a sequence that facilitates diazo printing of pages for binding in a single signature.

46 W4325ev facsimile
oversize folder

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Evening liturgy of consolation / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1988?]
      1 score (50 pages) ; 56 cm
      For contralto voice, baritone voice, mixed chorus (SATB), and orchestra. Words in English and romanized Hebrew. At end: NYC 1988. Reproduced from holograph. "Commissioned by William Schaffner of Denver, Colorado and dedicated to his memory." Contents: As you do not know (Ecclesiastes 11, 5-8) -- God full of mercy (Jewish liturgy, mourner's kaddish) -- The fear of death (Psalm 55:4-7) -- Hashkivenu (Jewish liturgy) -- Dost thou work wonders (R. Daniel ibn Judah, after Maimonides) -- Psalm 23. Composer's name deleted from title page and replaced with pseudonym Solomone da Vignola in manuscript blue ink.

47 W4325ev
WeingardenBxC01f10

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Evening liturgy of consolation : for chorus, baritone and contralto, & orchestra / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1985.
      1 vocal score (32 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in pencil and black ink on diazo vellum. Originally for contralto, baritone, mixed chorus (SATB), and orchestra; accompaniment arranged for piano. Words in English and romanized Hebrew. "Commissioned by William Schaffner of Denver, Colorado." Dedicated to the memory of William Schaffner. Contents: As you do not know (Ecclesiastes 11: 5-8) -- God full of mercy (Jewish liturgy) -- The fear of death (Psalm 55: 4-7) -- Hashkivenu (Jewish liturgy) -- Dost thou work wonders (Psalm 88: 10-12) ; Hear this all peoples (Psalm 49: 1, 4) ; Yigdal (Daniel ben Judah, after Maimonides) -- Psalm 23. Leaves taped together in a sequence that facilitates printing pages for binding into a single signature.

25.7 W4325fa
WeingardenBxC02f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Fantasy for two pianos & percussion, & funeral music with 'cello obbligato / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1967?]
      2 scores (52 pages each) + 1 supplement (3 unnumbered pages) ; 34 cm + 4 parts ; 32 cm
      Percussion battery is divided into 3 stations of diverse instruments, played by an unspecified number of percussionists: station 1: 6 temple blocks, 4 bongos, 3 triangles, 4 side drums, 3 gongs, 3 timpani; station 2: 3 snare drums, 5 oriental bells, 3 suspended cymbals, 2 tom-toms, 2 bass drums; station 3: celesta, marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel, xylophone, tubulas bells. At end: Feb. 7, 1967, New York City. Composed in memory of Edgar Varèse. Scores and supplement reproduced from holograph; parts are holograph in black ink. Supplement contains pages 48-48a from the score, and revisions to measures 197-198 and 224-235 from the cello part; also includes holograph of revisions to cello part, inscribed in black ink on diazo vellum. Cello part includes insert in pencil. Stamp impression in black ink on title page of score: From rental library, Music department, Oxford University Press. Folder also contains 4 photocopies of percussion part 1, 3 photocopies of percussion part 2, and 4 photocopies of percussion part 3.

41 W4325gh
WeingardenBxA01f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Ghirlande / Louis Weingarden.
      Rome : Louis Weingarden, 1969.
      1 score (24 leaves) ; 48 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For soprano, trumpet in B-flat, piano, celesta, percussion (5 players), solo string trio, solo string sextet, and orchestral strings. Italian words by Michelangelo Buonarroti, also printed as text on page 3. At end: Rome, Sept. 30, 1969. "For Ken Worley"--Caption. Title page illustration by Kenneth Worley.

41 W4325gh OUP
WeingardenBxA01f04

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Ghirlande / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Oxford University Press, [1971?]
      1 score (24 lpages) ; 48 cm
      For soprano, trumpet in B-flat, piano, celesta, percussion (5 players), solo string trio, solo string sextet, and orchestral strings. Italian words by Michelangelo Buonarroti, also printed as text on page 3. At end: Rome, Sept. 30, 1969. Reproduced from holograph. "For Ken Worley"--Caption. Title page illustration by Kenneth Worley.

41 W4325gh parts
WeingardenBxC02f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Ghirlande.
      [Rome?] : Louis Weingarden, [1969?]
      15 parts ; 33 cm.
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For soprano, trumpet, piano, celesta, percussion (5 players), string trio, string sextet (2,2,2), and string orchestra; instrumental parts only. Caption title. Composed at the American Academy in Rome in 1969. Includes parts reproduced from holograph, including multiple copies of orchestral string parts.

47 W4325ha
WeingardenBxC03f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Hashkivenu / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1984?]
      1 score (10 pages) ; 31 cm
      For cantor (high voice), women's chorus (SSA), and piano. Hebrew words (romanized). Caption title. Liturgical music for the Jewish Sabbath evening service. Holograph (photocopy). Inscription in manuscript black ink on recto of page [1]: Louis Weingarden 1984. Folder includes 3 additional photocopies of score (10 leaves each ; 36 cm), and 1 typed, signed note from Judith Tischler of Transcontinental Music Publications.

27 W4325ho
WeingardenBxC03f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Homilia: Vox Clamans in Deserto : for brass quintet and organ / L. Weingarden.
      Chatham, Mass. : Louis Weingarden, 1971.
      1 score (6 leaves) + 1 score (12 pages) ; 35 cm
      Holograph (photocopy) score in black ink with markings in blue ink, and holograph musical sketches in pencil and blue, green, and black ink. For 2 trumpets, horn, 2 trombones, and organ. At end of score: Chatham, Mass., May 7, 1971. "For the Rev. Robt. L. Griesse and his family, a gift from Mr. Jonathan Slater with love"--Title page verso of score. "Copyright Jonathan E. Slater 1971"--Caption of score. Score includes text from John I:19-23 inscribed in English on title page verso. Water damage and staining on score.

25.7 W4325hu
WeingardenBxC03f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Huck' Finn.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1967.
      7 parts ; 36 cm
      Holograph in blue ink. Incidental music for flute, tenor saxophone, violin, viola, cello, double bass, and piano. Caption title from flute part. Double bass and piano parts include photocopy leaves reproduced from holograph.

41 W4325in
WeingardenBxC03f04

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Inquiries of hope : ten poems of Kirby Congdon / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, 1984.
      1 score (2 unnumbered leaves, 82 leaves) ; 32 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For baritone, narrator, piano, percussion (3 players), violin, viola, cello, and double bass; the singer's part in the first and sixth songs may be performed by unison chorus. "Commissioned by Claude Duvall of San Francisco." One of the first musical works to address the AIDS epidemic. Cf. Estate project for artists with AIDS website. Includes performance instructions in English, and an excerpt from Kirby Congdon's 1970 poem The orgy, printed as text. Contents: Dialogue -- Recitative: When we got tired -- Song: Rubato -- Recitative: The orgy -- Song: New lovers walk -- Dialogue -- Song: Suns -- Recitative: For generations past -- Song: Ego -- Song: Ritornello.

41 W4325in facsimile
WeingardenBxC03f05

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Inquiries of hope : ten poems of Kirby Congdon / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1984?]
      1 score (2 unnumbered pages, 82 pages) ; 32 cm
      For baritone, narrator, piano, percussion (3 players), violin, viola, cello, and double bass; the singer's part in the first and sixth songs may be performed by unison chorus. 500 Reproduced from holograph. "Commissioned by Claude Duvall of San Francisco." One of the first musical works to address the AIDS epidemic. Cf. Estate project for artists with AIDS website. Includes performance instructions in English, and an excerpt from Kirby Congdon's 1970 poem The orgy, printed as text. Contents: Dialogue -- Recitative: When we got tired -- Song: Rubato -- Recitative: The orgy -- Song: New lovers walk -- Dialogue -- Song: Suns -- Recitative: For generations past -- Song: Ego -- Song: Ritornello.

38 W4325in AA
WeingardenBxC03f06

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      [Inquiries of hope] / L. Weingarden.
      [New York?] : Louis Weingarden, [1984?]
      1 vocal score (3, 2, 4, 4, 3, 4 pages) ; 31 cm
      Holograph in black ink. Originally for baritone, narrator, piano, percussion (3 players), violin, viola, cello, and double bass; accompaniment arranged for piano. Title from accompanying envelope. Words by Kirby Congdon. One of the first musical works to address the AIDS epidemic. Cf. Estate project for artists with AIDS website. Occasional markings in pencil, red crayon, and manuscript red ink. Contents: Dialogue I -- When we got tired -- [The orgy] -- Dialogue II -- [For generations past] -- Ego. Folder includes mulitple photocopies of each song.

38 W4325in
WeingardenBxC03f07

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      [Inquiries of hope] / Louis Weingarden.
      New York : Louis Weingarden, [1983?]
      1 score (30 leaves, 7 unnumbered leaves) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in black and blue ink. Originally for baritone, narrator, piano, percussion (3 players), violin, viola, cello, and double bass; accompaniment arranged for piano and percussion (1 player). Title from accompanying envelope. Words by Kirby Congdon. Some songs dated 1983. One of the first musical works to address the AIDS epidemic. Cf. Estate project for artists with AIDS website. Contents: Dialogue I ; When we got tired of calling ; Rubato ; The orgy ; New lovers walk ; Dialogue II ; Suns ; For generations past ; Ego ; Ritornello. Folder includes multiple photocpies of some songs.

39 W4325ℓe m
WeingardenBxC03f08

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Learn it alone / L. Weingarden.
      [198-?]
      1 score ([1] leaf) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in black ink. For medium voice with unspecified chordal accompaniment. Caption title. Chord symbols inscribed above vocal staff. "Tony K. & Kachina M."

2 W4325le
WeingardenBxC06f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      [Lento, piano] / L. Weingarden.
      ]1976?]
      1 score ([1] leaf) ; 36 cm
      For piano. Caption title. Reproduced from holograph. Composed as new year greeting. Includes text by Colette translated into English at end of score, followed by composer's greeting: Wishing you all health, happiness and prosperity in the new year, December '76. Folder contains 3 copies of score.

39 W4325ort
WeingardenBxC03f09

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The Orphic hymns. I, To the moon : prologue / L. Weingarden.
      [1970?]
      1 score (7 pages) ; 34 cm
      For 2 sopranos and 1 alto. English words. Caption title. At end: Rome, 1970-2-7. Reproduced from holograph. Folder contains 2 copies of score.

15 W4325pa
WeingardenBxC03f10

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Partita for violin alone.
      1959
      1 score ([8] leaves in various pagings) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in pencil and blue ink. Caption title. Contents: Prelude -- Courante -- Sarabande passacaglia -- Gigue -- Passacaglia.

2 W4325pi
WeingardenBxC04f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Five piano pieces / Louis Weingarden.
      [1966?]
      1 score (9 pages) ; 32 cm
      At end: Sept '66, New York. Reproduced from holograph.

41 W4325poem
WeingardenBxC04f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Seven poems of Constantine Cavafy / L. Weingarden.
      [1971?]
      1 score (36 pages) ; 32 cm
      For narrator, high soprano, violin, viola, cello, double bass, harp, piano, and percussion (2 players). At end: Chatham, Mass, June 20, 1971. "For Lawrence Durham"--Title page verso. Reproduced from holograph. Includes performance instructions in English.

41 W4325poet
WeingardenBxC04f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Poetry and music : two grounds for a wedding / [music by] Louis Weingarden ; [words by Richard Barnfield].
      [1988?]
      1 condensed score ([6] leaves) + 3 parts ; 28 cm
      For soprano, unison chorus, flute, volin, 2 cellos, and piano; or soprano, unison chorus, and piano. English words. Caption title. "TF & KK." Words by Richard Barnfield. Holograph (photocopy). Composed for the wedding of Tamzen Flanders and Karl Kirchwey.

38 W4325re h
WeingardenBxC04f04

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The record of John / Louis Weingarden.
      1981.
      1 score (6, 5 leaves) ; 28 cm.
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum (songs 1-3) and paper (song 4). For high voice and piano. Caption title. Contents: John my eyes -- This is the record of John -- This skin was made of too fragile bone for flying -- Although I speak the tongues of men. Folder also contains 2 photocopies of holograph.

27 W4325rh
WeingardenBxC04f05

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Two rhapsodies for flute & string trio / L. Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 score (5 pages) ; 34 cm
      Holograph in pencil. Caption title. Inscription on caption in pencil: For the Flanders family. Folder includes photocopy of holograph.

2 W4325se
WeingardenBxC04f06

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      La settima toccata nel primo tono del Michelangelo Rossi, Roma MDCLVII / transcribed for piano solo by Louis Weingarden.
      1971.
      1 score (9 leaves) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. Adaptation of Toccata no. 7 from Toccate e correnti for keyboard instrument by Rossi. At end: Chatham, Mass. April 12 - 1971. "Alla Signora Olga Barabini"--Caption. Folder includes copy reproduced from holograph.

46 W43325se
WeingardenBxC04f07

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The seven last words of Christ / Louis Weingarden.
      [1962?]
      1 score (56 pages) ; 36 cm
      For soprano, tenor, SATB chorus, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 C trumpets, 2 trombones, timpani, harp, and organ. English words. Caption title. At end: New York, Dec. 6, 1962. Reproduced from holograph. Folder also contains photocopy of holograph.

47 W4325sh
WeingardenBxC04f08

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Three short sacred songs / L. Weingarden.
      New York : Oxford University Press, [1966?]
      1 score (6 pages) ; 33 cm
      For women's chorus (SSA). Words in English and Latin. Caption title. Text of the 1st song from Jeremiah chapter 8; text of the 2nd song from Psalm 42; text of the 3rd song from 2nd Samuel chapter 1. "Oct. '66." Reproduced from holograph. "Property of Rental Music Department Oxford University Press, Inc."--Label on cover.

27 W4325sk
WeingardenBxC04f09

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sketches for the Italian comedy / L. Weingarden.
      1975.
      1 score (13 unnumbered leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For clarinet, cello, and piano. Holograph lacks title page and second movement; title from complete score reproduced from holograph. "Composed for Paul Posnak, David Sella and Ethan Sloane." Contents: Nocturne: Pierrot, Harlequin -- Mercury, messenger of the gods: Harlequin -- Tale of military triumph: Scaramouche -- Balances defy gravity: Pierrot, Scaramouche, Harlequin -- Another duel to the death: Scaramouche, Harlequin -- Posing for M. Watteau: Pierrot -- Somersaults: Pierrot, Scaramouche, Harlequin. Folder also includes score reproduced from holograph.

27 W4325sk facsimile
WeingardenBxC04f10

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sketches for the Italian comedy / L. Weingarden.
      [United States?] : Louis Weingarden, [1975?]
      1 score (15 unnumbered pages) ; 36 cm
      For clarinet, cello, and piano. Reproduced from holograph. "Composed for Paul Posnak, David Sella and Ethan Sloane." Contents: Nocturne: Pierrot, Harlequin -- Mercury, messenger of the gods: Harlequin -- Tale of military triumph: Scaramouche -- Balances defy gravity: Pierrot, Scaramouche, Harlequin -- Another duel to the death: Scaramouche, Harlequin -- Posing for M. Watteau: Pierrot -- Somersaults: Pierrot, Scaramouche, Harlequin.

18 W4325so
WeingardenBxC04f11

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sonata for violoncello and pianoforte, 1972 / Louis Weingarden.
      1972.
      1 score (46 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. At end: New York, May 22, 1972.

46 W4325son
WeingardenBxC04f12

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Songs of degrees : eleven motets / Louis Weingarden.
      1971.
      1 score (80 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For soprano, baritone, mixed chorus (SSAATTBB), piano, percussion (1 player), 2 violins, viola, 2 cellos, and double bass. English words. Inscription in Hebrew script on preliminary leaf (romanized): New York 5732. Inscription in Hebrew script at end (romanized): Erev Yom Kippur 5732. "For Beth Abraham Synagogue, Dayton, Ohio, Jerome Kopmar, Hazzan." Texts from Psalms 120, 121, 126, 123, 122, 124, 128, 130, 131, 133, and 134. Includes performance instructions in English.

46 W4325son facsimile
WeingardenBxC05f05

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Songs of degrees : eleven motets / Louis Weingarden.
      1971.
      1 score (80 pages) ; 36 cm
      For soprano, baritone, mixed chorus (SSAATTBB), piano, percussion (1 player), 2 violins, viola, 2 cellos, and double bass. English words. Reproduced from holograph. Inscription in Hebrew script on preliminary page (romanized): New York 5732. Inscription in Hebrew script at end (romanized): Erev Yom Kippur 5732. "For Beth Abraham Synagogue, Dayton, Ohio, Jerome Kopmar, Hazzan." Texts from Psalms 120, 121, 126, 123, 122, 124, 128, 130, 131, 133, and 134. Includes performance instructions in English.

46 W4325sor parts
WeingardenBxC05f01-f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The sorrows of David / L. Weingarden.
      [1967?]
      17 parts ; 34 cm + 1 part ; 25 x 34 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum; celesta part in manuscript blue ink on paper. For soprano, alto, tenor and bass soloists, solo string sextet, SATB chorus, and orchestra; orchestra parts only. Caption title from flute part. Contents: flute (1-2) and piccolo, oboe (1-2) and English horn, B♭ clarinet (1-2) and bass clarinet, bassoon (1-2) and contrabassoon, F horn (1-4), B♭ trumpet (1-3), trombone (1-3) and tuba, percussion, piano, celesta, solo violin (1-2), solo viola (1-2), solo cello (1-2), violin (1-2), violin (3-4), viola (1-2), cello (1-2), double bass.

46 W4325sor parts
WeingardenBxA01f05

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The sorrows of David / Louis Weingarden.
      1967.
      1 score (56 leaves) ; 51 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. For vocal quartet (SATB), mixed chorus (SATB), string sextet (2 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos), and orchestra. English words, also printed as text on page 3. Inscription on page 2: In memoriam Rabbi Morris Adler 1966. Written in sad memory of his passing by his sorrowful student, L.W. 1967. Performance notes in English. Text from the Bible, 2nd Samuel, chapters 1 and 19. Contents: David laments Saul and Jonathan (2 Samuel 1) -- David laments his son, Absalom (2 Samuel 19) -- Of the one-hundred-and-twenty-seventh psalm, a song of ascents.

46 W4325sor facsimile
WeingardenBxA01f06-f08

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The sorrows of David / Louis Weingarden.
      New York : Oxford University Press, [1967?]
      1 score (56 pages) ; 51 cm
      For vocal quartet (SATB), mixed chorus (SATB), string sextet (2 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos), and orchestra. English words, also printed as text on page 3. Reproduced from holograph. Inscription on page 2: In memoriam Rabbi Morris Adler 1966. Written in sad memory of his passing by his sorrowful student, L.W. 1967. Performance notes in English. Text from the Bible, 2nd Samuel, chapters 1 and 18. Contents: David laments Saul and Jonathan (2 Samuel 1) -- David laments his son, Absalom (2 Samuel 19) -- Of the one-hundred-and-twenty-seventh psalm, a song of ascents. Cage copies 1-2 lack Oxford University Press imprint; copy 2 includes copious markings in blue and red crayon.

47 W4325sor
WeingardenBxC04f13

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sorrows David / [Weingarden].
      [1967?]
      1 vocal score (1 unnumbered leaf, 30 leaves) ; 28 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. Originally for soprano, alto, tenor and bass soloists, solo string sextet, SATB chorus, and orchestra; accompaniment arranged for piano. English words. Caption title. Text from the Bible, 2nd Samuel, chapters 1 and 18. "In memoriam Rabbi Morris Adler"--Preliminary leaf.

47 W4325sor facsimile
WeingardenBxC04f14

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The sorrows of David / L. Weingarden.
      [1967?]
      1 vocal score (30 pages) ; 29 cm
      Originally for soprano, alto, tenor and bass soloists, solo string sextet, SATB chorus, and orchestra; accompaniment arranged for piano. English words. Caption title. Text from the Bible, 2nd Samuel, chapters 1 and 18. Reproduced from holograph. "In memoriam Rabbi Morris Adler"--Preliminary page.

15 W4325su
WeingardenBxC05f03

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Suite for violin alone / Louis Weingarden.
      1973.
      1 score (16 leaves) ; 36 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. At end: May 29, 1973, New York. Contents: Praeludio I, "...per ego haec loco plena timoris -- Praeludio II, "...per chaos hoc ingens vastque silentia regni -- Praeludio III, "Eurydice oro properata retexite fata -- Fantasia, "Talia dicentem nervosque ad verba moventem exsangues flebant animae ... Eurydicenque vocant."

15 W4325su facsimile
WeingardenBxC05f04

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Suite for violin alone / Louis Weingarden.
      1973.
      1 score (16 pages) ; 36 cm
      Reproduced from holograph. Contents: Praeludio I, "...per ego haec loco plena timoris -- Praeludio II, "...per chaos hoc ingens vastque silentia regni -- Praeludio III, "Eurydice oro properata retexite fata -- Fantasia, "Talia dicentem nervosque ad verba moventem exsangues flebant animae ... Eurydicenque vocant."

41 W4325th
WeingardenBxA01f09

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Theater pieces / Louis Weingarden.
      1966.
      1 score (27 leaves) ; 43 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. Three monologues with music, the first work scored for B♭ clarinet, piano, and tubular bells, the second for E♭ saxophone, trombone, and piano, the third for wind ensemble. At end: April 14, 1966, New York, New York. "For the Slater Family"--Page 2. "For A. Renino, & the White Planes High School Wind Ensemble"--Page 18. Monologue texts not printed in score; the second and third works include textual cues to synchronize recitation with accompaniment. Leaves paginated 1-27 in pencil at bottom, and [1]-13, [1]-9 in manuscript black ink at top. Contents: Songs of love and sorrow : a musical background for ten Elizebethen poems of love and death.Songs of love ; Songs of death -- Music for two poems of Lewis Carroll. The walrus & the carpenter ; Father William -- Five interpretive pieces for John Dryden's A song for St. Cecilia's Day.

41 W4325th facsimile
WeingardenBxA01f10

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Theater pieces : 1966 / Louis Weingarden.
      1966.
      1 score (27 pages) ; 43 cm
      Three monologues with music, the first work scored for B♭ clarinet, piano, and tubular bells, the second for E♭ saxophone, trombone, and piano, the third for wind ensemble. At end: April 14, 1966, New York, New York. Reproduced from holograph. "For the Slater Family"--Page 2. "For A. Renino, & the White Planes High School Wind Ensemble"--Page 18. Monologue texts not printed in score; the second and third works include textual cues to synchronize recitation with accompaniment. Leaves are paginated 1-27 in pencil at bottom, and [1]-13, [1]-9 in manuscript black ink at top. Contents: Songs of love and sorrow : a musical background for ten Elizebethen poems of love and death.Songs of love ; Songs of death -- Music for two poems of Lewis Carroll. The walrus & the carpenter ; Father William -- Five interpretive pieces for John Dryden's A song for St. Cecilia's Day. Folder includes additional separate score of Music for two poems of Lewis Carol (pages 15-17 ; 36 cm).

27 W4325th OUP
WeingardenBxC05f06

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Things heard and seen in summer : for piano, violin, and cello / Louis Weingarden.
      New York : Oxford University Press, c1974.
      1 score (17 pages) ; 31 cm
      Playing score. "For Nuala Halliman Cipriano"--Caption. In 11 movements. Duration: approximately 7 minutes. Program and performance notes in English. Publisher's number: 92.604. ISBN 193854759. Folder contains 5 copies of score.

2 W4325tr B&H
WeingardenBxC05f07

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Triptych : three pieces for piano / Louis Weingarden.
      [New York] : Boosey & Hawkes, c1974.
      1 score (28 pages) ; 31 cm
      Cover title. At end: 1969. "In memory of Danny"--Caption. Each movement preceded by brief programmatic text based on biblical sources. Plate number: B. Pa. 251.

2 W4325tr
WeingardenBxC05f08

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Triptych : three pieces for pianoforte / Louis Weingarden.
      1969.
      1 score (38 leaves) ; 33 cm
      Holograph in black ink on diazo vellum. At end: Rome, March 1969. "In memory of Danny"--Preliminary leaf. Includes programmatic text in English for each of the three movements inscribed on preliminary page.

41 W4325wa
WeingardenBxC06f01

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      War and the poets / [Louis Weingarden].
      [New York?] : [Louis Weingarden], [1970?]
      1 score (63 unnumbered leaves) ; 28 cm + 8 parts ; 32 cm + 1 libretto (32 unnumbered leaves ; 29 cm)
      Holograph score in black and blue ink, with typescript (mimeograph) text. A cycle of narrated poems by various authors, with accompaniment provided by soprano voice, flute (doubling piccolo and alto flute), oboe (doubling English horn), clarinet (double bass clarinet), baritone saxophone, percussion (one player), piano, and harpsichord. Narration: English words. Soprano voice: Wordless. Title from caption of parts. "May 29, 1970"--Title page of libretto. Saxophone part marked as B♭ baritone sax. Contents: English 9: lecture on Chekhov / Rudd -- The soldiers and the battles / H. H. Schoolcraft -- Psalm of battle / E. Powys Mathers -- If I were to tell of our labours, our hard lodging / Aeschylus, translated by Louis MacNeice -- Fighting south of the castle / Arthur Waley -- I have a rendezvous with death / Alan Seeger -- An Irish airman forsees his death / William Butler Yeats -- A square dance / Roger McGough -- Harry Williams / Edgar Lee Masters -- Lament of a man for his son / Mary Austin -- David's lament for Saul and Jonathan / 2 Samuel, 1 -- Lamenting dance -- The Trojan women / Euripides ; translated by Richard Lattimore -- My sweet old etcetera / E. E. Cummings -- Reconciliation / Walt Whitman -- Why patriots are a bit nuts in the head / McGough -- C. P. U. -- Inscriptions at the city of brass / E. Powys Mathers -- Come sweet death / B. D. Napier. Copious markings on score in pencil and manuscript blue, black, and red ink.

47 W4325wi
WeingardenBxC06f02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Willow song : (Othello; Act IV, Scene III) / Louis Weingarden.
      1977.
      1 score (3 leaves) ; 29 cm
      Holograph in black ink, signed. For SATB voices and piano. "For Jonathan and Karen, David & Miley, Andrew & Kristen." Includes photocopy of score.

Series IX: Sound Recordings

WeingardenBxA02

Rorem, Ned, 1923-
      A childhood miracle : a new television opera / by Ned Rorem ; book by Elliot Stein ; staged by Plato Karayanis ; singers & orchestra from the Curtis Institute of Music ; conducted by Donald Johanos.
      [1956?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from promotional postcard enclosed in 16 mm metal film canister serving as tape box. "2:30 P. M., 5th [corrected to 12th in pencil] of February, 1956." "WRCV-TV, Phila. Formerly WPTZ Channel 3."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Piano concerto / Louis Weingarden.
      [1974?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from manuscript inscription in blue ink on box cover. "Boosey-Hawkes"--Box cover. "From measures 296-end with breaks announced on the tape!"--Box cover.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Dance movements / Weingarden
      1977.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from typescript label on back of box. "Y New Music, Kaufman Concert Hall, 15th Feb. 77."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Electronic background
      [196-?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from pencil inscription on box cover.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Spoon River plus speeches : White Plains.
      [1966?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from manuscript inscription in blue ink on box cover. Manuscript inscription in blue ink on back of box: No music.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Spoon River.
      [1966?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from pencil inscription on back of box. "Good sound."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Fantasy and funeral music : 1967 / Louis Weingarden.
      [1967?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from pencil inscription on back of box. "10 mins."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      El mar / (P. Neruda) ; by Louis Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 audiocassette ; 10 x 7 cm, 4 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript blue ink on cassette case J-card. "Master"--Cassette label. "Final w/guitar"--Cassette label.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Pines '86.
      1986.
      1 audiocassette ; 10 x 7 cm, 4 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript red ink on cassette label.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Seven poems / Weingarden.
      1971.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript red ink on back of box. "11 Aug 31." "7 1/2 IPS 1/2 track mono." Box also includes 1 manuscript leaf (32 cm) in black ink containing list of booksellers, 1 leaf (22 x 34 cm) containing the printed poem The juggler at t

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      3 sacred songs
      [1967?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript blue ink on back of box. "1967 C.78 Oxf P." "First under Carter."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      3 sacred songs / Louis Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 audiotape reel ; 9 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript black ink on box. "7 1/2 ips mono."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Service sacre
      [196-?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from pencil inscription on back of box. "Church music, not original." Inscription on back of back in manuscript blue ink: WABC News 1926 Broadway."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Piano sonata, 1962 / LW.
      [1962?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript black ink on back of box. "E. Ferber/piano." "7 1/2 [inches]/sec - single track."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sorrows of David / L. Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 13 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title of pencil inscription on back of box. "Speech -- Coriolan overture."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      The sorrows of David / L. Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from pencil inscription on back of box. "Oak Park Symphony, Kenneth Jewel Choral, L. Weingarden, cond."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Triptych / Louis Weingarden.
      [197-?]
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title from inscription in manuscript blue ink on back of box.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Tudor singe[r?].
      1964.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Title of inscription in manuscript blue ink on torn fragment of carboard box inserted into plastic audiotape box. "May 1, 1964." "Reel no: 55-S."

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sarabande & gigue ; Violin sonata ; Trio / Louis Weingarden.
      1960.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Titles from manuscript inscription in blue ink on index card enclosed in box. "June 1960 Birmingham Conservatory of Music." Contents: Sarabande & gigue ; Violin sonata / performed by Isidor Saslav -- Trio / performed by Saslav, Ferber, de Fiore.

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Sonata for 'cello and piano, 1972 ; Ghirlande : soprano and ensemble / Louis Weingarden.
      1972.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Titles from manuscript inscription in blue ink on back of box. "Quarter track at 7 1/2 ips." Stamp impression in blue ink on back of box: May 21 1975. Contents: Sonata for 'cello and piano, 1972/ performed by Garrick Ohllsonn, piano, James Kreger, cello;

WeingardenBxA02

Weingarden, Louis, 1943-1989.
      Things heard & seen in summer : (piano trio) : 1966 ; Fantasy and funeral music : 1967 : 2 pianos & percussion / Louis Weingarden.
      1966-1967.
      1 audiotape : analog ; 18 cm, 6.35 mm
      Titles from inscription in manuscript black ink on back of box. Durations: 16 min. ; 10 min.